Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd V Sunderland (5.30)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

ntlbell wrote: »
    nimanaja ooooooooooooooo

nimmmmmmmmmmmanja he's from serbia!

he'll ****ing murder ye!

Racialist.

Reported to coppers and the Daily Mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Someone should have told Sunderland they had to defend for more than just the 90 mins.

Woeful celebration by Vidic - I am a big whirly bird :pac: Suppose he doesnt have a mass of practice

The Setanta boys - "Craig any part of you feel sorry for Sunderland?" "Ehh no ...twas damm ugly"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

94th minute? These results decide championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

redout wrote: »
    Rooney suspended, ****in great.
    poxy ref

poxy ref?? you for real?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

poxy ref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

poxy ref

don't be ridiculous. It was a cynical foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Huge huge huge huge huge huge huge victory. ****ing hell yeh.

I've never seen a more one sided game of football, ever, in my entire life. Was it 85% possession in the end? For the entire game. That's just unreal. Poor performance from United in the final 3rd, but unbelievable elsewhere. 3 points, move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

mayordenis wrote: »
    so liverpool's late winner doesn't look so bad now eh?

i never said it was...

mike65 said we were struglling, i was just reminding him how long it took liverpool

but liverpool weren't playing against 10 defenders tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Luck like that can be the difference between winning the championship .

Come on the POOL ............. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

yesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyes

• Subscribers Posts: 16,593 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Someone should have told Sunderland they had to defend for more than just the 90 mins.

Woeful celebration by Vidic - I am a big whirly bird :pac: Suppose he doesnt have a mass of practice

The Setanta boys - "Craig any part of you feel sorry for Sunderland?" "Ehh no ...twas damm ugly"

well they did their best, hard to allow for a lucky deflected shot spinning back off the post across the goal to the one place a utd player was standing.

latchyco wrote: »

???

did you miss the goal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

PHB wrote: »
    how do you not bury that Vidic, jesus christ lads, how many chances do you want.
    One more? :D
    Fair enough.

But it's us Newcastle fans, and Kev himself, who suffer the most everytime that clip is rolled out. Everyone LOLS at us. :(

Ah in that context it's fine :P

Get in there VID! Proudly wear my number 15 round town for the weekend now :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

God you could kiss that big Serbian brute. Of course, he probably kill you then. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Fair played to United. Done exactly what they had to do in the end.

There are strange similarities between the problems that Liverpool and Arsenal have had in the past few seasons and United this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Shocking performance from United tbh. Blessed to get 3 points but thats what matters. And people who think that United played well up til the final 3rd need to realise that it's easy to pass the ball when you're under NO pressure.

Burley is an idiot btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Can't believe it took that kind of goal to win that game. Crazy stuff all together. Anyway the three points is the main thing, we could not afford to drop further off Liverpool and Chelsea.

If Keane was still at Sunderland today it would have been a completely different game. Sunderland might actually have tried to play football.

???

did you miss the goal?
    Utds ? no i seen it in all it's luck ,off the post stright to Mustard :D ( setanta)

copacetic wrote: »
    well they did their best, hard to allow for a lucky deflected shot spinning back off the post across the goal to the one place a utd player was standing.

i recall a similar kyut goal off his shin...

i was told a goal's a goal....

latchyco wrote: »

luck? what game are you referring to? any team which has ~ 25 attempts on goal against a team with 0 attempts 100% deserves to win. Its not luck, its a probability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

JUSTICE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Thank fcuk for that! Unbelievably one sided game, got to give credit to Sunderland they defended very well.

Looks like Tevez will get abit more game time with Rooneys suspension now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Mental emotional atm really thought they were gona get the 0-0.

Vidic is a pure hero and his celibration will make gifs for years to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Huge result. Even though United are off the leaders, they've played all of the big four (plus Man City and Villa) away already. So I've contented myself in thinking that we'll have an easier run from now on, but we have to get wins in games like these. And we did, so I'm very happy.

i recall a similar kyut goal off his shin...

i was told a goal's a goal....

agreed, was just pointing out that it had nothing to do with bad defending. Did you not see the post I quoted before you started rolling your eyes?:confused:

Your point about 10 men behind the ball was poor though, the goal came from a sunderland corner and nearly a good chance created by Reid in the utd box.

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    Shocking performance from United tbh. Blessed to get 3 points but thats what matters. And people who think that United played well up til the final 3rd need to realise that it's easy to pass the ball when you're under NO pressure.

Burley is an idiot btw.

have you seen a football match before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

poxy ref

Are you having a laugh?
    Rooney chopped him down after he had gotten away from him.
    He didn't even try make it look like he was going for the ball.

Huge win for United and keeps everything nice and tight at the top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Villain wrote: »
    Great block by Tanio, Sunderland can't hang on can they?

Guess not. :D

Big win for United. Credit to Sunderland their gameplan nearly worked but I think it's fair to say United deserved it.

PS I wonder was Keano cheering when Vidic put the ball away? ;)

agreed, was just pointing out that it had nothing to do with bad defending. Did you not see the post I quoted before you started rolling your eyes?:confused:

i just seen a rolls eyes opportunity and i'm not one for given them up..

Your point about 10 men behind the ball was poor though, the goal came from a sunderland corner and nearly a good chance created by Reid in the utd box.

oh right so sunderland didn't have 10 at some times 11 men behind the ball for almost 90 minutes?

how many times have you seen them do that this year?

against arsenal? no? lierpool ? no?

it doesn't matter who you are it's hard to break that down

i just seen a rolls eyes opportunity and i'm not one for given them up..

luck? what game are you referring to? any team which has ~ 25 attempts on goal against a team with 0 attempts 100% deserves to win. Its not luck, its a probability.
    Oh no doubt about the 25 attempts and they deserved the win ,but it looked like 0-0 up until the rebound of the post .:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭zuchum

So close Sunderland...goddamnit.

What was the chanting behind Carrick during the interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

LOL at the Setanta Sports guy interviewing Michael Carrick with the Nemanja song being sung in the background. :pac:

"Big win for United eh Michael?"

(..."he'll f*cking murder ya! Nemanja...")

"It was yeah..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

There are strange similarities between the problems that Liverpool and Arsenal have had in the past few seasons and United this season.

That's bang on the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Frisbee wrote: »
    Are you having a laugh?
    Rooney chopped him down after he had gotten away from him.
    He didn't even try make it look like he was going for the ball.

Huge win for United and keeps everything nice and tight at the top

I never said it was not a foul but I can still call the ref a pox for getting one of our key players suspended cant I ?

he got himself suspended by giving the ref no option.

Yes, Yes you can.

Any news on ronaldo yet?

3 points

taught Ronaldo's display was awful tonight and just kicking the ball out while Raf was running down the line was a disgrace

he should be fined and a good talking to

Raf is getting better and better
    he still needs some help with the defending but he was brilliant today
    another thing i learned about Raf,he really has a good spring on him for the headers, very impressed

Ronneys tackle for the yellow card was so stupid,why tackle when your 1 up in extra time
    im not so disappointed about him missing the spurs games

its time for tevez to step up and dislodge Ronney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

I've just PM'd delija_sever to thank his country for producing the fantastic giant known as Nemanja Vidic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,719 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Great result, bout time too. :pac:

Rafael is a joy to watch.

3 points

taught Ronaldo's display was awful tonight and just kicking the ball out while Raf was running down the line was a disgrace

he should be fined and a good talking to

Raf is getting better and better
    he still needs some help with the defending but he was brilliant today
    another thing i learned about Raf,he really has a good spring on him for the headers, very impressed

Ronneys tackle for the yellow card was so stupid,why tackle when your 1 up in extra time
    im not so disappointed about him missing the spurs games

its time for tevez to step up and dislodge Ronney

In fairness to him id say he was not thinking straight after all the built up frustration being realeased and wasnt taking the chance of sunderland getting anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

If Keane was still at Sunderland today it would have been a completely different game. Sunderland might actually have tried to play football.

And lost by Des' prediction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

How good was Anderson when he came on? Great display.

Rafael is a seriously good player. Every week i call for him to be first choice RB.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »

Rafael is a seriously good player. Every week i call for him to be first choice RB.

thing with Raf he's like what 17 so you dont want to over burn him

thats why i think Sir Alex wants to share right back with o'shea

ya Anderson was immense

should be first choice imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

He's been much better than Neville this season. He's a lot like Evra. I think Brown is the better defender, but Rafael is superb going forward.

Anderson was great as well, but so were Carrick and Fletcher. With those three and Scholes all fit, it'll be an interesting selection headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Yeah Anderson was great. Although it does seem wrong that one of our most combative midfielders is Brazilian. Although his skills on the ball are great as well.

Also Raf is settling in fast. By the end of the season, him and Paddy will be marauding down the wings with impunity. Will be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,719 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Tom65 wrote: »
    Anderson was great as well, but so were Carrick and Fletcher. With those three and Scholes all fit, it'll be an interesting selection headache.

Scholes and Carrick still top 2 for this season anyways, no question in my mind.

You will see a different United with Scoles back, his ability to knit it together has been badly missed these past couple months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Horrible, horrible game... Can't blame Sunderland for the tactics, with having just lost their manager before one of the hardest games they were expecting probably. A point would have been huge for them, and they were just hoping to avoid a raping -- which they did. 11 men behind the ball is nasty, but they just had to get through this match, so fair enough really.

United were pretty good in general, but it's always hard to break down that kind of defending. You're just hoping for a penalty or a stroke of luck, and sure enough that's what we got!

What a celebration from Nemanja!!! :D That's actually the official national dance of Serbia, just ask delija_sever! :D

And really gotta love the singing in the background when Carrick was being interviewed by Setanta! :D

Another fantastic game from Rafael, he was very dangerous up the wing and provided some excellent crosses. Can't get enough of that kid! :D

Haven't a clue wtf got into Ronaldo's head, but he deserves to be punished for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Have to love all the fuss about this Rafael kid, when he was playing at full-back against a team who posed no attacking threat whatsoever.