Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I flashed an oul dear today..

• 12-12-2008 12:35am
    Registered Users Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭

and it didn't work!

Here's a new gadget I got so I'll probably catch a few more incidents in time :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsNer4YlyZ8&fmt=18

Go fullscreen and look how many times I flashed her (and turned off my lights for a few seconds too)... I'm not really going that crazy, just messing with my amiga in the van :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Buffman

Yep, very annoying, and dangerous. I see lots of this happening these days for some reason. Night = turn on lights. Simple you would think.:rolleyes:

Lots of crazys out there, and don't get me started on the 1 light wonder motorbike cars!:mad:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

That's an impressive device you have Cormie.
    Got a link to what it is?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Fair play Cormie, Ye finally got it going!! Share the system info on here anywyas good to see some variance!

Any chance of a pci of the setup!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭cormie

There's not much about it online, except in Korean :o

What system info do you mean and is a pci a technical term or do you just mean a picture and spelled it wrong? lol

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Nice vid, "your lights, LIGHTS, put on yer fookin lights". At least she did in the end, daft olé bag. :pac:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Funxy

I really like the set up, can you tell us more about it?

cormie wrote: »
    There's not much about it online, except in Korean :o

What system info do you mean and is a pci a technical term or do you just mean a picture and spelled it wrong? lol

Correct I spelt pic wrong :o !!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Funxy wrote: »
    I really like the set up, can you tell us more about it?

http://www.max.tv/product-detail.asp?number=458GB

• Registered Users Posts: 51,248 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

When I read the title of this thread I thought it was about something completely different. :D

ksmn1760l.jpg

Healio wrote: »

AGHHH!! how did you find that?? Do you know the trouble I went through to get this at a good price? This should explain: 80charactermoan.wordpress.com and there it is for just a little bit more!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

AGHHH!! how did you find that?? Do you know the trouble I went through to get this at a good price? This should explain: 80charactermoan.wordpress.com and there it is for just a little bit more!

A couple of late nights and channel surfing!!

lol your man is some bollox all the same.

Sure is, and the kick in the teeth is that I was 6 days too late (after a 66 day ordeal) to leave feedback, so if anyone wants one of these yolks, let me buy it so I can leave feedback on his profile! haha.

just testing embedding high quality version:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

That is an awesomage setup you have there. Pity I'm broke :(. Insurance companies should supply and fit these to all vehicles. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,557 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

• Registered Users Posts: 45,939 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

That is soooo cool.

I'd love one - but it would probably just highlight what a bad driver I am, as opposed to my current theory that everyone else is the problem.

Jaysus, it's impossible to find good info on this even still. Erin, this page shows what comes with it and how it's set up :)

http://www.grand-prix.co.kr/incservice/kboard.php?board=manufacture&act=view&no=191

There was another page that showed it being used by some police department, scary stuff some of the things they had recorded when doing high speed chases (people walking out in front of the car etc) :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,564 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

I don't need one of those. But I want one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Healio wrote: »
    Unfortunately :(-
    http://www.max.tv/delivery.asp
    We only deliver to addresses within GREAT BRITAIN. We do not deliver to BFPO addresses, PO Boxes, Scilly Isles or the Channel Islands. Northern Ireland deliveries may incur a surcharge for delivery depending on the item and unfortunately we cannot deliver to Southern Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

While I would love one of those, I dont think the insurance company would appreciate listening to my singing to the radio if any accident happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

i have long term plans to fit a carputer into my motor at some stage and it had occured to me to incorporate something like this front & rear.

i was thinking of a 180 degree fisheye lense on the front bumper to help creep & peep manouvres as well as something for reversing, so a recording facility would be a natural progrssison of something like that. just have it buffering the last 5 minutes of data and have the option to save it permanently if there's an accident. i like the accelerometer as part of that though so it would auto record whenever it detects sharp movements.

there is actually a company developing a nice 360 degree fisheye camera setup with software to straighten out the image and change the viewpoint according to what you are doing in the car, e.g. parking or reversing it gives you an out of the car viewpoint (based on the available video data) so you can see exactly where you are in relation to what is around you.

looks pretty cool, i wonder if i can find the link again, think it was on engadget a few weeks back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Excellent piece of kit, Cormie.

I'll be talking to my colleagues about this. (We run one of the largest fleets in the country :eek:)

Jaysus, it's impossible to find good info on this even still. Erin, this page shows what comes with it and how it's set up :)

http://www.grand-prix.co.kr/incservice/kboard.php?board=manufacture&act=view&no=191

There was another page that showed it being used by some police department, scary stuff some of the things they had recorded when doing high speed chases (people walking out in front of the car etc) :eek:

Pretty sweet cormie, did you customise it (Vantasks.ie!). The GPS is a pretty good feature. Let us know how she copes with bright sunlight (when we get it)

I'd considered adding a GPS overlay for my setup http://www.blackboxcamera.com/pic-osd/gpsspd_5HZ.htm but decided against it under the grounds I may incriminate myself! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭smokingman

Same kinda thing without the GPS bits.....

http://www.thinkgeek.com/clearance/on-sale/980e/

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I don't need one of those. But I want one!

+1:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Don't suppose it has a video output?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Homer

The PSNI had them installed in some of their vehicles but as this proved they are not indestructible unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

You can get it here
    http://www.spyireland.ie/product_info.php?products_id=28?osCsid=caf8090845718d87e58b4d27e66411a2

But look at the price!
    not sure i trust that site though. Mobile number given.

Anyway google: Car Camera Voyager Pro w/ GPS Logger

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Yes, ive had a few bozzos like this in relation to fog lights. Only a few days ago an Octavia pulls out in front of me one eve and then turns on his rear fog light. And get this. It wasnt foggy. Suprise surpise. Flashed of my front fogs etc - he/she doesnt do nothing. If they had brains they would be dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    Yes, ive had a few bozzos like this in relation to fog lights. Only a few days ago an Octavia pulls out in front of me one eve and then turns on his rear fog light. And get this. It wasnt foggy. Suprise surpise. Flashed of my front fogs etc - he/she doesnt do nothing. If they had brains they would be dangerous.

Skoda/Passat/Audi and possibly others (oh ford as well) have very annoying turning discs for the activation of lights. Some people know how to work them whereas other people just turn them ALL the way turning on every single light save for the indicators.

Lights on the dash will mean nothing to these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 moleyC

I see people with either no or inadequete lighting (ie parking lights on when it's pitch black out) on their vehicle at least once a week, it really scares me to how little some people on the roads know and care about what it means to be able to drive properly and safely.

Also on a more off topic theme, here is one of the reasons why I rarely end up buying anything over a certain value from an Irish retailer.

Hmm, 700 euro or 170 pounds, which to choose, which to choose :rolleyes:

http://www.spyireland.ie/product_info.php?products_id=28?osCsid=caf8090845718d87e58b4d27e66411a2

http://www.max.tv/product-detail.asp?number=458GB