Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do I have an Entitlement to Fair Pay?

Options
  • 27-11-2008 9:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭

I am a manager in a multinational company. I am on significantly less pay than my counterparts. I am being paid a salary equivalent to the team leads, in fact less than two of my direct reports. I have discussed the issue of unfair pay with my manager, who admits that I am underpaid.

He went so far as to inform me that I am being paid 12% less than the previous manager. I have spoken to two other managers with similarly sized teams and they are being paid in the region of 30% more. He has also told me on numerous occasions that I am outperforming both the previous manager and my other managerial counterparts. (Both the previous manager's salary amount and my performance appraisals are quoted in emails from him.)

I spoke with my boss today, and I have a strong feeling he preparing me for a dissappointment with regard to the increase. He is saying the current economic environment casts the possibility of the increase in doubt. However, it is not like there are zero funds for increases; there is money, but of course its distribution is discretionary.

I am strongly of the opinion that this issue boils down to my gender; I am the only female manager in this role. I feel as though he doesn't expect me to fight hard on this issue, and I also don't think he would even attempt to pull this stuff on any of the guys.