Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Petition To Stop Ban!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Foxhunter,

Petitions do eff all.

I already had one post deleted for mentioning the dreaded "L" word, but I'll put it another way and see if I get it past.

Politicians generally only look to one thing.

Votes.

Write to the Minister, your Local Councillors and TD's.

Tell them you won't be voting FF or Green, or for any opposition TD that supports these moves in any local elections or general elections, and tell them why. If the government come before the people with a vote on "Any Other Issue" you will vote against the government for the exact same reasons.

The Minister is acting the big man (ironically) because currently he has the power to do what he wants.

It's time to remind him that we loan him that power temporarily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭G17

foxhunter wrote: »
    http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/stopthefirearmsban/index.html

Please sign the petition at the above link to try and stop the ban on handguns
    you will be asked for a donation but you do not have to make one.

Regards to every one.

No one knows for sure what will work if anything will, thanks for posting the link, people can decide themselves if they want to sign it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

G17 wrote: »
    No one knows for sure what will work if anything will, thanks for posting the link, people can decide themselves if they want to sign it. :)

Thats exactly what I thought .

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

If the Farmers Journal and any other publications related however remotely to shooting/countryside/equestrian interests could be persuaded to run a campaign to get their readers to lobby their TD's, we may be able to exercise enough pressure to threaten Mr. Aherne's tenure.

Unfortunately it probably wouldn't work unless we could convince Mr. Ganley to take on the matter ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

John Ganley and Micheal O Leary seem to be the only two public figures who arent afraid of sticking it to the Irish Govt,anytime allthe time.
    We need more of these people these days.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

To be fair, I would rather sign one that makes sure the ban goes ahead.

Why???

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Jumpy wrote: »

Well to be fair that would be your opinion. But we are as entitled to ours as you are to yours

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

dresden8 wrote: »
    I already had one post deleted for mentioning the dreaded "L" word, but I'll put it another way and see if I get it past.

Your post about Lisbon was suitable for the Politics forum, not for here. That's why it was deleted.

Votes.

Very true. General elections are a sure way of catching their attention.
    If the government come before the people with a vote on "Any Other Issue" you will vote against the government for the exact same reasons.

So if the government held a referendum to include a specific right to hunt in the constitution you'd vote against them out of spite? You should vote on the issue, not on the person who brought it.

Protest votes are utterly counter-productive for us. In the past few general elections the candidates who attracted the protest votes tended to be the Green Party, Sinn Fein and the various Socialist parties. None of those would be good news for shooting or hunting. Protest votes in a referendum make even less sense since they have historically (at least in my memory) not been a divisive issue among the big parties, hence even if the politicians did listen to you (which they won't) you have no political leverage with them. FF don't fear a SWP majority in the Dail, they do fear a FG one.

By all means, fight to make shooting, hunting and firearms ownership a political issue when there's a general election but be careful that you don't bite off your nose to spite your face in the process.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

What IRLConor said. If you vote no on Lisbon to protest the handgun ban, how the bloody hell would anyone know? Would a no result mean that the handgun ban should be overthrown? Or would it mean that the education budget cuts should be repealed? Or would it mean that there should be more Gardai on the beat in East Wall? Or would it mean that the pork recall shouldn't have happened and the EPA need to be given more teeth and more duties? Or would it mean that the government shouldn't keep rerunning referenda until we give the "right" answer?

You'd have no way to know, so there's no real point.

Well to be fair that would be your opinion. But we are as entitled to ours as you are to yours

Cool, but as long as you guys are aware you are a very small minority.

Personally I would hate to see any sport die, but overall making it harder for people to get their hands on weapons is beneficial, even if it does seriously inconvenience a very minor sport. While I am sure everyone on this forum will swear blind that they keep their guns in the equivalent of Fort Knox, they are still getting stolen from those that dont put as much effort into keeping them locked up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

Cool, but as long as you guys are aware you are a very small minority

Once minorities start to be persecuted, erroneously using "the greater good" as the justification - jackboot sales go through the roof.

even if it does seriously inconvenience a very minor sport.

the end justifies the means ???

B'Man

Bananaman wrote: »
    Once minorities start to be persecuted, erroneously using "the greater good" as the justification - jackboot sales go through the roof.

the end justifies the means ???

B'Man

Heh. You know you are talking about guns here right?

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Mr Man

Bananaman wrote: »

First they came for those with guns?

I'm with Jumpy on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Jacobo

Mr Man wrote: »

I'm with Jumpy on this.

We're not hurting anyone. If we did, we'd all be in jail now, as an Garda knows exactly what we look like, where we live and what firearms we have :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭bustershark

Guns don't kill sheets of paper...

I'm sure you're all upstanding members of society, but guns are guns are guns.
    They are a deadly weapon.
    The sooner they're all eradicated from this island of ours, for whatever purpose, the better. If a minority sport is a casualty of war, then it's an acceptable price to pay.

I am sure everyone on this forum will swear blind that they keep their guns in the equivalent of Fort Knox
    Actually, they don't have to swear. They wouldn't get them without a home inspection by the gardai and meeting set standards in security - so in essence, the Gardai are the ones doing the swearing.
    they are still getting stolen from those that dont put as much effort into keeping them locked up.
    No, they're not. I hate to contradict a Minister, but we've seen absolutely no evidence whatsoever that this has ever happened to the firearms he's concerned about here. Shotguns, yes - but he's not cracking down on shotguns, even though all the cases I can think of where a licenced firearm was abused to harm someone by its owner (even in suicide cases) were cases involving shotguns. I mean, for heaven's sake, he can't even tell us how many of these 'deadly' 9mm glocks are licenced today. Hell, the figures from June this year and the same figures from October do not match up. And not for this year, where you'd think the numbers would rise as more are licenced in July, August and September, but for years past. And they're out by 40 or 50 each time.
    That's not a reliable source of information.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭ranger4

The sooner they're all eradicated from this island of ours, for whatever purpose, the better. If a minority sport is a casualty of war, then it's an acceptable price to pay.

would be great if all the illegal firearms are removed from our isle but just banning legaly held licenced sportsmen and womens firearms will have no impact what so ever with the crimmy scum who are killing themselfs (which i doint mind) allong with all the innocent people which are loosing their lives to thease bastards, Its about time the government grew some balls and legislate to cage thease bastards for ever, a massive prison building plan should be implemented to house thease scum, it would create thousands of badly needed jobs in many sectors allong with removing thousands of scum from society.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Criminals will continue to acquire firearms whatever way they can. They are imported in huge quantities along with drugs shipments as 'deal sweeteners' etc. They are not going into their local super and applying for a license for christ's sake! When will you learn? If you ban legally-held handguns in this country, not only will you be destroying the entire sporting life of some of the safest and most responsible people in the country (as attested by their local gardaí), but you will also NOT be making a single solitary dent in the guns + drugs + criminals problem.

Ahhhh progress....:rolleyes:

Edit: Ranger beat me to it! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

You do realise that it is already illegal to have an unlicensed firearm yeah.

By banning licensed firearms, that's all you will actually achieve. Impact on firearms crime is nil. Criminals don't participate in the minority sports so they don't give a sh1t if you cant license them

More handguns are found in single drug shipments than are licensed throughout the whole country. So lets hear that again, every single legally held handgun would have to be stolen and it would still be less than one illegal shipment.

Fair play to FF though, they really are trying to make it as easy as possible not to vote for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Vegeta wrote: »
    Fair play to FF though, they really are trying to make it as easy as possible not to vote for them.

F**kin' A :)

If a minority sport is a casualty of war, then it's an acceptable price to pay.
    The gun used in the east wall murder was (according to garda detectives) found in a wall on the estate where someone had hidden it. An outside wall, as in the kind along an alley or seperating houses.
    Last I checked, civilians weren't in the habit of storing really rather expensive bits of hardware that they were responsible for in broken bricks in walls outside their homes.
    So if you had eliminated the minority sport in september when it was first suggested, Aidan would still be dead at the hands of a 16-year-old today.

Mr Man wrote: »

I'm with Jumpy on this.

Hey! Lets lock up all the Muslims who are Saudais,belong to the Whabbist sect in Ireland who have pilots liscenses,or are chemists.They are only a minority here that have the potential to be terrorists thru their belifs and professions.And it wont inconvience the rest of the Muslim or Christian community and no doubt stop a 911 or underground,...well DART bombing!
    Same dangerous logic,and yes what Pastor Niemoller that you are taking the p*ss of of said holds true for anyone or any group.:(

The same could be said for martial arts or boxing. Go to those forums and see how far you get.

If the Minister really wants to save lives he should look at these statistics

http://www.iws.ie/drowning-statistics-page.html

That's nearly 2,000 people dead between 1996 and 2007.

Clearly he should immediately ban all water sports and impose a 100 yard limit around large bodies of water, after all we don't need to do them, we have lungs, not gills.

Won't somebody please think of the children?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

I see you're from Limerick Jumpy, I suppose you think banning target pistols will reduce gun crime in your area?:rolleyes:

IRLConor wrote: »
    Your post about Lisbon was suitable for the Politics forum, not for here. That's why it was deleted.

Agreed

Very true. General elections are a sure way of catching their attention.

So if the government held a referendum to include a specific right to hunt in the constitution you'd vote against them out of spite? .

Eh, no.

Protest votes are utterly counter-productive for us. In the past few general elections the candidates who attracted the protest votes tended to be the Green Party, Sinn Fein and the various Socialist parties. None of those would be good news for shooting or hunting. Protest votes in a referendum make even less sense since they have historically (at least in my memory) not been a divisive issue among the big parties, hence even if the politicians did listen to you (which they won't) you have no political leverage with them. FF don't fear a SWP majority in the Dail, they do fear a FG one.

By all means, fight to make shooting, hunting and firearms ownership a political issue when there's a general election but be careful that you don't bite off your nose to spite your face in the process.

Unfortunately the Minister seems full intent on doing what he wants. The only way to stop him is to get him out.

The only way to get him out is to make the government fall. The greens are staying put as they're facing into an abyss.

Barring an asteroid strike on Leinster House (when they're there) a failed Lisbon vote is the only thing likely to bring down the government. Asking nicely got us nowhere.

Otherwise our choice is to slink off quietly into the night with our tails between our legs like the IPSA did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Tribunius

So how do you feel about archery and the javelin?

They were originally invented as weapons and probably still are used as such somewhere in the Brazilian rain forest. Would you like them banned too?

The sports based around them are minority ones too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Tribunius

I have some questions for all those passing through here with the opinion that the ban is a good thing.

1. What do you think this ban will achieve?

2. Why are you so afraid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Foxhunter,

Petitions do eff all.

Votes.

Write to the Minister, your Local Councillors and TD's.

Tell them you won't be voting FF or Green, or for any opposition TD that supports these moves in any local elections or general elections, and tell them why. If the government come before the people with a vote on "Any Other Issue" you will vote against the government for the exact same reasons.

The Minister is acting the big man (ironically) because currently he has the power to do what he wants.

It's time to remind him that we loan him that power temporarily.

I wrote a letter, and recieved a reply from the taoiseach. I was very civil in my letter and i did recieve a reply stating that the Taoiseach would speak to his Justice minister regarding the matter. And that from this all further details would be forwarded onto this.

so guys get pen to paper, fingers to keyboard and be more constructive.
    Giving out on the internet will solve nothing.

if I recieve no further correspondance in the next week, I'll write another letter, to every TD in the Dáil if I have to. Excuse the pun, but the pen is mightier than the sword.
    I echoed in my letter the revenue gained by sports tourism in the country, Shooting competitions etc..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Jacobo

Tribunius wrote: »
    So how do you feel about archery and the javelin?

They were originally invented as weapons and probably still are used as such somewhere in the Brazilian rain forest. Would you like them banned too?

The sports based around them are minority ones too.

Don't forget fencing. It is contributing to our growing knife culture!

And boxing and martial arts! They are contributing to our growing bar brawl culture!

(BTW, now that I think of it, isn't competition shooting a form of martial art?)