Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Work Xmas partys

• 11-12-2008 6:25am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,869 ✭✭✭

Where ya all havin them?

I had my company one in the opera house last fri nite. free beer, got scuttered.

My job agency one was last night but i didnt go.

Have me IT Dept one tonight up in the rocks. More free beer.

Was in PJ O'Briens last night and im totally dyin today. legs all week, tired, feel sick. Wasnt gonna go tonight, but like last friday, i was talked into it at the last minute. also, i have work in the morning! Why do they do this to me!! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Mines a very, very ghey afternoon river cruise next Friday. Stingy fuckers havin it during the day so the WAGs can't go. The booze is free though so gonna get thrashed then probably head out after.

The missus' place is havin theirs out at the Burswood Casino this Friday. Puttin on a massive spread with food and drinks. Very fancy.

On a side note, I was told that Rio Tinto are making staff pay for the booze at their party this year. Stingy bastards.

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Coileach dearg

Had job agency one last Thursday, free beer. Held up in some hotel in North Sydney. Was dying on Friday.

Have the company party tomorrow night in Hordon Pavillion, Moore Park. More free booze!

Then on Saturday I've our football team's christmas do. They've had a good year so no expenses will be spared, free beer for some of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Mine is this Monday. Yes that's right, MONDAY. As in, we have work the next day. The retards only booked it 2 weeks ago and everywhere was booked out for friday nights (or any other decent night for that matter!). They've politely told us that if we show up at 10am on the Tuesday that'll be fine. My hole. They'll be lucky if I'm in before 12. As far as I know it's free drink so I'll be hopping off that.

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Coileach dearg

They've politely told us that if we show up at 10am on the Tuesday that'll be fine. My hole. They'll be lucky if I'm in before 12. As far as I know it's free drink so I'll be hopping off that.

You've just reminded me of the day after Paddy's day a few years ago in Dublin. It was a Friday and I decided I'd go to work with a massive hangover, showed up to work at 10:15 (smelling of drink I must admit) and got a lecture from the boss because I was late. This was just a sh*tty office job. I laughed at him and went off on the beer again. Feckin loser!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Mine is on Friday the 19th. It starts at 12pm and we all go down to the venue and finishes at 5. Then apparently, it gets very messy and we all go to a particular bar and continue on to the wee hours. Yay!

My parents arrive from Ireland the next day which will be interesting!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

having my third one at a winery tomorrow week.

first was about two weeks ago, had a teddy bear's picnic at a local park, invited all the kids and their families to it, it finished about 1.30pm with santa giving out presents for all the kids.

second was the owner of our preschool had a bbq for the staff of our preschool, and the other one she owns, that wnet on till about midnight, was good, but i was sober taht night. which is probably good, as i was still a little upset about the moving to melbourne thing, and managed to burst out crying in front of the whole room. :o

third, im looking forward to, no owners, just us 5 teachers, and our partners/mates, which should be good craic. not sure what's being paid for, etc, but should be a laugh.

all next week is fancy dress week at work too, which shall culminate in a 'lolly' filled party on friday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Looking like it will be an impromptu BBQ down by the Yarra on the 23rd with an esky full of cold beers, some fat ass steaks and then into the city for late night shenanigans ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

We had ours last Saturday, free booze in a rowing club down by the Yarra, right across from Flinders St Station, which was handy for the staggering homewards. Over-indulged just a little and contributed to not one, but two karaoke songs. *the dee is embarrassed*

Was working at 10am the next morning too. And my job involves the occasional bad smell. Delightful :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Don't even get a poxy mince pie outa my job :P

• Registered Users Posts: 7,869 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

had me IT one last night. some laugh with more free booze. continued on from last fri nite, callin the chinese oen a big karaoke lovin jap, and i spent the whole night tellin the COO that im gonna disable his account and delete his emails if he doesnt bring me on a business trip that includes dublin and amsterdam! You can guess what his answer was.

/me starts disabling accounts