Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

14 year old girl gets raped by schoolboy gang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Gareth37

The internet does not work how you think it works.

Internet providers could block off a list of sites if they wanted. Surely this is very easy? There is a lack of legislation there thats all. Technically its easy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

Gareth37 wrote: »
    Internet providers could block off a list of sites if they wanted. Surely this is very easy? There is a lack of legislation there thats all. Technically its easy?
    They block it, within 5minutes there will be a way around it. It is not possible to filter the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

The internet does not work how you think it works.

In mysterious ways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I heard about this a few weeks back on tv (can't remember the programme name) The reason they gave her for raping was because she told their 'Leaders' girlfriend to dump him, and the stories of the amount of people who came along as it was happening are totally unbelievable. One woman went over to her as she was lying on the ground after being raped and had her nose broken and asked her if she was ok. I think i can safely say she didnt look ok, so why did the woman believe her when she said that she was alright and then walk away? Why did the two men who walked right into it just look the other way? Fair enough the scumbags who done this should be punished and what was printed in the BBC report didnt even tell the story properly (The victims description would shock any of us), but what kind of person walks by,sees this happening and then says nothing? Ok, you might be afraid of being attacked, but whats stopping you from ringing the police (Everyone has a mobile phone) and reporting whats happening? For me the people who walked past and done **** all about it are just as bad and those who carried out the attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Religion = Rape

Get it?

They block it, within 5minutes there will be a way around it. It is not possible to filter the internet.

Perhaps, but they could make it very difficult for children and teenagers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Ahahahaha.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Technically at the moment everyone from 3 to 103 have access to hardcore pornography free of charge.

Great stuff! At least the recession is working out well in that regard ;)

You mean the way they block the illegal sharing of music from children and teenagers. Oh wait! Do you think if it was relaly that simple that there would still be stuff like child porn easily accesable? You're living in dreamreligion land.

You mean the way they block the illegal sharing of music from children and teenagers. Oh wait!

Well its rediculous. And they wonder why society is the way it is. I often see teenagers in Internet cafes checking porn and also with other filth up on Bebo sites etc fuelling pure filth. Its not fair on them nor society. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Ahahahaha.

No.

For the general population its very easy to do.. not that i agree with it as internet porn is up there with the wheel and the snooze button as the greatest invention of all time...

Well its rediculous. And they wonder why society is the way it is. I often see teenagers in Internet cafes checking porn and also with other filth up on Bebo sites etc fuelling pure filth. Its not fair on them nor society. :(

I think you'd fit in better in muslim countries were you're not allowed show skin if you're a woman. Your posts make you seem like someone doing a poor job of trolling rather than being serious.

Teens watching porn- fine by me

Watching teens watching porn- that's sick

Sex is beautiful thing man and i take great exception to you referring to atm, or bum dp as filth.

How the hell do you think you were created ???

Sex is beautiful thing man and i take great exception to you referring to atm, or bum dp as filth.

The same way jesus was, god gave his mother the baby. No sex involved, duh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Yep. It would be easy for parents to stop their net savvy teenage kids getting at porn on the internet. ;)

Look Gareth, Pandora's box has been opened. The genie's out of the bottle. The toothpaste is out of the tube.

Porn is out there. It will continue to be out there. Legislative and technical obstacles can make it difficult to an extent but it will always be a case of closing one hole only to see another one open up.

That is not the way forward. That is clinging to an old model of censorship and control that simply does not and cannot exist anymore.

The best thing is for parents to instil good moral values in their children. Sex shouldn't be swept under the carpet. That's not a healthy attitude to something that is only natural for animals, which is after all what we are. You can't ban sex much as you might like to. Teach your children about it and if you do a good job as a parent, they shouldn't turn out as rapists or murderers.

I think you'd fit in better in muslim countries were you're not allowed show skin if you're a woman. Your posts make you seem like someone doing a poor job of trolling rather than being serious.
    I hear ya man.

His trolling is just attention seeking.:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I'm guessing the immaculate conception

jaffa20 wrote: »

Indeed but watching teens watching teens watching porn is hot!

Eh not through atm or bum dp anyway if I remember my junior cert biology correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Technically at the moment everyone from 3 to 103 have access to hardcore pornography free of charge.

Links of GTFO

/Mods, I is joking

Orange69 wrote: »
    For the general population its very easy to do..

They said the same about large-scale file sharing, then we had Napster, Limerwire and now Torrent files.

No method of censorship would last that long, no matter how ignorant the average net user is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

jesus titty ****ing christ.

get. out.

They said the same about large-scale file sharing, then we had Napster, Limerwire and now Torrent files.

No method of censorship would last that long, no matter how ignorant the average net user is.

One guide is all it takes for people to learn.

javaboy wrote: »
    Eh not through atm or bum dp anyway if I remember my junior cert biology correctly.

Reverse @n@l cowgirl??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

The same way jesus was, god gave his mother the baby. No sex involved, duh.

I was too late.. D'oh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

Guys,I think that ye are all giving Garreth a bit of stick over a fair comment.
    Fundamentally his posts are valid. . . but unfortunately,because the internet is so vast etc it is impossible to keep porn etc. off the internet and out of reach of minors.
    Ease up on Garreth,he's entitled to his own opinion.

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Teens watching porn- fine by me

When they are doing it on the computer beside you its hard to miss :eek:

Relligon aside this kind of stuff is leading to sexual depravity. :( Its designing the rapists of tomorrow.

http://www.thetrumpet.com/index.php?q=1199.432.67.0
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/4635994a12.html

http://www.ncfamily.org/PolicyPapers/Findings%200407-SexualDegrad.pdf
    Studies of criminals have confirmed the link between porn and sexual violence. For example, a study of sex offenders by Dr. William Marshall, director of the Bath Institutionʼs Sexual Offenders Program in Canada, found that 86 percent of serial rapists admitted to viewing hard-core porn, with 57 percent admitting that they had imitated scenes from pornographic material during their crimes.

People who watch porn don't realise the damage its doing to their minds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I actually feel physically sick and I'm shaking with anger at the same time which is a very weird thing for me (well both together anyway).I could say random threats and what id do but thats just not enough :(

Relligon aside this kind of stuff is leading to sexual depravity. :( Its designing the rapists of tomorrow.

Studies of criminals have confirmed the link between porn and sexual violence. For example, a study of sex offenders by Dr. William Marshall, director of the Bath Institutionʼs Sexual Offenders Program in Canada, found that 86 percent of serial rapists admitted to viewing hard-core porn, with 57 percent admitting that they had imitated scenes from pornographic material during their crimes.

Watching porn is natural. Teens are only being open to sex and sexuality. There is nothing wrong with that. Depriving them of that would only cause more problems.

http://www.ncfamily.org/PolicyPapers...xualDegrad.pdf

Tell me, why did women get raped a 1000 years ago?

Using logic like you are, religion causes general violence and disorder. As well as discriminiation.

I think the Catholic religion encourages paedophilia. It has a bad history of it these days. So I think anything related to it should be filtered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

We are not far behind.

Not enough is being done to get rid of drugs, prostitution and alchoal related issues for starters. There should 0 drugs and 0 prostitution in this country. Its a small country. Surely these big drug barons and all their little boys could be taken down if the Gardai got the right Government support/legislation?

Also, there is no cencorship on Internet sites in this country nor TV. Uk channels are brodcasting in without much cencorship and the Internet is a free for all with young children and teenagers able to access hardcore pornography and other anti social material in a secretive manner. Its only a matter of time before we see horrible crimes like these here unless cencorship of media and Internet is brought in to control the situation. The phone sex lines are also brodcast over all the newspapers for children to ring. Sex shops are open on our door steps also normalising this activity. Why do people think young children and teenagers are turning into rapists? The human mind is very fragile.

All porn sites could be blocked by providers if proper legislation was brought in. :(

i see what you're saying. i watched porn as a teenager and that explains why i raped and murdered all those women. it couldn't possibly be that i'm just a sick f*cker and i was a sick f*cker before i ever knew what porn was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

People who watch porn don't realise the damage its doing to their minds.

I'd say 86% of people look at porn, and I'd say a similar number have recreated what they saw, in parts certainly.

Rapists aren't created by porn, they're created by the environment they're in, and who they are.

That does not establish causality. I haven't read your links so maybe something in there does but that statistic means absolutely nothing without other complementary statistics.

How do we know that 86 percent of people who never rape don't view harcore porn? If they did, then that would mean there is no causal link between watching porn and raping.

All that statistic does is tell you that a lot of people who rape watch porn. What you need is a statistic that shows that people who watch porn are more likely to end up as rapists. What's more you have to also prove that those people wouldn't have ended up as rapists anyway without access to porn.

Internet porn probably reduces the percentage of rape.. think about it..

"Jeez id love to head out and rape some one.. mmmm ...... ah **** it actually i stay here and have a ****... *starts up laptop*"

Gareth37 wrote:

correlation is not causation. it wouldn't matter if 100% of them watched porn. of all the people who watc porn, about 0.000001% go on to rape someone. if porn made people rapists the figures would be much higher.

an example of why your reasoning is flawed:
    100%of rapists drink water. OMG!1!!! WATER MAKES YOU RAPE PEOPLE!!1!

i prevented a rape last night....i stayed in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭bassy

how could any young girl have a life after that,her head and frame of mind would never be the same.

those bastards should be hung or casterated cold bloodily.

I agree with the general view that porn doesn't lead always to rapists and that other factors can be involved but Im sure it adds a lot of petrol to the fire.

People on here condoning children watching pornography should be ashamed of themselves. Do you want your child or grandchild brought up in this way? :(

Parents need to be given stricter warnings too. Its a topic that is kept too quiet but as a religeous person I must say its extremely immoral and also a mortal sin. Religeon aside I cannot beleive people on here are actually condoning young kids watching filth. :mad:

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    correlation is not causation. it wouldn't matter if 100% of them watched porn. of all the people who watc porn, about 0.000001% go on to rape someone. if porn made people rapists the figures would be much higher.

an example of why your reasoning is flawed:
    100%of rapists drink water. OMG!1!!! WATER MAKES YOU RAPE PEOPLE!!1!

That's what I was trying to say but it's late and I'm tired. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

People on here condoning children watching pornography should be ashamed of themselves. Do you want your child or grandchild brought up in this way? :(
    Hormonal teens... young kiddies playing with toys - not the same thing.

I prevent rape last night too, oh wait no sorry, i performed mass rape last night. Sorry about the mix up there.

I agree with the general view that porn doesn't lead always to rapists and that other factors can be involved but Im sure it adds a lot of petrol to the fire.

I reckon the opposite is true. Why go to the bother of raping someone when I can simply crack one off over some Russian twins or 2 girls 1 cup or whatever takes my fancy?

I think people said teenagers not children. And it's natural to be curious.
    Parents need to be given stricter warnings too. Its a topic that is kept too quiet but as a religeous person I must say its extremely immoral and also a mortal sin. Religeon aside I cannot beleive people on here are actually condoning young kids watching filth. :mad:

And chief among those who have been keeping it quiet for so long is? :rolleyes:

Please make up your mind from which side you are arguing.

I'm not condoning children watching porn. I said teenagers because they are experimenting with their sexuality. What is wrong with that? Depriving them of that can actually lead to sexual frustration and that is what a rapist appears to me as. Someone who has never experienced sex naturally and has never experimented with their sexuality. The changes in a teenagers body are natural and they should watch porn if they wish to do so.

Its a topic that is kept too quiet but as a giant busybody with a overactive need to preach constantly and judge people who don't obey my moral code I must say its extremely immoral and also a mortal sin.

fix'd

I don't know about you guys, but when I was around 8 if I saw hardcore porn I would not have had any idea of what was going on at all. It wouldn't have bothered me in any way for that reason.

A 27-year old South African man was sentenced to 12 years in prison for raping his 10-year old cousin. The man said his addiction to pornography drove him to commit the crime. He went to her bedroom after watching pornography, "I did not plan to rape her," he said, "it just happened.

Ketso Moorosi-Mabusela, a clinical psychologist in Johannesburg said that though the rape was probably planned, easy access to pornography is a contributing factor.

Debates continue to rage as to whether pornography causes rape, or simply facilitates it. But as Moorosi-Mabusela points out the easy access, particularly on the Internet, is extremely dangerous. Either we are creating sexual offenders or enabling them; either way it is a problem that must be addressed.

no, no it doesn't. some people are just sick in the head. there are people that are capable of rape and there are people that aren't. nobody has ever been switched from one to the other by porn. it's like saying watching the sound of music could make you gay
    children, no, but i have no problem with teenagers watching porn. they're not hurting anybody so i don't see why there should be any shame involved

you see this is the fundamental difference between us. your god tells you that watching porn is wrong but i don't believe in your god i'm afraid. i make my decisions about what's right based on whether or not you hurt other people. watching porn hurts no one so it's not wrong imo

A 27-year old South African man was sentenced to 12 years in prison for raping his 10-year old cousin. The man said his addiction to pornography drove him to commit the crime. He went to her bedroom after watching pornography, "I did not plan to rape her," he said, "it just happened.

well you see that man was bull****ting to try to take some blame off himself. "don't blame me, i'm an addict etc etc"
    Debates continue to rage as to whether pornography causes rape, or simply facilitates it. But as Moorosi-Mabusela points out the easy access, particularly on the Internet, is extremely dangerous. Either we are creating sexual offenders or enabling them; either way it is a problem that must be addressed.
    yes debate does continue to rage but you forgot option number 3: it doesn't cause it or facilitate it. it's something that billions of people do and some of those people happen to be rapists. porn doesn't cause rape any more than driving a car does. many rapists drive cars too you know and they often drive to the scenes of their crimes :eek: