Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Obnoxious parking - ***READ FIRST POST BEFORE POSTING***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    The person driving that pram really needs to learn how to park.

Or how to drive, since the buggy has to spend so much time on the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

I'm Somewhat understanding it can be difficult to maneuver a vehicle of such size. Taken Just before christmas, Carpark was Jammed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭Neilw

Rear camber on that buggy is a bit off, you carrying coal in it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Wooooooooooow

Neilw wrote: »
    Rear camber on that buggy is a bit off, you carrying coal in it ;)

Had that one before.

No, it's MacLaren's latest Variable Camber Suspension -- great for cornering and general manoeuvrability.

Iwannahurl wrote: »

The answer I was looking for was "L-plates".

Where do learner drivers get the idea that obnoxious parking on footpaths is not just acceptable, it may even be preferable to parking legally on the road?

First photo: the furthest squad car is obstructing a footpath, while the nearest one is occupying the clearway beside a Blue Badge space and impeding access to a parking ticket machine.

Second photo: Driving instructor adds to the obstacle course on this dodgy stretch of footpath.

AGS3.jpg?t=1294959366

u-drive.jpg?t=1294960130

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Where do learner drivers get the idea that obnoxious parking on footpaths is not just acceptable, it may even be preferable to parking legally on the road?

because the people in the first picture don't give a sh1te

Absurdum wrote: »
    because the people in the first picture don't give a sh1te

There is something in what you say. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure, why use a space when there is so much free space in front of the shop?

0b28b_thumb.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭mullingar

I reckon they couldn't see the lines with tint that heavy

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'm Somewhat understanding it can be difficult to maneuver a vehicle of such size. Taken Just before christmas, Carpark was Jammed.

I laughed my ass off at that one. Brilliant.

Sure, why use a nearby public car-park that's a mere five-minute walk from your destination when you can get away with parking here?

Beside double yellow lines, right on a junction, less than 5 metres from a pedestrian crossing, blocking a footpath and obstructing access to a controlled crossing installed at taxpayers expense for the benefit of visually impaired people.

04-D-56001.jpg?t=1295030271

Driver of blocked truck stands in the street in frustration. No effective control of illegal parking in this street despite such jams being a regular occurrence. Traffic Wardens routinely ignore cars parked on double yellow lines, while targeting expired parking tickets and tax discs in nearby Pay & Display area.

Jam.jpg?t=1295051179

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭jimoc

Take one parked car, 10 pissed off drivers behind it and get them to flip it onto the footpath.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭phill106

Driver of blocked truck stands in the street in frustration. No effective control of illegal parking in this street despite such jams being a regular occurrence. Traffic Wardens routinely ignore cars parked on double yellow lines, while targeting expired parking tickets and tax discs in nearby Pay & Display area.

Jam.jpg?t=1295051179

Its ok everybody. he has his warning lights on!

phill106 wrote: »
    Its ok everybody. he has his warning lights on!

Yes, a Smith & Wesson beats four aces and double flashing amber lights deactivate double yellow lines as well as cancelling out just about every other parking regulation.

One day I was walking along the chaotic trail of parking anarchy pictured below and happened to encounter two Garda officers in a patrol car. I thought I'd grab the opportunity to see whether they were willing and able to deal with the situation. Which by the way is a problem all day every day, mostly inconveniencing and endangering pedestrians and bus users but also holding up general traffic.

The Garda's response was to look at the nearest car that was obstructing the footpath (around the same spot as the one pictured) and say "but they have their hazard warning lights on!" When I asked her what that had to do with anything, she tutted and rolled her eyes in annoyance. Then the driver of the squad car pulled in and parked on the same footpath while her colleague went off looking for the nearest offending driver!

What can you do?!

00-LM-1214.jpg?t=1295095820

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

the gentlemen on the bicycles should take care to not knock the mirrors off that piece of ****e, especially the chap on the right

Absurdum wrote: »
    the gentlemen on the bicycles should take care to not knock the mirrors off that piece of ****e, especially the chap on the right

The thing about wing mirrors these days is that they are very sturdy and have a spring-loaded folding action. The cyclist might come off worst.

Traffic was particularly chaotic on the day. These cyclists were adapting in their own inadvisable/illegal way. If I was passing on a bike I'd go outside the bus. The lads on the path don't give a sh1t while the older gent between the Renault and the bus ought to have more sense, though he may believe he is doing the right thing by not cycling on the path.

The woman is struggling to get her toddler, a buggy, some bags and her older child onto the bus.

The white tee-shirt bottom left belongs to the guy who has just parked obnoxiously, then walked off ignoring the chaos behind him.

Maybe I should show his mug...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

070521_parking_1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 43,889 ✭✭✭✭Basq

^

Just amazing!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

pic
    I think I know that crossing. Is that Headford Rd, Galway?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,978 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Tallon wrote: »
    070521_parking_1.jpg

Absolutely disgraceful, Kids are running amoke in Irish Society, I'm appalled and there's no obvious tax disc on display, TUT TUT!

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

The Garda's response was to look at the nearest car that was obstructing the footpath (around the same spot as the one pictured) and say "but they have their hazard warning lights on!" When I asked her what that had to do with anything, she tutted and rolled her eyes in annoyance. Then the driver of the squad car pulled in and parked on the same footpath while her colleague went off looking for the nearest offending driver!

Sadly that sums up the problem.
    There are traffic wardens, Garda traffic corps and regular gardai.
    Very well thought out system, have a dedicated body of personnel for each situation, from illegal parking, regulating traffic, pulling over drivers who do something daft/illegal to dealing with serious accidents.
    And now we even have privatised speed cameras, freeing up even more time to deal with the above!
    When there where only the gardai, the excuse of being overstretched and not having the manpower to deal with all these situations seemed plausible.
    Now, that each specialised unit (not just of the gardai, but traffic wardens, etc...) is there do deal with each situation as it arises and they don't, we can only draw one conclusion:
    THEY DON'T GIVE A SH1T!
    Only the absolute bare minimum seems to be done in order to coast through the job to (early) retirement with as little hassle as possible and finding a quiet spot to have a breakfast roll.
    From what I can read in this section alone it seems that cops only get involved when something terrible has happened and they HAVE no choice.
    "If I stick my neck out when I don't have to and things go wrong I am fcuked. But if I close my eyes, ignore it and walk on I'm grand" seems to be the motto.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

That cat seems wheely wheely depressed.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Absolutely disgraceful, Kids are running amoke in Irish Society, I'm appalled and there's no obvious tax disc on display, TUT TUT!

Perhaps there is no tax disc as the picture was not taken in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

ardmacha wrote: »
    Perhaps there is no tax disc as the picture was not taken in Ireland?
    Perhaps he's taking the piss:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭yllw.ldbttr

It's not the first time I've seen this car blocking the top of the steps here.

obnoxiousbmw.jpg

Dempo1 wrote: »

Cheeky little feckers they are. Especially the uppity little rug-rats on trikes. :)

Toddler-competes-with-SUV.jpg?t=1295106171

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Bishopstown Court Dunes in cork

AN overview
    stupidk.png

img00461201101141258.jpg
    img00462201101141258.jpg
    img00463201101141259.jpg
    img00464201101141303.jpg
    img00465201101141303.jpg

Part of the problem is down to the poor marking by Dunnes, but the road actually runs through the old car spaces. The newer ones are marked much better.