Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan is simply vile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

walshb wrote: »
    I can see why you like Gerry:D

I don't know him, i just like his show and like how he takes the piss. Most other talk shows the hosts do it by the book which is boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭AvrilLavigne

If your kids know what he's talking about, then its too late

He hardly said "and i stuck my little willy in her, my willy is the thing i pee out of. the faster i went the better it was and eventually white stuff came out of my willy"

You're a sick little man. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭cmcsoft

I actually like Gerry Ryan, he's very opiniated fair enough (I don't always agree with him either!) but if people don't want to listen to him they have that option. Sorry to go off point but I though he was excellent on the Late Late a coulpe of weeks back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,357 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I don't know him, i just like his show and like how he takes the piss. Most other talk shows the hosts do it by the book which is boring

You know what, when he actually tries, he can be quite good and is a good interviewer. I just think he is SO SO hung up on SEX. It's to the point of ODD.

I mean, any chance he gets, he is wanting to turn the situation into a sexual episode?

That to me is plain weird.

I remember he was interviewing Cliff Richard recently and the interview was going real well and I thought, 'Wow, no sex talk, this isn't like Gerry,' but then Cliff mentioned how he had to flee a mob of chasing girls and he had to hide in a gents toilets. Ryan smiles and shakes and says, "did you get all excited in the mens toliets":rolleyes:

God, you would think I was always listening to him. I don't by the way; just every so often he crops up!

cmcsoft wrote: »
    I actually like Gerry Ryan, he's very opiniated fair enough (I don't always agree with him either!) but if people don't want to listen to him they have that option. Sorry to go off point but I though he was excellent on the Late Late a coulpe of weeks back

I thought he was good too. Tommy Tiernan, now there's an asshole. Even
    Ryan was squirming listening to Tiernan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I first listened to Ryan when I was 11 and off sick (wanted to listen to pop music, and 2FM - or was it Radio 2 at the time? - was the only place). Granted, this was nearly 20 years ago so he may have got more raunchy since, although I don't know, he doesn't strike me as someone who'd consider the cultural climate when it comes to discussing matters of a sexual nature... in fact he strikes me as someone who'd go out of his way to get the prudes all bothered. Anyway the entire show went right over my head. All I wanted was some tunes and there was nothing but boring talk between adults, none of which registered with me.

You're a sick little man. :mad:
    If you're being serious... why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Ziggurat

Dinter wrote: »
    Well I don't have any children so I don't really care but I do think that a State sponsored programme shouldn't have a fat old bastard being graphic in the morning. The State should certainly have a duty of care on what they're publishing. Crissakes if I posted a doorty picture in the TD I'd be banned.

Anyway the end of the day if Ryan's show was broadcast post watershed there'd be even less chance of me hearing it which would have to be a good thing.

Don't get me wrong, I'm no fan of Ryan but I consider myself a vehement opponent of any form of censorship.

I suppose it comes back to Frada's remark about a universal standard of decency. What's risqué for you might be fine for someone else.
    Granted there has to be a happy medium but it's not chucking someone off the air because you don't like their antics.

I'm going to have a wee think about this. I can understand your point about a State broadcaster.

Dudess wrote: »
    I first listened to Ryan when I was 11 and off sick (wanted to listen to pop music, and 2FM - or was it Radio 2 at the time? - was the only place). Granted, this was nearly 20 years ago so he may have got more raunchy since, although I don't know, he doesn't strike me as someone who'd consider the cultural climate when it comes to discussing matters of a sexual nature... in fact he strikes me as someone who'd go out of his way to get the prudes all bothered. Anyway the entire show went right over my head. All I wanted was some tunes and there was nothing but boring talk between adults, none of which registered with me.

Well, did you parents sit with you whilst listening? I bet not, that's normal. My parents
    didn't always sit with us whilst watching TV or listening to the radio; but if they knew Ryan was
    spouting off about his masturbation techniques; I think they may well want to be there to switch it off

Anyway, had you as an 11 year old heard him today, I think it definitely
    would have registered, It was despicable, and for an 11 year old or younger, inexcusable.

That's all I am saying. I am not a prude; but I do distinguish between adult content for adults and adult content that children are OR CAN be exposed to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

If you're being serious... why?

Because life can't just revolve around the fun of endlessly stalking Skater boys.

Quinine wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong, I'm no fan of Ryan but I consider myself a vehement opponent of any form of censorship.

I suppose it comes back to Frada's remark about a universal standard of decency. What's risqué for you might be fine for someone else.
    Granted there has to be a happy medium but it's not chucking someone off the air because you don't like their antics.

I'm going to have a wee think about this. I can understand your point about a State broadcaster.
    Me too, I am anti censorship for ADULTS, but I also feel that certain standards should apply if the possibility is there for young children to be seeing and hearing content of an adult nature.

And there is the possibility. Children can freely and without consent switch a bloody radio on and they can access any station. That's why standards are needed!

Because life can't just revolve around the fun of endlessly stalking Skater boys.

It's spelt Sk8er Boi! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

And there is the possibility. Children can freely and without consent switch a bloody radio on and they can access any station. That's why standards are needed!

Throw out the fúcking radio then, if your children insist on listening to Gerry Ryan so much. Some of us* without children actually like Gerry Ryan's particular brand of early morning smut.+

* Not me.

+ Seriously, not me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

Aidric wrote: »
    I applaud Ryan's smuttiness in the face of a stale morning schedule across most of the broadcasters.

It's 2008. Smut is stale.

Throw out the fúcking radio then, if your children insist on listening to Gerry Ryan so much. Some of us* without children actually like Gerry Ryan's particular brand of early morning smut.+

* Not me.

+ Seriously, not me.

Great argument there Kylen Plain Scandal:rolleyes:

You, like Ryan, are a nob!

Don't ever remember saying I even had children, nor saying they INSIST on listening to Ryan. So that shows me how observant and articulate you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Number one

This isn't a question about rte's censorship its a question as to whether or not gerry ryan is vile.

I can't understand how people don't consider him vile, the man is repulsive and so self absorbed that its hypocritical that he's even an interviewer as all he wants to do is express his opinion and tell of his personal experiences.

I've no qualms in the subject matter at a given time of day but its the purpose behind it that bothers me. Discussions on sex and masturbation are a tool of sensationalism that Ryan is using to build publicity and get people talking about his show. The proof is in the existence of this very thread.

Whats worse is theres no real substance or insight delivered in his show just tit tat glorified trash talk. I mean, who in they're f*cked up mind wants to hear about Gerry Ryan's **** tendancies anyway?

I endured two episodes of ryan confidential both of which compunded my detest for the man. When he interviewed Marco Pierre White, Ryan gorged his greasy mug with food and wine and repeadedly cut across Marco as he offered answers to Ryans mundane questions. Then, as ever, Ryan turned a question about Marco's love life into a sob story about his own troubles with his wife. F*ck off Gerry, nobody cares, interview the man we tuned into see interviewed.

The other i watched was with colin farrell. While Farrell is not on my list of favourite people he gained a place in my heart when he hit gerry ryan with this haymaker and said what we were all thinking:

Ryan (in response to an answer given by farrell: 'And why don't I believe you Colin?'
    Farrell: '.....Cos you're a cynical f*ck Gerry!'

Thank you Colin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Great argument there Frada:rolleyes:

Don't ever remember saying I even had children, nor saying they INSIST on listening to Ryan. So that shows me how observant and articulate you are!

you've been invoking the "think of the children" card since about your second post.
    So, either you have children (which makes frada quite observant) and you're expecting RTE to do your job for you, or you don't have children and your just making references to them in an effort to make it look like your complaint isn't as simple and easily resolved as it actually is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

that shows me how observant and articulate you are!

Well now I hardly think you're one to talk about being articulate:
    Is the vilest man in the public figure?

I'm far from prudish, but c'mom, Ryan is just VILE!
    He is VILE.

C'mon, he's VILE and the fact he gets excited and giddy tells me he is a little touched.
    Hey, I know we can all slate Kenny, but it just goes to show how he is a cut above
    that VILE creep!

I guess I am observant after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Number one wrote: »

This isn't a question about rte's censorship its a question as to whether or not gerry ryan is vile.

all he wants to do is express his opinion and tell of his personal experiences.

Whats worse is theres no real substance or insight delivered in his show just tit tat glorified trash talk. I mean, who in they're f*cked up mind wants to hear about Gerry Ryan's **** tendancies anyway?

Gerry's show runs three hours a day, five days a week. Of course it's going to have rubbish, pointless discussions on it. If he's wrecking my head, i switch off, simple enough.

He can't expect people to give their opinions on various subjects if he doesn't in return give his.

It's morning radio. Yesterday i got a good laugh out of that woman raving on about the stripper waving her fallujah in some poor lads face. Tomorrow it could be a discussion on women priests. it's silly and serious.

If your not liking it, stop listening. Thing is, alot of people are listening, thats why he's there so long.

As for him being vile? em no, ......wouldint ride him though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

I personally never listen to the fat fcuk, however I was in a shop this morning and the staff had Irelands most overrated gobsh1te on the radio. Guess what he was talking about other than himself, his circumstised cock. Thats right big fat ugly Gerry talking about his tiny foreskin free tool. The two wimmin who were on air with him must not get out much cause they thought it was hillarious. FFS are we going to have to put up with this fcuker as long as we did with Gaybo. Why cant RTE get some fresh blood on the air and rid of this obnoxious wakner for good. Surely in these times of recession he could be sacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Paging Dr Freud, paging Dr Freud.
    Hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Great argument there Frada:rolleyes:

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I know you'd get a load of pages out of Pat Kenny, because he's so bland that everything else comes up as a topic. He's a blank sheet, as it were. But I'm amazed that Ryan, langers, and his new exercise regime for his own, has given us 9 pages and a ban.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

So stick Gerry Ryan and his filthy kuntrag of a mouth on after 11pm to save the kids.

No way they could download the podcast at any hour of the day from pretty much anywhere in the world on any number of multimedia devices and listen to his muck.

Fact is a child would have no interest in listening to such topics on the wireless when they could be watching nuns getting fisted or brown people geting their heads cut off in glorious high definition.

Gerry Ryan isn't the worst thing on the radio. I worked in radio for years and nearly every bit of is sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

cock robin wrote: »
    Surely in these times of recession he could be sacked.
    Maybe he will be....the last listenership figures showed him in steady decline. Not surprised really, Ireland has moved on and grown up since his hayday back in the eighties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

The only things I find objectionable about Ryan are his appearance (as a TV persona who champions a sideshow called Operation Transformation, where he tells others of the joys of exercising for 30 minutes a day), and his personality, where he pimps his pulp biography at every given opportunity, namedrops constantly about provincial hobnobbers, and aspires to earn as much as Pat Kenny.

Well, at least he has ambition. And modesty. And sense of balance befitting the has been layabout law student dentist's son turned jumped up bingo caller.

The man is an arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Parkie

I did hear the topic discussed.....yep I agree the langer is now a confirmed self professed ****#er.

Dispise the man, interviews people....then wallows on about himself, not allowing the interviewe to speak, as they politely try to make their point..(only came to be listning to him cos the wife was with me.)

...he is a tool...imo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Say what you like about the man, when I look at him I see someone highly intelligent with great depth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Parkie

See, there is hope for humanity after all!!

He cheers me up cos when you think things can't get any worse.............you can always tell yourself..."Feck it, I could be G. Ryan"....

...after that it's time for the rope!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

snyper wrote: »
    I love vaginas. Morning vagina is the best, you can pounce while its still sleepy

jeez man..it's like melted cheese :D

I also suggest people download the gift grub sketch called Ryan confidential. Absolutely priceless and describes the tosser down to a t :D

If he was a she and looked like this, would anyone complain?

NSFW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Terry wrote: »

NSFW.

Course not. People here (I'm assumeing everyone on this thread is a delightfull person that no one would ever have a bad word to say about and are at their optimum weight for their age/height)

BTW is calling someone a fat fcuk and various other names not personal abuse?

I assume if started giving my personal opinions on the personal appearance and how I think various peoiple are ****, I wouldnt last long. How come certain celebrities seem to be fair game? (kind of like when certain celebs die and enough people hate them for no good reason, then calling them all sorts is fine and dandy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

My cousin was on his show today. Sung a song n all so she did!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Terry wrote: »

NSFW.

...complain that shes on the radio and not on the TV maybe....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

The only problem I have with Gerry Ryan is that we are paying his salary.

Oh, and he's an eejit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Jeez, I didn't think I'd get so many DIFFERENT views. I'm with Terry on this; he has been doing it for 20 years now. He's never going to change. He is VILE.

I just think certain standards should be applied. It is after all the national broadcaster and young children are unfortunately able to listen to the creep.

Pub talk late at night, no real issue there. 11am on the national airwaves? C'mon, he's VILE and the fact he gets excited and giddy tells me he is a little touched.

Does RTE have any standards whatsoever?

Why the fcuk do you insist on using the word vile.......do you even know the dictonary meaning.

Jesus christ, I'am not a fan of the man but he certainly isn't vile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Theres sex on the radio now??? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Theres sex on the radio now??? :pac:

Down with this sort of thing..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

You can just imagine him sitting there his trousers down and his big, fat, meaty thighs bonding with his chair from the sweat and his jowls and treble chin piling on his chest as he desperately peers with his small piggy eyes around his heap of belly trying to locate his small and flacid mickey which last saw action around the time he got his tenure with RTE.

Fuker turns my stomach.

hilarious

Stekelly wrote: »
    Course not. People here (I'm assumeing everyone on this thread is a delightfull person that no one would ever have a bad word to say about and are at their optimum weight for their age/height)

BTW is calling someone a fat fcuk and various other names not personal abuse?

I assume if started giving my personal opinions on the personal appearance and how I think various peoiple are ****, I wouldnt last long. How come certain celebrities seem to be fair game? (kind of like when certain celebs die and enough people hate them for no good reason, then calling them all sorts is fine and dandy)

It's only personal abuse if the person on the recieving end is a member here. Otherwise, it's generally just crass.

If Mr. Ryan is a member here and would like to post and prove that it is in fact him (mentioning it on the radio would be proof enough), then I would gladly ban anyone who called him a fat bastard or whatever.

I don't see it happening though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

So many tools in this thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

cock robin wrote: »
    I personally never listen to the fat fcuk, however I was in a shop this morning and the staff had Irelands most overrated gobsh1te on the radio. Guess what he was talking about other than himself, his circumstised cock. Thats right big fat ugly Gerry talking about his tiny foreskin free tool. The two wimmin who were on air with him must not get out much cause they thought it was hillarious. FFS are we going to have to put up with this fcuker as long as we did with Gaybo. Why cant RTE get some fresh blood on the air and rid of this obnoxious wakner for good. Surely in these times of recession he could be sacked.

This from a guy called Cock Robin......whut?

So many tools in this thread

You must have a reflective monitor.

Careful now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭akaredtop

themadchef wrote: »
    Gerry's show runs three hours a day, five days a week. Of course it's going to have rubbish, pointless discussions on it. If he's wrecking my head, i switch off, simple enough.

He can't expect people to give their opinions on various subjects if he doesn't in return give his.

It's morning radio. Yesterday i got a good laugh out of that woman raving on about the stripper waving her fallujah in some poor lads face. Tomorrow it could be a discussion on women priests. it's silly and serious.

If your not liking it, stop listening. Thing is, alot of people are listening, thats why he's there so long.

As for him being vile? em no, ......wouldint ride him though :D

THAT WOULD BE FINE IF WE WERE NOT PAYING HIS WAGES!!!!!

REALLY!!!!!!111232443514`245"£%£$^62445123

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

MY CAPS LOCK IS ALSO BROKEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111111ELEVENONEONEONE

Well, at least he has ambition. And modesty. And sense of balance befitting the has been layabout law student dentist's son turned jumped up bingo caller.

The man is an arse.
    Yeah, he's from a very privileged background - dad was a dentist, mam was working in theatre. He grew up in Clontarf, a generally very upmarket area. Arsed around in Trinners for years... and yet, sometimes he kinda goes on as if he's all "working class"... "I'll tell ya somethin': me da may have been a dentist but he was employed by the Health Board so he wouldn't have been earnin' as much as the private dentists". How "ghetto"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

His guttural voice is the most disturbing thing about mornings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Yeah, he's from a very privileged background - dad was a dentist, mam was working in theatre. He grew up in Clontarf, a generally very upmarket area. Arsed around in Trinners for years... and yet, sometimes he kinda goes on as if he's all "working class"... "I'll tell ya somethin': me da may have been a dentist but he was employed by the Health Board so he wouldn't have been earnin' as much as the private dentists". How "ghetto"...

Excuse me: in 1985 he ate a Pot Noodle, thus qualifying him as "working class" as per section 47(b) of the Street Justice Act 1948