Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dose Ireland have a plan against Terrorism?

• 27-11-2008 11:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,413 ✭✭✭

At the moment Ireland is relatively calm and peaceful but sometimes i start feeling a little paranoid about the thought that any day now a bomb could go off on O Connell Street or in the Four Courts or anywhee in Dublin, and recent new reports about the Terrorist attacks in India have sort have gotten me thinking again. Exactly what is Ireland's plan. Dose the Irish Government think that we are going to be safe just because we're peaceful, if anything that is a bad idea to go by because it makes us look weak and defenceless. Do you feel safe going to work everyday? Are you happy about Ireland's security? and how would you feel if we do get a terrorist attack? There's no doubt about it that there's always the chance.

I don't know maybe it's just me but i'd still sleep a little better if i knew we had a plan for situations like this, I mean considering how we've dealt with terrorist in the past being the IRA and such Ireland should have some sort of policy right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

I have every confidence in Willie "make my day" o'dee:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

by plan do you mean a responce or prevention?
    ie after a say suicide bombing on the 56a ? the regional emergency plan would swing in (last i heard of this was when the bus killed those people at the quays a few years ago.
    in the event of a hostage sit. it would be dealt with by the eru.
    by and large ct is something the government dont like to talk about they say things like security reasons. others is because they havent a bogs notion what to expect from al qaida type groups.

my money is on the second.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Do you feel safe going to work everyday?
    As long as I avoid the junkies on the quays, yes.
    Are you happy about Ireland's security?
    Specifically?
    and how would you feel if we do get a terrorist attack?
    You say that as if the concept of terrorism is totally alien to Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Of course there is a plan
    It was first drawn up by Joe Jacob (after he found all the iodine tablets), then Willie O'Dea added to it (one posit) and Ciaran Cuffe is working on the section involving the charges to be levied on emergency vehicle parking in the city centres.

Anyway just to cheer you up...
    If anything major happens, lets say multiple bombing/hostage incidents spread across Dublin city.
    Firstly emergency vehicles will probably all get stuck in the resulting traffic gridlock and people will be stuck in their cars for hours.
    Most hospital A&Es can't cope on a normal saturday night, nevermind a major emergency involving hundreds of casualties.
    We do not have dedicated medivac helicopters and the army helciopters will be used to patrol the skies (and evacuate dignataries), thus road will be the only option.
    Rail/bus services will all be stopped since drivers will demand more money because of possible danger. This will also apply to drivers operating out of the Tralee and Westport depots.
    Our government will flea to Offaly less they be attacked and the country would be rudderless without our fearless leader.

Now have I left anything out? Oh Wee Wille will comandeer a tank and accidently level the FG hq on Merrion Sq.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

jmayo wrote: »
    Of course there is a plan
    It was first drawn up by Joe Jacob (after he found all the iodine tablets), then Willie O'Dea added to it (one posit) and Ciaran Cuffe is working on the section involving the charges to be levied on emergency vehicle parking in the city centres.

Anyway just to cheer you up...
    If anything major happens, lets say multiple bombing/hostage incidents spread across Dublin city.
    Firstly emergency vehicles will probably all get stuck in the resulting traffic gridlock and people will be stuck in their cars for hours.
    Most hospital A&Es can't cope on a normal saturday night, nevermind a major emergency involving hundreds of casualties.
    We do not have dedicated medivac helicopters and the army helciopters will be used to patrol the skies (and evacuate dignataries), thus road will be the only option.
    Rail/bus services will all be stopped since drivers will demand more money because of possible danger. This will also apply to drivers operating out of the Tralee and Westport depots.
    Our government will flea to Offaly less they be attacked and the country would be rudderless without our fearless leader.

Now have I left anything out? Oh Wee Wille will comandeer a tank and accidently level the FG hq on Merrion Sq.

Mary Harney will be still looking after the HSE. Her emergency HQ bunker will be downstairs in the Burger king on Grafton St. A centre of excellence field hospital will be set up by developers on Stephen's green. The greens will want victims to use the Luas as ambulances have a very high carbon footprint. Privately insured patients will be seen by consultants in order of annual income. Public patients in urgent need of first aid will be referred to Letterkenny. FF will negotiate with the terrorists to try and secure a 10% reduction in ransom. SIPTU will claim that terrorists have families and mortgages too and that other terrorist groups are demanding much higher ransoms and this ransom represents good value in this economic climate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    in the event of a hostage sit. it would be dealt with by the eru.
    by and large ct is something the government dont like to talk about they say things like security reasons. others is because they havent a bogs notion what to expect from al qaida type groups.

my money is on the second.

Chances are the Wing would deal with it instead of the ERU, unless they decided to make it a joint op.

As for the government and CT, you'd be losing your money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Ireland is at a low risk of Terrorism, most Terrorism we know was committed in Northern Ireland by the various terrorist groups on both sides of the religious divide. The Dublin and Monaghan bombings were state sponsored by the United Kingdom and there was collusion between the paramilitaries and British Intelligence.

I would be concerned at wack job Muslims though but I am sure they will be contained. I fell the biggest risk to Ireland at the moment Security wise is the thugs of gangland criminals that occupy certain parts of Limerick and Dublin, they are killing people too and if resources were put into catching and executing (yes the Death Penalty) these scum Ireland would be safer although it is pretty good at the moment. Other possibilities are civil unrest and anarchy if the economic situation keeps going the way it is. Things could get ugly there soon.

Poccington wrote: »
    Chances are the Wing would deal with it instead of the ERU, unless they decided to make it a joint op.

As for the government and CT, you'd be losing your money.

how so?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,413 ✭✭✭Riddle101

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Ireland is at a low risk of Terrorism, most Terrorism we know was committed in Northern Ireland by the various terrorist groups on both sides of the religious divide. The Dublin and Monaghan bombings were state sponsored by the United Kingdom and there was collusion between the paramilitaries and British Intelligence.

I would be concerned at wack job Muslims though but I am sure they will be contained. I fell the biggest risk to Ireland at the moment Security wise is the thugs of gangland criminals that occupy certain parts of Limerick and Dublin, they are killing people too and if resources were put into catching and executing (yes the Death Penalty) these scum Ireland would be safer although it is pretty good at the moment. Other possibilities are civil unrest and anarchy if the economic situation keeps going the way it is. Things could get ugly there soon.

Yeah i agree with you there about Gangland, i guess we should focus on Crime before we deal with that issue

Now riddle thats what "they" would want of course criminal problems should be solved first but dont forget that we in Ireland are very luck we dont have the double threat of ganland and fanatasits here.
    what happens in Ireland is too much nod and winkism.
    Osama sure we know all about them what would they be doing in Ireland would be the answer you get
    the other side would say (like a previous poster) the wing would sort it out.
    all bs
    because there has never been any documented guideline for an incident that involves radical fundamentalists in Ireland, sure we have experience in the leb and what not you hear them say. bull plop on a grand scale thats there not here different topogrophy different targets.
    arent youre iodine tabs out of date or was that a gift of the celtic tiger?

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

sure we are sorted lads...willie will look after it all

bigwill_160602b.jpg

Now riddle thats what "they" would want of course criminal problems should be solved first but dont forget that we in Ireland are very luck we dont have the double threat of ganland and fanatasits here.
    what happens in Ireland is too much nod and winkism.
    Osama sure we know all about them what would they be doing in Ireland would be the answer you get
    the other side would say (like a previous poster) the wing would sort it out.
    all bs
    because there has never been any documented guideline for an incident that involves radical fundamentalists in Ireland, sure we have experience in the leb and what not you hear them say. bull plop on a grand scale thats there not here different topogrophy different targets.
    arent youre iodine tabs out of date or was that a gift of the celtic tiger?

I really don't see where you're going with this.

Since 9/11 the Intelligence Services have been keeping a close eye on extremism but the fact of the matter is, criminal gangs and dissident republicans pose a far bigger threat than any extremist groups at the moment. The extremists will continue to be watched by our intelligence services but at the moment we are quite safe from extremists, simple as. I'd also love to know how you're so sure that we'd have no idea how to deal with the aftermath of a suicide attack or a hostage situation?

As for the hostage situation remark, the Wing would most certainly be called in for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,063 ✭✭✭afatbollix

im sure we are still using the plans from when the IRA were around... youll find we prob had these plans alot longer than britan and the us

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Since 9/11 the Intelligence Services have been keeping a close eye on extremism but the fact of the matter is, criminal gangs and dissident republicans pose a far bigger threat than any extremist groups at the moment. The extremists will continue to be watched by our intelligence services but at the moment we are quite safe from extremists, simple as. I'd also love to know how you're so sure that we'd have no idea how to deal with the aftermath of a suicide attack or a hostage situation?

As I found out when I rang the gards about people acting suspiciously after a possible threat had been liked to an Irish location. They took it very seriously and were interested in very specific details.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Then again it could be like the guy that found a dead bird, at weekend, during the bird flu epidemic that was sweeping across from Asia.
    The guards told him ring a hotline that was run by HSE I believe.
    He got an answering service and told ring back on Monday morning.
    We may have plans from years ago but times change.
    There are now more people about, more traffic, worse hospitals.

Look at it this way, would you trust anything that had the hand of our politicans in it ?
    I know I wouldn't trust them to organise a p*** up in James Gate.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

At the moment Ireland is relatively calm and peaceful but sometimes i start feeling a little paranoid about the thought that any day now a bomb could go off on O Connell Street or in the Four Courts or anywhee in Dublin, and recent new reports about the Terrorist attacks in India have sort have gotten me thinking again. Exactly what is Ireland's plan. Dose the Irish Government think that we are going to be safe just because we're peaceful, if anything that is a bad idea to go by because it makes us look weak and defenceless. Do you feel safe going to work everyday? Are you happy about Ireland's security? and how would you feel if we do get a terrorist attack? There's no doubt about it that there's always the chance.

I don't know maybe it's just me but i'd still sleep a little better if i knew we had a plan for situations like this, I mean considering how we've dealt with terrorist in the past being the IRA and such Ireland should have some sort of policy right?
    The only ones who are most likely want to bombs us are the Loyalist groups. We haven;t recieved a bomb from them in How long? We are relatived peaceful with all nations and groups.

If the worst ever happens and our Country plans failed we can revert to world war 2 plans which is very similar to our war of Independence plans. It is called terrorism. We gotten good at it over the last century with the Brits taking the brunt. We just need call up the reserve squads (recently deactivated) and who were using the Brits as the baddies in their training exercises (minus phone calls). They just need to take the dust off the simtex and use underworld contacts to find them (new baddies) and pay them a visit to let them know they are just as vulnerable as we are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

Of course we have a plan, we'll grant them amnesty if they promise to go legit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭RDM_83

Invite the British in too help ;)
    (i honestly think that would be a likely especially if it is Islamic extremists, they already monitor here enough http://jya.com/gchq-etf.htm
    , and Ireland doesn't have an aircraft capable of shooting down or escorting to land a jet aircraft)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pilatus_PC-9
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boeing_737

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Building I used to work in, facing on to O'Connell st, used to get bomb threats not infrequently. Taken about as seriously as a fire drill.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

At the moment Ireland is relatively calm and peaceful but sometimes i start feeling a little paranoid about the thought that any day now a bomb could go off on O Connell Street or in the Four Courts or anywhee in Dublin, and recent new reports about the Terrorist attacks in India have sort have gotten me thinking again.

Did any of the 520 people killed in India in bomb attacks up to the middle of May this year worry you as much as the latest killings in Mumbai?
    http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1770927,00.html

Or are you only concerned because westerners are being killed in India?
    Are you a sky news worrier? only worried about what Sky think you should worry about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Did any of the 520 people killed in India in bomb attacks up to the middle of May this year worry you as much as the latest killings in Mumbai?
    http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1770927,00.html

Or are you only concerned because westerners are being killed in India?
    Are you a sky news worrier? only worried about what Sky think you should worry about?

is thier a point here

I think he means madeline mcann syndrome where millions of people go crazy for one kid and no one cares about pablo in columbia or the other thousands of kids that go missing each year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Dyflin wrote: »

As I found out when I rang the gards about people acting suspiciously after a possible threat had been liked to an Irish location. They took it very seriously and were interested in very specific details.

when has a post 9/11 type terrorism ever had a threat linked to ireland

When the one handed loo laa threatened Ireland because of shannon airport

also heres a few of the experts views

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2006/sep/03/ireland

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4161/is_20040314/ai_n12888505

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/air-terror-attack-plotted-in-dublin-133616.html

almost all the same that backs up my views.

When the one handed loo laa threatened Ireland because of shannon airport

also heres a few of the experts views

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2006/sep/03/ireland

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4161/is_20040314/ai_n12888505

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/air-terror-attack-plotted-in-dublin-133616.html

almost all the same that backs up my views.

Where are these experts you speak of? Your first link speaks of how civilians aren't serious about the threat from al-Qaeda, then praises the Garda for taking it seriously? :confused: Ed Horgan isn't even close to an expert on anything security related. The man retired in 1986 and his name is absolute dirt in the Defence Forces, it's been many a year since he's sat on anything that even resembles an intel brief, he hasn't a breeze what he's talking about.

You're providing links that are between 2-4 years old that are filled with speculation from "experts" and "sources". I personally have quite a lot of faith in our Intelligence Services as I'm aware of the work they do. It's about time civilians started to show some faith as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

i was thinking of that one, that would be the case of the jihad baiter going onto a chat forum with a well known loudmouth and saying would you attack dublin and shannon? and yerman goes 'sure why not'.

thats isn't a credible threat. its one cooked up by rightwing fanatics.

horgans name is only dirt because many in defences forces buy into the christian holy war and illegal invasions, that's a political view not an intelligence one.

Horgan's name is dirt because he's the very same man that handed back his Overseas medals and uniform outside the Dail in protest, yet held onto that lovely Army pension of his. If I remember correctly he also holds the honour of being the only Irish Officer to order the escalation of force against a protesting crowd, quite the hero he is. He's an absolute disgrace.

As for your comment about members of the Defence Forces, illegal invasions etc. it's very much wide of the mark.

Anyway, back to the topic we go.

Where are these experts you speak of? Your first link speaks of how civilians aren't serious about the threat from al-Qaeda, then praises the Garda for taking it seriously? :confused: Ed Horgan isn't even close to an expert on anything security related. The man retired in 1986 and his name is absolute dirt in the Defence Forces, it's been many a year since he's sat on anything that even resembles an intel brief, he hasn't a breeze what he's talking about.

You're providing links that are between 2-4 years old that are filled with speculation from "experts" and "sources". I personally have quite a lot of faith in our Intelligence Services as I'm aware of the work they do. It's about time civilians started to show some faith as well.

US customs official Joe King has conducted a survey of the Dutch, UK and Irish police forces' responses to the Islamist terror threat for the John Jay Police College in New York City and concluded that the threat is not being taken seriously enough.
    theres the "expert" and it doesnt praise the garda for taking it seriously it praises it for a good grasp on monitoring big difference than the topic were talking about.

you say edward horgans name is dirt in the defence forces, have you any evidence to back this up ??

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

you say edward horgans name is dirt in the defence forces, have you any evidence to back this up ??

He's a soldier.