Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerickisms

• 29-12-2008 11:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭

This a thread for words/phrases that you hear only in Limerick, or words that started in Limerick and have spread.

Word: Tackies
    Meaning: trainers/sneakers/runners
    Context: "Ah boy the Kid, daycent tackies"

Word: Ghouling
    Meaning: To act the messer or waste time.
    Context: "Stop Ghouling around will ya"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Tackies is a South African word.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭Comhrá

" Thrun Down"....... feeling sick or poorly (I think)

" You can chalk it down".

Never heard that on till I came to Limerick in 1976

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Tackies is a South African word.

The only place in Ireland I've heard it used is Limerick. This is just supposed to be a bit of craic. Not the history of the English language. Stop being a ghoul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Azphyxi8

Word: Gome
    Meaning: A person who is foolish or idiotic.
    Context: "Go away you gome!"

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Ending every sentence with "like".

And my favourite one... "Actin' the c**t"

Self explanatory, but I never hear it much outside Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Tha honda civic is daycent kid = That honda civic is quite nice my friend

Mush is a rathkeale word, comes from the Traveller language Gammon.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭betonit

rapid tackies

meaning: fab runners

A favourite of townies: "come ere I want ya"

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Referring someone as "boss" or "kid".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

"sangwiches" meaning sandwiches

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭betonit

sound

johnny: whats jimmy like..
    tommy: he's "sound"

johnny: i'll pick you up at 6
    tommy: "sound"

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭Dumdum McCarthy

Meaning how are you!or just saying hello in general.

i have heard it a bit!depends where u are in the city.i duno if it makes sense!

• Registered Users Posts: 31,883 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

betonit wrote: »
    sound

johnny: whats jimmy like..
    tommy: he's "sound"

johnny: i'll pick you up at 6
    tommy: "sound"

I think that is all over the country, I know we over use it here in Galway but since I have been living in Limerick, I don't remember it being used that much.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,883 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Meaning how are you!or just saying hello in general.

In Galway city, Sham is a traveller. In Tuam, Sham is a general term for anybody from Tuam and not just travellers...
    I think Sham has spread to most places too.

Meaning would u eat a tomatoe?heard it down the island field!I have heard and its true Limerick people used to have there own language between themselves.i know people who still have a few words of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Ghoul (gowl) is also used around Mayo but up there it refers to lady-bits.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Meaning would u eat a tomatoe?heard it down the island field!I have heard and its true Limerick people used to have there own language between themselves.i know people who still have a few words of it.

That's not a colloquial phrase, that's just somebody with a dodgey accent. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    The only place in Ireland I've heard it used is Limerick. This is just supposed to be a bit of craic. Not the history of the English language. Stop being a ghoul

Well it's a Zulu word, so it wouldn't be a lesson in English.
    It's only used in Limerick, because it was picked up by a missionary priest from Limerick when he was over in Africa, and brought back with him.

Sto pbeing a "goul" and take it for what it was meant as.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

How's tricks?, as in, what have you been up to since I last saw you?

Context:
    John: Well Tommy, How's tricks?
    Tommy: Grand now John, just after gettin a great deal on a telly in Savins

Rank, as in, disgusting

Context:
    That burger was rank

Nice thread...there's an old one round here somewhere too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Designtly...sp? who knows :D

You did that designtly. Meaning...you did that on purpose.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

pulinalinit.

theres a swimming pool in the house.

Well it's a Zulu word, so it wouldn't be a lesson in English.
    It's only used in Limerick, because it was picked up by a missionary priest from Limerick when he was over in Africa, and brought back with him.

Sto pbeing a "goul" and take it for what it was meant as.

Any idea where the term "steamer" comes from?

As in: That fella is an awful steamer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Off to haboo.

Going to bed. Only ever heard it in Limerick.

Off to haboo.

Never heard of it used like that. I do remember the childrens rhyme

"Haboo baby bunting, Daddy's gone a hunting"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    Any idea where the term "steamer" comes from?

As in: That fella is an awful steamer.

Cork
    Off to haboo.

+1...normally from people who wouldn't know how to spell sleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I always understood that 'steamer' referred to a gentleman who frequented steam rooms in order to meet other mens

'ghoul' comes from the Viking word 'gall' which translates as 'foreigner'