Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audi Franchise Cork - Kevin O'Leary?

• 09-12-2008 8:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

Did I hear that correctly? Did Kevin O'Leary take on the Audi franchise?

Did anyone hear that the Silver Springs premises was up for sale & the new Audi/Opel dealership was moving out to the Commons Road?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Indeed, KOL has bought big site up on commons road but thats as far as i have heard, bmw and mini are gone from them and given to Kearys down in Little Island beside Cork on Ice.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭fm

on the radio yesterday, audi will be in douglas kol

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Did anyone hear that the Silver Springs premises was up for sale & the new Audi/Opel dealership was moving out to the Commons Road?

Maybe, but...
    fm wrote: »
    on the radio yesterday, audi will be in douglas kol

J&P already have Opel in Douglas so I doubt that KOL would move Opel there too.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭fm

• Registered Users Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Opel's going to the commons road, and Audi is going to Douglas. Apparently they're axing Seat and Nissan or so the rumour mill says. But they could easily stick both those wonderful franchises out to the commons road too.

They're saying on the radio that they have the experience in premium cars, and that it will be a superior Audi experience. Interesting ... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Anyone know where exactly they've bought on the commons road? Interesting...it would be no harm if they axed Nissan - have you seen the amount of them parked up in Douglas? I'd say most haven't turned a wheel in months. They could put Seat and Audi in together in Douglas - the showrooms are kept seperate there. Would make sense also as a lot of the engines etc would be same/similar

They bought the old O'Shaugnessy Steel Yard through Noel Deasys who had ownership of it. It's the yard just after the Esso Station. Currently access to it is by the Boreen entrance only, so they'll have to apply for planning permission for a main road entrance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭madaboutcars

ned78 wrote: »
    Opel's going to the commons road, and Audi is going to Douglas. Apparently they're axing Seat and Nissan or so the rumour mill says. But they could easily stick both those wonderful franchises out to the commons road too.

They're saying on the radio that they have the experience in premium cars, and that it will be a superior Audi experience. Interesting ... :D

I passed KO'L on the South Douglas Road this morning, there was a fair few Opels there.

They've got a scary amount of used cars there, completely chockablock.

Plenty of unreg'd Qashqais(I think that's what they're called, whatever that 4X4 yoke you see all the time these days with the Nissan badge is called) there too.

No sign of Audi though.

I think it makes sense for them to have Audi and Seat in the one place, being part of the same company and same engines and other bits and pieces and all that....

I'm not 100% sure, AudiChris will be though, but I think Audi brand rules require a standalone premises?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Yep, Audi's a separate brand, and now that the Germans are in charge I'd expect this to be emphasised a lot more new than it has been in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭madaboutcars

I'm not 100% sure, AudiChris will be though, but I think Audi brand rules require a standalone premises?

I have this funny feeling you're right on that one:o. After all it's a requirement for Toyota/Lexus and BMW/MINI and IIRC Blackwater Motors in Fermoy has seperate VW/Audi showrooms.

Edit: beaten to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

It's amazing when I think back to the late 80's stroke early 90's when all you would see on the roads was a Nissan, Ford Escort, Opel or Toyota. Mercs, BMW & Audi were rare rare sight. Now it has completely turned on its head!

With Audi sorted out Cork needs to get a decent VW dealer now.

The previous dealer put me off buying a Merc or Audi. The nightmares I went through dealing with the parts & servicing departments when herself had an Audi! I heard the words "back order" or "three weeks time ok?" far too many times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

They bought the old O'Shaugnessy Steel Yard through Noel Deasys who had ownership of it. It's the yard just after the Esso Station. Currently access to it is by the Boreen entrance only, so they'll have to apply for planning permission for a main road entrance.

That makes sense so. There was lads there last week doing some drilling into the ground, must be checking it out and stuff. I actually thought first that Noel Deasy was building an extension to his place. Even thought he might go for the Audi franchise since he has Skoda and now VW servicing

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

I heard there was a VW showroom going down to Little Island. Any truth to this rumour?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

O learys lissarda, about 20 mins from ballincollig have a joint vw/audi franchise on the same site. Renovated not so long ago too so i dont think vw ireland will be able to make them move

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

Zonda999 wrote: »
    O learys lissarda, about 20 mins from ballincollig have a joint vw/audi franchise on the same site. Renovated not so long ago too so i dont think vw ireland will be able to make them move

Prices there are crazy compared to others, even TCM were cheaper. Staff don't seem to be upto date on everything either which is a huge turn off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

O'Learys Lissarda are VW only these days.

Audi has cut the number of dealers by quite a number in the last few months, O'Learys are gone, and about 7 or 8 others whose names I can't remember.

Those dealers that lost Audi are still VW dealers though, barring MSL Turners Cross of course!

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭gibbon75

I heard the words "back order" or "three weeks time ok?" far too many times.

Have you ever worked in parts?
    Because this would be every storemen's dream:to get everything overnight.
    Our lifes would be so much easier,not to mention the customers' ;)
    But things don't work like that unfortunately...it is just impossible.

ps: I don't work for any VW dealer (thank God) :)