Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VRT

• 11-12-2008 4:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭

Does anyone think that VRT will come down in price in 2009?

I have to get my car VRT'd but wanna wait till 2009 as it'll be a bit cheaper anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭tywy

Do you mean road tax? or Vehicle Registration Tax?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I have to get my car VRT'd but wanna wait till 2009 as it'll be a bit cheaper anyway..
    It might, you might get caught. Who knows..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭That Girl..

I mean Vehicle Registration Tax!

Well i'm drivin it since september and didn't get caught yet so i hope i can last 3 or 4 more weeks!!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,367 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think if euro gets any nearer sterling, the government will have to introduce an additional tax on privately importing cars. If not, nobody will buy here new. Or alternatively, do away with vrt. I cannot see that happening

mickdw wrote: »
    I think if euro gets any nearer sterling, the government will have to introduce an additional tax on privately importing cars. If not, nobody will buy here new.
    That's not possible, any new tax would have to apply equally to cars bought here and in other EU states.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭tywy

Sorry! It was just the way it was phrased. I thought you had to pay VRT asap.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Unless the cold snap we are enjoying is being felt in hell too... no.
    Yeah, the OMSP for your car will drop in January. Get it registered then, before they get a chance to raise vrt or fiddle with the bands!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,198 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Give 'em nothing!!! There thieving feckin ********s!!

More power to you, Drive her on and stop for no man!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭spillcoe

Dangerous to be driving around Christmas though with all the checkpoints and Gardai are getting a commission of 150 EURO for every car they catch dodging the VRT at the moment.

spillcoe wrote: »
    and Gardai are getting a commission of 150 EURO for every car they catch dodging the VRT at the moment.
    Source?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Dangerous to be driving around Christmas though with all the checkpoints and Gardai are getting a commission of 150 EURO for every car they catch dodging the VRT at the moment.

No they are not.

Gardai are getting a commission of 150 EURO for every car they catch dodging the VRT at the moment.

Give us your keys Boss..:D

Bounty_Hunter_Picture.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭DanGlee

Don't worry dude... I moved to Ireland from the UK in 2000 and drove a yella reg car for 5 years. Never stopped (apart from speeding... but they said nothing)

Got new car in 2006... yella reg.... still driving it... got stopped, nothing said!

Unless the customs stop you, I don't think the guards can do anything (don't quote me on that) But at the same time, don't give the customs f**k all, i.e. your keys... they can't take the car off you... simply drive it home, park it off the road and tell em to shove it (then pay it... cos they be scouting for you then!)

My original price for VRT was around €4500 (in 2006) and I said feck that, its now come down to around €2500 ish, but thats the basic model of my car, and my model with extra's on it is not listed on the web, so its prob a bit more... they are a shower of robbing c**ts... Give em feck all, its just another illegal tax that should have been outlawed many years ago, but due to some loophole they continue to charge it.

I will pay it myself some day when I come to sell the car, but until then, I'll do my best to avoid...

Good luck... don't let the (tax)man get you down!

Oh and don't ask what car I'm driving as I don't want the customs to know incase they on here :D

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's not possible, any new tax would have to apply equally to cars bought here and in other EU states.

Yes and we thought vrt wasnt possible coming up to 1992 and free market and all that.

Could they not introduce a stamp duty or similar on used vehicles entering the country. The excuse for this could be that there is much more work involved in getting a used car reregistered here especially since they are bringing in car testing prior to registration shortly. They could argue that background checks have to be done to ensure the car is genuine, not written off or clocked. If they were to employ people to do this, there is no doubt they could put a large charge on the service. Something in the region of 10% of market value.
    This would then make buying here more attractive as well as making all the currently overpriced stock sitting in garages more reasonable as well thereby saving the day for the car dealers and taking in more tax.

This would then make buying here more attractive

I don't see this ever happening in Rip Off Ireland car market... they are the most overpriced and low spec'd cars in the eurozone. You'd be a fool to buy a car here!

I know from experience that the average saving on buying a BMW from the UK and legally VRTing it here straightaway is around €4000+

The price of cars in this country are a joke!

DanGlee wrote: »
    Don't worry dude... I moved to Ireland from the UK in 2000 and drove a yella reg car for 5 years. Never stopped (apart from speeding... but they said nothing)

Got new car in 2006... yella reg.... still driving it... got stopped, nothing said!

Unless the customs stop you, I don't think the guards can do anything (don't quote me on that) But at the same time, don't give the customs f**k all, i.e. your keys... they can't take the car off you... simply drive it home, park it off the road and tell em to shove it (then pay it... cos they be scouting for you then!)

My original price for VRT was around €4500 (in 2006) and I said feck that, its now come down to around €2500 ish, but thats the basic model of my car, and my model with extra's on it is not listed on the web, so its prob a bit more... they are a shower of robbing c**ts... Give em feck all, its just another illegal tax that should have been outlawed many years ago, but due to some loophole they continue to charge it.

I will pay it myself some day when I come to sell the car, but until then, I'll do my best to avoid...

Oh and don't ask what car I'm driving as I don't want the customs to know incase they on here :D

Awh that makes me feel alot better now..

I wasn't gonna bother but then there's people tellin me ya get a €2000 fine on the spot:eek:

I blow all my money so i'd be ****ed!! Then its €150 for every night the car is impounded. By the time i'd get the car back it'd be worth nothin to me!

Its a 04 Audi A4 and it's €3200 to VRT but next year i think it's €2800.

Still too much for stingy me to pay!!

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭jonnygee

Sure, dont worry about paying your vrt, me and all the other taxpayers will just pay a bit more and cover your share.

jonnygee wrote: »
    Sure, dont worry about paying your vrt, me and all the other taxpayers will just pay a bit more and cover your share.

Sweet. Thanks.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Awh that makes me feel alot better now..

I wasn't gonna bother but then there's people tellin me ya get a €2000 fine on the spot:eek:

I blow all my money so i'd be ****ed!! Then its €150 for every night the car is impounded. By the time i'd get the car back it'd be worth nothin to me!

Its a 04 Audi A4 and it's €3200 to VRT but next year i think it's €2800.

Still too much for stingy me to pay!!

Thats right, listen to the other langer, and quote him when Customs & Excise IMPOUND your car, charge you 10% of the OMSP as a fine, and then put the VRT on top. C&E CAN take the car off you on the spot, and drop you to the nearest bus stop, if you so wish.

whiterebel wrote: »
    Customs & Excise IMPOUND your car, charge you 10% of the OMSP as a fine, and then put the VRT on top. C&E CAN take the car off you on the spot, and drop you to the nearest bus stop, if you so wish.

why hasn't someone taken this to Brussels, the EU needs to help us out here, were being ripped...the whole thing is joke, especially with the border, we should be glad of the cheap cars from the north, all taxes have already been paid to get it on an eu road....
    the public service are there to service us, i don't see how money is being put to good use if we've got people running around chasing cars that came from newry....ohh and classifing porno films for us...

I wonder what will happen when our island is reunited, will Brian & Co be looking for duty on the yeller regs....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Give 'em nothing!!! There thieving feckin ********s!!

More power to you, Drive her on and stop for no man!!!

You have my Vote!! Absolute +1 on that, i have the ole northern licence ;) comes in handy

The keep stopping me but i travel back and forth to the north so much they cant take it off me!!

DONT PAY VRT!! LET THEM CATCH YOU! you will only get a warning for your 1st offence anyway (then pay it in) . Were do these clowns put the VRT because its not on the roads. I would drive over a customs man before i would pay it. And that's a promise! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭stek

Just a question, If you bring a car from Eire to Britain do you have to pay a similar tax to the english government? If not that makes the VRT a bit of a joke!

stek wrote: »
    Just a question, If you bring a car from Eire to Britain do you have to pay a similar tax to the english government? If not that makes the VRT a bit of a joke!

Not in uk no. Some Eu countries have a vrt equivalent though.
    I think we should be entitled to a vrt rebate if we were to take a car out of the country.
    As it stands now, you cannot really take exotic stuff into the country as you have no market should you wish to sell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

DanGlee wrote: »

Thats some of the worst advice I've ever heard. Few points here...

Guards can take the vehicle of you on the roadside.

Customs can follow you onto yours or anybodies private property and take the vehicle.

First time your stopped normally you will get away with a warning and 10 days to clear it. This is at the discretion of the person your dealing with though they might take it there and then.

If your vehicle is taken off you not only will you pay the VRT but also 10% extra of the OMSP as a fine for not abiding by the law in the first place not to mention storage for every night its kept!

I never heard anything about that 150 euro 'bonus' before and neither did any of the guards I know.

If I was you I'd probably chance my arm until the new year, I've often done this with northern cars I've had but imo its a disaster, worrying about whats around every corner and driving back roads...not worth it imho!!

As for the 'don't give them the keys' bit?!!?? I'd like to see you argue with a customs officer when he lands at your door at 10pm at night looking for your excuse!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Farls wrote: »

Customs can follow you onto yours or anybodies private property and take the vehicle.

First time your stopped normally you will get away with a warning and 10 days to clear it. This is at the discretion of the person your dealing with though they might take it there and then.

If your vehicle is taken off you not only will you pay the VRT but also 10% extra of the OMSP as a fine for not abiding by the law in the first place not to mention storage for every night its kept!

I never heard anything about that 150 euro 'bonus' before and neither did any of the guards I know.

If I was you I'd probably chance my arm until the new year, I've often done this with northern cars I've had but imo its a disaster, worrying about whats around every corner and driving back roads...not worth it imho!!

As for the 'don't give them the keys' bit?!!?? I'd like to see you argue with a customs officer when he lands at your door at 10pm at night looking for your excuse!!

Well i can talk from experience. I was stopped not 3weeks ago I locked the doors and put down the window an inch. They demanded that i gave them the keys. I refused saying you have no valid reason to take my property off me and until you have proof i am not doing so. I have a northen licence but i hadnt it with me on the day. So use with the southern licence can do the same. DONT PAY VRT! SIMPLE.

If you are caught red handed 1st time you will get so many day to pay up. Live with your yellow plate until this options arises.

Ask youself this question! Will the clowns give you back your duty if you decide to go back and reside in the north/uk? NO they will not. If you questioned at a door @ 10pm or anytime your simply passing by for a month to stay with family. The more people that refuse to pay it and continue to outsmart these backwards people the more the government will realise we are no longer going to put up with rip off ireland!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Smcgie wrote: »
    Well i can talk from experience. I was stopped not 3weeks ago I locked the doors and put down the window an inch. They demanded that i gave them the keys. I refused saying you have no valid reason to take my property off me and until you have proof i am not doing so. I have a northen licence but i hadnt it with me on the day. So use with the southern licence can do the same. DONT PAY VRT! SIMPLE.

If you are caught red handed 1st time you will get so many day to pay up. Live with your yellow plate until this options arises.

Ask youself this question! Will the clowns give you back your duty if you decide to go back and reside in the north/uk? NO they will not.

Fair play to ya, and how did it finish up...did they send you on your merry way? And were you heading in the NI direction or up South?

If you have a northern licence you obviously have an address in the north and a fairly plausable excuse to get away with things.

Again I'd like to re-iterate tho that they CAN and DO lift cars on the first offence I've seen it happen.

Long and the short of it is though if they want to get you they will, northern licence or not. If you know your 'getting away with it' then I can guarantee you they know too!!

jonnygee wrote: »

Awh you're soo nice, thanks!

My worryin days are over!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Farls wrote: »

This is the most accurate advice on this thread. The Gardai can & do seize UK registered cars owned by residents of the ROI. They do generally give you one warning but that's it. It goes on Pulse & the next time your stopped it's time to hand over the keys.
    Asked a friend (Garda) about the €150 bonus, the response was "I wish!"
    When it does get impounded don't expect it to be parked up securely. I have heard of one car that was seized with the sunroof open, it was left open in the compound for 3 weeks while the owner sorted his VRT out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 monty_mole

If customs want your car they will take it simple, doesn't matter where its parked.You'd need a tan number to keep it on your property on an english plate.

monty_mole wrote: »
    If customs want your car they will take it simple, doesn't matter where its parked.You'd need a tan number to keep it on your property on an english plate.
    Don't be a fun-wrecker, let them learn the hard way.;)