Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC 20mb struggling to load pages

Options
  • 30-11-2008 5:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭

For the last 4 or 5 days my house has been having a lot of trouble with our net connection. 20mb line UPC, close to Cork City Centre.

Pages regularly spend ages waiting for sites/content, but not every time. I have a paid radio subscription for radio commentery of my teams matches and yesterday couldn't use it as it was spending far more time inoperable than working, as was the same systems text commentery, and Sky Sports Score Centre. I ended up having to watch Aertel on the TV for score updates on my match. A few minutes ago it timed out when I tried to go from one page of a boards.ie thread to the next, and it does so regularly when on various messageboards/forums etc. I've not been able to use gmail chat in this time, and regularly have to take multiple attempts to load e-mails in yahoo mail. YouTube videos take forever to begin to load and many other sites are struggling to operate. We've had the connection for just over a month, and have had no such problems prior to this.

When I run a speedtest it takes AGES to load (a minute!?) then tells me i've a 58ms ping, 3600 kbps up and 800 kbps up connection. Grand in theory, but I clicked a youtube link earlier then nipped to the shop to find it was still waiting for (amusingly) pms.youtube.com!