Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Zavvi Are Muppets

• 28-12-2008 7:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭

I went into zavvi earlier to get xbox live!I went up with the case and the man behind the counter put the card in the case so i went home and opened it ready to enter the code when i realised he had given me 4200 xbox points so i rang them and they said bring it back with the receipt but the problem is i live about 30 miles from them and dont know when im going to get to town!You'd think they would check what they put into the case and not put in any random card!!:mad:

Rant Over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,221 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I imagine it's an easy thing to do if you're rushed off your feet, and you're not particularly clued in to every item sold in the shop. Buy the sub online for ~€32 and have it emailed to you. Return the item to Zavvi and get your money back, or keep the points if you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭EvilWonka

What you should do in this situation is go into zavvi (no matter how long its takes to walk 30 miles) and demand a refund. then take the refunded money and buy some cheap shares in a bank or something, wait a few months/years until the market is turned for the better and cash out the shares for major money and then use this to but a controlling stake of zavvi. Now go back to the shop (this time in a merc or bmw you bought from all your monies made) and fire that employee.

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭brian_ire

EvilWonka wrote: »
    What you should do in this situation is go into zavvi (no matter how long its takes to walk 30 miles) and demand a refund. then take the refunded money and buy some cheap shares in a bank or something, wait a few months/years until the market is turned for the better and cash out the shares for major money and then use this to but a controlling stake of zavvi. Now go back to the shop (this time in a merc or bmw you bought from all your monies made) and fire that employee.

or in future just check what they put into the box, the same way you would check you change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Podge2k7 wrote: »
    I went into zavvi earlier to get xbox live!I went up with the case and the man behind the counter put the card in the case so i went home and opened it ready to enter the code when i realised he had given me 4200 xbox points so i rang them and they said bring it back with the receipt but the problem is i live about 30 miles from them and dont know when im going to get to town!You'd think they would check what they put into the case and not put in any random card!!:mad:

Rant Over

You'd think you'd check too. :)

Believe it or not, they are people. They do make mistakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭PCwiggum

I wouldn't leave it too long to get back into them - I heard they could be closing? I know in the Dundalk store they weren't giving out vouchers for Christmas...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

PCwiggum wrote: »
    I wouldn't leave it too long to get back into them - I heard they could be closing? I know in the Dundalk store they weren't giving out vouchers for Christmas...

None of their stores were afaik and they are in administration in UK.

mcgovern wrote: »
    None of their stores were afaik and they are in administration in UK.

Jebus,
    I hadn't heard about that!

OP, bad luck, and a hard lesson learned. My two cents would be to get the live subscription elsewhere, and keep the points for Map Packs, add on's and Arcade games, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

brian_ire wrote: »
    or in future just check what they put into the box, the same way you would check you change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

I bought a XBox 360 version of Far Cry 2 in Zavvi about two months ago but they gave me a PS3 disc and booklet. How could they feck that one up?

The PS3 booklet is half the size! I'm paying for a service not incompetence. I shouldn't have to look in the case but I have every purchase since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

I bought a XBox 360 version of Far Cry 2 in Zavvi about two months ago but they gave me a PS3 disc and booklet. How could they feck that one up?

The PS3 booklet is half the size! I'm paying for a service not incompetence. I shouldn't have to look in the case but I have every purchase since then.

Man, do you complain about everything this much?

Did anyone hear about the mess in the UK with the vouchers? Apparently any gift vouchers bought for Christmas are totally worthless now.

Oh and OP you should have checked to make sure it's what you got before leaving the shop. It's very easy to do something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭The tax man

Did anyone hear about the mess in the UK with the vouchers? Apparently any gift vouchers bought for Christmas are totally worthless now.

They're not accepting them in store but they can be returned for a full refund. Hassle yes,worthless no.

http://www.zavvi.co.uk/customer-message/i.jsf;jsessionid=C99B0DD09D450FB9CAA9A7A5DDD1FE65.app14

Have to agree with most of the above posters....check your purchase before leaving the shop. I make a point of this when buying a game that doesn't come sealed.
    I ALWAYS open the case and check the disc for scrapes and marks,anything could have happened to the disc once taken out of it's box. Try bringing a marked disc back saying it was like that and you know the reply you'll get.

Man, do you complain about everything this much?

Uhh, this is a thread called "Zavvi are muppets".
    If you wanna hear happy stories or stories with a good, kind nature maybe you should start a thread glorifying Zavvi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

WELL I got the original xbox in GAME. to play SF3 online, about 2 years ago, i picked up two games there as they were very very cheap XII or whatever and something else, obviously i never really opened them, they were sealed.

two years forward my friend borrowed them to find out they were both empty inside. LOL

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Zavvi are in trouble in the UK becasue Woolworths, who have now gone under, was their only supplier and they cannot manage to sort out a deal with anyone else. Zavvi in Ireland is supplied by someone else.

Was hoping to be able to pick up some bargains on visiting a Zavvi in the UK at the weeken though, but nothing seems to have changed there apart from the colour of the price tickets and that they now have "Clearance" plastered all over the place. The shop was fully stocked and loads of people were wandering around trying to find the cheap stuff. There wasn't any price reductions though and nobody was buying anything.

The Game next door had a queue running out the door though and a fair few things on their shelves seemed to be half of what the Zavvi were looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

robinph wrote: »
    Zavvi in Ireland is supplied by someone else.

No they're not, Zavvi Ireland were being supplied by EUK also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Uhh, this is a thread called "Zavvi are muppets".
    If you wanna hear happy stories or stories with a good, kind nature maybe you should start a thread glorifying Zavvi.

Nah, obviously you have an attitude problem. Just check your stuff before you leave, everyone makes mistakes.

Nah, obviously you have an attitude problem.

How'd you figure that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

like some of you above i too purchased xbox live only to find out they had gven me 4200points.
    good thing my brother noticed it before we left town:D..36miles away:(:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Branoic

I love Zavvi. I bought my PS3 from them last year on credit card, but they never charged my card. It was a newly opened store with new staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,221 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Branoic wrote: »
    I love Zavvi. I bought my PS3 from them last year on credit card, but they never charged my card. It was a newly opened store with new staff.
    So you're the reason they've gone into administration! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,026 ✭✭✭✭Basq

My cousin went into Zavvi last week...

... BAM, she's now pregnant!

Is there anything that's sacred anymore to a Zavvi employee?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭Damien360

robinph wrote: »
    Zavvi are in trouble in the UK becasue Woolworths, who have now gone under, was their only supplier and they cannot manage to sort out a deal with anyone else. Zavvi in Ireland is supplied by someone else.

Was hoping to be able to pick up some bargains on visiting a Zavvi in the UK at the weeken though, but nothing seems to have changed there apart from the colour of the price tickets and that they now have "Clearance" plastered all over the place. The shop was fully stocked and loads of people were wandering around trying to find the cheap stuff. There wasn't any price reductions though and nobody was buying anything.

The Game next door had a queue running out the door though and a fair few things on their shelves seemed to be half of what the Zavvi were looking for.

That was the exact same situation as Zavvi in Liffey Valley on Saturday 3rd Jan. 10% off stickers everywhere but prices had actually been raised on a lot of items so 10% off just brought it back to normal. I have been waiting for a few games to drop and a few DVD's but the prices of games increased. (can I hear anyone say Rip Off Ireland).

Then in Game in the same centre, the queue was around the shop and out the door. Everything in gaming cheaper than Zavvi. Most bargains on secondhand games. I assumed that is what the queue was for. 3 working at the counter trying to keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I always thought Zavvi/Virgin were way more expensive for games than everywhere else, saw C & C Red Alert last week for 74.99!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Was in the Zavvi in Blanchardstown a while ago and had 20 euro left in my pocket so I picked up "The Darkness" which was marked at 20 euro. Got up to the counter and the guy told me it was a mistake and it was still 70 so I went back down and got "Rainbow 6 " which was also marked at 20. Got to counter and got charged 17, got home and found out I had two copies of the game....sometimes their stupidity works in your favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

ye like how many months sub did you pay for??cause 4200 is close enough to 40 euro or so i think??So did you make any kind of a profit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

got home and found out I had two copies of the game.....

I'll throw you a tenner for the spare copy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

EvilWonka wrote: »

i'd prefare to strangle the lad with a hdmi cable but hey, thats just me :rolleyes:

I bought gears of war 2 in Zavvi for the xbox 360, when i got home and i opened the box they had given me cheese . :eek:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Moon

Why does anyone buy xbox live in a store? It's half price on the internet!!