Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

upgrading ram

Options
  • 04-12-2008 7:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

I am a total novice at this stuff and know pretty much nothing about comps.

I have a Dell dimension e520 that has 1 gb of ram and i want to upgrade this to at least 2GB.

Do i buy 1 x 1Gb or 2 x 512mb of memory and how do i found out if i have 1 x 1gb or 2 x 512 mb already installed.

Where is the cheapest place to buy them also?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭duffman85

go to crucial.com and pick your computer model from the drop down menus - this will tell you what type and the maximum amount of ram your computer can take.

You can also use crucial's scanner(on their website) - you need to do this in Internet Explorer. Crucial's scanner will also tell you how much ram is currently installed.

Crucial Website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Pat the Baker

thanks very much.

I have 2 x 512mb installed and they recomennded getting 2 x 1gb to make it 3 gb of ram, will that work at full power or will it work at the power of the 512mb (ive been reading that it will only work at power of smallest memory but as i say im a total novice)

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Hoser

i would first check how many slots you got..prolly u have 2 but if u have 4 then u can buy an extra 2. so if u have 2 only slots i would suggest getting 2x1gb + its dirth cheap nowadays and u can get decent ram for 30 quid.

I have 4 slots, 2 are taking up with 512mbs(1gb) so i have 2 free, so if i fill them with 2 x 1gb ill have 3gb but will that work to full potential ?