Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

help wanted vegas trip

• 03-12-2008 5:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭

right so i have nearly come to the end of my semester of college here in the states and of course before i leave we decided to take a trip to vegas :)

wer leaving this friday and staying in the horse-shoe casino for 5 nights - im just wondering what are the best places in vegas to see? wheres the best places to eat, see shows etc and of course gamboool!!?

i just thought id ask here since im sure a large portion of boardies have been to vegas in the not to distant past

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

Bellagio breakfast buffet is very reasonable for what you get. Im sure there are a few other threads on this if you search this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭AvrilLavigne

You can go to hoover dam and grand canyon which are ok. I thought best casinos were bellagio, venetian and planet hollywood. Also caesars but at 4am on a saturday night was in a s##t state! I think planet hollywood is the dividing point between the good part of the strip, such as the good casinos mentioned and the less nice part of strip, where the mgm, new york are. IMO. You can also go shooting on a range with lots of different types of guns.

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

Bellagio watershow is a must obhiously. Rent a card and drive to the Grand canyon skywalk, its pretty amazing. The hoover dam is crap but its on the way. Studio 54 is great, stay away from the peeps who are giving out free limo rides to strip clubs, its all lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

yeah wev already rented a car so wer definately gonna check out the grand canyon and hoover dam.

the oscar de la hoey fight is this saturday too in the MGM grand i think - does that change the dynamics of the strip at all?

also what are the standard of cash games in vegas say 1-2 and 2-5?

bubbleking wrote: »
    yeah wev already rented a car so wer definately gonna check out the grand canyon and hoover dam.

the oscar de la hoey fight is this saturday too in the MGM grand i think - does that change the dynamics of the strip at all?

also what are the standard of cash games in vegas say 1-2 and 2-5?

Bellagio is 2-5 min, the Luxor is pretty soft @ $1/$2, not the best for tourneys though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Mgm is near the airport it will be one of the first you see as you arrive.

While there walk across to NYNY and if its night and your athlethic you could walk as far as caesars seeing on the way the monte carlo and the bellagio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

$1-$3 in Ceasars is pretty soft and the drink service is pretty good, although the waitresses arent the most attractive.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

OP,

There's been a sh1tload of threads similar to yours over the last 2 years..Use the search function to pull up threads and you'll get the answers to everything you ever wanted to know about Vegas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Wolves

i thought the best 1/2ish cash games were in ceasars and the MGM.

for food check out the china grill in mandalay bay (not just chinese food). its not the cheapest but its very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭yeah-buddy

thank me thank me

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Venetian is my favourite room, $1/$2 NL, loads of 2/5, they usually have a 2/5 PLO game on the weekends but $2k stacks are v common. Waitresses are ridic hot and they have no problems delivering triples vodkas if you tip more than $2.

CarneVino for steaks in the Palazzo is great, nice alternative to Del Monicos in venetian, or n9ne in the Palms which i thought was pretty mediocre.
    Gaylord in the Rio for a good Indian.
    Mirage has one of the softer card rooms imo, not many 1/2 tables, but they do spread a range of games.

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Things I found helpful/liked

The 2+2 Bricks+Mortar sticky FAQ's

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/27/brick-mortar/must-read-b-m-forum-faq-common-topics-201389/

Especially

http://archives1.twoplustwo.com/showthreaded.php?Cat=0&Number=5335956&an=0&page=0

Best value tourneys

Caesars $100+ buyin usually with decent blind structure.

Best place to eat

Mandalay Bay for Burgers,Chinese,Mexican (REAL Mexican food)
    NY NY for fast food.

Random tips

Krispy Kremes.....best doughnuts in the world and usually free Wi-fi ( a novelty in LV hotels)

Printout.....Spend at least an hour copying and pasting tourney schedules from whichever end of the strip you expect to be hanging out at.Put them all in small print on 1 page and keep in your back pocket.

Excalibur Luxor Mandalay Bay NY NY...not for poker.

Coyote Ugly in NY Ny....dont.

MGM "Centrifuge Bar".....worth a look.Located right next to Poker room,hot bar staff get up on counter at regular intervals to dance on counter.Good craic.

Trip to canyon....did it by road and air, prefered air IMO.

Shooting Range....defo.

Shows...if you have even a passing interest in The Beatles, dont miss "Love".

Best of luck and let us know how you get on.Trip report maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭smcb

head out to the grand canyon on a helicopter, approaching it with the theme from indiana jones playing was special! if you want to see a show the cirque du soleil beatles one in the mirage is class. 1/2 games in the mgm grand are fairly soft, they have some good low buyin daily tournaments as well.

The drive down the 20 mile dirt road is better ! Need a 4x4 obh, the Indians are robbin basturds at the Skywalk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

If you want the best meal in Vegas then go to Rosemary's Restaurant. It is off the strip and easy to miss it as it is in a small strip mall but the food ans service is the nest I have had. Expect to pay around $120 for a 3 course meal with drinks.

Do at least one of the Cirque du soleil shows, "O" and Love are the best, not much to choose between either.

If you can fit it in your budget do the Helicopter version of the canyon tour, was around $250 each but much better than driving, go to the tour shop next to the MGM and you can haggle a bit on prices.

If you like golf then Desert Pines is good course and they hire clubs etc. Cost around $100 including clubs/cart if you get the right time, it is not far from downtown.

If you want to lord it up then a private table at Voodo Lounge will set you back around $240 for up to 4 with a bottle of stoli thrown in, great craic and brilliant views of the strip from the top of the Rio.

Good bars with live bands - Dicks Last Resort in Excalibar and the Circus bar in Harrahs.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

Head to the old strip for cheap BJ and Roulette, poker tourneys too. In saying that, you'll find reasonable prices up around Excal, MGM, NYNY side of the new strip too.

Food-wise, buffets buffets buffets. Every casino will have one. Ive found that their pretty much all the same if your sticking to the below $20 mark quality wise. All very good though, check out the Gold Coast's buffet beside the Rio.

Nightclubs, its gotta be the Voodoo lounge, 50 stories high, top of the Rio, Open air place. Unbelievably class, best view in Vegas due to the location of the Rio (slightly off the strip). Surprosed no-one mentioned it already. LAX in the Luxor was pretty cool too.

I havent been to any shows there really, some of the lads went to Penn and Teller i think, they recommended it.

Enjoy!

Oh, the Excalibur went to automated poker tables in the past month or two (where you don't get any physical cards but sit at a table etc). Might be worth a look just to see.

Drakar wrote: »
    Oh, the Excalibur went to automated poker tables in the past month or two (where you don't get any physical cards but sit at a table etc). Might be worth a look just to see.

I was there when they were setting them up, they look bad

thanks for all the help so far guys its been great - il try to throw together some form of trip report when i get back if anyone is interested

• Registered Users Posts: 13,401 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

thudd wrote: »
    Head to the old strip for cheap BJ

More details pls. :pac:

lol just seen this - well wer stayin in binions pretty sure thats on the old strip :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,401 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

wer leaving this friday and staying in the horse-shoe casino for 5 nights - im just wondering what are the best places in vegas to see? wheres the best places to eat, see shows etc and of course gamboool!!?

Check the price of your hotel again, if its loads cheaper now than when you booked you can ring them, cancel and rebook.

Spend most of your time on the main strip rather than in the Freemont area you are staying in (if you hadn't booked already I'd be recommending you stay on the Strip) - its the Vegas you see on TV.

Try to go into as many of the strip hotels as you can to have a gawp round, they all have their own unique selling point, whether its the lion enclosure in the MGM, the spiral escalotor in Ceasers, the erupting volcano in Mirage, the gondolas in the Venetian, or the whole Cafe En Seine look that the Bellagio has gone for.

Try to catch the fountain show at Bellagio more than once, its on every 15 minutes so hang around to see if you can catch Brightman and Bocelli's Time To Say Goodbye, its so fcuken brilliant.

Rollercoaster in NYNY is a good laugh.

Don't bother with a helicopter trip over the Strip, waste of money apparently and you get as good a view from the top of most of the hotels.

And a bit of heresy here, if money is tight don't bother with the plane/heli trip to the Canyon, nothing more than a big hole in the ground really.

And most importantly, have a ball, i'm jealous just thinking about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

lol just seen this - well wer stayin in binions pretty sure thats on the old strip :D

Ye know what i meant

Dont forget the rides on top of the stratosphere if you like being reminded of what you ate earlier on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 FoldingFTW

Grand Canyon trip was $450 when went on it about 3 weeks ago unless we were robbed.
    LAX good nightclub hard rock hotel think thats the name of it was good on weekend dead enough during the week.
    Pokerwise the Luxor is soft $1/$2 but people seemed to be buying in low so wasnt too much money at the tables not a place if your playing serious. I reccomend Plant Hollywood for poker and the Venetian.
    The outlet mall i went to was fantastic i reccomend bring 1 outfit of clothes and a big suitcase the clothes and shoes are for nothing compared to here.
    Gun range is a must great experience.
    Went 2 strip club was good cant remember name of it $20 for a lapdance not too bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

flushje wrote: »
    The drive down the 20 mile dirt road is better ! Need a 4x4 obh, the Indians are robbin basturds at the Skywalk!

Myself Marq and Ocallagh did this in a convertible Mustang. The Skywalk area was closed for tours by the time we arrived but they showed us around for free, the Skywalk wasnt built yet at that stage either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

go to Stoneys nightclub, just south of the strip. Best night out i had in vegas (that dint involve Hawkeyes mates)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 218 ✭✭CelticPhantom

Play poker in the Luxor if passive smoking is a hobby of yours.