Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Obnoxious parking - ***READ FIRST POST BEFORE POSTING***

• Registered Users Posts: 13,991 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Not really. It's illegal to park on a foothpath

It is for pedestrians to walk, not for people to walk around cars and bikes and whatever other crap people decide to plank in our paths
    Some people are less mobile than others and need space to get around

Nothing over the top about it. The only thing over the top is people's inconsideration of others once their own needs are fulfilled

You are aware that motorbikes can't park in P&D spaces available because there is no mechanism to either display the ticket or stop it being stolen. And motorbike specific parking is non-existent, with the local authorities going so far as to remove those few remaining spaces over the last number of years. The bike was parked to the side, in line with the lamp posts and other natural obstructions and was hindering no-one. There was no restriction there for blind people or wheelchair users to pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭nookie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

You are aware that motorbikes can't park in P&D spaces available because there is no mechanism to either display the ticket or stop it being stolen. And motorbike specific parking is non-existent, with the local authorities going so far as to remove those few remaining spaces over the last number of years. The bike was parked to the side, in line with the lamp posts and other natural obstructions and was hindering no-one. There was no restriction there for blind people or wheelchair users to pass.

Excuses excuses.

Are we to believe that there was nowhere, absolutely nowhere, that the bike could have been parked with, say, a 5-minute walk radius?

The OP in that case mentioned mixed messages, ie footpath parking is allowed elsewhere therefore it was not obnoxious to park in that spot.

Parking on footpaths IS the mixed message, IMO. It's not the person parking that decides. I'm tired of hearing excuses for why footpaths should be used as a catch-all solution for other 'problems', like there being no other suitable parking nearby.

Park elsewhere and walk if necessary. It's not complicated. Unless you're vision-impaired or otherwise disabled...

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    Excuses excuses.

Are we to believe that there was nowhere, absolutely nowhere, that the bike could have been parked with, say, a 5-minute walk radius?

The OP in that case mentioned mixed messages, ie footpath parking is allowed elsewhere therefore it was not obnoxious to park in that spot.

Parking on footpaths IS the mixed message, IMO. It's not the person parking that decides. I'm tired of hearing excuses for why footpaths should be used as a catch-all solution for other 'problems', like there being no other suitable parking nearby.

Park elsewhere and walk if necessary. It's not complicated. Unless you're vision-impaired or otherwise disabled...

Taking where I work for example, St Stephens Green. There was motorbike parking provided on Merrion Square. This was removed. There was motorbike parking just off O'Connell street. This was removed. There are a least a couple of thousand car spaces available in all directions for a twenty minute walk. They are all pay and display. Dublin City by-laws specifically state motorbikes are not allowed to park in these spaces. Your against using selective reasoning when talking about motorbike parking, but your own reasoning against it is flawed.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Taking where I work for example, St Stephens Green. There was motorbike parking provided on Merrion Square. This was removed. There was motorbike parking just off O'Connell street. This was removed. There are a least a couple of thousand car spaces available in all directions for a twenty minute walk. They are all pay and display. Dublin City by-laws specifically state motorbikes are not allowed to park in these spaces. Your against using selective reasoning when talking about motorbike parking, but your own reasoning against it is flawed.

What about private car parks?

I don't want to labour the point in this (photo) thread, and I'll take your word for it about the lack of PWT parking. There is a chronic lack of bicycle parking also, which often leads to bikes being parked in all sorts of stupid and obnoxious ways.

But the solution is better provision of proper parking, not more use of footpaths. If bikers wish to make a point about the lack of parking, then let them park on the road.

What about private car parks?

I've actually had issues with using private car parks too, some state no motorbikes on signs and others that are monitored refuse to open the barrier. And they are preferable to public parking as a common form of theft with Motorbikes is to simply pull up in a van and place it into the back of the vehicle.

There are also issues with parking in car parks in general with motorbikes, including Pay and display spaces on the street. Since the bike is low profile, over overenthusiastic car drivers tend to pull into spaces appearing empty but occupied by bikes hitting them and causing damage. I've had this happen to me first hand, put me 500 Euros out of pocket.

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭kiwipower

Sounds like a great opportunity for someone with a bit of land/empty warehouse/building in the city(s) open up a motorbike specialist parking building! :cool:

Bet if they advertised well enough (and put in some super secure parking, like individual bike cages) pushbikes maybe tempted to..... especially if they offered over night party parking! :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Clonee Today

184097.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Saw this in Parkway Retail Park
    2011-12-06135951.jpg

Then saw this in Childers rd retail park
    2011-12-06143115.jpg

Came back to Parkway Retail Park and this was in the same spot as the first photo
    2011-12-06143917.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

75cc0fee.jpg
    Obnoxious parking or obnoxious parking space? Either way, there was no way past with my buggy in Stephens Green Car Park.

37595c14.jpg
    Entrance to Bank of Ireland car park in Blanchardstown.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭source

46.jpg

Not great quality pic, but the Astra in the pic is way off the mark, There was about 3.5-4ft between the back bumper and white line.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Terrible pic but only grabbed it while walking past

Market in Ennis

DSC00104.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14 NetDabbler

Amazing inefficiency on display here.

castlebellingham_service_station_southbound.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Shane_ef wrote: »

Market in Ennis

Hehe, I guess the car was there before the stall?
    The other way round would almost be funnier.

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭kiwipower

Shane_ef wrote: »

Market in Ennis

Damn picture wont show on my computer!
    You havent managed to snap a pic of the guys in the trucks parking in the middle of the road comming up to the Market roundabout? Just opposite the entrance to the parking building? Kinda of between the two lanes of traffic?

Came across this guy today, the space beside the car was big enough for me to pull a van in one side and out the other.

1104.jpg

Here's one I took from the space:
    1105.jpg

source wrote: »
    Came across this guy today, the space beside the car was big enough for me to pull a van in one side and out the other.

Here's one I took from the space:

Dole office in Limerick?
    That looks about right, all manners and common courtesy goes out the window, just dump her any old where, she'll be right as rain!
    Also, I think they have feck all traffic wardens there and the ones they do have don't want grief from scangers who will become violent if someone dares challenge them.

Dole office in Limerick?
    That looks about right, all manners and common courtesy goes out the window, just dump her any old where, she'll be right as rain!
    Also, I think they have feck all traffic wardens there and the ones they do have don't want grief from scangers who will become violent if someone dares challenge them.

There's only 2 wardens left in the city. Makes for some interesting parking.

The council is thinking of outsourcing traffic enforcement, with the sort of parking you see on a daily basis there, I'm all for it. Probably not a popular opinion, but with the insanity going on there, what else is there to be done?

I'm all for it once they're on a set payment and don't get commission/bonus for their tickets. ie they work fairly and don't polax the public to line their pockets.

If enforcement outsourcing were done along the lines of GoSafe this might preclude allegations of blackmail and profiteering, as with clamping companies.

There's walls of money to be made, though, at least until obnoxious and illegal parkers start to cop on, which is the whole point of enforcement IMO.

I once estimated, conservatively, that a 100 metre stretch of a single street (albeit a heavily trafficked one) in my neck of the woods saw around 26,000 parking offences annually.

That was a few thousand higher than the total number that received fines in the local authority's entire parking enforcement operation in the same year, yet that 100 metre stretch of busy local road comprised only 0.04% of the total km of local road under the local authority's remit.

Assume that the above 26,000 parking offences per 100 metres grossly overestimates the average annual total by a factor of 100, that there are 250 km of local roads to be monitored, and that the standard parking fine is only €40, then do the sums.

That's an awful lot of potential revenue for a cash-strapped local authority, and a possible tidy profit for a private enforcement company.

Can I buy shares?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

If enforcement outsourcing were done along the lines of GoSafe this might preclude allegations of blackmail and profiteering, as with clamping companies.

There's walls of money to be made, though, at least until obnoxious and illegal parkers start to cop on, which is the whole point of enforcement IMO.

I once estimated, conservatively, that a 100 metre stretch of a single street (albeit a heavily trafficked one) in my neck of the woods saw around 26,000 parking offences annually.

That was a few thousand higher than the total number that received fines in the local authority's entire parking enforcement operation in the same year, yet that 100 metre stretch of busy local road comprised only 0.04% of the total km of local road under the local authority's remit.

Assume that the above 26,000 parking offences per 100 metres grossly overestimates the average annual total by a factor of 100, that there are 250 km of local roads to be monitored, and that the standard parking fine is only €40, then do the sums.

That's an awful lot of potential revenue for a cash-strapped local authority, and a possible tidy profit for a private enforcement company.

Can I buy shares?

Yawn !!

Can I buy shares?

I do agree that enforcement is necessary and if they make a few quid of illegal parking, why not?
    (Oh no, I'm undermining my anti speed camera argument, might have to come round on that and that's annoying)
    What I can't understand is that local authorities don't make that money for themselves?
    A good traffic warden should more than pay for him/herself, why cut posts that actually make money?
    But something needs to be done (shakes fist)!
    /Gets nice cup of cocoa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Warden enforcement would be deemed too dangerous in that area. CCTV enforcement is the way to go there.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭Seasoft

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Less pointless yappin or I'll close this thread once and for all

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

NetDabbler wrote: »
    Amazing inefficiency on display here.

castlebellingham_service_station_southbound.jpg

Ye have yer Parallel parking
    And ye have yer Perpendicular parking
    And ye have yer Angle parking or fancy dancy echelon parking (as they call it)
    Or ye Can just fire it up the haggart!
    :mad::eek::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Justjens

Warden enforcement would be deemed too dangerous in that area. CCTV enforcement is the way to go there.

And you have evidence of that?

Back to photos, to keep the show on the road.

Someone mentioned Ennistymon earlier. Here's Lahinch, just a few km away. Same 'rules' apply.

The Octa ia is indeed parked.

10-CE-741.jpg