Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

D'Arcy...any update??

• 05-12-2008 6:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭

Seriously, anybody know whats going on there? Its getting kind of worrying at this stage. How long does that type of wrist injury usually take to heal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭ThomasH

Are you worried for the Irish team? I think Darcy had his time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

shmaido wrote: »
    Seriously, anybody know whats going on there? Its getting kind of worrying at this stage. How long does that type of wrist injury usually take to heal?

I remember hearing on Newstalk that he wanted to be back by Febuary but again unlikely. Its looking like a career ending injury which is devastating considering how badly he'd be needed for Ireland and Leinster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭shmaido

ThomasH wrote: »

Absolutely, and for leinster too. a player of his experience and calibre? aren't you? sure he got injured right at the depths of the "steady eddie" depression but to lable him "past it" because of that is a little harsh imo. Still a quality player, if he gets fit again I wouldn't count him out!

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭Sparky14

Not as big a worry as it would have been 2yrs ago, but losing a player of his quality is always a blow.

• Registered Users Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

Stev_o wrote: »
    Its looking like a career ending injury which is devastating considering how badly he'd be needed for Ireland and Leinster.

Who said it's looking like a career-ending injury? Is this true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Funkstard

There's been so many setbacks and operations (and skin grafts..) at this stage that the outlook is looking increasingly bleak. That's why people are saying it could be career ending AFAIK.

Hopefully all that talk is absolutely completely inaccurate and we see him back playing in a few months though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Funkstard wrote: »
    There's been so many setbacks and operations (and skin grafts..) at this stage that the outlook is looking increasingly bleak. That's why people are saying it could be career ending AFAIK.

Hopefully all that talk is absolutely completely inaccurate and we see him back playing in a few months though.

Hopefully but its nearing a year now which makes matters look very dodgy indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭madds

Listening to Hook this evening I think it was Jim Glennon who said that Darcy's original forearm injury had either 7 or 9 breaks in it. All bar one break has healed correctly, but it's the last one which is hampering his progress.

Hopefully 2009 will be a better year for GD than 2008 was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

He was supposed to be back by end of this year but had surgery on his arm wrist / arm again there at start of November, end of October. That surgery went well and he, as earlier stated, is hoping to be back for Feburary. We will have to wait and see, but for now all bones have been put back in place and are healing nicely.

Coming from my own rugby experience, after a yr out at a highish intense level especially with the way rugby has gone in the last 2 - 3 years I would fear that he may find it hard to get back to a level of fitness needed for the current pro game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

He's been taking part in pre-match warmups, and I think he's back training - but maybe not full contact yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

I don't hold with the theory that being out for a year means you can't catch up. Sometimes the rest from continuous physical contact does a player no harm at all.

Look at Lawrence Dallaglio. He was out for about a year after the Lions tour of 2001 and he came back much as well as ever. He was one of the key men in England's Grand Slam and World Cup of 2003.

O'Driscoll came back well after his long layoff with his shoulder problem as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

O'Driscoll came back well after his long layoff with his shoulder problem as well.

and hasn't been the same since! I was just thinking about D'Arcy recently too - I'd like to see him back as he was a quality player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭twinytwo

As far as i no it was his forearm.. from what i heard.. the first operation was a a bar and the bone didn't fuse so he had to have a second one this time a bone graft and it still didnt fuse so he had to have a third.. both a bar and a graft... thus he is where he is now. They were saying that if it didnt heal after the 3rd op he would have to retire....

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Found myself shouting thinking while watching the Leinster game on Saturday that getting D'Arcy back in the centre may not be a bad idea.

Fitzgerald had a shocker - he couldn't pass the ball to save his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Read over the weekend D'arcy is back in training,

in fairness to Fitzgerald by the time he saw the ball it had gone through two extremely slow passers, service from whittiker is extremely slow this season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Even a return to play in February rules d'Arcy out of the 6 Nations and all of Leinster's pool games. Would prefer to see him take his time and hopefully be right for next season.
    Of course should Leinster make the H Cup playoffs he may be available in April but will he be match fit after the Magners goes on hols for Feb and March?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭ThomasH

Absolutely, and for leinster too. a player of his experience and calibre? aren't you? sure he got injured right at the depths of the "steady eddie" depression but to lable him "past it" because of that is a little harsh imo. Still a quality player, if he gets fit again I wouldn't count him out!

I didn't mean that he is not good enough anymore. I simply trying to say that if he makes it back for the 6N and if not well it's time to give the new young ones a chance. It's unfair to new upcoming players to constantly hear that if Darcy is back he might wear the no1 shirt and not great for youngsters confidence. Darcy is 30? what happens in next WC when he is 34 and cant play like a youngster anymore? If he gets better bring him in but let the younsters learn from him and give them the experience with Darcy as a backup.

Mike Catt played in the last world cup at 36 years of age and he was one of Englands better players...its hard to say let d'arcy play back up when you have players like fitz ****ing up in the important matches... are they to sarcifice a potential 6N to let the younger ones play... i have no problem if they pull their weight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭cmcsoft

IMO Darcy still has a lot to offer if he can overcome this injury. He's a great player to watch going forward and despite my early skepticism when he moved to centre he is actually quiet a good tackler. It would be great to see him back in an Irish Jersey again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Darcy is 30?
    He's 29 in February, and would be 32 at RWC '11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

bamboozle wrote: »
    Read over the weekend D'arcy is back in training,

in fairness to Fitzgerald by the time he saw the ball it had gone through two extremely slow passers, service from whittiker is extremely slow this season

Alan Gaffney was on Newstalk Off the Ball this evening. D'Arcy to see specialist on Thursday and, if OK, will be available for selection soon after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Wow that soon. I for one would be delighted to see him back and in form.

I think we're all old enough to realise that he wont be handed his spot back on rep. If he gets it back it'll only be because he is playing better the fitz which can only be good for Leinster, Ireland and the Lions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

sm.org wrote: »
    Wow that soon. I for one would be delighted to see him back and in form.

I think we're all old enough to realise that he wont be handed his spot back on rep. If he gets it back it'll only be because he is playing better the fitz which can only be good for Leinster, Ireland and the Lions.

Lions and D'arcy i can honestly tell you that wont happen he's not good enough. Naturally Leinster want him back but its not goin to make a difference to anyone outside of Dublin. He's not even good enough for Ireland and wouldn't make the Munster second team. I couldn't believe someone even set up this thread anyway Best of luck with overrated D'arcy and overrated O Driscoll. Fitzgerald looks talented tho i'll give ye that but thats all :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,197 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Iang87: if you have nothing of value to add to a thread that "you can't believe someone started", then don't even bother adding to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Iang87 wrote: »
    Lions and D'arcy i can honestly tell you that wont happen he's not good enough. Naturally Leinster want him back but its not goin to make a difference to anyone outside of Dublin. He's not even good enough for Ireland and wouldn't make the Munster second team. I couldn't believe someone even set up this thread anyway Best of luck with overrated D'arcy and overrated O Driscoll. Fitzgerald looks talented tho i'll give ye that but thats all :p

Jaysus Iang we've all got the provincial blinkers on at one time or another but steady on mate, Darcy back to 90% of the player he was would be an automatic for Ireland and to say O'Driscoll is overrated is almost criminal, the man is one of the greatest rugby players to ever come out of this country and if he was from munster you would be declaring him the greatest player in the world :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

There's a nice pic of D'arcy in training in today's examiner. Looks to be fit and able. No strapping on his arm either so hopefully it wont be long before he is back in full contact training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Do you want to give me 100/1 that he does make the Lions squad?? As a Munster fan I would love to have him in our squad, he's a far better player then Murphy or Lewis and on form a much more complete 12 the Mafi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,197 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Guys, could I ask that you just ignore his comment? I think its denegrating for all of us who have even the slightest clue about the game to even discuss it. I'm not gonna stop this discussion, but I just think its silly.

i was simply stating that anytime i've seen d'arcy he doesn't seem to see anything on his left or right he just runs into the tackle and never seems to break it. Calling O'Driscoll overrated isn't criminal i said he was overrated not bad there's a world of difference. I thought Hickey was a much better player than O'Driscoll and never got the credit near what O'Driscoll does if he ever does anything. You can call it provincial blinkers i just don't rate him and maybe he'll prove me wrong i'll just have to wait and see. And the Munster fan who said he's better than Mafi. Mafi stil isn't completely used to the way the game is played in the northern hemisphere whereas D'arcy only knows how to play that way. Mafi brings something going forward all the time, something that i never saw from D'arcy. ;)

Troll???.... you obviously havent watched alot of rugby over the years.. As for drico you must be severaly messed in the head to not realise the brillance of that man at his best would have walked onto any side in the world you cannot say that about Hickey... a quote in relation to BOD

" As a balanced centre he has everything - pace strength, great attacking skill and is as good in defence as attack. He has the ability to prise open defences that other players cannot even contemplate. With his poise, his change of speed and his closeness to the ground it is very hard to stop him. Ireland are half the side without him."

please go spread your tripe elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭cgarvey

i was simply stating that anytime i've seen d'arcy he doesn't seem to see anything on his left or right he just runs into the tackle and never seems to break it.

Yes, I see what you mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I'm a Munster fan and even Ican see how important D'arcy was for Ireland during our "glory years" when he was on form. He was a phyical presence who had good hands and good spend so he earned alot of respect from defenses which freed up space for BOD and the other backs. An in-form D'arcy and Mafi isnt fit to lace his boots let alone take his place.

twinytwo wrote: »

Excellent you tube selections :rolleyes:. D'arcy Goin in the corner against Munster and him scoring against Italy Truly Brilliant. A monkey with his arms tied togethe would have scored the first and against Italy he ran a good line and scored a good try but thats against Italy, i'm not stating that he's an awful player i just dont like him when he plays

Troll???.... you obviously havent watched alot of rugby over the years.. As for drico you must be severaly messed in the head to not realise the brillance of that man at his best would have walked onto any side in the world you cannot say that about Hickey... a quote in relation to BOD

please go spread your tripe elsewhere

Very well said at his best, excellent word selection, however its a pity his best was 4 or 5 years ago when he got the ball there was an air of excitement but not anymore. My problem with him is that it was 4 or 5 years ago i'm not sayin he's been bad since then i'm just sayin he hasn't been what the same whereas excluding the world cup last year Hickey was consistantly good and always gave you something going forward or back.
    As far as spread your tripe elsewhere goes i forgot that having an opinion meant agreeing with everyone else i'll try agree with everything from now on. That fair enough.

CGarvey what are you on about 2 trys against Connacht one v Ulster, borders, and Glasgow. Try against Gloucester fair enough dont try back up the D'arcy greatness with clips against average sides at their best

Very well said at his best, excellent word selection, however its a pity his best was 4 or 5 years ago when he got the ball there was an air of excitement but not anymore. My problem with him is that it was 4 or 5 years ago i'm not sayin he's been bad since then i'm just sayin he hasn't been what the same whereas excluding the world cup last year Hickey was consistantly good and always gave you something going forward or back.
    As far as spread your tripe elsewhere goes i forgot that having an opinion meant agreeing with everyone else i'll try agree with everything from now on. That fair enough.

CGarvey what are you on about 2 trys against Connacht one v Ulster, borders, and Glasgow. Try against Gloucester fair enough dont try back up the D'arcy greatness with clips against average sides at their best

You dont have to agree... But you do need to have a clue what your talking about... by your logic so most of the ireland team shouldnt even be playing???

ok you can swing it whatever way you want man i was just sayin i dont think he is as good as people think.
    Maybe its the lack of seeing him for so long that has people only thinking of everything good he done. I'd lik to see him back fit cos whilst he is talented,i think its a pity when a player gets that sort of injury cos there best years can be taken.
    I never said he was bad just lik O Driscoll i never said he was bad. I was just saying that i dont think they are as good as people make out

ok you can swing it whatever way you want man i was just sayin i dont think he is as good as people think.
    Maybe its the lack of seeing him for so long that has people only thinking of everything good he done. I'd lik to see him back fit cos whilst he is talented,i think its a pity when a player gets that sort of injury cos there best years can be taken.
    I never said he was bad just lik O Driscoll i never said he was bad. I was just saying that i dont think they are as good as people make out

Really??... so that why Drico will be selected,play for and captain the Lions again??

You're right O Driscoll willplay and Captain the lions again i admit that, and when it happens i'll come onto the thread that will be set up by someone and ask why. Paul O Connell would make a better captain i think

So your contradicting yourself then?... i mean if your right and he isnt that good.. why would he even be picked for the lions let alone captain them?

its not contradicting myself i'm just stating i'm aware that its inevitably going to happen. i cant explain why he will be picked as captain. only the manager can and i'd bet that when the press conference is called to announce that he is captain that they make reference to the 05 series. That could be why he gets picked as captain cos he didnt get to do it fully when he was picked

Seriously son you are clearly not too bright... i will pray for you.

i dont know what you're problem is maybe you cant see whats in front of your eyes cos you may be one of those who agree thta BOD is God. if thats the case i'll pray for you

Nope never said that.. but it seems you wouldnt no talent if it hit you in the face

All i said was Brian O Driscoll and Gordon D'arcy are overrated. Thats just my OPINION so if people think otherwise thats fine i dont care i was just stating my opinion. The glory of that is that i'm entitled to one so if you disagree thats your choice but i know there are plety who agree with that

Nope never said that.. but it seems you wouldnt no talent if it hit you in the face

man do you not get that i'm not sayin he's not talented and i never said that. i'm just saying he's not as good as people think thats the kind of meaning of the word overrated. so callin someone overrated and not talented are two completely different things so if you could man could you not try twist my words,sound ;)

All i said was Brian O Driscoll and Gordon D'arcy are overrated. Thats just my OPINION so if people think otherwise thats fine i dont care i was just stating my opinion. The glory of that is that i'm entitled to one so if you disagree thats your choice but i know there are plety who agree with that

So prob the best player this country has ever produced.... according to you.. is overrated??. Please this is getting sad. Why not go post in an all black forum or whatever.

man read my other posts when i said he was excellent 4 or 5 years ago. now these days i feel he's overrated

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Darcy is toast. He'll never recover fully I'm told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭crisco10

man read my other posts when i said he was excellent 4 or 5 years ago. now these days i feel he's overrated

This thread has gone slightly off topic me feels but for what its worth, BOD is top try scorer so far in the H cup this season...