Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

Quick question re gears

Options
  • 01-12-2008 1:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭

Im a beginner but just something ive noticed my friends doing that i need advice on. When approaching a roundabout, for eg, and they are braking and clutching into 3rd/2nd and having a look to see if their is anything coming, and if their is something coming, with the car still rolling slightly they change into 1st and once the coast is clear they take off. Basically what im wondering is, when the car is moving and you shift into first, is the take off the same as when you are stopped fully ie find biting point and accelerate whilst slowly taking your foot off the clutch?

Bit too embarrassed to ask my mates! :rolleyes:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

If the car is moving then no. You can come off the clutch alot quicker then when starting from stopped.

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Shurwhynot

If the car is still rolling i always thought that it would be ok to take off in 2nd, and that its only when your fully stopped that you change to 1st

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Yes, i'd tend to agree, generally speaking while you're still moving you should be in second gear and you can just coninue as normal. I'd only switch to first if i had come to a complete stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris