Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to get a good steel dog kennel

• 01-12-2008 5:44pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭

Me and the OH are after getting a golden labrador pup and by the looks of it he is gonna be a big dog when he grows up. We need to get him a kennell and would prefer getting a insulated steel one as compared to the wooden ones cos every one i've ever seen the dog has ate lumps of it.

Does anyone know where i could look about getting these or how much they cost roughly?

What size would i be needing to get for the dog - 1m x 1m??

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭Philush

hey cant say ive ever seen metal dog kennels,but have a border collie myself, so be roughly the same size, got him a wodden kennel from my cousin who no longer uses it, its approx 4 ft x 3 ft awith about 3.5 ft from the base to the pitch in the roof.its grand and big for him he has plenty of room to stand up and move around in it.

to make it warm for him tho i put it up on a pallet just to stop damp going up through the bottom of it and also put in a large rubber mat that covered the whole floor area.(he has a bed too)

on the outside to make it last longer i was able to get some metal from a friend of mine thats pvc coated on one side and got panels cut to shape etc and attactched it to the kennel all round. this way the wood is kept completely dry and theres no wind going into the kennel if ya get me, so its grand and warm for him, in saying that, in this freezing weather im bringin him into the kitchen anyway.

cant help ya regarding price unfortunatley as i got the metal as a favour, but if your shopping for the long run shop around as best you can, even try e bay cos kennels here can be crazy prices, and maybe you could do some research into some metal or something similar to my own way. hope this was some help to ya anyway. enjoy the pup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭looserock

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

Metal type kennels can end up with a lot of condensation, haven't come across insulated ones but a shiplap timber one would be warm as well.
    However if a dog is chewing their kennel it's a sign of boredom so if the new dog does then a lot more work would need to be done with the dog.

An alternative is dog igloo it has rounded edges and you can get a flap for them, although I would say to get the next size up recommended for the breed because the one I got although the dog will fit in she can't stretch out in it. So we used a timber kennel but now use a large shed with run attached.
    Something like a small potting shed might work out cheaper than a kennel and you could insulate it yourself and put marine ply over the insulation.

There's a few options but if your new pooch starts chewing on the kennel do look in to why and this can be solved by more walkies, play time etc labs need an awful lot of attention and don't do well on their own.

The kennel needs to be large enough so the dog can stand up without stooping, can stretch out fully while lying down and be able to turn around in it, however not too large because the larger the space the less heat it will hold in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭kerrysgold

a steel kennel is generally too hot in the summer and too cold in the winter. a wooden kennel is much more kennel. I hope you aren't considering putting a puppy outside anyway? a pup needs to spend the majority of it's time with it's family and certainly not put outside in the back garden all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭golden

If the steel kennel is well insulated there should be no caravan effect ie cold in winter hot in summer.

Personally we have a igloo and its fantastic you can power hose it down all the time unlike the wooden ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

dlambirl wrote: »

Me and the OH are after getting a golden labrador pup and by the looks of it he is gonna be a big dog when he grows up. We need to get him a kennell and would prefer getting a insulated steel one as compared to the wooden ones cos every one i've ever seen the dog has ate lumps of it.

Does anyone know where i could look about getting these or how much they cost roughly?

What size would i be needing to get for the dog - 1m x 1m??

Redsetter who also make garden sheds make dog kennel with wooden drame and stell roofs. They are expensive but look the business.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

kerrysgold wrote: »
    a steel kennel is generally too hot in the summer and too cold in the winter. a wooden kennel is much more kennel. I hope you aren't considering putting a puppy outside anyway? a pup needs to spend the majority of it's time with it's family and certainly not put outside in the back garden all day.

He'l be sleeping outside like all the dogs that have been around my house since i was born

I seen a neighbour got a present of a dog house made out of Kingspan insulated sheeting. It looked the business. Would love to get a run for it too but that would be slightly over my budget at the present moment in time (we're trying to finish off our house so we can move into it!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

Thanks for that. Very interesting.

The dog will be with us during the day and in the evenings and will go out to his new kennell (when we get it) at night. He was sleeping in a kennell before we got him and both his parents have done the same and they didnt look too traumatised

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭hadook

dlambirl wrote: »
    Thanks for that. Very interesting.

The dog will be with us during the day and in the evenings and will go out to his new kennell (when we get it) at night. He was sleeping in a kennell before we got him and both his parents have done the same and they didnt look too traumatised

He slept outside with his siblings before you got him and/or his parents I assume? So a fairly big pile of warm dogs to help keep his body temp up? It's far too cold out right now to leave a single puppy outside at night. If you do want to have him sleep outside in a warm dry kennel leave it til he's a little older. :)

hey, i agree, at the moment its a bit too cold to leave a puppy outside on its own, ive brought in my own dog at night cos of the weather, kennel or not,but other than that the dogs outside all the time, big garden so hes happy out,and i havent had any "issues" with its behaviour,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

i got an insulated stell kennel for my hounds. in destructable. insulated so its warm in winter and cool in summer. i'll pm you the number. they deliver.

hadook wrote: »
    He slept outside with his siblings before you got him and/or his parents I assume? So a fairly big pile of warm dogs to help keep his body temp up? It's far too cold out right now to leave a single puppy outside at night. If you do want to have him sleep outside in a warm dry kennel leave it til he's a little older. :)

No when we got him he was on his own. Now, i'm not cruella de-vile - i've left him inside in the utility room this last few nights when its been below freezing cos he's a puppy but its not going to become a permanent arrangement.
    Philush wrote: »
    hey, i agree, at the moment its a bit too cold to leave a puppy outside on its own, ive brought in my own dog at night cos of the weather, kennel or not,but other than that the dogs outside all the time, big garden so hes happy out,and i havent had any "issues" with its behaviour,

Plilush - yeah i've let the dog sleep inside to but i dont see whats wrong with leaving him outside now when he gets a little bigger. my dog at home is always outside and even when he's inside wants to get out to run like the clappers around the house!
    whitser wrote: »
    i got an insulated stell kennel for my hounds. in destructable. insulated so its warm in winter and cool in summer. i'll pm you the number. they deliver.

Thanks whitser - where are they based?

whitser wrote: »

me too please

That paws link is bollox imo

hey OP sorry,i wanst clear in my last post,i agree with ya,other than the few cold nights ive brought him in, he's always outside, i leave him outside all the time and he prefers it,ya can tell he gets a bit stir crazy if he's inside for too long and likes nothing better than just goin outside like a mad thing.i dont like bringin him inside cos i dont think its healthy for them. theres nothing wrong with leaving him outside, i dont agree with that paws link either

Killme00 wrote: »
    me too please

That paws link is bollox imo

PM Sent :D

Why did you get a puppy in the first place if you're not willing to let it be a part of the family? Don't see the point! How is it going to be house trained? are you even going to bother socialising, training or exercising it?

and that website is full of good information, I'd like to know how much the people who are condemning it know about looking after dogs properly!

and as for all the dogs since you were born, haven't you ever heard of things moving on over time, for the better? I could say I'm going to feed my dog on bread crusts and potato peelings because they used to do it years ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Kerrysgold she's already stated the pup will be her and her other half during the day and in the eveing as well, it will just sleep outside. You need to give it a rest. Plenty of dogs sleep in kennels at night and haven't suffered some fate worse than death. She also didn't ask for your opinion on the dog's sleeping arrangements, only where she might get a type of kennel.

The thing is, it's just stupid. Why put a dog outside at night? whats the point? A dogbed in the corner of the kitchen is hardly disrupting the whole household.

i dont think its a question of the dog "being put out".the dog is going to be outside for most of the day anyway therefore it wont make a difference if it sleeps outside,its not as if the dog is being inside in the heat all day and then being put outside.

The thing is, it's just stupid. Why put a dog outside at night? whats the point? A dogbed in the corner of the kitchen is hardly disrupting the whole household.

The axe is sharp enough with real cruelty, you dont need to grind it any more arguing whether a dog should sleep inside or out. Not everything you read on the internet is true and just because your bleeding heart cries for every dog that sleeps outside in a kennel doesnt make it cruel in any way.

Why did you get a puppy in the first place if you're not willing to let it be a part of the family? Don't see the point! How is it going to be house trained? are you even going to bother socialising, training or exercising it?

What makes you think that because a dog sleeps outside in a nice warm sheltered kennel that it isnt part of the family or not being socialised, trained or excercised? What makes you think that because my dogs sleep outisde in a nice warm kennel that i dont look after them?

and that website is full of good information, I'd like to know how much the people who are condemning it know about looking after dogs properly!

Who are you to judge how much i know about dogs or caring for my dogs for that matter? I read the website and think alot of the information is crap, engage the brain will you?
    and as for all the dogs since you were born, haven't you ever heard of things moving on over time, for the better? I could say I'm going to feed my dog on bread crusts and potato peelings because they used to do it years ago!

Huh? Not everything has to change and especially not just for the sake of it. Nobody is saying that you should feed your dog scraps, all we are saying is that in some circumstances that dogs sleeping out the back does them no harm (i would also like to point out that more than one poster including me have said that we take in our dogs if its too cold). It doesnt mean that they arent loved and cared for, it just means that they have there own sheltered and warm kennel in a large enclosed back garden in which they sleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I totally agree that a lot of dogs can quite happily sleep outside. But I certainly don't think it's ideal and I really don't see the point. A dogbed in the corner of the kitchen doesn't disrupt. I would be terrified, that my dog would be stolen out of the garden. I would never leave a dog outside unsupervised for so long, for fear of something like that happening, if for no other reason.

There is a lab next door to me. She is outside 24/7, when she was a pup she was adorable. (I looked for advice here before about her) Now, I can't walk out the back without her trying to get through the fence for a rub. There's nothing more upsetting (and annoying TBH) than walking up your garden and hearing a full grown lab throwing herself against the fence repeatedly. It's soul destroying TBH, I watched the dog going from a happy go lucky pup to a mentally disturbed adult. I have lost any respect for the woman next door and to be honest would love nothing better than to give her good for nothing son a kick in the arse. When I said it in passing I was told "Oh sure lots of people leave their dogs outside".

People need to be aware that there are different levels to being outside. Thing is, people here saying "oh it's grand" etc. While YOUR dog may be grand, and may be well socialised and loved, the danger is other people reading this might not be so responsible. Leaving their dog out all the time then justifying it by looking at people taking issue with someone who doesn't agree with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

"People need to be aware that there are different levels to being outside. Thing is, people here saying "oh it's grand" etc. While YOUR dog may be grand, and may be well socialised and loved, the danger is other people reading this might not be so responsible. Leaving their dog out all the time then justifying it by looking at people taking issue with someone who doesn't agree with it."

Right, but in THIS case, the OP has already explained quite clearly what SHE means by outside. ie, at night. My own dog slept in the kitchen, but he was a dobermann and felt the cold quite a lot. My friend's dog is a springer/collie cross and seems impervious to cold and he sleeps in a kennel in his dog run at night, is this cruel? Of course not. MOST people can judge for themselves what is best for THEIR dog without a hectoring lecture on every aspect of how they are going to train/raise a dog. The fact is once an animal is warm sheltered and comortable he will do very well outdoors at night and deeming it 'cruel' for no other reason other than it might not be what you do yourself is ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Right, but in THIS case, the OP has already explained quite clearly what SHE means by outside. ie, at night. My own dog slept in the kitchen, but he was a dobermann and felt the cold quite a lot. My friend's dog is a springer/collie cross and seems impervious to cold and he sleeps in a kennel in his dog run at night, is this cruel? Of course not. MOST people can judge for themselves what is best for THEIR dog without a hectoring lecture on every aspect of how they are going to train/raise a dog. The fact is once an animal is warm sheltered and comortable he will do very well outdoors at night and deeming it 'cruel' for no other reason other than it might not be what you do yourself is ridiculous.
    I was actually agreeing with you, but just think that there are a lot of statements thrown out about how "dogs" are ok outside. The OP in THIS CASE also clearly stated that it is a PUP she is talking about. A pup will not do well outside. Anybody will be able to tell you that. Some of the outdoor advice given is great, for an older dog. Not a pup.

Many many people cannot judge whats best for their dog, in fact a recent thread would show that a lot of people still go in for the "tough love" sure it's only an animal type of attitude. The majority of dogs are not treated the way they should be. For every dog I can think of who is well socialised and is part of the family, I can think of another who is not, not to mention the 1,000's of dogs in pound and PTS every year in Ireland. I would have no problem in saying that many maybe the majority of people, do not treat their dogs correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

will you climb down from your soap box. everytime someone comes on asking a question you go off on one. i have dogs that sleep outside and a dog that lives in the house. all are happy,fit and content.

Jees Louise, all i asked for was a kennel for my pup - not a UN cruelty discussion. As someone already said different dogs react differently to being outside and MY pup for one loves being outside with me and my OH during the day. We were all outside working during the day over the past few days and he was with us - :eek: Yes shock horror - a pup outside in the cold. He played for a while with us (i think thats what you called socialising with the dog) and then fell asleep on the cold frosty grass.... then when he woke up was full of puppery again.

Before i got the pup he was outside, on his own so whats wrong with him continuing to be outside only this time he'll be played with, talked to and pet during the day as parkt of our family??

Yes i know, that things change - i didnt say that i was feeding my pup scraps just cos they did years ago. I want to let my dog sleep outside cos its my choice the same way that you choose to have yours sleep inside and be the perfect internet case pooch.
    Kerrysgold she's already stated the pup will be her and her other half during the day and in the eveing as well, it will just sleep outside. You need to give it a rest. Plenty of dogs sleep in kennels at night and haven't suffered some fate worse than death. She also didn't ask for your opinion on the dog's sleeping arrangements, only where she might get a type of kennel.

Thanks fatmammycat. Do you think the RSPCA will be called to me yet?!! :p
    I was actually agreeing with you, but just think that there are a lot of statements thrown out about how "dogs" are ok outside. The OP in THIS CASE also clearly stated that it is a PUP she is talking about. A pup will not do well outside. Anybody will be able to tell you that. Some of the outdoor advice given is great, for an older dog. Not a pup.

as i have mentioned before My pup has been sleeping outside before and hasnt looked too bothered about it. in fact when he is inside for too long (cos we had a big fire on in the house) he wanted to get outside and played for a while throwing old caps and socks from the line around the garden :rolleyes: anyway, its not that i'm keeping him out in sub zero temperatures - i kept him inside on cold nights. The reason i started this thread was to find out about a suitable kennel for my pup, an insulated one so it would be warm in the winter for him and cool during the summer.

Why was the pup kept on his own before you bought him? How old was he?

and obviously it's good that your out there playing with him now, but are you going to be outside every day keeping him company? and you playing with him isn't really socializing, socializing is getting him used to strange people and other dogs etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭golden

Correct me if I wrong here isnt the topic that we are supposed to talk about here is the kennel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Demonique

and obviously it's good that your out there playing with him now, but are you going to be outside every day keeping him company?

Maybe it would be a good idea to CAREFULLY read each post in the topic before bleating your opinion?

Quote from OP: The dog will be with us during the day and in the evenings and will go out to his new kennell (when we get it) at night

The OP has already stated that the dog will only be going outside at night (rather than all day as you seem to think) and what's more I'm not the first person to point this out to you.

Do you always ignore other peoples' posts?

Why was the pup kept on his own before you bought him? How old was he?

How do i know why he was kept outside?? He was 3 months old.
    and obviously it's good that your out there playing with him now, but are you going to be outside every day keeping him company? and you playing with him isn't really socializing, socializing is getting him used to strange people and other dogs etc.

Keeping a dog company? Jaysus have i to invite it for coffee and shopping trips with the girls too?? Its a dog. He'll be a loved dog - played with plenty and excercised so Kerrysgold FFS give it a rest.

BACK ON TOPIC.... i got my kennel - an Kingspan insulated one. ONE HELL OF A JOB. 1metre x 1metre so its a great size and will be plenty big enough for when the pup gets bigger. Delivered for €200