Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Traffic Unmarked Car

• 18-12-2008 11:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭

Hi

I was going to work this morning and a Car in front of me had stopped to let what I thought was a Commerical Hyundai Jeep out on to main Road. After he had let the Jeep out the driver of it flashed its Hazzard lights to signal his thanks when the Garda Blue Strobe lights came on in the back window. I was amazed as the jeep was Registed with a Wicklow Reg and looked totally like a builders jeep. So folks watch out!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Only D reg cars in the Gardaí.

It might have been another response service, but I doubt it. He'll get caught out some day. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭su_dios

Why did the Garda put on his lights? Surely it wasn't to say 'You're welcome!'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭dunser

House it was a Garda unmarked as " Garda Pull over " came up when the driver put on his hazzards. They also have unmarked cars with C reg and I have seen 2 LS car on the Laois bypass in recent months.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

dunser wrote: »
    House it was a Garda unmarked as " Garda Pull over " came up when the driver put on his hazzards. They also have unmarked cars with C reg and I have seen 2 LS car on the Laois bypass in recent months.

It's a cardigan, but thanks for noticing :pac:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

You can still spot a standard DDU unmarked car a mile away, but the specialist units are getting wise to it and use obvious ways of disguising who they are. Non D reg cars, localised GAA/radio stickers in the rear window etc., all makes logical sense really.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

I'd heard about the odd C reg but was unaware of the LS and WWs. Might make some enquiries of my own.

Learn something new every day as they say. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

If they're driving a typical workers jeep they'd have a hard time keeping up with the best part of people they'd be after..

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

ClioV6 wrote: »
    If they're driving a typical workers jeep they'd have a hard time keeping up with the best part of people they'd be after..
    The 'best part of people' pull over.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

This is about 10 years ago now but I used to work for a company that supplied goods and services to Garda HQ in the Park. You always invoiced the chassis number not the reg because on the real undercover stuff they would change them around. Picking out a normal plain clothes un-marked Garda car can be pretty easy but the real undercover stuff ,now thats a different story. All sorts of makes , stickers , country reg's ,damage ,child seats ,everything. Infact I thought some of the cars belonged to the guards themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

delly wrote: »
    You can still spot a standard DDU unmarked car a mile away, but the specialist units are getting wise to it and use obvious ways of disguising who they are. Non D reg cars, localised GAA/radio stickers in the rear window etc., all makes logical sense really.

All the new garda unmarked cars are having the aerials etc fitted in the wing mirrors to avoid being recognised as unmarked cars !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Curvy Vixen

Am pretty sure there is often an 'LS' BMW in Portloaise with a speed gun pointing out the window..

• Registered Users Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Infact I thought some of the cars belonged to the guards themselves.

Thats because they probably did:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Anan1 wrote: »
    The 'best part of people' pull over.;)

Well, if they're hiding themselves that well I doubt they're after that kind of person..

maybe they are and they're out to get the motorist big time now..oh well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭JackFrosty

I thought i was wrong when i saw an LS reg car in abbeyliex last week with 2 guards in uniform sitting in it!!!!

Crafty Feckers!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

my local cop shop up to last year had a 1989 corolla saloon for undercover work and a gastly 1985 corolla estate for the surveillance work, looked gas inside it and no one would ever know. Gone since the high profile crashes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭hottstuff

Changing times demand changing tactics.

I got pulled a couple of weeks ago by this dodgy looking fecker in a fairly standard looking camry , turned out to be a very nice undercover guard.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭FreeFallin

Moral of the story, dont do anything stupid on the roads. You will get caught. They're there to facilitate everyones needs not one individuals thirst for adrenaline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭dunser

I can confirm that there is a BMW with LS plates operating out of Portlaoise. I spoke with Customer this afternoon & they were giving me the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭hottstuff

FreeFallin wrote: »
    They're there to facilitate everyones needs.

I think you will find they are there to "enforce the law"
    Facilitate everyones needs sounds like an Escort.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭SAVE_ME.222

Is there an unmarked Focus RS in Dublin? Could have sworn I saw it a few months ago, might have just been a regular focus but they aren't usually hatchbacks.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭the hunter

Is there an unmarked Focus RS in Dublin? Could have sworn I saw it a few months ago, might have just been a regular focus but they aren't usually hatchbacks.

i seen that focus last friday night i dublin .. and in blanch there was a unmarked subaru forrester ??

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

I heard recently there's an unmarked 330D patrolling up and down the M7. They even changed the grille from black to silver as the hidden lights were too easy to spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

whiterebel wrote: »
    I heard recently there's an unmarked 330D patrolling up and down the M7. They even changed the grille from black to silver as the hidden lights were too easy to spot.
    AFAIK (and this is me being a nerd) all 6 cylinder models have the silver bars in the grille.

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭5T3PH3N

the hunter wrote: »
    and in blanch there was a unmarked subaru forrester ??

Haven't seen that but i did see an unmarked Silver SWB Land Cruiser in Blanch.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Anan1 wrote: »
    AFAIK (and this is me being a nerd) all 6 cylinder models have the silver bars in the grille.

Couls have been t'other way around, then.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 vf949

Saw a 08 TS Volkswagen Tiguan (Small Touareg) near Cashel a couple of weeks ago with his hidden blue lights flashing. Was very surprised..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Lucifer

We had a 2 litre turbo a4 s line garda car in work recently. Also worked on another garda car that had 5 different sets of plates in the boot, car was a D reg but was fitted with MH regs. They are getting harder and harder to spot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I've spotted plenty of cars maskarading as Garda cars but are infact privately owned cars getting free parking in the city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Not being smart, but other then writing "Garda" on your car with a marker, how would you attempt to "masquerade" as a garda car in order to try and get free parking:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 73,459 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Think that was an ambulance/rescue vehicle you saw.