Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scuffle at NUIG last night

• 10-12-2008 12:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭

Was anybody at the alledged scuffle last night that O'Cuiv has had to come out to defend himself regarding? Last week I was in a shop the night of last weeks protest and some students came in and one went on the phone saying 'are you still at the protest?....if the gardai arrest you make sure you record everything'
    I really hope there was some beating going on last night!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Was not there but found this

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2008/1210/breaking9.htm

My guess is the timber that the student was wielding most likely had some "No to Fees" sign stuck on it but he forgot to say that cause saying a piece of timber sounds more like a weapon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I didn't hear that it was the same crowd that barged into his office. He should of floored the little fecker. The main is a SAINT!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 terrywibbs

O'Cuiv rocks!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

kayos wrote: »
    My guess is the timber that the student was wielding most likely had some "No to Fees" sign stuck on it but he forgot to say that cause saying a piece of timber sounds more like a weapon.

Doesn't look like it.

http://www.sin.nuigalway.ie/gallery2/v/December+08/Fees+protest/Protest+069.jpg.html

Do they not have exams?!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Minister for Gaeltacht and Community Affairs Éamon Ó Cuív has defended his actions after he was accused of manhandling a protester in Galway last night.

Mr Ó Cuív and Minister for Education Batt O’Keefe were confronted by protesters at NUI Galway when students attempted to delay access to a university building as the Ministers sought to attend an official funcion.

However, Mr Ó Cuív said he acted in defence of his secretary who had been threatened by an individual who was wielding "a piece of timber" and had to act to defend his secretary and himself.

"I think I was right to defend my secretary. She was very, very upset because one of the protesters had a piece of timber. And it was the second time in a week that she had been intimidated by some of the same students because they forcibly entered my office last week. They occupied my office and there was only female staff there at the time," Mr Ó Cuív said.

The protest was organised in collaboration between the NUI Galway Students’ Union, and the group FEE (Free Education for Everyone) which has recently been established in the University, and was supported by the NUI Galway Labour Youth, Ógra Sinn Féin and Young Greens. Members of Ógra Fianna Fáil and Young Fine Gael also attended.
    Pah, he is just making excuses. I like him but he needs to get things straight.
    toiletduck wrote: »

Maybe holding it upside down there? Mind I'd freak out just like "Old Quivver" if that timber guy with glowing eyes advanced on me.

Arggggggggghhhhh..not a looker in the bunch! There could be a sign on the end of that but I'd take his word over the students anyway. Though he obviously sugar coated his story but it still stands he got in some students face...he is a national hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Would you look at the cut of some of the lads in that picture....why is it that often, the core of these 'hardcore' protesters look like down and out vagrants? I'm sure they're nice people and all but....anytime I see them flying their 'Free Palestine' flags led by some old fossil down by Atlantic Homecare it looks like a biblical gathering.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's so rare these days to see this

capitalismrocks.jpg

If O'Cuiv had taken charge of the stick and started dishing out trashings to the assembled student body, it might have reversed the downward spiral of FF in the polls.

Missed opportunity tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,030 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Do they not have exams?!

yeah, we do.

Repeated text messages and so on were sent to people in FEE although I'm more concerned with my exams that are on.
    Would you look at the cut of some of the lads in that picture....why is it that often, the core of these 'hardcore' protesters look like down and out vagrants? I'm sure they're nice people and all but....anytime I see them flying their 'Free Palestine' flags led by some old fossil down by Atlantic Homecare it looks like a biblical gathering.

ha, I know most of those people.
    Fun times.

I'm guessing the Socialists and SWP will be pissy enough that they were left out of the Irish Times article.
    Never knew the Young Greens were in the NUIG FEE though.

biko wrote: »
    It's so rare these days to see this

capitalismrocks.jpg

Galway could do with a protest like that....antagonise! I think the leftys are too comfortable here.

What was the protest about? Do they not want the engineering building to go ahead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭axiom32

that jacket is going to score high marks in the creative fashion statement course when he hands it up

Repeated text messages and so on were sent to people in FEE although I'm more concerned with my exams that are on.

I'm guessing that's the anti-fee campaign? Never heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Yeah seriously the state of the people in those pictures. Serious idiots, they are protesting about free fee's, which by looking at the cut of most(Anarchy!) of them probably wouldn't apply, surely if one had two or three brain cells they would know its registration fee's that is there main issue. Anyway that sort of crap might get you a bit of publicity but won't by you any respect amongst the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Been a while since I saw an Anarchist jacket. God bless his littleself. Shower of twats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭kellyreilly

O'Cuiv should hire a hitman, trace them all down and have them shot !!

wouldn't mess with him again and it couldn't be proved......i've thought this through:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭TheInvisibleFie

I'm guessing that's the anti-fee campaign? Never heard of it.
    The campaign is called Free Education for Everyone (FEE). It's only been organised in the college for the last month but has organised a picket of Frank Fahy when he was meant to come to college; a march to Sean O'Neachtains; occupation of Eamonn O'Cuiv's; and last night.
    *Tripper* wrote: »
    Yeah seriously the state of the people in those pictures. Serious idiots, they are protesting about free fee's, which by looking at the cut of most(Anarchy!) of them probably wouldn't apply, surely if one had two or three brain cells they would know its registration fee's that is there main issue. Anyway that sort of crap might get you a bit of publicity but won't by you any respect amongst the public.
    ]It was also about the registration fee increases and the education cuts across the board as well as keeping the free fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭nycman

Fair play Éamon! He should have gone ape**** on them. Bunch of no good vagrants.

Long live The Cuívinator :L:D

Long live government ministers grabbing at students.

Here, Here. I prupose a student hunt for Rag Week this year. We can claim we're making citizens arrests and just leave them in a run down old building for a few days

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I can't wait until im out of college and working so I can immediatly turn around and say "Fecking no good students! Bunch of free load'n ****".

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Here, Here. I prupose a student hunt for Rag Week this year. We can claim we're making citizens arrests and just leave them in a run down old building for a few days
    Someone must have already done that - it's called Corrib Village.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Careful now...

Protest+061.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Go be with my days when we hounded P. Flynn :p At least P never got out of the Merc but ranted out the window instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Here's another pic from the protest that does it more justice. That TD made you guys look like pussies! When I was in college, a decent protest had a minister terrified, not putting it back up to you!

You panzies should take a few lessons from the fu*kin pensioners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Moving from the safe territory of 'placard' to the title 'big scary piece of timber'!! What a moment in time that is right there: the movement from a time of innocence to vile aggression aimed at a minister (or not as the case turned out).

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Here's another pic from the protest that does it more justice. That TD made you guys look like pussies! When I was in college, a decent protest had a minister terrified, not putting it back up to you!

You panzies should take a few lessons from the fu*kin pensioners!
    So one corner gives out to us for attacking a defenseless woman and the other says we should have been attacking ministers. Wonderful. No one tried to intimidate him and all this talk of a big stick and kicking his secretary is rubbish. The point was to have a peaceful protest but to get the point across that we oppose fees and education cuts.

(Sorry for double post but don't know how to edit my last post and keep the new quote)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

oh lads you've done it now...

You've angered a bunch of students