Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Talkin' 'bout a revolution.

• 07-12-2008 12:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭

dbyrne wrote: »
    Viva la revelution.... thats what we need...
    Would you be willing ot take part in this revolution?

I'll make an announcement and plan one for Monday.
    Would you be up for that?

If I did it, would people actually show up?

Edit:
    I have been offered 10,000 flyers for this event if it happens on the 15th.
    I intend to take my protest to the Dail on the 8th anyway and will follow it up on the 15th.

This protest is not in any way endorsed by boards.ie.
    Boards.ie is not a political organisation.
    The fact that this thread exists is through me abusing my powers as a moderator.

Note:
    Rally postponed until late January because of lack of foresight on my part.
    Check here for updates.

Anyone up for marching on the Dail and trying to force a general election? 214 votes

Yes. Monday the 8th.
    0% 0 votes
    Yes. Tuesday the 9th.
    9% 21 votes
    Yes Wednesday the 10th.
    3% 7 votes
    Yes. Monday the 15th.
    6% 13 votes
    Yes, but another date that I will mention in a post.
    30% 65 votes
    No. You're wasting your time.
    14% 32 votes
    No. Not bothered.
    35% 76 votes

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,302 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Terry wrote: »

Not Monday, I have to drop my car into the garage. Any chance you could re-schedule?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Do you have the AK's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭pinder

if it saves my sausages id show up

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Split from the pork thread.

Anyone up for marching on the dail on Monday?

Let's say lunch time. That'll give you students time to get over the hangover.

The idea is to oust the government and force a general election.

Peaceful protest of course.
    No violence of any kind will be accepted and violent people should not be defended by their fellow protesters.

Do we have any good public speakers?
    Any good speech writers?

All are welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Tuesday would be better, on monday i have to collect my 2,000 i won on the euro lottery last night.:cool:

If it doesn't involve rifles then its not a revolution. *sulks*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Peaceful protest of course.
    No violence of any kind will be accepted and violent people should not be defended by their fellow protesters.

Good, becuase when you talk about destruction, don't you know that you can count me out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Yeah, go on then. Sure I'll see you there yeah?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Make it for a week Monday and I'll be there!
    Would take a few days to the the media organised alone, not to mention involing student bodies that can be contacted through third level organisations.

Viva La Revolution... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Monday is the official culchie day out in Dublin. (8th Dec)

Dont all self respecting Dub's lock themselves indoors that day?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I can see it on the news now:

"We first had the pensioners, followed quickly by the students. Then on Saturday, we had the schools march, but, Sharon, it... it appears... it appears that members of the the the online community 'boards.ie', are marching on Leinster House."
    "Charlie, for the viewers at home, could you please tell us..."
    "OH MY GOD! I'VE NEVER SEEN SO MUCH BLOOD!!!!"

themadchef wrote: »
    Monday is the official culchie day out in Dublin. (8th Dec)

Dont all self respecting Dub's lock themselves indoors that day?
    Ahh bollix.

How is tuesday?

**** it. I'll add a poll.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

will there be cake?

hussey wrote: »
    will there be cake?
    Punch and pie.
    Also, free hat.

I'll do the 17th if you'll compromise and let me bring a catapult....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

What time would you be talking about??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Get all the taxi, road carriers, transport, etc businesses involved and get them to pile into Dublin for the day as a day of protest - and just watch the whole city grind to a halt!

Then do that once a week... every week.

Viva La Revolution! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

galwayrush wrote: »
    Tuesday would be better, on monday i have to collect my 2,000 i won on the euro lottery last night.:cool:

You can pay for the torches and pitchforks so.:p

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

The last thing this country needs right now is a General Election imo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Punch and pie.
    Also, free hat.

What about a free t-shirt? With matching slogans? ''Revolution '08'' or something? We could put Terry's face printed on them in a Che Guevara-style design...

*runs off to make t-shirts*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Is this for real or what and more importantly will it be televised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Why the feck do you have to organise it during winter? Could you not have done it during summer when it was warmer?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Drunken stick poll threads.

lol

\0/ lets go mad

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

GO Revolution!

Let's overthrow this bunch of useless dimwits!

You'd need abit of notice though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Let's overthrow this bunch of useless dimwits!
    Your weak link here folks, is what are you going to get to replace them? Enda Kenny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Your weak link here folks, is what are you going to get to replace them? Enda Kenny?

NO jesus that's worse

terry is going to take charge of everything like he does in ah:)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

free hat.

Yes, Hat is innocent !!

Free Hat!!!!

Preferably independants, but everyone is entitled to vote for whomever they want.

The aim is not an anti FF one. Rather one to give the current government a good kick in the arse and hopefully get rid of Harney.

Getting rid of her would be an accomplishment in and of itself.

Note: The Harney thing is a personal one and not one to go by.

Also, this is not endorsed by boards.ie, its owners, employees or anyone else affiliated with the site.

It is purely voluntary.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

You can pay for the torches and pitchforks so.:p

and the beer:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 24,052 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The megaphone is mightier than the sword!