Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Comments in the Dail on Airsoft

• Registered Users Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

i remembered it that way as well but though it to be too extreme, its on arnies somewhere anyways

I think that was the idea - if you really wanted to play you would make it 3 times a month (I used to manage 8 times a month in the summer). The problem over here is the 5-6hr round trip for many players (myself included) that makes it un-doable over here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Lads, can we have a bit of maturity please, and fewer hair-trigger replies. We're not doing ourselves any favours.

kd has posted a million umpteen times what's wrong with the VCRA - both here and on the IAA website. Neither that nor snotgreen paint are the solution we want.

Cool heads and smart strategies are what we need, and to stick with the ReallySteelies as much as we can. We all stand or fall together. Everything is political, and all politics are local.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,937 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Shiva wrote: »
    There are methods in place to challenge legislation. Theres a lot of talk in this thread about ministers having the power to ban somethign at the stroke of a pen. These people arent stupid.

Livelihoods would be ruined. People would be made jobless. The opposition parties would literally destroy any minister who came up with a half-baked scheme to ban a legal sport, not because the give a toss about the sport, but because its a chance to destroy a sitting minister for enacting an ill-conceived law.

To everyone reading this - People are getting way to emotive over one line uttered in a Dail debate. For God's sake....have you guys any idea how many promises and threats are made and then broken in these debates ?

By all means, get active defending our sport - write to your TD, your councillors, the newspapers...anyone who has any kind of voice. Just do it calmly and rationally.

And I keep saying this. Again. And again. And again.

JOIN THE IAA AND HELP THEM !

You dont have to agree with them. You dont have to like them.
    BUT WE NEED TO HAVE A UNIFIED BODY REPRESENTING US.

If you dont like what they're doing, you can change their policies by being a member and proposing new policies. You can vote out the committee if you dont like them. But you can do NOTHING by not being a member.

I just cant understand this ridiculous concept of "They're a bunch of so-and-so's, I'm not joining". Join up and get rid of the so-and-so's, but just join up for Christ's sake, and add your voice to the other members.

For such a small community, we have an unusually large amount of intelligent people in our ranks....and I swear to God, for such intelligent people.....Theres a distrubingly large amount of you that seem to have switched off the logic machine in your brain :(

Best

In

This

Thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭sean.carolan100

Blay wrote: »
    Best

In

This

Thread.

By

Far

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

There are methods in place to challenge legislation. Theres a lot of talk in this thread about ministers having the power to ban somethign at the stroke of a pen. These people arent stupid.

Livelihoods would be ruined. People would be made jobless. The opposition parties would literally destroy any minister who came up with a half-baked scheme to ban a legal sport, not because the give a toss about the sport, but because its a chance to destroy a sitting minister for enacting an ill-conceived law.

:(

Shiva. RS clubs have spent 10s of 1000s making there ranges up to government standards. These clubs believed the government and invested in the future. Now its money wasted. NO compo for any range for this money spent.

Can I remind you of the ministers statement:

That Bill will also tackle comprehensively the issue of airsoft guns. I wish to have an outright ban on these guns and to make possession of them in public a serious offence. The proliferation of airsoft guns has been brought to my attention by Members on all sides of the House.

All sides of the house. So which side will stand up for airsoft? You are been seen as the very same as RS in the governments eyes. Like it or not! No TD will be seen as suporting "handguns" in this climate. No matter if it be plastic or RS :(

EDIT: all the minister has to do is remove the one joule limit. then anything firing a projectile from a barrel becomes a firearm under the 1925 act. Even a spud gun! If caught with an unlicenced firearm there is a min sentance of 10 years!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,937 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

daz801 wrote: »
    why should we just let the iaa deal with this, this affects us all and id say only about a quater of us are members of the iaa and i know quite a few people including myself who let's just say think the iaa are a load of lick ***holes who think they voice every airsofter evan though only about half of airsofters suport all there views. we should all stand up and appose the ban

That's a great way to show them support, we all need to looks at the lads in the IAA and think "Why do they bother defending us when all they get is abuse?"

People need to ask themselves that question, then realise that at this point, irrespective of our personal views on the IAA, it's policies or it's committee, we need to join it...now more than ever.

I will be joining the IAA as soon as I possibly can...and I'd hope a lot more
    will join me.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

chem wrote: »
    Shiva. RS clubs have spent 10s of 1000s making there ranges up to government standards. These clubs believed the government and invested in the future. Now its money wasted. NO compo for any range for this money spent.

Can I remind you of the ministers statement:

That Bill will also tackle comprehensively the issue of airsoft guns. I wish to have an outright ban on these guns and to make possession of them in public a serious offence. The proliferation of airsoft guns has been brought to my attention by Members on all sides of the House.

All sides of the house. So which side will stand up for airsoft? You are been seen as the very same as RS in the governments eyes. Like it or not! No TD will be seen as suporting "handguns" in this climate. No matter if it be plastic or RS :(

EDIT: all the minister has to do is remove the one joule limit. then anything firing a projectile from a barrel becomes a firearm under the 1925 act. Even a spud gun! If caught with an unlicenced firearm there is a min sentance of 10 years!

chem we are well aware of what the minister said, there is no need to repeat it. Now if you are an airsofter then please continue contributing, if its to push an agenda linked to the issues that RS is having then please step away now.

sean.carolan100 if I see another post of rubbish from you I will be banning you. This goes for any more frivolous posts on this thread. This is a serious discussion thread and I expect all to treat it as so.

With regard to an outright ban remember it was the Gardai that requested the 1 joule limit in the 2006 act that effectively legalised airsoft as too much of their man hours were been taken away by what they perceived as toys. They still are toys.

The bringing on board of the Northern players at the IAA AGM on Sunday will help us. We then become a All Ireland Organisation, rather than been seen as a sport that divides we can market ourselves as one that brings people together from all walks of life. That is going to be a very dangerous thing for politicians both sides of the border to attack. No one wants to be seen against cross border bodies in the mainstream political parties.

This is now all about how we market ourselves. Do we sit here and bicker among ourselves or do we make the banning of airsoft a very very difficult decision for the powers that be. Emphasise that this has the potential to become a tourist boon for this country. We have terrain that skirmishers from all over Europe would love to play on. Tell them about the 1000 man plus events in Berget and wouldn't it be a wonderful boost for a local economy to have 1000 wallets spending money with them. Be clever people and most of all be positive.

Promote the health aspects of the sport how people who otherwise may not be active are getting out and taking exercise in a country that is now battling with Obesity as a serious strain on our health service. Demonstrate that proper Airsoft far from promoting lawlessness will allow the young to socialise and take part in a Sport that keeps them from the streets and idleness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

gandalf wrote: »
    Demonstrate that proper Airsoft far from promoting lawlessness will allow the young to socialise and take part in a Sport that keeps them from the streets and idleness.

Very, very well said.

There are no gains to banning airsoft outright.
    There are plenty of gains in regulating it and promoting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Turncoat

If worst comes to worst we could protest in front of the Dail, we have the numbers to take a stand.

But I agree with Shiva maybe we are just reading too much into a comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

Emphasise that this has the potential to become a tourist boon for this country. We have terrain that skirmishers from all over Europe would love to play on. Tell them about the 1000 man plus events in Berget and wouldn't it be a wonderful boost for a local economy to have 1000 wallets spending money with them. Be clever people and most of all be positive.

Promote the health aspects of the sport how people who otherwise may not be active are getting out and taking exercise in a country that is now battling with Obesity as a serious strain on our health service. Demonstrate that proper Airsoft far from promoting lawlessness will allow the young to socialise and take part in a Sport that keeps them from the streets and idleness.
    best argument that the government will listen to THEY CAN MAKE MONEY FROM IT!!! well said gandalf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

chem we are well aware of what the minister said, there is no need to repeat it. Now if you are an airsofter then please continue contributing, if its to push an agenda linked to the issues that RS is having then please step away now.

I understand gandalf. I do not have any agenda. But just feel the injustice that both sports are been labled with. I have some airsoft as part of my collection and have taken part in some fun days out with my m8s. I just dont what to lose both sports to inaction. I just wanted to point out that I have tried my best to introduce TDs and local councillors to both sports, as I feel its the only way to let them see, for them selfs what its all about, before they make a law on either sport. I hope the AGM brings some good news, and I will not post here again until the outcome of this meeting. I am only trying to help, not try devide us :) sorry if anyone picked me up wrong ;)

best argument that the government will listen to THEY CAN MAKE MONEY FROM IT!!! well said gandalf

Deputy Flanagan was pretty surprised when he saw sales figures for ONE retailer. I dont think they realise just how much revenue is at stake here.

Deputy Flanagan was pretty surprised when he saw sales figures for ONE retailer.

Happy surprised or 'dear god this need to be stopped' surprised? Fair play in going with the IAA lads Tony but I do feel the question needs to be asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

i know quite a few people including myself who let's just say think the iaa are a load of lick ***holes who think they voice every airsofter evan though only about half of airsofters suport all there views

Well sadly everyone is entitled to their opinion, reminds me of that line, opinions are like assholes.........

But as the ONLY representative body for airsoft, we actually do speak for EVERYONE, even those who don't join up because we are the ones making the suggestions to those who make the changes.

So quit being part of the problem and become part of the solution before we get banned.

Happy surprised or 'dear god this need to be stopped' surprised? Fair play in going with the IAA lads Tony but I do feel the question needs to be asked.

Happy surprised.

I'm not going to go into too much detail, but he laughed, made a comment about there being "no recession here", and said "thats great".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

lads just had a read through from start to finish, all the compaining about politicions and 50 percent of you ended up sounding like one at one post or another ...:p:rolleyes:

Happy surprised.

I'm not going to go into too much detail, but he laughed, made a comment about there being "no recession here", and said "thats great".

Cool (and fair play on the sales levels too :) ), I just had a sinking feeling when I read it first that he may have had the fright of his life instead of thinking we were melting our credit cards.

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭hrta

The bringing on board of the Northern players at the IAA AGM on Sunday will help us. We then become a All Ireland Organisation, rather than been seen as a sport that divides we can market ourselves as one that brings people together from all walks of life. That is going to be a very dangerous thing for politicians both sides of the border to attack. No one wants to be seen against cross border bodies in the mainstream political parties.

nail on the head, gandalf

Cool (and fair play on the sales levels too :) ), I just had a sinking feeling when I read it first that he may have had the fright of his life instead of thinking we were melting our credit cards.

No...and to be honest, I was pleasantly surprised by him.

I know he's a successful politician, and would be a master at socialising, but he seemed very genuine, down to earth and reasonable. He listened to what we had to say, agreed with the main points of our arguments, and most importantly....asked some very pertinent questions and made a couple of very astute observations which supported our point of view.

Oh....and he's played and enjoyed paintball in the past, so he could relate to where we were coming from.

I know all of the above doesn't really mean all that much, but I was encouraged by the complete lack of hostility or disregard. He listened to us.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

Ease off the trottle lads. I'd wait till the weekend & see how things go.
    I reckon airsoft pistols & possibily the more concealable guns will be banned. Wait for the AGM & those whom haven't joined up yet, add your names. It won't hurt at this stage, but it might help.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

As has been pointed out it was one line in a dail debate. Its not gosple, look at medical cards and cervical cancer vaccine and how they were flipped around over night.

The IAA want regulation and so do I, it will safe guard the sport by weening out the bad apples. making it better in the long run for all.

Some people here are getting very panicky (waiting on someone to screa someone please think of the children!) chill guys until we get some more evidence of an immindent ban what good is scare mongering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

At the very least the good minister should have the decency to pop out for a day to a local skirmish site and try it out before he even talks about banning it. The amount of people in this country who are prepared to write stuff off based on pre-conceived notions, half-truths and hearsay without even attempting to see if there's another point of view yet again astounds me.

I'm waiting until after the AGM before I decide how to approach this situation. I will stand up and fight for my sport, but we're better off standing and fighting together, than all going off half-cocked.

I sincerely hope that the minister will see the huge number of positives that airsoft brings to peoples lives, rather than just focusing in on one or two negatives that would be better solved through regulation rather than an outright ban.

The logic (if there is any) behind a ban is something that I totally don't understand. To combat a rise in gun culture? What next? Ban all video games with guns in them? Movies too, sure people fire guns in them all the time. While we're at it might as well put a stop to all that hip-hop music, they're always going on about their glocks. Is this really what we call a free and democratic society?

What's so different between banning a sport because you don't like the look of it and the Taliban banning kite-flying and music? Our politicians portray us as an educated, tolerant, modern democracy, respected thoughout the world for our egalitarian outlook and yet the truth of it is they're just as quick to try and outlaw things as the most repressive third world regimes. Ireland has had a gun culture from its very beginning, have our illustrious leaders forgotten how our freedom was won?

The country's current ills with regards to gun crime will not be solved by trying to prevent normal law abiding people from having good, healthy, harmless fun with toy guns, nor will trying to erase the existance of firearms from the public consciousness have any effect. The answer to the problem of gun crime lies in education, social inclusion and law enforcement.

Attempting to prevent gun crime by banning airsoft would be like trying to cure the flu by chopping off a toe. The money and effort would be far better spent trying to convince the country's disenfranchised to buy into society rather than become part of its criminal underbelly.

• Registered Users Posts: 897 ✭✭✭tonky

Lemming wrote: »
    WONT SOMEONE PLEASE THINK OF THE CHILDREN?!!!

(sorry, you did lay down the challenge :p )

Lemming said a funny thing :D
    Seriously, let's all calm down until the Minister's Criminal Justice (Misc) Bill is published, or maybe leaked - :eek:

tonky wrote: »
    Thanks for calming the hysteria - Lemming for Pope :D
    Seriously, let's all calm down until the Minister's Criminal Justice (Misc) Bill is published, or maybe leaked - :eek:

Actually when is it coming out? Before their Christmas break?

• Registered Users Posts: 897 ✭✭✭tonky

Actually when is it coming out? Before their Christmas break?

Nah, I believe early in the New Year, least we can enjoy a few games over Christmas. Strange times indeed ....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

If this carrys on and they get there way then I can only see two outcomes ; the sport is outlawed , the sale of airsoft equipment is made illegal etc. alos alot of tears or; We still get airsoft but we .... uhhhh ..... *shudder* ..... Have to have blazing read flashhiders on all our aegs and gbbs atc .
    The second is the more likely outcome .

I would prefere the first . Im not murdering my aegs .
    Actually speaking of which, what was the general reaction to the 2 tone weapons in the UK? They look absolutely hideous, and could be spotted a mile away - skirmishes must be crap. A red Flash Hider seems extremely merciful in comparison - it could be far worse. Like......transparent aeg's (puke)

The blaze red tip in the US and the two-toned AEGs in the UK simply does not work, it inconveniences genuine airsofters and there have been incidences of real guns being painted with the orange tips to deceive people into thinking they are not real.

Aside from that, the system in the UK is terrible and from what I've heard, essentially killing the sport.
    tonky wrote: »
    Lemming said a funny thing :D

Unfortunately by the time the Bill is published it may be too late, which is why the IAA will be contacting relevant people sooner rather than later, make no mistake, we are actively working on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    As has been pointed out it was one line in a dail debate. Its not gosple, look at medical cards and cervical cancer vaccine and how they were flipped around over night.

The IAA want regulation and so do I, it will safe guard the sport by weening out the bad apples. making it better in the long run for all.

Some people here are getting very panicky (waiting on someone to screa someone please think of the children!) chill guys until we get some more evidence of an immindent ban what good is scare mongering?

not really the best analogy there lad, how many senior citizens and women are there in the country v how many airsofters.
    they "flip" when the alternative suits them.

i wouldnt describe my self as being panicky, least not when the minister has said he wants to ban airsoft, in as explicit language as possible.

if we sit on our arses on this he will bend us over and bury it to the hilt, now you can call that scaremongering if you like but it is better to do something now for your sport than to do nothing at all, and put blind faith in an organisation, again no offence to the IAA lads but info has not been very forthcomming, not saying that youre doing nothing but a little clarity would go a long way.

do you feel your €30 and nothing else will keep the sport safe?

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭AirsoftEire.com

Apprently Mr. Ahern was on Dundalk's local radio station LMFM about an hour ago saying he was going to ban airsoft, I didn't hear it myself and they don't seem to have an archive...

Steve

• Registered Users Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

not saying that youre doing nothing but a little clarity would go a long way.

do you feel your €30 and nothing else will keep the sport safe?

As I said last night, a document to be sent out was being finalised yesterday and discussed at a committee meeting last night,we will be in direct contact with the minister and several other parties today and the document should also be published on the website this evening.

Also: It's not about just giving €30 and sitting back feeling that will do the job, it's showing you care enough about this sport to get behind the organisation who is fighting to keep it legal and fair for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Government bills are like asteroids: the earlier you deflect them, the better. And they're far easier to deflect than they are to stop.

Thank God we have some thoughtful smart people on this thread.