Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Toy Show-tonight

1101112131416»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

All programmes on RTE1 are running 6 mins behind due to "extended" coverage of the Late Late Toy Show.

What would we have missed if they ran to the proper time schedule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

mick_irl wrote: »
    All programmes on RTE1 are running 6 mins behind due to "extended" coverage of the Late Late Toy Show.

Nooooo . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭vanessamee

lpool1 wrote: »
    I watch most years,Pat kenny is such a loser! Bring back Gaybo. He can never work the stuff,he doesnt know to talk to the kids and he is just not funny

i tink pat kenny is a freak his does knw how to interact with the young kids it seem to me that once he starts a conversation wit them he cant wait to move them to the side shame on him:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

I managed to watch the whole thing this year without throwing the remote at the TV.

The 2 traveller kids were win.

Fergie was sound, and still looks good for a tap.

The young one who came down the stairs singing was brutal.

Yer one with the guitar had a great voice. I don't care if it was twee. I found it was mesmerizing.

Pat Kenny has the charisma of a sick bag.
    Reminded me of this vid about Pat Kenny (*explicit language*NSFW*)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYvB25-qPK4&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Nightwish wrote: »
    Kevo....left on the doorstep of RTE at the tender age of 2 and a half and fostered by the Late Late producers

Anyone remember the Kevo photoshop thread that was on Boards a few years ago? That was legendary. I don't suppose anyone saved the pictures?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

flynner13 wrote: »
    Il probably get shot over this, but Pat wasnt as bad as he normally was, at least he took the piss out of the medical system and the FAS fiasco...
    Yeah I agree with that. He seemed a lot less wooden than usual - obviously the Barbara fiasco got him fired up!

Pretty good toy show this year - those traveller twins were kinda funny because they said crap (twice) but their, ahem, "rapping" was diabolical.

The girl with the guitar was quite good. The one singing Leona Lewis had a nice voice, but needs to work on her pronunciation (a moment like-a deeees)

Audience got a load of stuff, more than usual - Newbridge hamper, Butlers hamper, Creative Zen, can't remember the rest. I'm guessing this was to piss off Barbara! :D

Pity there was no Dusti or Zig and Zag though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭spiderbeast

Yeah I agree with that. He seemed a lot less wooden than usual - obviously the Barbara fiasco got him fired up!

Audience got a load of stuff, more than usual - Newbridge hamper, Butlers hamper, Creative Zen, can't remember the rest. I'm guessing this was to piss off Barbara! :D
    :(

Yeah Barbara, Pat got the last laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Yeah Barbara, Pat got the last laugh.

"Needless to say" Pat *always* gets the last laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Pigman II wrote: »
    "Needless to say" Pat *always* gets the last laugh.

Is that an Alan Partridge reference I spy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 justmum

My God, Kenny's really wrecked the toy show. Isn't it supposed to be bout the kids and the toys? He's no idea bout either, how did he get to replace Gaybo? Gaybo made the show good and Kenny, well, whoever watched it, knows what I mean. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,139 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Personally I can't stand Pat Kenny OR Gay Byrne (who as a former chat and radio show host is somehow now qualified to lecture the rest of us on our driving??? :rolleyes:) but last night's show was actually watchable - mostly because I was reading this thread alongside it - some classic stuff in here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭ongarite

Is this going to be repeated during the week? Anybody have an idea of what time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

ongarite wrote: »
    Is this going to be repeated during the week? Anybody have an idea of what time?
    It is on Sunday afternoon at 2:40pm on RTE 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭sprinklesspanky

Old Pat just lacks charisma, personal magnetism or any charm. He was much better suited to current affairs or politics.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭smares

You have to feel sorry for Pat he is so awkward with the kids and there were so many silences on the show.
    I think the funniest thing is seeing him in a cardigan it just does not look right!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

A lot better than last year's, LOL at Del Boy Junior with his bargain table and the traveller kids. The girl who sang Imagine was excellent, much better than the Leona Lewis wannabe. The girl with the MyLife game ("I've only 3 euro left for the hospital") was kinda funny. As I said, an improvement on the 07 version. At least this time we had no bad High School Musical medleys, while the absence of June Rogers is always a cause for celebration.

So what didn't I like? McFly, the multi-cultural song just before the first ad break (you could tell by the faces of some of the kids that they didn't want to be there), the Top Gear eejits, the hip-hop overload, the outfits worn by those girls with the lop-sided ponytails (one of them got a hug off Sarah Ferguson, incase you're wondering who I'm on about).

And as for all the free stuff the audience got...I'll definitely have to go along to it next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

He seems to have a strange fetish for dolls??

Anyway the amount RTE have spent on training him and giving him interview training and training to help him relax and communicate better must be very very high. It doesnt seem to be helping him much.

The man is a shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,206 ✭✭✭DenMan

dedon wrote: »
    He seems to have a strange fetish for dolls??

Anyway the amount RTE have spent on training him and giving him interview training and training to help him relax and communicate better must be very very high. It doesnt seem to be helping him much.

The man is a shambles

Well of course dedon, it is their plastic personality. Pat is on a winner with them. He always looks very comfortable and at ease when 'interacting' with dolls. Seems to get a better response out of them than humans. I felt sorry for poor little Holly last night. The poor girl looked like her lifeforce had been completely drained standing beside Pat. I think we all felt that way last night. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

myself and the lads watched it and it was uber cringeworthy. especially pat reading advertising slogans off the autocue.

all these phones are available on 3, irelands fastest growing mobile network

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    myself and the lads watched it and it was uber cringeworthy. especially pat reading advertising slogans off the autocue.

all these phones are available on 3, irelands fastest growing mobile network

Thought the exact same thing!! You could see him squinting at it when talkin about the phones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

DenMan wrote: »
    Gollum and Dim Dim ad just on there a few mins ago. Must amend personal planner.
    Heh heh.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,655 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I only watched a little bit of the show. What a pile of horse **** it is, and no wonder that lady last week didn't want to go; she was dead bloody right. It's absolute tripe and most of the kids haven't a clue about the actual toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

I just don't get it guys. We all know that Kenny is a joke. He has no personality, nobody likes him-yet he still gets way over paid and he still is the host of arguably the most important of RTE shows. Can someone please tell me in all seriousness why he hasn't been fired. At the very least, why hasn't he been replaced by ryan tubridy (who is considerably less annoying).
    And one more thing, why are the production values on RTE productions so fudging poor. It really is embarassing. Especially when a big international celebrity appears on a show. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭magnumlady

There must be people that like him though, because he gets a lot of viewers and listeners.
    Although I think it would most likely be the older generation.
    I don't think he's cut out for tv work at all, very wooden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

God damn that was bad...

Gonna try for tickets next year, the free stuff was nice!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Does anybody have the recording of the top gear lads on this last late toy show? Or a link to it,

Cheers

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

is the show available to watch online?

http://www.rte.ie/tv/latelate/toyshow.html
    The site doesn't have any videos of the show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

camel toe wrote: »

Just read this thread tbh, much more entertaining than the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

Just read the first 45 pages or so of this thread. Much more fun than actually watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,206 ✭✭✭DenMan

I hope they bring it out on DVD.

Des wrote: »
    Agree with that - it got me through the night laughing at the comments!!

Des wrote: »

thats super. problem is my cuz was on the show so i want to see her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

thats super. problem is my cuz was on the show so i want to see her.

There's a good chance we made fun of her.

Ethnic children... we didn't have them back in my day...

racism monkeyfudge hey?

my cousin is an 'ethnic children' u got a problem with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭TvWatcher

robo wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/tv/latelate/toyshow.html
    The site doesn't have any videos of the show!

Yes it does:

http://www.rte.ie/tv/latelate/20081128.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

racism monkeyfudge hey?

my cousin is an 'ethnic children' u got a problem with that?

Well I do! Get back to Ethnica with ya.

Besides there there was ethnics on the show even back in the day. I remember a lad from my school playing tin whistle on the show with our school band back in the mid1980's. He was from Vietnam. The camera kept zooming in on him as tho it was a cultural curio. I guess he was at the time.

Those mad Kerry children they find are something of an ethnic curiosity too.

camel toe> I don't recall saying having different ethnic groups on was a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

How do you get tickets to the Toy Show?

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    How do you get tickets to the Toy Show?

At a guess I'd say work in RTÉ or be related to someone who works in RTÉ.

Or win the competition the week before and don't be a bitch about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

LOL :D

You can't get them for love nor money...maybe sex though! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

My sister works there, but no chance of getting tickets. Only if you're well high up would you have a chance.

Anyone routing around in the bins out that back of RTE last Saturday morning, might have found a couple that could be sellotaped back together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭xbox36016

can some get me a pic of mcfly on the toy show last friday