Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You Think The Government Is Doing A Good Job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

User45701 wrote: »
    man that 12.99% of people have no idea whats going on

No, only 6.84% - the rest is split 50/50 between people who voted yes just ot be different and undercover FF ministers.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Seanies32 wrote: »
    And? Eejits will spend more on drink if there is longer opening hours, accepted.

I Don't accept increasing binge drinking is a solution to our economic difficulties.

Thought people would have copped this over the last few years.

Spending more money is not the answer. People spent more money on houses and cars and look were we are!

Have you ever worked in a pub or a club? We need people to spend money to get the economy a jumpstart.

Say i buy a pint the person who pours it is paid, the brewer is paid, the heating and electricty is paid, income tax is paid.

So if i couldnt buy that pint the brewer and ammenity services wouldnt be paid let alone the bartender who poured it. Probably be on the dole while the working folk pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭LIS

im not sure if it matters what we think of cowen and his goons!come the next election if ff are voted out of power.they will probibly have the election again.apparently no doesnt mean no!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

ninty9er wrote: »
    There is no indication that the UK VAT cut is doing anything for their economy.

The prices in NI are going to be more favourable with the Sterling exchange and due to the fact they have subsidised distribution based on UK mainland rates.

They were even favourable with the exchange rate at 67p.
    You have been reported.

FF, secret police KGB style on junkyard? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Volvoboy wrote: »
    Have you ever worked in a pub or a club? We need people to spend money to get the economy a jumpstart.

Say i buy a pint the person who pours it is paid, the brewer is paid, the heating and electricty is paid, income tax is paid.

So if i couldnt buy that pint the brewer and ammenity services wouldnt be paid let alone the bartender who poured it. Probably be on the dole while the working folk pay for it.

Yep, worked in pubs for years! Your point is?

Plenty on the dole still drink plenty.

People spent on expensive houses, cars, pumbers, pubs, off licences and still we are fecked.

Your seem to be suggesting the method of getting out of a recession is doing the exact same thing AGAIN!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

There is no indication that the UK VAT cut is doing anything for their economy.

The prices in NI are going to be more favourable with the Sterling exchange and due to the fact they have subsidised distribution based on UK mainland rates.

I did actually question the VAT increase, but all it has done in the UK is get consumers spending more money they don't have which is what caused this whole problem in the first place.

@junkyard. I've asked you before....don't equate the actions of a FRACTION of public reps over 82 years of the most electorally successful political movement in western Europe with all of it's public reps, and considering you're such a "facts" based person spewing Joan Burton type shoite talking about "this govenrment [insert 10 year old figure here] blah blah", remember that there are 80,000 members of Fianna Fáil and you have absolutely NO RIGHT to tar every single one with your dark deluded view of our organisation.

You have been reported.

I'm not mystic meg but i'd expect a HUUUUGGGEEE spike for december.

Yep, worked in pubs for years! Your point is?

Plenty on the dole still drink plenty.

People spent on expensive houses, cars, pumbers, pubs, off licences and still we are fecked.

Your seem to be suggesting the method of getting out of a recession is doing the exact same thing AGAIN!

No you seem to think i'm on about borrowing money or on credit. I dont agree with that kind of spending.

There's a diffrence between going out and buying a €50K beemer and €5.10 pint.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

The global recession. Caused by irish pubs/clubs closing at 02.30.

No you seem to think i'm on about borrowing money or on credit. I dont agree with that kind of spending.

There's a diffrence between going out and buying a €50K beemer and €5.10 pint.

With unemployment and emigration rising?

Hours and wages being cut everywhere, thus weekly wages

Were do you cut back with incomes falling to sustain this drinking splurge?

Food? I consider it essential unlike luxuries like drink!

PS. People are still paying for the high mortgages and car loans, hence not having the income to spurge on extra drink in pubs.

Can't believe I have to explain this in detail!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

jmccrohan wrote: »
    The global recession. Caused by irish pubs/clubs closing at 02.30.

Dont start being pedantic, the global recession was caused by international borrowing. So i ask the FF supporters for the 3rd time what was the point in closing the pubs at 2.30? Because no good has come of it that i can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭thecornerboy

The relationship between the FF party (and FG & Labour where they were strong in local govts which didn't give a flying **** if a housing estate was built 2 light years from the nearest school), property developers, speculators, landlords and landowners and financial institutions is the answer to why the country is ****ed right now in my opinion (or at least the added level of ****edness we're experiencing on top of the global problem). This isn't a case of brown paper bag corruption, but moral and idealogical corruption. This is no longer being said solely by the likes of Joe Higgins and "the usual suspects" but by your garden variety economist now too. The only difference is Joe Higgins has been saying it for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

Yes I think the government are doing a great job....
    I'm Brian Cowen....dont look at this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,027 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

cowen shouldn't be trusted with an under 12s football team.

Kenny is not the man to lead the country, richard bruton is - but until he is put as leader of FG - gl,

Personally i think Michael Martin is the man - but thats neither here nor there.
    Ah no..because how can anyone say that the Governement is doing well at a time like this? with sincere honesty?
    Name me one good thing they're done this year?

I could name a few - here's one - alot of people i know say fcuk the bankers - the government shouldn't save them - so if we go with theses people - irish banks could go bust - and what do we do then? - the government have guaranteed all deposits and have now capatilaised some banks.

Oh yea we had a state of the art health service, seen in 5 mins.

Ah we didnt mind spending a few mill on a pole in O'Connell St, we didnt care that the E-Vote machine's we'rent worth a ****.:rolleyes:

Each department has €x to spend - updating o'connell street is probably is a completely different budget than the e-voting machines - so thats a shocking example and indicates that your understanding of the government and how each department works is appaling..
    junkyard wrote: »
    I'd be all for an election in the morning. If this government were in any other country it wouldn' be safe for them to walk the streets for fear of their lives, they're an absolute disgrace the whole party of Fianna Fail and the shower that support them in government, it's the sheer arrogance of them and their inability to act and save our country.

a week before the last election a poll was taken and the results where that FF wouldn't get re-elected - what was the final result - one of the best returns in the last few elections - the polls mean sweet FA - anytime anyone rings me up to do a poll - i never give what i really think.

One last point people say compared to the UK - ireland is this and ireland is that - Compare social walfare payments of the UK and ireland - look at the state pensions - Ireland provide alot more than the UK do....

FG's response is to scrap the national pay package agreement - are you guys all for that - suppose its scraped - and your boss turns around and says well now you salary is reduced by x% - i guarantee that you'll be back on boards complaining..

Its time you guys just grew up - no matter what government you have in office - nothin is going to change.

It will take 20 years to sort out the health system, the last politician to take dramatic action in the health system was Dr. Noel Browne - to eradicate TB - he succeded but he lost his job - do you think more ministers are going to take this risk - whether FF or FG - answers is probably not!

The transport system - the metro - the destuction that is going to cause once it starts building will be huge - for example they set out the route - people along the line where not happy - began to take legal action - route was then changed to bring in Croke park (i think) then people down there complained - don't know where its at atm.

was it a 10% pay cut that kenny took? - if he was sincere why ddin't he take 30% - compare to people losing their jobs - 10% is Fcuk all -especially given his wage.

As i have stated - maybe cowen isn't the man to get us out of the problem - but kenny is no better - so either get rid of kenny - bring in bruton and make a real challenge for the next election - or stop complaining...

Dont start being pedantic, the global recession was caused by international borrowing. So i ask the FF supporters for the 3rd time what was the point in closing the pubs at 2.30? Because no good has come of it that i can see.

See previous reply plus, people don't have the disposable income to waste on drink anymore!

Sighs! How much of your income do you spend on drink?

With unemployment and emigration rising?

Hours and wages being cut everywhere, thus weekly wages

Were do you cut back with incomes falling to sustain this drinking splurge?

Food? I consider it essential unlike luxuries like drink!

PS. People are still paying for the high mortgages and car loans, hence not having the income to spurge on extra drink in pubs.

Can't believe I have to explain this in detail!

Yea you took the words right outa my mouth, how many hours / job losses have been gone since the opening hours were reduced, alot. Talking to various barstaff/bouncers/club and pub owners, and they said the 2.30 businees is killing them.
    Ace2007 wrote: »

Each department has €x to spend - updating o'connell street is probably is a completely different budget than the e-voting machines - so thats a shocking example and indicates that your understanding of the government and how each department works is appaling..

Jaysus my mistake, i didnt know they didnt use my tax money to run the country. Probably have a money tree out the back of the Dail?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

I suppose you were against the smoking ban as well then when it came in?

Sighs! How much of your income do you spend on drink?

I dont drink but my income relys on those that drink / socalise in pubs and clubs.

I suppose you were against the smoking ban as well then when it came in?

Didnt feel strongly one way or another.

Yea you took the words right outa my mouth, how many hours / job losses have been gone since the opening hours were reduced, alot. Talking to various barstaff/bouncers/club and pub owners, and they said the 2.30 businees is killing them.

Jaysus my mistake, i didnt know they didnt use my tax money to run the country. Probably have a money tree out the back of the Dail?

Yep, getting back to my other points, how much of your income do you spend on drink?

PS. Think you'll find business is dead EVERYWHERE, not just Bars and clubs.
    It's a common complaint.

Oh extra PS. Well you spend 0% of your income on drink yet expect others to spend more! Start drinking mate and contribute to the economy. You leech!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Holsten wrote: »
    No they are joke, as are the people who keep voting them in time and time again.

who the **** else are people meant to vote in? you can say what u like about FF, but the alternatives are far far worse.

Yep, getting back to my other points, how much of your income do you spend on drink?

It's a common complaint.

Oh extra PS. Y

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=58348204&postcount=69

Stop expecting OTHERS to spend and start buying Ballygowan then.

who the **** else are people meant to vote in? you can say what u like about FF, but the alternatives are far far worse.

I would feel genuinely embarrassed if Enda Kenny was Taoiseach.

Oh extra PS. Well you spend 0% of your income on drink yet expect others to spend more! Start drinking mate and contribute to the economy. You leech!

No i dont i think they should have the option, and not be treated like childern by a nanny state.

I do contibute to the economy, i pay my taxes pay my road tax and and other overpriced goods. Please dont start with the personal insults. I suppose you want me to start smoking now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I dont drink but my income relys on those that drink / socalise in pubs and clubs.

So putting people in your car earlier is killing your business:confused::confused: Look, there were very few places in the country granted theatre licences apart from few D4 frequented sardine cans on Harcourt Street.

Places always closed at 0230 round these parts, some even at 0130 or 0200, the recession isn't affecting these places. People still buy drink til they can;t handle anymore, but they just get it done before closing regardless of whether it's 0000, 0230 or 0600. This way they don't have to pay bar staff until 0600 and turnover just as much as if they did.

No i dont i think they should have the option, and not be treated like childern by a nanny state.

I do contibute to the economy, i pay my taxes pay my road tax and and other overpriced goods. Please dont start with the personal insults. I suppose you want me to start smoking now?

Nope, you are asking people to buy more drink when you spend Zilch on it.

As I said previously, stock up on your Ballygowan from the pub.

Do as you say and do, not as you preach!

I suppose you want me to start smoking now?
    Na.. We'd never hear the end of the moaning then.

Complaining about how the government wont let you smoke in the workplace, not to mention the taxes they get off a pack of cigarettes.

So putting people in your car earlier is killing your business:confused::confused: Look, there were very few places in the country granted theatre licences apart from few D4 frequented sardine cans on Harcourt Street.

Places always closed at 0230 round these parts, some even at 0130 or 0200, the recession isn't affecting these places. People still buy drink til they can;t handle anymore, but they just get it done before closing regardless of whether it's 0000, 0230 or 0600. This way they don't have to pay bar staff until 0600 and turnover just as much as if they did.

Yea my point exactly, people are necking it and going onto the streets causing mayhem, ok fourth time ''What was the logic behind the 2.30am closing time?'' as a FF you should know if anyone.
    Nope, you are asking people to buy more drink when you spend Zilch on it.

As I said previously, stock up on your Ballygowan from the pub.

Do as you say and do, not as you preach!

Mine's a pint of coke no ice, they charge me the same for a pint only diffrence is i can drive after.

It's a common complaint.

bars and clubs are dead? - where the fcuk are you going - back end of sligo? - Everytime i've been in a club or bar in the last 3 months - its been jammers -

every business is not dead - the ones that are - are the ones that made millions when the economy was good - these guys milked every citizion for what they could. - Ireland became and still is a very very expensive place to live and shop in. Are you telling me that you now feel sorry for these guys? come on give me a break - i knew young lads earning 1K+ a week on building sites , other guys who where into computer science - getting huge sums of money - lawyers charging unreal amounts - say hello to one and it'll cost ya 50 quid, plumbers and electrians charge way over the top - guy comes to fix your door, everyone charges too much - recession comes and now these guys are not getting the big wage they once did - where did all that money go - take all the builders - fcuk if i was earning 1k a week - nearly every week for a few years - i'd have money saved up. - think 1K a week = 52K a year - 5 years = 260K - if they had only 15% saved = 39K -

Yea my point exactly, people are necking it and going onto the streets causing mayhem, ok fourth time ''What was the logic behind the 2.30am closing time?'' as a FF you should know if anyone.

Mine's a pint of coke no ice, they charge me the same for a pint only diffrence is i can drive after.

Grand, buy an extra one for the economy.

Cheers! Shame you'll be driving home later but thems the breaks I suppose. The economy is worth it.

Watch the diabetes though!

Na.. We'd never hear the end of the moaning then.

Complaining about how the government wont let you smoke in the workplace, not to mention the taxes they get off a pack of cigarettes.

Yea and they'd still do f**k all with the money they got from it, maybe harney wants to go to south beach again.

Grand, buy an extra one for the economy.

Cheers! Shame you'll be driving home later but thems the breaks I suppose. The economy is worth it.

Watch the diabetes though!

Cheers, i'll have a toast to you the next time i'm on the hard stuff.

5th time 99er, what was the logic behind the 2.30am closing??

bars and clubs are dead? - where the fcuk are you going - back end of sligo? - Everytime i've been in a club or bar in the last 3 months - its been jammers -

every business is not dead - the ones that are - are the ones that made millions when the economy was good - these guys milked every citizion for what they could. - Ireland became and still is a very very expensive place to live and shop in. Are you telling me that you now feel sorry for these guys? come on give me a break - i knew young lads earning 1K+ a week on building sites , other guys who where into computer science - getting huge sums of money - lawyers charging unreal amounts - say hello to one and it'll cost ya 50 quid, plumbers and electrians charge way over the top - guy comes to fix your door, everyone charges too much - recession comes and now these guys are not getting the big wage they once did - where did all that money go - take all the builders - fcuk if i was earning 1k a week - nearly every week for a few years - i'd have money saved up. - think 1K a week = 52K a year - 5 years = 260K - if they had only 15% saved = 39K -

Don't know were you are getting that from my posts. Think you have issues NOT related to my posts.

I'm concerned with the normal average person who didn't get 52k a year but are struggling to pay for a 3 bed SemiD or rent it after losing their job or hours cut.

Yea and they'd still do f**k all with the money they got from it, maybe harney wants to go to south beach again.
    If you are so wise, why didn't you get the fcuk out of the pub industry when you saw all this coming?

I'll tell ya how wise i am, i never worked a day in the pub trade.

Cheers, i'll have a toast to you the next time i'm on the hard stuff.

5th time 99er, what was the logic behind the 2.30am closing??

To stop Coke sales doubling?

Time to start clarifying previous posts or you are trolling!

So why didn't you get out of whatever the hell you do now that you are complaining about?

To stop Coke sales doubling?

Nah then the pubs would do business.

Time to start clarifying previous posts or you are trolling!

Taxi driver.
    So why didn't you get out of whatever the hell you do now that you are complaining about?

Why should i? I like my job, why should i change my profession on the merits of a misguided government????

Anyway, time to bough out. Volvoboy you want people to spend more disposable income that they don't have or is getting less and less on pubs and Clubs.

Grand.

PS. Think you just declared your interest there! You must like cosey cartels like the pubs and taxis once were! LOL

I could just as easily ask what the logic behind 0430 closing is...the answer is no different. It's a arbitrary time designed to limit the sale of alcohol, it's aim is social, not economic.

Anyway, time to bough out. Volvoboy you want people to spend more disposable income that they don't have or is getting less and less on pubs and Clubs.

Grand.

PS. Think you just declared your interest there!

Yea so? Is it wrong to declare where one stands over a matter that the government made a complete cock up on??

Nope, it is wrong to expect people to spend money they don't have on drink! Basically "FECK THEM, To feather me own Nest" Thought we'd learned something from the recession? Self interest like your own got us here. You have the same mentality as the builders you would criticise and blame.

Night!

which matter are you referring to?

It's a common complaint.

Don't know were you are getting that from my posts. Think you have issues NOT related to my posts.

I'm concerned with the normal average person who didn't get 52k a year but are struggling to pay for a 3 bed SemiD or rent it after losing their job or hours cut.

wtf you said all business were dead - and i was sayin only the business that did great in the "celtic tiger" are now dead - other business aren't - you also said that bars and clubs were "dead" - which i replied sayin where are these places cause i can't see them, and i'm out a good bit.

stuggling to pay rent - cause you made money over the years and didn't save it - cause you were too busy out getting locked off your head in a club which you spend around tenner getting into - you wake up the next day down 50/60 quid and you can't remember.

now the good auld days are gone - and you want to complain - wp mate.

You must like cosey cartels like the pubs and taxis once were! LOL

No i dont.
    I could just as easily ask what the logic behind 0430 closing is...the answer is no different. It's a arbitrary time designed to limit the sale of alcohol, it's aim is social, not economic.

Please dont answer my question with another question.

Thank you, i grasped the concept of alcohol not being available after 2.30, but my question is what was the social reasoning behind the pubs and clubs closing @ 2.30, becuse on a anti-socail view things have got alot worse. I'd see maybe one fight a night before this was brought in now i'm seeing about 2-3 per night. Only last Thursday night i seen a full street braul on thomas street. Ya gonna tell me it would of happend pre law? I dont think so.

wtf you said all business were dead - and i was sayin only the business that did great in the "celtic tiger" are now dead - other business aren't - you also said that bars and clubs were "dead" - which i replied sayin where are these places cause i can't see them, and i'm out a good bit.

stuggling to pay rent - cause you made money over the years and didn't save it - cause you were too busy out getting locked off your head in a club which you spend around tenner getting into - you wake up the next day down 50/60 quid and you can't remember.

now the good auld days are gone - and you want to complain - wp mate.

Go to rural pubs then.

Again as regards Rent you are rambling now. I actually agree with you, but YOU are rambling Sir. I'm concerned about the people who were screwed by the Boom, you are talking about people who wasted it.

Different subject.

No i dont.

Can you reply to the rest of the post?

Yes

Grand.

PS. Think you just declared your interest there! You must like cosey cartels like the pubs and taxis once were! LOL

I'm not saying they wont spend it, i am saying there will be more peole on the streets tanked up and causing more fights and a strain on emergency services.

Yea that is my intrest, and i have no intrest in the cartells of the pub, deregulation happend waaaayyyyy before i entred the taxi game, but i do think it was handled poorly - that is a understatement and beside the point.