Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd V Sunderland (5.30)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Don't forget Sunderland don't have a manager yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,102 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Did he not come off the bench on Wednesday.

i didn't watch it. In that case im stumped!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    doesn't he have another seperate banning for 5 yellows or something too though?
    I thought this aswell which is why I left him out of my team. I could be wrong though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Yeh, he was out for this anyway. 5 games in total. Such a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

I'm going for 5-0. Tevez hat trick :)

Evra is available for this game. He picked up the banning against City for his 5th booking but that doesn't start yet either. Believe he misses the Spurs game for that then the other ban will take effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

ntlbell wrote: »
    well the university professor's did the stats on something like 30 years of football..

i dunno about you but i tend to think they no more than you or i.

You seem to be awfully confident in the opinion of a guy whose name you don't even know tbh.

Where's the proof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

keane2097 wrote: »
    You seem to be awfully confident in the opinion of a guy whose name you don't even know tbh.

Where's the proof?

it's not an opinion

it's a book, you can purchase it, i just can't recall the name of the book.

he doesn't "think" it he doesn't even know that much about football

they just took the stats crunched the numbers and came out with _FACTS_ based on it.

if you can show me some proof that shows the stats on teams/winning losing when a manger changes i'm all ears...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

it's not an opinion

they just took the stats crunched the numbers and came out with _FACTS_ based on it.

if you can show me some proof that shows the stats on teams/winning losing when a manger changes i'm all ears...

Sunderland, Roy Keane.

redout wrote: »
    Sunderland, Roy Keane.

Sigh....

that's not stats.

take all the teams

take the match after ALL the teams changed the manager

put up against win/draw/loss

this gives you the true fact if it's true or not with ALL managers and ALL teams..

pointing out one manager at one team doesn't prove a stat

Man City, Sven. First dozen odd games of last season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

That's great... so that's TWO teams.....

Now keep going and maybe your posts will resemble something sensible

Are you struggling to understand this concept?

They took every single result off the first game of every manager for every team over a period of twnety years

they looked at the win/loss/ratio's

of EVERY team the first match of the manager

is this sinking in yet?

you know

prem

championship

1st

2nd

3rd

etc

penny dropping?

the only match we're concerned with is the first game the mangment took charge nothing after it

game 1 first day managers "debut" games

so if you take every manager that moved to a new club

get the result of the mangers "debut"

put it up against every other win/lose/draw?

i'm trying to think of simpler ways to put but i cant

Are you struggling to understand this concept?

They took every single result off the first game of every manager for every team over a period of twnety years

they looked at the win/loss/ratio's

of EVERY team the first match of the manager

is this sinking in yet?

you know

prem

championship

1st

2nd

3rd

etc

penny dropping?

To say it is a myth is ridiculous if it only takes into account the first game. So what if the man goes undefeated then in his next 8 - 10 games. Sounds a loud of bollix and useless fact.

the only match we're concerned with is the first game the mangment took charge nothing after it

game 1 first day managers "debut" games

so if you take every manager that moved to a new club

get the result of the mangers "debut"

put it up against every other win/lose/draw?

i'm trying to think of simpler ways to put but i cant
    Use hand puppets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Sure i am not the only one to notice how convienient Keanes depature from Sunderland is .This would have being a defeat to far ;)

To say it is a myth is ridiculous if it only takes into account the first game. So what if the man goes undefeated then in his next 8 - 10 games. Sounds a loud of bollix and useless fact.

The myth is the first game a team always wins with a new manager THAT FIRST MATCH

but the truth of it is based on the facts that isn't the case....

if the stats are counted in another 50 years it maybe the case the myth is THEY ALWAYS WIN the first game

another myth is teams are more likley to conceade a goal just after they scored one

now you can point out tons of times that this has happened and you can always look at managers after his team scores going "keep your heads" cause the myth is you're likley to conceaede here and you can show me loads of time it's happened

but the fact is based on the stats of goals scored against just after scoring shows this not to be true in fact its when team statistically are the most least likley to conceade

but when it happens to a manager he remebers it he forgets all the times it didnt happen

as a fan you remember the times it happened you forget all the times it did't

i cant do this anymore i'm going grey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

UTD TEAM

VDS

RAFAEL
    RIO
    VIDIC
    EVRA

RONALDO
    CARRICK
    FLETCHER
    PARK

ROONEY
    BERBS

no tevez ? a scandal.

BENCH

KUSZCZAK , ANDERSON ,GIGGS , EVANS , NEVILLE , NANI , TEVEZ

FFS gutted for Tevez... What does he actually have to do to get a game? If I were him I'd be looking to move on.

4 f*cking goals in the last match

Joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Oh well, that's Tevez gone at the end of the season.

I thought Evra was suspended!

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    UTD TEAM

VDS

RAFAEL
    RIO
    VIDIC
    EVRA

RONALDO
    CARRICK
    FLETCHER
    PARK

ROONEY
    BERBS

Damn I was only one player away from getting a perfect team.

Smegball wrote: »
    I thought Evra was suspended!

I must be on more peoples ignore lists than I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Oh well, that's Tevez gone at the end of the season.

yap
    gone

pity

it's not an opinion

But sure you're just claiming there's a book somewhere written by some guy who has crunched numbers that agree with you.

I will now prove my argument by claiming there's a book out there written by a guy who has crunched numbers that agree with me.

I also can't remember my guy's name or that of his book.

Nevertheless, QED.

latchyco wrote: »
    Sure i am not the only one to notice how convienient Keanes depature from Sunderland is .This would have being a defeat to far ;)

This defintely was a factor imo.

Hey I thought Evra was suspended.

Come on Sunderland! Andy Reid to score the winner in a close 1-0 victory!

Sunderland team : Fulop, Chimbonda, Ferdinarnd, Collins, Bardsley, Yorke, Malbranque, Whitehead, Reid, Diouf, Cisse.

Bench: Colgan, Nosworthy, Edwards, Murphy, Jones, Leadbitter.

Whoops updated team.

I must be on more peoples ignore lists than I thought.

Did I just hear something :pac:

Dave! wrote: »
    Hey I thought Evra was suspended.

Look for the final time we play who we want , when we want, We do not listen to some Pissie little group,
    The FA who or what is that ?

Sunderland team : Fulop, Chimbonda, Ferdinarnd, Collins, Yorke, Malbranque, Whitehead, Reid, Diouf Cisse.

Playing Manchester United with only ten men? Ballsy decision from the caretaker manager.

a not so stealth edit has occurred.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Sunderland team : Fulop, Chimbonda, Ferdinarnd, Collins, Bardsley, Yorke, Malbranque, Whitehead, Reid, Diouf Cisse.

Whoops updated team.

there's only 10 in that team or is there something wrong with me?

Edit - i'm slow

Next time ya's can look up your own team. Interesting how many people pay attention when you make a mistake. :)

we're football fans it's how it works, all you're good hard work will go unmentioned,
    and then 1 mistake and your public enemy number 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

:o

Diouf and Cisse are seperate players and people know it. Stop being such pedants

there was 10 including both of them. We wouldn't be so calous over to get up on our high horses over a cimple comma.

Diouf and Cisse are seperate players and people know it. Stop being such pedants

LOL:pac:

nosworthy on the bench? and yorke picks himself lulz

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Tevez not getting a start is a big a disgrace as I can remember...fierced annoyed by that. Ronaldo and Berbatov better pull the finger out today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭mormank

hey. anybody got a link to where i can stream this game please..and i mean to the page, im computer illiterate. much appreciated

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Tevez not getting a start is a big a disgrace as I can remember...fierced annoyed by that. Ronaldo and Berbatov better pull the finger out today.

scores 4 bebro still walzting around the place doing feck all...

couldn't agree more...

what does tevez have to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

last time i said Tevez won't be at Utd next season i was attacked. But his continued absence is truly baffling.

I just put another €5 on Sunderland to win this at 33/1. I'm sure United will win, but 33/1 is just a ridiculous price.

Also have Sunderland +2.5 goals at evens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

scores 4 bebro still walzting around the place doing feck all...

couldn't agree more...

what does tevez have to do?

it's not as if utd use Berbatov as a target man either. He drops deep like Tevez so you're not losing much of a presence, that's not what Berbatov is about.