Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I have never been so ashamed to be Irish

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

ajeffares wrote: »
    OP, if you hate Ireland so much then leave, but don't be giving out.

/facepalm

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭blackbox

Originally Posted by Hazys
    I have never been so ashamed to be Irish
    stovelid wrote: »
    I raise you Westlife.

I'll see your Westlife and raise you Anglo Irish Bank.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Oh that's a new one - never heard it before! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Ireland is a joke, most people (well most sensible people) realise it by now, and havana browns is a kip of a place, like most clubs in cork tbh.

I do my socialising in Frankfurt, different world

I dunno...Didn't the power frequently get cut between 1939 and 1945? Doesn't sound too safe to be honest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

People have every right to bemoan certain stuff about Ireland and not be instructed to "gtfo". Maybe they'd still like to stay here?
    But also, being "ashamed" of being Irish because certain aspects of Irish life don't measure up to that of other countries, is rather sad.

Overall, the quality of life in Ireland is pretty darn good.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,440 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Googling suggests otherwise

Living here doesn't.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

We have to come up with a name for this. An Irish "Godwins Law".

Dudess wrote: »
    People have every right to bemoan certain stuff about Ireland and not be instructed to "gtfo". Maybe they'd still like to stay here?
    But also, being "ashamed" of being Irish because certain aspects of Irish life don't measure up to that of other countries, is rather sad.

Have to disagree (and I gtfoed!). It's only when you see a modern European city in action that you see how awkward life really is. Especially when it comes to getting pissed.

As regards the "if you don't like it, leave" crew - fine, but if you stand by that opinion, and Ireland is beyond reproach, then STOP MOANING about rip-offs, licencing laws, 2am public transport (or lack thereof), Brian Cowen, Mary Harney, taxi-drivers, foreigners, the economy, the Catholic church, the guards....

...or get the **** out.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'd have taken the OPs night in the club as an example of why things are so great here, not the opposite.

"In Boston..." people would have been screaming the place down thinking that some foriegners were about to try and kill them, or trying to find a step to trip overs so that they could then sue the establishment for a couple of million for breaking their shoes. But in this wonderful country people are perfectly able to survive a couple of lights going out and continue to have a good time regardless without making a scene about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Have to disagree (and I gtfoed!). It's only when you see a modern European city in action that you see how awkward life really is. Especially when it comes to getting pissed.

As regards the "if you don't like it, leave" crew - fine, but if you stand by that opinion, and Ireland is beyond reproach, then STOP MOANING about rip-offs, licencing laws, 2am public transport (or lack thereof), Brian Cowen, Mary Harney, taxi-drivers, foreigners, the economy, the Catholic church, the guards....

...or get the **** out.
    Or you could actually try to do something about the problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Hazys wrote: »
    Cork is not as big as Dublin. I walked down Washington Street then over to HillBillies then down Patricks street then back up Patricks street into the Coal Quay where i found 2 Gardai. I also walkied back past HillBillies got food, headed down the South Mall to get a taxi saw no Gardai. The only place i missed out was MacCurtain street maybe thats where they all were??

Cork is small & I partically walked the whole City and saw only 2 Gardai. I dont think this information about the lack of Gardai in Cork on nights out is a shocker to Cork people.

If i could take back comparing Cork to Boston or any other city I think i would have saved this thread a couple of pages

Now I know your ripping the piss. Cork is not small, Cork has more than 3 streets, there is no way you walked the whole city. You lie.

Are you sure you were in Cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

robinph wrote: »
    I'd have taken the OPs night in the club as an example of why things are so great here, not the opposite.

"In Boston..." people would have been screaming the place down thinking that some foriegners were about to try and kill them, or trying to find a step to trip overs so that they could then sue the establishment for a couple of million for breaking their shoes. But in this wonderful country people are perfectly able to survive a couple of lights going out and continue to have a good time regardless without making a scene about it.

Very good post! That's what I love about here, the "sure it'll be grand!"... In the US they'd be assuming it is a terrorist attack... As for asking for your 15 Euro back 'cos the lights went out... :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Its funny when people turn around and say the Irish dont complain enough, then turn it round and say we do it too much. Its one or the other, not both. I dont see the problem here. You thought that it was terrible that the club operated in the dark, you complained and got a refund, what more do you want? The other people there were happy enough to drink in the dark and didnt see a problem just because you did. As someone else mentioned it seems to be an American thing to take advantage of a bad situation and fling themselves down some stairs for some money. Im sure most of the people there stayed put until the problem was rectified. You can be pretty sure someone was looking up the problem somewhere and didnt just think 'Ah sure itll sort itself out'.
    Then you complained to the Guards, fair enough, but maybe, just maybe they had to go back to the station for something? Also, they could have pulled people out of the club but hey, there's a hazard there too. How do you evacuate people in the dark?
    As for fights breaking out, Im so sick of people assuming that this is just an Irish thing, the sterotype of the leprichauns and the fightin Irish should be long dead by now. Fights break out everywhere, and yes, alot of it is fuelled by drink. You may think boston is the dogs bollox but you could be pretty sure on a night out that somewhere in Boston people are fighting.

Or you could actually try to do something about the problems.

True, but unfrotauntely you'd be fighting a losing battle. There's just isn't the support.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

OP I have been on the piss all day with work mates. We started off in a park at lunch time and had a BBQ then proceeded to get pissed. We got cactused pretty quickly because it was a warm day.

After many drinks in the park the designated driver drove us to a number of different watering holes. Now this is city is probably 10 times bigger than Cork and we didn't once come across a cop either driving or on foot in two well known inner suburbs.

Not only that but the DD's car only had one handlamp working. Just think of the danger this could have put me in. Yet I am still here albeit half pissed but after having a cracker of a night. Stop dissin Irish people and Cork in particular otherwise I will set my biatch Dudess on you :mad:

Dudess wrote: »

I disagree.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

Kold wrote: »
    I disagree.

Why?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Kold wrote: »
    I disagree.

I totally agree with your disagreement. We are financially ass-raped for our half decent lifestyles.

Look at Australia or the US for a real lifestyle at proper costs of living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

Id say the reason there are no cops on the streets is because they are all off investigating clubs with the lights out.

Why?

The amount of clinical depression, stress and apathy.

House wrote: »
    I totally agree with your disagreement. We are financially ass-raped for our half decent lifestyles.

Look at Australia or the US for a real lifestyle at proper costs of living.

Hehe, look at america for the differance in between the rich and poor. Look at america for education, healthcare and their minimum wage.

Ireland has a great lifestyle, and quality of life. Just because you pay more for something doesn't mean that that the quality of life is bad. There are plenty of substitutes. Oh and there's the internet (Obviously I know we get raped on some things, such as internet prices)

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭RoMiLe

Ireland has a great lifestyle, and quality of life. Just because you pay more for something doesn't mean that that the quality of life is bad.

You're right. It just means that the quality of life is worse than places where they get the same things for less. We're talking 'relatively' here.

Jesus people talk some bs.

• Registered Users Posts: 386 ✭✭The Minstrel

Hazys wrote: »
    I have never been ashamed to be irish in my life. I just arrived back for Boston this morning for christmass. I used to laugh at the americans for being so pedantic when it came to service in bars etc My attitude was look at those egijjts, just get over it and have a good time.

But i have never been left feeling so angry after a night out. I went out to Havanna Browns in Cork this evening with my buddies which i havent seen in months. But the lights went out in the club. Half the club was pitch dark. I was sitting there in the dark enjoying my pint talking to my friend with only the light off my phone aluminating the area around us. Lights were out still after an hour but the bar was still serving...what a f*cking joke. Nobody seemed to care that this was seriously dangerous, my buddies were still drinking away having the time of their lives.

After an hour of pitch dark i went up to the bouncer to ask why they hadnt cleared people out of the pitch dark areas because if any1 fell the club would be extremely liable. The bouncer made a joke about how the club was trying to reduce its carbon footprint (Im pretty sure this joke would still be that funny if the place had been Stardust2). I was shocked at his response. The club didnt give a sh1t as long as it was making money and the customers didnt give a sh1t as long we were getting served. Are we that dependent on alcohol that we dont care if our safety is being threaten in the persuit of getting hammered?

I got pissed of and went downstairs to demand a refund, i got my 15 euro back(the most expensive night club in boston is $15). So i went to find a Garda to complain about it. It took me 45 mins to find a Garda on the streets of Cork city on one of the busiest drinking nights of the year. I found two Gardai outside the coal quay on their way to the bridewell station, explained the situation to them, they said they'd get on it right away after they went into the station to fill out some paperwork. W*nkers completely blew me off, didnt give a sh1t. Whats amazing is last year my best friend's brother, a 1st class primary school teacher was jumped from behind on MacCurtain street and beaten within an inch of his life 3 days before christmass. The only thing that saved him was his girlfriend screaming as the scumbag jumped on his head. On MacCurtain street not a garda in sight!!!! The Gardai are dicks.

After the Gardai blew me off I went to Hillbillies to get food. Got my food, crossed the road to eat it in a bus stop. As i was eating, outside hillbillies a fight broke out. What i could see from across the road was a guy's girlfriend trying to stop him from fighting, ending up ur1 getting slapped to the ground by her boyfriend for getting in the way. Eventually friends stopped the fight and ur1 and the boyfriend hopped in to a taxi together! Again not a Garda in sight

Im not trying to come across as holyier than thou, as i like to go on the piss just like every1 else. I normally wouldnt even complain about service in a restaurant or a bar but what i witnessed in Havannas was a disgrace. I was talking about how it was a disgrace to my friends, they were agreeing but really didnt care as long as they had a pint in their hands, just like every1 else in the club. At least i know in Boston this wouldnt happen as their is generally a police pressence in most clubs every odd week and also americans wouldnt stand for it. But are we so reliant on getting hammered that we dont give a sh1t about anything else? Are the same people who complain about getting ripped off in Ireland sitting in a pitch dark night club paying for drinks and admission that are way more expensive than the top notch nightclubs in Boston and other cities?

The funniest thing about this out-of-control rant is that he posted it at 4 in the morning.

RoMiLe wrote: »
    You're right. It just means that the quality of life is worse than places where they get the same things for less. We're talking 'relatively' here.

Jesus people talk some bs.

Are you suggesting I am talking BS? The quality of life in Ireland is amazing, but people are too ignorant to realise that. Travel to any other less developed country and come back to me. We are in the top few % I would say.

You need to explain your post a bit more RoMile as I cannot understand what you are trying to say exactly, sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

I can understand people needing a good rant now and then, but remember, when you go to another country, you usually just see a small slice of the one area to stay in, for a couple of nights, whereas you'll see the worst parts of your own country after living there most of your life.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭RoMiLe

Are you suggesting I am talking BS? The quality of life in Ireland is amazing, but people are too ignorant to realise that. Travel to any other less developed country and come back to me. We are in the top few % I would say.

You need to explain your post a bit more RoMiLe as I cannot understand what you are trying to say exactly, sorry.

Of course it's amazing compared to places where the quality of life is worse. I never said it wasn't.

What I said was our quality of life is not as good as places where they pay less for the same services.

Relative to most countries, we obviously have it pretty good here. It's just a pity our governors don't know what they're doing.

Are you kidding me? Development, money and technology don't mean a good quality of life. We work 40 hour weeks, compare that to tribes people that need only hunt once a week.

But consider that Ireland's development is sh*t, our money can't buy us sh*t, and we pay through the nose for technology. There's a reason so many of us spend so much time drinking and taking drugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

You need to explain your post a bit more RoMile as I cannot understand what you are trying to say exactly, sorry.

The quality of life for the average Joe Soap is great in the US, Canada, UK, Germany, Spain, Italy, France, Holland, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, to name but a few.

Most of whom have lower costs of living than us. Relatively speaking, we're just stupid enough to pay through the nose for everything.

We let everybody make profits of multiples of 100%, now everybody has to, to make enough to pay the ridiculous wages so people can have their ridiculously expensive lifestyles.

You're wearing a blindfold, aren't you? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭nytraveller

blackbox wrote: »
    I'll see your Westlife and raise you Anglo Irish Bank.:D

I'll see your Anglo Irish Bank and raise you this

• Registered Users Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

Funny how many of the users in this thread would've been banned for what they've said to the OP if he was one of the popular members of AH.

Edit: Ikky, here you go:

Germany: Personalausweis (German Wikipedia): It is compulsory for all German citizens age 16 or older to possess either a "Personalausweis" (identity card) or a passport, but not to carry it. While police officers and some other officials have a right to demand to see one of those documents, the law does not state that one is obliged to submit the document at that very moment. Fines may only be applied if an identity card or passport is not possessed at all, if the document is expired or if one explicitly refuses to show ID to the police. If one is unable to produce an ID card or passport (or any other form of credible identification) during a police control, one can (in theory) be brought to the next police post and detained for max. 12 hours, or until positive identification is possible. However, this measure is only applied if the police have reasonable grounds to believe the person detained has committed an offense.