Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling Dubliners west Brits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I thought her background was quite republican. As I asked before anyway, you think someone who's educated, well spoken and maybe an intellectual is a west Brit, don't ya?
    CDfm wrote: »
    Our civil service model was inherited from the British and has not served us well- based as it was on an occupation model and we didnt change it. Our Industrial Relations model is based on 1960s/70s Britain and is Socialist despite not having a mandate from the people in parliment nonetheless hugely controls economic and social policy.Our health and social welfare policy was copied from the British.Jeez we even have a State Run TV service we cant let go of -even though it doesnt do public service broadcasting by any accepted definition.

Our laws are copied from the British as a benchmark.Our courts use British caselaw as persuasive precedent in deciding court cases.

The outpouring of grief at Princess Dianas death - the persistant calls for calls for an honours system even to calls for reviving the Knights of St Patrick -never a public honour as such.

I cant pick up a newspaper without reading some Irish politician paraphrase a British politicians ramblings as their own.We may have gotten independence but that didnt extend to political thought or goverance.

So its a generic term for adopting stuff the Brits do.

Lets see what the Brits do and copy it.If the Brits do it it must be right.

West Brit says it all. What would you call it?
    I'd call it adopting policies that are considered effective... and how do you know they're confined to Britain? Perhaps they're more universal than you think? I also think that a lot of the stuff "the Brits" do is just stuff that... people do and really you shouldn't read into it so much.
    But at least you're saying slightly more useful stuff now than the earlier horsesh1t - e.g. "Gerry Ryan uses Rogaine which makes him a west Brit". :confused:
    West Brit is still a cool phrase?
    It's a lazy, lame phrase used by stupid people.
    OPENROAD wrote: »
    Is he not English?
    Irish but grew up in England.
    Me too- like I say its insulting - so i dont expect people who its applied to to be wildly enthused about it.
    Eh, no. People don't find it insulting. They do find their sensibilities insulted by the type of people who use it though - and by how inaccurately it is used.
    As to its being applied inaccurately -I dunno - I think its being contemparised a wee bit that to copy the British isnt always that sophisticated.
    Under De Valera, Ireland tried to go out on its own and be autonomous from the rest of the world, especially Britain. Look where that got Ireland, so on that basis, hope we just keep on copying!
    Ed Walsh,Eddie Hobbs, George Hook and John Waters all would be examples of people who are not west brits
    George Hook is a rugger head - surely that makes him a west Brit, no?
    And John Waters is getting all unionist I think...
    Balmed Out wrote: »
    I would consider a west brit to be someone who prefers to embrace British rather then Irish culture when they themselves are Irish. They dont like GAA, Irish music, dance, language etc. Wouldnt think its a term used just for dubliners or just for people from wicklow or wherever else.
    I don't like GAA - and it's simply because it doesn't interest me. I don't see why I should be obliged to get into it just because I'm Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Dudess wrote: »
    Irish but grew up in England.

Born and brought up in Leicester

Yeah, to an Irish immigrant family. He's lived here since 60s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

I thought her background was quite republican. As I asked before anyway, you think someone who's educated, well spoken and maybe an intellectual is a west Brit, don't ya?

I'd call it adopting policies that are considered effective...

Eh, no. People don't find it insulting. They do find their sensibilities insulted by the type of people who use it though - and by how inaccurately it is used.

Under De Valera, Ireland tried to go out on its own and be autonomous from the rest of the world, especially Britain. Look where that got Ireland, so on that basis, hope we just keep on copying!

George Hook is a rugger head - surely that makes him a west Brit, no?
    And John Waters is getting all unionist I think...

Living in the Govenor Generals mansion in Phoenix Park went to her head and saw her getting all ecunimical especially with religion and communion is a bit West Brit.

Eh Devs ecomomic war -was daft - however adopting economic and social policies associated with a country with a population 12 times our size and economic capital base far in excess of ours per capita is West Brit gone mad. Where this idea developed from God only knows.

I am not saying Hookie,Hobbs,Myers or Waters are the greatest thinkers of our age. But there is a bit of individuality and independence about them that we dont see often.If West Brit is a state of mind -they dont have it.

I am sure people do feel insulted as being concidered West Brit but if thats their social political and cultural aspirations they should accept it.

They do in their holes. It's hardly insulting - especially when it's a term used by people like you. And especially when, going by the vagueness and inconsistencies of your posts, you don't really know what a "west Brit" is. The stuff you're saying is so utterly laughable - Mary McAleese is going all ecumenical now, i.e. she sees Ireland as no longer monotheistic. You'd prefer Ireland to be under the grip of the catholic church still, would you? I really think the answer is yes.

Myers is totally west Brit (if the lame phrase HAS to be used). To suggest he isn't and McAleese is, is just not making sense.

They do in their holes. It's hardly insulting - especially when it's a term used by people like you. And especially when, going by the vagueness and inconsistencies of your posts, you don't really know what a "west Brit" is. The stuff you're saying is so utterly laughable - Mary McAleese is going all ecumenical now, i.e. she sees Ireland as no longer monotheistic. You'd prefer Ireland to be under the grip of the catholic church still, would you? I really think the answer is yes.

Myers is totally west Brit (if the lame phrase HAS to be used). To suggest he isn't and McAleese is, is just not making sense.
    Dudess - West Brit has more to do with an Irish person looking to Britain for anwers to apply to Ireland.

Economically -ireland is a small open economy and to survive beside its larger neighbours in the present day there are things we cant have or cant afford.Its always been so.

Sean Lemass in a previous period of growth presided over a small closed economy and made it work. Thats not the same situation we see now -is it.

The pretence that we can operate as a mini-Britain defies logic. So I dont share your views on what I would see as a proper appraisal of "West Brit" ideology so what.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,403 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I am sure people do feel insulted as being concidered West Brit but if thats their social political and cultural aspirations they should accept it.

Bollox! Sorry, but it is. I'm not offended by the phrase in the same way I'm not offended if someone calls me gay. It's inaccurate and my first thought is, "oh great! A ****wit! Let's see how much I can show him up!". Usually, I pretend to have never heard the phrase before in my life. Forces him into actually thinking about what comes out of his mouth. Which is never safe ground.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Something very important which I don't think has been mentioned yet.

If you put beans on your "irish" breakfast.

You're a fu*k wit...but you're also a west brit....

the very important details of been a west brit are getting over looked with talk of nonsense.

ntlbell wrote: »
    Something very important which I don't think has been mentioned yet.

If you put beans on your "irish" breakfast.

You're a fu*k wit...but you're also a west brit....

the very important details of been a west brit are getting over looked with talk of nonsense.

I thought I delt with you already....?:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

nkay1985 wrote: »
    I would only think West Brit applies to someone that is anti-Irish even though they were born in Ireland. Someone who is, by all measure, a British Conservative.

I think Dudess may have referred to Conor Cruise O'Brien and Kevin Myers. If she didn't, they're who I'd call west Brits.

The Cruiser made Unionist consent an essential part of an United Ireland, now adopted by FG, FF and even SF.

If he is a West Brit, well so is SF!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I thought I delt with you already....?:pac:

I bet you love them running into the white of your egg....:(

ntlbell wrote: »
    I bet you love them running into the white of your egg....:(

Now I want a breakfast roll. Thanks a bunch!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭domkk

Well then?
    Shall we take out all the British establishments which have taken over this country which everyone cannot avoid, and the most shop in. Get rid of all the footie jerseys which people wear, and the reports in the so called national press(sun, star, independant,times,daily mail,etc)
    Then repost this topic, people who cannot avoid british inflence in one way or another and support LOI clubs.
    On a footy note (or is it soccer)You never hear of man u soccer club, MUFC not MUSC.

Basically this country is still ruled by the british as in not the government but by the shopping giants, which whom have slowly invaded without people complaining,(apart from slagging off the people in the north. Then doing the monthly shop there).

Having been on LOI matches i was appalled at the size of little attendance basically people cannot be arse to get off their backside and follow the local team.(too much inti GAA) and yet wear English premier jerseys. SAYs it all.
    If every peson is wondering if i am a anti Ra etc anti West Brit etcc...
    I am an ENGLISH catholic(yes the country is not all prods) who chose to live here with Mayo roots, ......just like trhe Irish Soccer/Football team.

domkk wrote: »
    Well then?
    Shall we take out all the British establishments which have taken over this country which everyone cannot avoid, and the most shop in. Get rid of all the footie jerseys which people wear, and the reports in the so called national press(sun, star, independant,times,daily mail,etc)
    Then repost this topic, people who cannot avoid british inflence in one way or another and support LOI clubs.
    On a footy note (or is it soccer)You never hear of man u soccer club, MUFC not MUSC.

Basically this country is still ruled by the british as in not the government but by the shopping giants, which whom have slowly invaded without people complaining,(apart from slagging off the people in the north. Then doing the monthly shop there).

Having been on LOI matches i was appalled at the size of little attendance basically people cannot be arse to get off their backside and follow the local team.(too much inti GAA) and yet wear English premier jerseys. SAYs it all.
    If every peson is wondering if i am a anti Ra etc anti West Brit etcc...
    I am an ENGLISH catholic(yes the country is not all prods) who chose to live here with Mayo roots, ......just like trhe Irish Soccer/Football team.

Welcome to globalisation.

PS.

how many RA heads only shop in Dunnes or superquinn.I chose to live in this country, The people who complain about britain(ie ENGLAND) go and live there for 2 months in a none British part, then speak to me!!!! Why i annot be English(BRITISH)And its nothing to do with being cathg or prod in the GB.(another religion) but now i am being racist!!

rant nearly over, sorry for boring you folks

If you ask anyone in the ENG country they will tell you,or ask an ENG person(bite the bullet if it is so hard to speak to english(I had a deep dark RA head who despised ENGLISH hated them,until i spoke to em, then they changed their total mind about the English people and went overoften after that) )

ON this thread what iff i am a so called brit who lives in Ballygobogtrottinggobackwards and a catholic????? and a open fire and put turf on it!

Bollox! Sorry, but it is. I'm not offended by the phrase in the same way I'm not offended if someone calls me gay. It's inaccurate and my first thought is, "oh great! A ****wit! Let's see how much I can show him up!". Usually, I pretend to have never heard the phrase before in my life. Forces him into actually thinking about what comes out of his mouth. Which is never safe ground.
    Well If you are not offended you post quite a lot on it.

Should we rejoin the commonwealth.

You seem very proud of your identity -and if its West Brit why dont you fess up and admit it.

I'd say he's more exasperated by the nonsense you're posting than actually offended by being referred to as a "west Brit".

Seriously, there's NOTHING offensive about it. It's annoying when people (usually not very bright) resort to such a lazy, meaningless phrase all right, but the term itself is not offensive. Honestly.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Seriously, there's NOTHING offensive about it. It's annoying when people (usually not very bright) resort to such a lazy, meaningless phrase all right, but the term itself is not offensive. Honestly.

Offence is in the eye of the beholder... or something like that.

Being accused of wanting to be British shouldn't be offensive but we all know the context it's being used in when it's said in Ireland. West Brit is typically used to insult and a lot of people find it offensive so I'd say it is offensive. Like spastic or knacker it's one of those terms that's (d)evolved to the point where it is usually only considered an insult.

It has always been defined as someone who looks towards Britain for answers and adopts their attitudes as a benchmark.

I dont care if Ikkypoo2 or anyone is offended by the term.

Basic economics should tell you why Devs economic war didnt work or why the current system of copying British policies is not sustainable for our country.

That a perjorative term coined by Daniel O'Connell should be applicable to the present day says something.So why the big rants when I apply the term the way it was intended.

Like any truism -its bang on and cuts to the bone.

Reading your posts -we should rejoin the Commonwealth and change the country's name to West Britain or Little England should you prefer.

When West Brit is used its always perjorative.

javaboy wrote: »
    Offence is in the eye of the beholder... or something like that.

Being accused of wanting to be British shouldn't be offensive but we all know the context it's being used in when it's said in Ireland. West Brit is typically used to insult and a lot of people find it offensive so I'd say it is offensive. Like spastic or knacker it's one of those terms that's (d)evolved to the point where it is usually only considered an insult.
    when you look at its origans it was very perceptive and when you apply it in the way it was meant it was almost prophetic. A little Orwellian I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

The last time I was called a West Brit, I spoke Irish to the person who called me it and asked him to continue the conversation in Irish.

He said he didn't speak Irish.

A subsequent time he called me a West Brit, I called him an in - bred republican.

Believe it or not, we got on with each other despite our differing senses of humour.

The last time I was called a West Brit, I spoke Irish to the person who called me it and asked him to continue the conversation in Irish.

He said he didn't speak Irish.

A subsequent time he called me a West Brit, I called him an in - bred republican.

Believe it or not, we got on with each other despite our differing senses of humour.
    So Tim- how would you define a West Brit - would you say its a geographical thing (which I think it aint) ideolgical (my view) and/or perjorative?

There seems to be a bit of disagreement from people who want it to be a nice cuddly phrase.

Anglophiles mostly -doncha know.:)

You're still babbling nonsense and thinking you can read people's minds I see.

Yep, I'm an anglophile. I think amazing music, film, theatre, television, literature has come out of that country. I think amazing journalism and comedy has come out of there. I'm willing to move on from the imperialistic times, and I remember that many, many British people themselves have no love for that Britain of old, nor have they love for Thatcher (as I haven't). I also remember Britain is a multicultural society, including a massive number of Irish, instead of having this narrow view of "the Brits".
    I also want a united Ireland and I urge people not to forget the vile sh1t that went on in Northern Ireland against nationalists post partition. The likes of Eoghan Harris, Kevin Myers and Conor Cruise-O'Brien sicken me. I've no time for the IRA's campaign of violence but I can see why it started.

I guess though, despite the latter, I'm still a "west Brit" because I don't hate British people and I like a lot of stuff from there.

/shrug

• Registered Users Posts: 15,401 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I remember one time being in Waterford Village and the locals were saying I had no accent, however my colleague from Dublin's Nortside had a "real" Dublin accent.
    Culchies are best left to their own devices, this whole Dublin thing escapes them, some even confuse it for being in another country, which it might was well be to be honest.
    That said I now live in Wicklow which makes me an honorary culchie too.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Surely calling someone a West Brit is the same as calling them Welsh?

Would that not apply more to people from Cavan than Dublin.....

Baaaaa....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

You seem very proud of your identity -and if its West Brit why dont you fess up and admit it.
    Why are you typing in English you ****ing West Brit!

It has always been defined as someone who looks towards Britain for answers and adopts their attitudes as a benchmark.
    I dont care if Ikkypoo2 or anyone is offended by the term

Already answered this by saying that the inaccuracies and blanket-usage piss me off, but don't offend me as I don;t identiy with it. If you think it does apply to me, why don't you tell me which posts (or what information you have on me) brought you to such a conclusion?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,072 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Already answered this by saying that the inaccuracies and blanket-usage piss me off, but don't offend me as I don;t identiy with it. If you think it does apply to me, why don't you tell me which posts (or what information you have on me) brought you to such a conclusion?

You can't argue with CDfm because he's got a PHD in West-Britology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

haha what a sh*tfest this thread's turned into.
    Only reason I'm back in here is to call the OP out on his initial post:
    Hub wrote: »
    I read in the accent thread

"Ooooh ye jackeens, you're nothin but a bunch of west brits"

"Dubliners are closet English people"

Seriously...what does that even mean? Is it supposed to be an insult or something. Probably the lamest slag ever

Now in the interests of fairness I've read back through all 150 posts in the accent thread ( http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055440978 ) but for the life of me I can't find either of the above quotes in it at all...in fact the only direct reference to the term "west-brit" is made solely by me and I've already outlined my usage of it and the context. ( http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=58306769&postcount=27 )

Seems to me that the OP has gone out of their way to find offence where none had actually been forthcoming and that in the course of this thread that far more name calling and use of the term has emerged than was ever mooted in the accent thread.

So has Hub just drawn some very poor conclusions by reading between the lines and shooting from the hip? Seems like that to me.
    BTW for what it's worth when I've heard "west-brit" used in it's "proper" context, it hasn't been used to solely refer to just people from Dublin (more hang ups?) but people from anywhere on this island.
    This whole thread just reinforces the point that some Dubliners really need to get over whatever this persecution complex is they've dreamt up over the past while...no-one in bog trotter land is out to get you, defame you, ride you, rob you or do much of anything else to you...and tbfh if you can't take a bit of name calling (when it actually happens that is), especially on a forum such as this one then you have far bigger problems to worry about on down the line...