Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Toilet Seat: Could someone set my mind at ease?

• 12-12-2008 10:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭

For the life of me I can not work out why men are supposed to put the seat down after they go for a piss.

Believe it or not, I've been thinking about this a lot today, and I just can't convince myself either way.

Like all men, I assume, I've been told to place the seat back down on the rim from when I was very young. At this stage, it's more or less a habit, but today I asked myself why?

If someone could put forward a logically sound, just and convincing argument as to why it is the right thing to do, I will award them Thanks, and my eternal gratitude for saving me lost sleep tonight.

And before we begin, can I rule out responses such as:
    • ewww the toilet seat is ikky and i don't want to touch it after smelly boys piddle all over the place
    • just do it to keep the women happy
    • just because
    • yore ma
    I've considered them all, and they don't wash.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

I always lift, any piss on the seat drains tight off.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Be more specific- the seat or the entire cover?

Both much different matters, but no less troubling

Putting the whole seat down, as I (and many I assume) were taught in theory contains the smell of píss

Putting down just the seat is kind to the lady folk- simple as.

Or so I thought until now..... what more can there be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

The real question is Why do you put it up in the first place?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I have faith that the good people of AH will provide a fantastic answer to this question.
    /Subscribing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

efla wrote: »
    Be more specific- the seat or the entire cover?

Both much different matters, but no less troubling

Putting the whole seat down, as I (and many I assume) were taught in theory contains the smell of píss

Or so I thought until now..... what more can there be?
    I mean just the seat.

Surely a man lifting the seat before he goes for a piss is no different to a woman putting the seat down before she goes for a piss.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Because when flushed the agitation of the water sends tiny droplets into the air ... and those droplets are unlikely to be pure H2O.

But mostly just to keep the wimmen happy ... >.>

• Registered Users Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭jaffa20

oh why oh why:confused::confused:

You don't have to do anything you don't want to.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

[/quote]

How is it kind to wimmin?
    and why cant ye put it down yourself?

Bloodly lazy wimmin

• Registered Users Posts: 33,394 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Women NEED to bitch, end of. If it wasn't that, it's be something else. Like why we take the batteries out of the remote control when we go for a beer.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

It's a health a safety risk.

The seat could fall on someones head if they decided to lick the toilet bowl.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭jaffa20

lol

• Moderators Posts: 51,784 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

To stop peoples pet rabbits drowning themselves in the toilet. Actually know this happening to a friends pet.:eek:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Because when flushed the agitation of the water sends tiny droplets into the air ... and those droplets are unlikely to be pure H2O.

But mostly just to keep the wimmen happy ... >.>

Oddly enough I can see the sense in putting the cover down, but when it's a trade-up between having the seat up or down, I'm at a loss.

Irjudge1 wrote: »
    It's a health a safety risk.

The seat could fall on someones head if they decided to lick the toilet bowl.
    It fell on me ma's pussy one time ... :(

Should have heard the screech out of her!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,945 ✭✭✭trout

pee in the sink instead ... spurn the toilet seat nazi brigade with their pesky etiquette

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,500 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Its better to leave the seat down when going for your piss. Its a great place to rest your balls as you release your bladders contents. How else do you think all those pubes get on it?

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

lf you sprinkle , when you tinkle.
    Please be sweet and wipe the seat.:)

The lid should be closed when you flush as it
    prevents bacteria from escaping upwards as the toilet
    is flushing.
    But I can never understand why it annoys women , I mean you walk into the bathroom and in most cases you are facing the toilet .
    So as far as I can see if you are a woman you put it down and if you are a man you lift the bloody thing up.
    Two seconds.:rolleyes:
    jeeze.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Caballe

The toilet seat is built technically to be in the seat down position most of the time. Misaiming and spraying the hinges would cause rust which would insure the premature failure of the toilet seat if kept in upright position over a long period of time.
    Hmm....cost saving and health and safety i'd say along with a show of manners to us ladies of course. Just my tuppence worth :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

The lid should be closed when you flush as it
    prevents bacteria from escaping upwards as the toilet
    is flushing.

I'm sick of this type of shít. Next you'll be telling us to wash our hands. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Caballe wrote: »
    Misaiming and spraying the hinges would cause rust which would insure the premature failure of the toilet seat if kept in upright position over a long period of time.
    And youse wimmins are going to be the ones replacing it? No? I thought so.
    STFU and grow a mickey then yiz won't have to sit down. Problem solved.

I'm sick of this type of shít. Next you'll be telling us to wash our hands. :rolleyes:

Just shove them in the toilet as its flushing , then dry.
    Job done.:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,945 ✭✭✭trout

Think sink.

That is all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It took me years to lift the seat before I take a piss, asking me to put it down again is just way beyond my means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Have you ever plugged the kettle out and come home to find your other half is dying for a cuppa and can't because the kettle is broke

• Registered Users Posts: 30,233 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

saw a documentry about this, its because men have the "pee on the seat" gene and women have the "toilet seat must be down" gene

Hagar wrote: »
    And youse wimmins are going to be the ones replacing it?

Yep.
    Pfft , its a toilet seat , not a bloody flat pack from woodies.:rolleyes:
    / can't do the flat packs.:o

And youse wimmins ...

STFU and grow a mickey ...
    NOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! :(

Hagrid, what were you thinking?!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Caballe

And youse wimmins are going to be the ones replacing it? No? I thought so.
    STFU and grow a mickey then yiz won't have to sit down. Problem solved.

Do you alway speak for 'the wimmins'? Speaking for myself i would have no problem in replacing it if I had to. As i said just my tuppence worth :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I use one of my feet to put it up, and again to put it down - But I suck at soccer :pac: