Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling Dubliners west Brits

• Registered Users Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

dh2007 wrote: »
    but how far back do you go? so if my great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandfather was British, does that make me a West Brit?

Yes and probabably also leaves you somewhere in line for the throne

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

This is what a west brit is...

Your out working hard all day on the aul building site big sweaty arse on ye and your bud asks ye back to his pad in stilorgan or some ****....

you're invited back for what you're hoping a nice big mug o tea and a tayto crisp sambo.....

sambo's made your awaiting this fine big mug of irish tea and this gob****e brings out this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Dudess wrote: »
    CDfm, what exactly is a pseudo Brit? You haven't explained thus far...
    The term West Brit has a long History and is so prejudicial and inflamatory that James Joyce used it in Dubliners.

Himself a West Brit Joyces books were banned for being bad porn masquerading as high class literature- under the West Brit (we dont want stories about you shagging yer missus) Act 1924

see the link below

http://www.worldwidewords.org/qa/qa-wes1.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭dh2007

ntlbell wrote: »
    This is what a west brit is...

Your out working hard all day on the aul building site big sweaty arse on ye and your bud asks ye back to his pad in stilorgan or some ****....

you're invited back for what you're hoping a nice big mug o tea and a tayto crisp sambo.....

sambo's made your awaiting this fine big mug of irish tea and this gob****e brings out this

soooooo, by your logic, because I like to drink my tea out of fine bone china and have British ancestry (200 years ago), I'm a west Brit.

I didn't say anything about ancestry?

do you show off your pinky when you sip your tea?

that's the real give away tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

CDfm wrote: »
    The term West Brit has a long History and is so prejudicial and inflamatory that James Joyce used it in Dubliners.

Himself a West Brit Joyces books were banned for being bad porn masquerading as high class literature- under the West Brit (we dont want stories about you shagging yer missus) Act 1924

see the link below

http://www.worldwidewords.org/qa/qa-wes1.htm
    Yet you're using it about people like David Norris, Gerry Ryan, John Bowman, and now James Joyce... why?

I really think it's because they're intellectuals (apart from Ryan) well spoken and protestant (in some cases) and not a bunch of thick, ignorant muck-savages - what else would it be?

As for Ryan, can't understand how he could be a "west Brit".

it was actually fryup who said the ancestry thing

• Registered Users Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

This is true all real irish people chop off their pinkies before having their first cup of tea in life. FAcT

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

do you show off your pinky when you sip your tea

only a pervert would do that:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Only a west Brit would say that. Wait a minute...

*Removes Dudess's mask*

It's the Queen! Run for your lives!!!

fryup wrote: »
    only a pervert would do that:eek:

I rest my case...

gerry ryan is definitely not a west brit

but pat kenny secretly wants to be....but i'm afraid he's a bit too christain brother influenced to be one

gerry ryan is definitely not a west brit

but pat kenny secretly wants to be....but i'm afraid he's a bit too christain brother influenced to be one

Pat has all the hallmarks of a true brit

even invading Gorse Hill'

fryup, Hazys, ntlbell, I'm guessing you're all from the country because if you were from Dublin you'd be able to tell the difference between a real West Brit and just an ordinary middle classed Dublin person who doesn't talk like a skanger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I remember listening to the Ryan Show during the Drumcree standoff and it was clear his allegiances lay with the nationalist side... so Ryan as a "west Brit" - load of bollocks.

fryup, Hazys, ntlbell, I'm guessing you're all from the country because if you were from Dublin you'd be able to tell the difference between a real West Brit and just an ordinary middle classed Dublin person who doesn't talk like a skanger.

One has better taste in tracksuits?

I remember listening to the Ryan Show during the Drumcree standoff and it was clear his allegiances lay with the nationalist side... so Ryan as a "west Brit" - load of bollocks.

he's a friggin northsider ffs you don't get any lless west brit than G ryan..

Northsider he may be.....doesn't make him any less of a cockfag.
    One has better taste in tracksuits?

Is that like the Royal 'one', as in "one is not amused"?

A Trinty College Law Degree yup he has that as a requirement.

Ryan Confidential Guests " Sir Bob" and "Sir Terry" Max Clifford , Kerry Kattona -shows where his allegence lies. He always dreamed of pastures red,white and blue.

His fawning admiration for Britain is undisguised.

Writing on the Eurovision: "My talent is to imbue a project with much more significance and theatricality than it actually deserves. This gives a sort of incandescence to it that makes things that are not all that bright shine very brightly. I can bring that to the party.

He also uses Reductil to keep his weight down.

All revealed in his stunningly boring biography.

All in all a cup of cold sick and definately a West Brit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Ryan Confidential Guests " Sir Bob" and "Sir Terry" Max Clifford , Kerry Kattona -shows where his allegence lies. He always dreamed of pastures red,white and blue.

Simon Cowell had West Life and Boyzone on his show as well as a resident Irish judge...is he an East Irishman?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Simon Cowell had West Life and Boyzone on his show as well as a resident Irish judge...is he an East Irishman?

Yes. Unless Boyzone and Westlife are themselves West-Brits in which case Simon Cowell would be an East West-Brit because he aspires to be a West-Brit. It's all very complicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

javaboy wrote: »
    Yes. Unless Boyzone and Westlife are themselves West-Brits in which case Simon Cowell would be an East West-Brit because he aspires to be a West-Brit. It's all very complicated.

Uh, so he's in the middle, somewhere between Ireland and the North pole ?

so are people from the isle of man.......middle brits:confused:

after all they're in between uk and ireland

so are people from the isle of man.......middle brits:confused:

after all they're in between uk and ireland

I'm sure the whole two of them would be very upset...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

ha west brits and jackeens, ha funny cos its true

• Registered Users Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

A Trinty College Law Degree yup he has that as a requirement.

His fawning admiration for Britain is undisguised.

Writing on the Eurovision: "My talent is to imbue a project with much more significance and theatricality than it actually deserves. This gives a sort of incandescence to it that makes things that are not all that bright shine very brightly. I can bring that to the party.

He also uses Reductil to keep his weight down.

All revealed in his stunningly boring biography.

All in all a cup of cold sick and definately a West Brit.

You read his autobiography...?

the people in the isle of man are west scousers

its the extent of their twisted ambitions.

the most famous manxman fletcher christian robbed a ship

You read his autobiography...?
    not personally - it was too harrowing a story

Iang87 wrote: »
    ha west brits and jackeens, ha funny cos its true
    i know and they hate it:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

not personally - it was too harrowing a story