Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2009 Poker Aims - We really mean it this time

Poker:

Play less and learn to enjoy the game again
    Put a proper roll online and actually learn to play this game properly.

Non-Poker

Qualify for the Bar
    Break 100 in golf
    Complete my Woodbadge
    Score with a f**king header this season (I've hit the crossbar 4 times this year!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

YULETIRED wrote: »
    8. To print out red jokers 2k post and have it translated by Graham Baitson from mandarin chinese into simple English.....(so Tony Flushdraw and I can understand it)

Now I have to go and learn mandarin chinese before I can start working on my 2k post, thanks Willie :mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

poker
    • win lots of money
    • play more live events and work on my live game
    non-poker
    • learn to drive and pass test
    • put on a stone
    • read more
    • be able to bench 85kg, squat 100 and deadlift 110 for 5 reps
      only recently started barbell lifts.
    • learn a new recipe every 2 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭aya14

Hawk Eye wrote: »
    poker
    • win lots of money
    • play more live events and work on my live game
    non-poker
    • learn to drive and pass test
    • put on a stone
    • read more
    • be able to bench 85kg, squat 100 and deadlift 110 for 5 reps
      only recently started barbell lifts.
    • learn a new recipe every 2 weeks
    not to fall asleep while the lady of the night is still in the room

• Registered Users Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Be more disciplined about getting the hands in
    Be close to fluent in spanish or totally fluent si es posible
    Don't fcuk up in the WSOP ME again
    Continue to improve my cooking
    Less time wasted playing online risk and other such games.
    Get better at football
    Make 300k+ to do this I need to play good more consitently and work harder on my game

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

Next year I will...
    - Play more hands
    - More theory, get better at datamining etc
    - Start playing online NL cash as well again
    - Qualify for Irish Open and play well at
    - Play at least one other decent tournament
    - Get more exercise, drink less, eat better

• Registered Users Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Poker
    Run better
    Earn more than 1100 per month
    Win 2 tournaments buy in 300+

Non Poker
    Find a job and a good career path
    Get fitter
    Continue my CIMA exams
    Take down my xmas tree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

Poker
    1. Final table at least 3 of the large events next year.

hmm, playing about ~10 large tourneys. Final table at least 3 , gotta love the abition fran... gl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

smoothcall wrote: »
    hmm, playing about ~10 large tourneys. Final table at least 3 , gotta love the abition fran... gl

ye i will be back on here with epic fail in 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Poker

Read some of the poker books that I have 6 months
    Post lots more in the theory thread
    Build roll
    Qualify for sunday million / sunday brag regulalry
    Have a serious go at cash

Life
    Join gym on my doorstep (that I can expense) and get fit for possibly last year of hurling/football
    Win a final in hurling/football
    Eat a breakfast before going to work
    Eat a healthy diet
    Teach the pup to stop pissing everywhere but the "designated area" :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

Less time wasted playing online risk and other such games.

Where can you play online risk? any link?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

TripleAce wrote: »
    Where can you play online risk? any link?

on facebook, its called attack

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

A few people have mentioned Triathalons. I'm planning on doing one myself. Do any of you have one in mind? It might be a good idea to all do the same race

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

A few people have mentioned Triathalons. I'm planning on doing one myself. Do any of you have one in mind? It might be a good idea to all do the same race

whats a triathalon exactly - i feel the mother of all prop bets coming on. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

A standard olympic triathalon is

1.5 km (0.93 mi) Swimming
    40 km (24.8 mi) Cycling
    10 km(6.2 mi) Running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Swim a run and a cycle Noel swim usually shortest distance
    then the run and cycle is longest distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Surely theres anoobs distance too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

whats a triathalon exactly

like a round of each game but with exercise instead

the desire to 'do' one afflicts certain people when they hit their 30s and realise they're O.....L....D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Surely theres anoobs distance too .

ya, i can harldy drive those distances without falling asleep at the wheel - im sure there are shorter ones also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

I would offer a pretty big price that no one from the forum completes a triathalon in the next 12 months.
    Unless you a very competent swimmer it is a HUGE ask and requires a level of training and fitness that I doubt many poker players have/or would be able to achieve.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

whats a triathalon exactly - i feel the mother of all prop bets coming on. :pac:

What is a Triathlon ?
    basically all the lads in yer class who were paddy last at running, cycling and swimming got together and designed a 3 event race that the very slow
    could perform well in, the beauty of it is all you have to be is a stubburn fecker who doesn't mind running down the street with a pice of poo falling down yer leg.
    Some people who have been reported missing to Gardai have turned up 3 days later at the finish line of some triathlon or other covered in gick and ready to receive a medal they so longed for in their school days...
    IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

fúck that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

jbravado wrote: »
    I would offer a pretty big price that no one from the forum completes a triathalon in the next 12 months.
    Unless you a very competent swimmer it is a HUGE ask and requires a level of training and fitness that I doubt many poker players have/or would be able to achieve.

propbetpropbetpropbet

(doke probably does one each day before breakfast)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mr Minraise

http://tinyurl.com/5cxaaq

• Registered Users Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

jbravado wrote: »

Price? Incentive is a great thing.

Genuinely would be interested in this as a prop bet.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

There are mini triathlons as well. I only know this obv as I know someone who did one. I think the distances are all halved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭con_leche

I did Tri Athy this year in about 2:45 on my first attempt. It's the easiest course in Ireland.

I am seriously interested in doing either a 3 hour marathon, or a 2 hour 30 minute olympic distance triathalon next year, as I am currently fat and unfit.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

If it's going to be a triathlon, it's got to be an Ironman Triathlon, none of this Olympic standard crap :D

2.4-mile (3.86-kilometre; 77 lap) swim
    112 mi (180.2 km) bike ride
    26.2 mi (42.195 km) run.

I could easily do the swim bit and with a bit of training I reckon I could handle the cycle as well, but I'd need to be training for a good 9-12 months to be able to do all three, would love to do it though

Lao Lao wrote: »
    If it's going to be a triathlon, it's got to be an Ironman Triathlon, none of this Olympic standard crap :D

2.4-mile (3.86-kilometre; 77 lap) swim
    112 mi (180.2 km) bike ride
    26.2 mi (42.195 km) run.

I could easily do the swim bit and with a bit of training I reckon I could handle the cycle as well, but I'd need to be training for a good 9-12 months to be able to do all three, would love to do it though

Bollox to that. Sam said he'd give a big price on a triathlon. Not an Iron Man. A friend of mine is in training for an Iron Man and he is the fittest mo fo I know and he is still some way off.