Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The RTE Panel Discussion Thread 2008/2009

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,716 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Kuyt is among the top players in the PL this season.

There is no way Utd will win the premier league cause a lot of players are rubbish, O'Shea-Park-Giggs.......see wat i did there?

Kuyt - Liverpool Star Player

O'Shea-Park-Giggs - United Reserves

See what I did there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

the Giggs/Park/O'Shea thing wasnt anything to do with Kuyt. it was in reference to Lucas & Dossena.

Kuyt deserves to be starting every week for us, the poster was wrong to say hes a crap player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Mr Alan wrote: »
    the Giggs/Park/O'Shea thing wasnt anything to do with Kuyt. it was in reference to Lucas & Dossena.

Kuyt deserves to be starting every week for us, the poster was wrong to say hes a crap player.

In your opinion, plenty on here, myself included, who would diagree ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Well, Rafa Benitez, Marco Van Basten, Martin Jol, goals, assists, performances & league position would disagree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Kuyt has 7 goals and 3 assists in 20 games.

How many wingers have that? (and odn't try and call Ronalo a winger!)

Kuyt is having a great season, scoring, creating, and playing well.
    He's also in great form for country.

4 goals and 2 assists in his last 11 games for Holland.
    Again as a winger.

He's one of the form wingers in Europe right now.

Again as a winger.

There is always the danger with him thou that he has peaked.

Boggles wrote: »
    There is always the danger with him thou that he has peaked.

Well if his peak is an average of 21 goals over a 60 game season, I'm more than happy with that.

(That's 7 x 3 seeing as we're 1/3 of the way through the season, for those in the back.;))

Well if he's peak is an average of 21 goals over a 60 game season, I'm more than happy with that.

(That's 7 x 3 seeing as we're 1/3 of the way through the season, for those in the back.;))

No I mean peaked as in thats it now, back to drop Kuyt, Kuyt is useless, etc.

Personally I think he has been fantastic this season, and seems like a good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Again as a winger.

If Ronaldo isn't a winger then either is Kuyt.

No I mean peaked as in thats it now, back to drop Kuyt, Kuyt is useless, etc.

Personally I think he has been fantastic this season, and seems like a good lad.

I think it's the opposit to be honest.
    He was great in Holland.
    Came over and played okay, had the personal tradgedy last season, that took him off his game.
    Came back to form towards the end of last season, and has carried it o through the summer, and into this campaign.

He's not rising above himself here, just going back to the form he had in Holland.

Again as a winger.

LOL when he has scored a few he's a winger on fire but when the inevitable drought returns it will be ''but he's been played out of position, he's really a striker'' - Please a winger who wouldnt cross he's legs its laughable.

Ronaldo is a winger, Kuyt is playing at the moment as a winger.

Move on.

JPA wrote: »
    If Ronaldo isn't a winger then either is Kuyt.

Kuyt plays on the wing in a 4-4-2, or as a wingforward in the 4-2-3-1.

Ronaldo plays as a wing-forward/attacking midfielder/forward.

Last seson he was pretty much part of a front three with him and Rooney playing off Tevez.
    (You do remember the "holy trinity":rolleyes: don't you?!)

A winger defends, and stays mainly on the wing.

Nani is a winger.
    Ronaldo isn't.

Riera is a winger.
    Babel isn't.

Kuyt has played most of this season as a right sided winger in a 4-4-2, as that's been out prevalant formation this season.

And even if you are going to try and insist on Ronaldo being a winger.
    He's one of the best players in the world.
    Kuyt isn't.
    Just cause Kuyt isn't Ronaldo, doesn't mean that he's a bad player.
    A player like Ronaldo wouldn't work in the Liverpool team.

Not a slight on Ronaldo, just a different system.

LOL when he has scored a few he's a winger on fire but when the inevitable drought returns it will be ''but he's been played out of position, he's really a striker'' - Please a winger who wouldnt cross he's legs its laughable.

Kuyt has made a few crosses for goals.
    How many does Ronaldo make?

If that's what makes a winger.

Where did i say that Ronaldo was a winger????

And are you trying to say that you think Kuyt is an effective crosser of the ball?

Last seson he was pretty much part of a front three with him and Rooney playing off Tevez.
    (You do remember the "holy trinity":rolleyes: don't you?!)

Nani is a winger.
    Ronaldo isn't.

Riera is a winger.
    Babel isn't.

Kuyt has played most of this season as a right sided winger in a 4-4-2, as that's been out prevalant formation this season.

Kuyt isn't.

Ronaldo is a winger. 2 Things he doesn't do, defend like a traditional winger or get to the byline and cross like a traditionally winger.

That does not mean he is not a winger.

He prefers to take on and beat the man and cut in centrally.

Watch him against City on Sunday, contrary to popular belief he spends the vast majority of his time out wide, switching left and right.

Why, cos he needs good players around him? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

ronaldo would work f'n marvellously in liverpool. jesus, him on the right and torres in the centre with stevie g in there. it would be incredible.

(You do remember the "holy trinity" don't you?!)

Nani is a winger.
    Ronaldo isn't.

Riera is a winger.
    Babel isn't.

Kuyt isn't.

my god, that gets my vote for most anal post of the year. you are essentially talking about 2-3 yards of space where a player might be in a game. considering Utd play a 4-2-3-1 with the front four being ronaldo, rooney, berbatov and either nani, giggs(though hes been central lately) or tevez... and then liverpool do the same with kuyt, gerrard, torres and reira but you pick apart the teams approach to the game in regards position is weird.

utd play faster counter attacking football whereas liverpool do their best work off the ball and locking teams down. its why we work in europe and the arguement has always been you cant do this in the premiership. i think that theory may be proven right as we are having trouble killing of the stokes, fulhams & marseilles at home. will it work this season? it has a good chance as we are finally beginning to use the width of the pitch when attacking instead of trying to knock on the front gates. that said, we still have some poor back up players like yossi, pennant, degen, dossena and lucas

Ronaldo is a winger. 2 Things he doesn't do, defend like a traditional winger or get to the byline and cross like a traditionally winger.

That does not mean he is not a winger.

He prefers to take on and beat the man and cut in centrally.

Watch him against City on Sunday, contrary to popular belief he spends the vast majority of his time out wide, switching left and right.

When Stevie G plays off Torres, heswings left and right.
    That's how he was so effective against Chelski for instance.
    Doesn't make him a winger.
    Ronaldo is a supporting striker IMO.
    He is best when filling in the gaps anywhere accross the attacking line up.
    sking him to hold to a wing position works against his talents.

Jazzy wrote: »
    blah blah blah I disagree with everything you say, just cause it's you blah blah blah

Jazzy, you've got to get over this.
    Just put me on ignore and help everyone.
    I've no inclination to ever get involved in a discussion with you, cause it would bore the hell out of me.
    You don't like me.
    I get it.
    Move on.

I'm starting to see why Boggles thinks you stalk him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

This was a really really interesting thread until ye started nattering on about kyut and ronaldo.

Agreed.

I appoligise wholesale for getting involved and escalating it.

I was enjoying the original thread.
    Sorry for going OT.
    How about we all bring it back?

Dunphy is an idiot.
    Discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Dunphy is an idiot.
    Discuss.

He is, nothing to discuss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

OPENROAD wrote: »
    The thing with rte coverage is that people praise it big time, saying how much better it is then sky etc... but as soon as they slag off your club they are crap.
    This is true of course, but on the other hand we're a bunch of hypocrites so it's natural.
    As others have said the RTE panel is good entertainment value coupled with the perceived old school values of Giles & Dunphy. In their eyes nothing will match up to 'the good aul days', and so they'll always have something to gripe about. Bill is the perfect counter foil for the lads and knows eactly what to say to keep them interested.

Jazzy, you've got to get over this.
    Just put me on ignore and help everyone.
    I've no inclination to ever get involved in a discussion with you, cause it would bore the hell out of me.
    You don't like me.
    I get it.
    Move on.

I'm starting to see why Boggles thinks you stalk him.

yes, i stalk boggles :confused:
    i dont just happen to read and post on the same threads as him on boards. that cant be it. im actually on my laptop outside his gaff now with some night vision goggles, porn and party bag of Walkers Thai Sweet Chili

at least Mr Alan knows what hes talking about and has actual insight. with you its like reading a red top newspaper from the 1950's. just the same line (which can be summed up with this equation Utd < * and pool >* ) which is rinsed, lathered and repeated.

i dunno, I've come to like RTE but not because of their analysis but more for the entertainment factor. i think Souness is the only one who really knows what the modern game is about and is definately worth listening to.
    Im watching the UEFA cup coverage from setanta now and its worse then watching a Villareal - Man Utd group game where they both need a draw to get through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

So, this is where the Liverpool thread has disappeared to :pac: :pac:

:eek: What Thread were you reading? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Aidric wrote: »
    This is true of course, but on the other hand we're a bunch of hypocrites so it's natural.
    As others have said the RTE panel is good entertainment value coupled with the perceived old school values of Giles & Dunphy. In their eyes nothing will match up to 'the good aul days', and so they'll always have something to gripe about. Bill is the perfect counter foil for the lads and knows eactly what to say to keep them interested.

Collins a tool. Bill likes to shake things up.
    Think it was last year, after a commercial break, he turned to Giles and said something along the lines of, during the break there John, you said 'player x' is useless. The look on Giles' face, priceless stuff.

I watch these boyos on RTE for pure entertainment, if you believe every word outta their mouths, you must be one confused person. One week Gerrard/Ronaldo/whoever is an overated player, another week they are class.
    If you don't like it, turn it off
    In their eyes nothing will match up to 'the good aul days',
    That's it exactly, along with Giles & Dunphy, we have Houghton/Whelan/Souness blabberin' on about their days at Anfield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

charlie bird is on it tonight lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Always enjoyed listening to Dunphy, didn't always agree with him but his controversy always had me tuned in. However, he is becoming increasingly repetitive - in particular that Ruby Walsh, Brian Cody etc analogy is fast becoming tedious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Remember Dunphy on about Bill saying along the lines of.

What is great about Bill is that any eejit can pretend to be really smart but it takes a really smart person to pretend to be an eejit.

Thought it summed him up nicely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I think you will find that Cristiano Ronaldo has the 9th most assists in the history of the premier league.
    http://www.statbunker.com/football/ktg/index.php?PL=ktgalltime&Code=EPL&statType=assist

On Dunphy, he usually goes through his list of great sportsmen such as Tiger Woods and Federer before following it with Henry Shefflin who don't get me wrong is a very good hurler but it does be taking things too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭podge018

eh not really, Shefflin is one of the greatest hurlers of all time, on a par (beautiful pun) with Woods easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

podge018 wrote: »
    eh not really, Shefflin is one of the greatest hurlers of all time, on a par (beautiful pun) with Woods easily.

eh....

WHA?!?! :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I think you will find that Cristiano Ronaldo has the 9th most assists in the history of the premier league.
    http://www.statbunker.com/football/ktg/index.php?PL=ktgalltime&Code=EPL&statType=assist

I would not believe everything that you read on that site. For starters Ryan Giggs does not appear in the top 20 all time appearances list ! Some of them stats are a bit bogey.

You are completely correct, I may find a better source for stats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Unearthly wrote: »
    +1 To Pat Dolan being one of the best pundits at the moment. He isn't monotonous and safe like BBC or Sky pundits, or repetitive and over the top like RTE. Good balance

He is as bad as the other idiots on RTE. How anyone can rate him as a pundit is beyond belief!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Haven't read through the whole thread, but I have to say I think Bill is great entertainment. He blatently hasn't a clue about football, but he just leans back in the chair and just throws out questions for the lads to fight over.

'Surely Ronaldo is the best player in the world Eamon?'

'Surely Liverpool can win the league this year?'

And he's half chuckling as he says it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I have started thinking that Bill knows more than the lads..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Haven't read through the whole thread, but I have to say I think Bill is great entertainment. He blatently hasn't a clue about football, but he just leans back in the chair and just throws out questions for the lads to fight over.

'Surely Ronaldo is the best player in the world Eamon?'

'Surely Liverpool can win the league this year?'

And he's half chuckling as he says it!

Bill have to say is brilliant, he knows exactly how to get the others going, remember once he made a point which really was to stir the others into a rant, and Eamo obliged,thing is the camera went back onto Bill and he had a huge grin on his face,classic.

I have started thinking that Bill knows more than the lads..

That's not hard tho is it?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Theyre absolutely fantastic! I think they're great to watch, i mean i even love not agreeing with them. They have a tendency to drag it out a small bit on the Premiership show but you cant beat them for the champions league. People give out about them now, but im tellin you in ten or fifteen years when they all arnt there they will be missed.

How anyone can honestly say that Pat Dolan is a good pundit is beyond me. He's absolutely raw. He think he knows everything, ive read his column the odd time in the star and it stinks of smugness. God almighty he's a tit.

Slightly off topic...but completely on topic for Bill...just remembered this classic:

"Television personality of the year: that's me!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,519 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Pat Dolan is absolutely awful.

He says the most cliched things.

At least I can respect Giles and some other pundits for their footballing achievements.

Dolan the Hut has nothing.

noodler wrote: »

At least I can respect Giles and some other pundits for their footballing achievements.

He stirs up controversy in better ways than Dunphy.
    I think Giles hates his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

He is as bad as the other idiots on RTE. How anyone can rate him as a pundit is beyond belief!

nonsense

He doesn't say the opposite of what is true like RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭podge018

noodler wrote: »

he retired from football at 24 ffs.

Although, what a person has won as a player matters to how knowledgable they are on football I don't know.

and pat dolan f*ckin LOVES burger king ^^

nah setanta is very sterile viewing. its punditry is an explanation of the obvious