Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Everton v Villa

• 06-12-2008 8:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭

4pm Sunday live on Sky Sports1

This is a big game for two sides looking to get close to the top 4.

Everton have been getting good results but Yakubu is a big loss, Villa have been having mixed results.

Ashley Young is doubtful for Villa and Carew is out.

I'd take a draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

live jinx to do us again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I'd take a draw, but it looks like Everton's biggest thread is either a midfield thunderbolt into the top corner, or Lescott scoring from a corner or free kick.

I'd hope for a win, but a loss I'd be extremely disappointed with.

Also heard today that Lescott is a Villa fan, would love to have him at the VP...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Whats wrong with Young? he probably needs a rest anyway with or without an injury.

Fancy Villa to win this 0-1 or 0-2 courtesy of Gabby Agbonlahor, cant see Everton with their toothless attack making hay against the Villa defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Helix wrote: »
    live jinx to do us again

There is no jinx. Probably take a draw too but Everton have their main strikers out so if we can score we'll probably win.

depending on whos fit and whos not, i wouldnt mind seeing delfouneso getting a start tomorrow. 4-5-1 will be utterly dreadful if we dont have young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

2-0 villa. Everton have been leaky at the back and villa are on a good run,

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Despite scoring midweek I cant see anyway the Fonz would get a start. The Uefa cup game was his first start for Villa, we have slapped a big handle with care sticker on the kids head IMO and arent going to throw him in away against a physical side that want to win to catch us in the league.

id also expect young to start if he is anyway fit and think he will be having not played midweek

Everton will come at Villa they are at home and will want to get the 3 points this will leave gaps that Villa will exploit to score IMO. Villa to once again go 4-5-1/4-3-3 in the absence of Carew and again do better on the road than at home in this edevour to winning 2-0 thanks to goals from Gabby and Sidwell.

Despite scoring midweek I cant see anyway the Fonz would get a start. The Uefa cup game was his first start for Villa, we have slapped a big handle with care sticker on the kids head IMO and arent going to throw him in away against a physical side that want to win to catch us in the league.

id also expect young to start if he is anyway fit and think he will be having not played midweek

Everton will come at Villa they are at home and will want to get the 3 points this will leave gaps that Villa will exploit to score IMO. Villa to once again go 4-5-1/4-3-3 in the absence of Carew and again do better on the road than at home in this edevour to winning 2-0 thanks to goals from Gabby and Sidwell.

I don't know what match you were watching. :)

arent going to throw him in away against a physical side that want to win to catch us in the league.

hes a big strong bloke for 17, he can handle himself

JPA wrote: »
    I don't know what match you were watching. :)
    cheers even edited that to put that in as i keep thinking he was rested snd tbh I think he shoulda been.
    hes a big strong bloke for 17, he can handle himself

he can but he doesent need to not yet. I expect the exact side that played away vs Arsenal dependant on Injuries and MON's opinion on playing a LB this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Anyone watching this match in Dublin? I'm thinking somewhere other then Murrays...

few lads off villatalk went to bankers on dame street on thursday, i went to murrays myself so dunno what its like

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

gwan villa!
    get in the top 4 and me and my friend get 70eu each. they are my #1 team for this season in that commander riker sorta way. liverpool will forever be the picard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Jazzy wrote: »
    gwan villa!
    get in the top 4 and me and my friend get 70eu each. they are my #1 team for this season in that commander riker sorta way. liverpool will forever be the picard

Star Trek analogy?

picard-headesk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

What a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

34 seconds, Villa 1 up :eek:

Stunning goal from Sidwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

What a goal, and what timing 34 seconds!!

thats a positive start anyway hopefully WEverton leave gaps when attacking us now and Villa dont just sit on the lead.

anyone ever heard of Lukas Jutklewicz? He is the only forward on the bench for Everton

No Penalty ? that challenge was worth another look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

The elephant Man scores.

1-1

Lescott Goal............1 - 1

All the money we spent and we're still playing a player out of position at RB, Cuellar gave away an awful stupid free kick and the Villa Fan scores against us.

Oh how we need Freddie back

as per usual Villa have only around 40% of the possesion in this game. Still though i think we have more goal threats on the pitch than everton.

The early goal is disguising the fact that we've been crap.
    I expect we'll be much better in the 2nd half.

the half time whistle blows and its all square at the break. A sensational start by Villa but Everton responded superbly and more than deserve their equaliser. O'Neil will have plenty to say to his players at half time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Feck sake where is my 0-0 for fantasy footy, Fridel better save a peno or Yobo score.

have they said much on youngs fitness? is he 100%

hes 100% a goalscorer 2-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,169 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

It was more about the superb assist from Jagielka than Young really.

about time Villa capitalised on an opponents defensive mistake instead of vice versa

Looks like its the only way we were going to score. Doubt we can hold on to the lead mind you.

Sick Man !

92min

Welcome to my world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

3-2 Villa:eek:

Whos commentating with andy gray? Rob styles? He is seriously pissing me off with this Phil Yagielka thing. Gray is sitting besid ehim saying Jagielka but it seems to make no difference.

Or perhaps not.

Haha.....****in unbelievable 3 - 2

I Don't ****ing believe it I really don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

What a game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

wat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Harsh on Everton, but top class play from Young. Great game.

I was just about to say we always bottle it and then our WORLD CLASS PLAYER steps up.

I know loads will disagree about him been world class but imo he is.

Up the Villa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

My bloody heart.

****in hell, we really mugged everton there

ahahahah lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Heck of a finish. Heck of a smash and grab by the Villa..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Villain wrote: »
    I was just about to say we always bottle it and then our WORLD CLASS PLAYER steps up.

I know loads will disagree about him been world class but imo he is.

Up the Villa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

not world class but what a finish. great composure.

****in hell, we really mugged everton there

ahahahah lovely

Absolutely mugged them is right. We practically defended the entire match and scored 3 goals.

Laursen sounded like he was about to cry in that post match interview.

Laursen is been compared to McGrath around Villapark and McGrath is called GOD, so that will give you an idea of how much Villa fans respect him, a real good player and a nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭sternn

One of the best games of football i have seen for quite a while. Underperformance from Villa, but an amazing win! Once we get back Carew, the ship will be steadied.