Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gerrard arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Excuse me, have you been reading any of the news?? He started the fight which ended up with a man that ended up losing a tooth, needing stitches and a black eye. These are factual injuries. Not ones that have been made up, there was pictures of the dance floor with the mans blood on it for **** sake. Witnesses said that Gerrard elbowed the man in the mouth and then Gerrards buddies got involved. Maybe that's made up by the witnesses is it? Just like the witnesses in Bulgaria perhaps??
    how do any of us know what happened all we have is reports from associates of the "victim" what ever happened to innocent until proven guilty great to see all the united fans taking the moral high ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It's all speculation. It seems he pushed past the DJ, then the DJ got agro, maybe gerrard was just defending himself at that stage because he felt the agro DJ was going to attack him? You cant blame him for his mates jumping in and giving your man a kicking.
    It's all speculation indeed but it might be a case of over reaction on the DJ's part .Maybe he thought he was bigger than SG :P

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

latchyco wrote: »
    If anybody sticks up for one of their own it's called loyalty .If scousers do it , it's turned into a 'how dare they ' ? .Like why souldent they support him ? Doesnt mean they dont understand the difference between wrong or right or doing anything any other football fans woundent do if it was one of theirs .I have seen this silly argument about scousers many times before , usually by some Manc with a grievience againts liverpool fc or liverpublians in general .
    Oh **** off would you?! Loyalty my arse. If he's guilty he's guilty. Johnny Evans was arrested last year after being accused of rape. Not one of the United fans for one second said "he's innocent" or "it was probably nothing". Most United fans that I spoke to figured he would be shown the door and that we should give the case a wait and see approach. And thankfully he was proven to be innocent.

Scouse fans have no respect for the justice system anywhere unless they are the victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

We all know how this thread is going to pan out. Liverpool fans are going to say we don't know the real story, everyone else (ie Man U and Everton fans) are going to throw stones at him.

If everyone can hold their breath until Jan 23rd we'll all know, thats if the case hasn't been dropped before then. Anyone with any evidence for or against the case in the meantime should probably contact Merseyside Police.

In the absence of that I'm sure this thread will be locked soon enough.

Excuse me, have you been reading any of the news?? He started the fight which ended up with a man that ended up losing a tooth, needing stitches and a black eye. These are factual injuries. Not ones that have been made up, there was pictures of the dance floor with the mans blood on it for **** sake. Witnesses said that Gerrard elbowed the man in the mouth and then Gerrards buddies got involved. Maybe that's made up by the witnesses is it? Just like the witnesses in Bulgaria perhaps??

Have you a source for that info? Particularly the part about him starting the fight?

Scousers have "no respect for the justice system anywhere"? Generalisation perhaps?
    Jesus, get a grip man.

Oh **** off would you?! Loyalty my arse. If he's guilty he's guilty. Johnny Evans was arrested last year after being accused of rape. Not one of the United fans for one second said "he's innocent" or "it was probably nothing". Most United fans that I spoke to figured he would be shown the door and that we should give the case a wait and see approach. And thankfully he was proven to be innocent.

Scouse fans have no respect for the justice system anywhere unless they are the victim.
    Ah that's a load of bollox imo .of course if he is guilty he is guilty but i get the feeling you might want him guilty anyway .See the difference ? I know the manchester mentality as much as the liverpudlian one ( i live in one city and not to far from the other )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I remeber when rapist Ronaldo was arrested everyone was saying "she made it up etc etc" before the charges were dropped. Interesting that there's a pattern of alleged rape that happens to United players on nights out actually....

As for your second point, lol. Yes I am sure all Liverpool and Everton fans were heartbroken when Barton was sent down and held many a protest outisde the jail begging for him to be freed.:pac::pac:

Have you a source for that info? Particularly the part about him starting the fight?

Scousers have "no respect for the justice system anywhere"? Generalisation perhaps?
    Jesus, get a grip man.
    Well said .Jesus ........scousers are subject to and understand the law .Like everybody in the country they are not above it and wouldnt claim to be so ...get a grip indeed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭mormank

can you spell hypocrite?? im not sure if thats the correct spelling. johnny evans?/ who gives a toss about him. im sure if it was vidic or ronaldo ye would have similarly said that he should be shown the door. or what about the fantastic roy keane who commited GBH and even worse on the pitch and shouldve been banned for life imo...purposely setting out to end a fellow professional's career is the lowest low for a footballer imo.

or eric cantona, should he have been shown the door..the smell of hypocrisy is making me sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,999 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

lol @ all those posting in this thread about what happened and what didn't happen. AFAIK none of you were there, so whats the point in all this sputtering nonsense.

Jesus Roy keane kicked lumps out of his ' fellow pros ' .Cantona wasnt much better ..the list is endless ....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

No links :rolleyes:

Opr

opr wrote: »
    No links :rolleyes:

Opr
    Posting from iPhone. No copy and paste.

Some links are not nessacary .Remember johnny giles , billy bremmner , chopper harris , tommy smith ? .

You will find any of the above who were doing what keane Cantona were doing on you tube ,only they were doing it much worse than Gerrard .

mormank wrote: »
    can you spell hypocrite?? im not sure if thats the correct spelling. johnny evans?/ who gives a toss about him. im sure if it was vidic or ronaldo ye would have similarly said that he should be shown the door. or what about the fantastic roy keane who commited GBH and even worse on the pitch and shouldve been banned for life imo...purposely setting out to end a fellow professional's career is the lowest low for a footballer imo.

or eric cantona, should he have been shown the door..the smell of hypocrisy is making me sick
    Difference is that the book WAS thrown at Cantona, and united themselves suspended Cantona. Rightly so, he served his time and we welcomed him back. Difference with Evans is that he was accused of a completely different crime altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

So where exactly are you getting your information from?
    We can look it up ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

This thread is officially sh-i-t.

Difference is that the book WAS thrown at Cantona, and united themselves suspended Cantona. Rightly so, he served his time and we welcomed him back. Difference with Evans is that he was accused of a completely different crime altogether.

ya well cantona did what he did in front of millions of people. what gerrard is accused of is far less obvious than that. and if utd couldve tried to stop cantona gettin suspended thay would have but couldnt as it was in front of so many...

mike65 wrote: »
    Somebody had to say it i suppose .

thought u were meant to be rationing your posts??? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

pvt.joker wrote: »
    Let's face it, scousers are not known for their calm reasoned behaviour, and/or clean criminal records. Stevie GBH has been shown up finally for the thug that he is.
    Lock him up and throw away the key.
    Oh dear god. Stereotype much do you?

Can you point me in the direction of a site that has the story that you obtained your facts from?

Its just i would love to read it as you seem to be privy to information that none of the rest of us have seen or i believed to be available to the public.

Opr

Originally Posted by pvt.joker
    Let's face it, scousers are not known for their calm reasoned behaviour, and/or clean criminal records. Stevie GBH has been shown up finally for the thug that he is.
    Lock him up and throw away the key.
    Very disturbing iggnorent view .You really should get out in the real world more often !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Doubt Gerrard was really acting the scummer for no reason, and I'm far from Liverpool's biggest fan, or his. I'd imagine he was wound up something fierce, and just lost it.

My source is todays English Telegraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

You mean this?: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/premierleague/liverpool/4017302/Steven-Gerrard-charged-with-assault-and-affray-after-alleged-brawl.html

Nowhere is it said Gerrard elbowed him. Nowhere is it said Gerrard started the fight. It doesn't even say Gerrard was the one to cause those injuries in the first place.

Did you even read the article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

this thread really is tragic and really exposes some people for wat they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mr Alan wrote: »

Hello there.

hi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

Yes , Steven Gerrard for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

This thread is getting silly..as it's just going to full of Man utd fans directing insults at people from the city of Liverpool and talking nonsense about Steven being "a scumbag" etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Did the DJ look like Mark Lawrenson?

My source is todays English Telegraph.

Thanks i just had a read of the article.
    Excuse me, have you been reading any of the news?? He started the fight

It doesn't say this in any of that article.
    which ended up with a man that ended up losing a tooth, needing stitches and a black eye. These are factual injuries.
    Not ones that have been made up,

It does say he lost a tooth but you seemed to have embleshied the story a little ...... Other sources i have read do say he needed stitches but again not knowing how these were caused or what happened surely commenting on such would be silly.
    there was pictures of the dance floor with the mans blood on it for **** sake.

This means what ?
    Witnesses said that Gerrard elbowed the man in the mouth and then Gerrards buddies got involved.

This again is missing from the article ?? The only account from someone at the scene in the article is this.
    John Watts, whose daughter Eve had been celebrating her 35th birthday at The Lounge Inn, said Gerrard appeared to be sober and in good spirits shortly before the alleged attack.

He said: "When Steven Gerrard found out it was my daughter's birthday he bought her a bottle of champagne. He seemed in very good spirits. He wasn't drunk at all. He and his party were in a separate room and I believe some of the people who were with him were footballers, though I couldn't name them."

Mr Watts, who left the venue 15 minutes before the alleged fight, added: "It was a really civilised occasion in a middle-class bar."

Opr

pvt.poker wrote:

i aint sure. like you, i dont know wat happened.

unlike you, i just wont use the opportunity to make biggoted, ridiculous comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,310 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

where you there in the pub?

How many times do you see fights break out when out in a night out? Lots

How many times do you hear about them in the news? Never unless persons involved is a) celeb b) footballer c) rich d) person died/ seriously injured

i aint sure. like you, i dont know wat happened.

unlike you, i just wont use the opportunity to make biggoted, ridiculous comments.

Hold on one second. You made plenty of biggoted,ridiculous statements about Ronaldo in that Ronaldo thread that you posted so often in :rolleyes:

Stop trying to derail this thread. It's for the discussion of facts. And we have facts regarding what Gerrard did.

1)we dont have any facts of wats happened.

2)i've never made any biggoted remarks about Ronaldo. i dont like the guy, thats quite different than being a biggot like you.

I bet no one starts a thread about this guy and if they did it wouldn't get many replies.

"Never mind the quality, feel the width" as the sitcom used to say.

1)we dont have any facts of wats happened.

Heres a fact for you. Gerrard has been charged with assault and affray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Cantona: 120 hrs community service nine month from FA and three months from Man U, most of which, IIRC, was off season. More a pamphlet than book.

Heres a fact for you. Gerrard has been charged with assault and affray.

a charge is "a claim of wrongdoing/an accusation".....it does not mean he has done anything.

if he bottled your man, fair enough he should be done, if he just got in a row in a bar and got arrested cause of who he is, meh tbh.

des got in a row in the czech inn on the boards soccer night out, bet he counts himself lucky that he didnt get "charged" :rolleyes:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I bet no one starts a thread about this guy and if they did it wouldn't get many replies.
    Yeah, I can't believe people are interested in talking about the Liverpool captain getting charged with assault. What next, discussions on who clubs might sign in January?

*shruggs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Good to see the most biased of United supporters, who incidently haven't posted here in months, are back stirring it up again. They have obviously given up on stirring it up for what happens on the pitch and switched their focus to the media circus surrounding an incident involving a star player.

The facts as we know them are that three lads have been charged in connection with a bar brawl, one of whom is the Liverpool captain.
    Another fella suffered facial injuries but not severe enough for him to be detained in hospital.
    All fairly bog standard stuff apart from the identity of one of those charged.
    And yet since yesterday morning the media coverage of the incident has gone well beyond saturation point, to the extent where the story is competing with the conflict between Israel and Hamas on national TV news.
    Now I know celebrity sells in this ****ed up culture of ours but surely the reaction to what remains a fairly mundane incident is totally disproportionate and has gone past the point where any reasonable person would consider it normal?
    So Steven Gerrard is a footballer. Fine, that means he will get more exposure than most if he steps out of line. We all understand and recognise that.
    But over the last couple of days it's been as if he has committed the most heinous of crimes when, in actual fact, we still don't know if he's done anything wrong.
    The incident involving him is even knocking murders down the news agenda.
    It's scary if you ask me. If this is the celeb-fuelled society that Hello and OK readers want then it's seriously ****ed up.
    And all this scaremongering **** about him possibly getting five years in jail shows just how much the barrel is now being scraped.
    The courts clearly have the power to impose that kind of sentence for the most severe cases of the particular offence Gerrard has been charged with but the fact that the apparent victim is at home minus a tooth and with a couple of cuts and bruises tells is this is hardly the crime of the century if it is indeed a crime at all.
    There have been bigger storms in smaller tea cups and the sooner this one blows over the better.

spot on as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

spot on as usual.

no he is not(and i say this as a pool fan).Celebs,in particular sports stars who have pictures in ok and hello magazines always gain media attention for wrong doing.
    This is not an attack on Gerrard or Merseyside by the press.The same situation occurs all over the world when players are involved in incidents.Check out the coverage from Kobe Bryants rape case,from Plaxico Burress's shooting himself and Arod fling with Madonna.

If englands most decorated team's captain and sometime England captain spends the night in jail its is expected in this news hungry age to dominate the headlines.
    Do people care as much about Palestine and Israel...possibly but its been happening for years and the Gerrard incident is new.

He may not have done it but it looks like he was involved and thats serious news.

Much as i usually agree with Tony Barrett on most things,he surely couldnt have expected this to not be reported in a sensationlist way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Hold on one second. You made plenty of biggoted,ridiculous statements about Ronaldo in that Ronaldo thread that you posted so often in :rolleyes:

Stop trying to derail this thread. It's for the discussion of facts. And we have facts regarding what Gerrard did.

Seriously, why don't you p!ss off over to the Villa or Spurs threads where you can snuggle up with their fans and tell them what great clubs they are and what great managers they have and how successful they will be and to never mind that evil Mr Alan who seems to be trolling all the time. You know, the way you were doing all summer. You're one of the biggest trolls around here, you thank blatant trolling posts and you make sh!te remarks like the above.
    "Stop trying to derail this thread.??" It's what you're trying to do
    "It's for the discussion of facts. And we have facts regarding what Gerrard did" No we don't have the facts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

When was the sun ever reliable?

I ran out of jacks roll once

raven136 wrote: »
    Much as i usually agree with Tony Barrett on most things,he surely couldnt have expected this to not be reported in a sensationlist way?

i'm sure he did expect it, but the level of coverage of got it has gotten at the expense of other stories is a bit of a suprise-in reality it was a little bar fight. was involved in one myself on stephens night :) i understand gerrard being famous means his will be in the papers & on the news, but to the extent that it is being covered? its ridiculous tbh.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

monkey9 wrote: »
    Seriously, why don't you p!ss off over to the Villa or Spurs threads where you can snuggle up with their fans and tell them what great clubs they are and what great managers they have and how successful they will be and to never mind that evil Mr Alan who seems to be trolling all the time. You know, the way you were doing all summer. You're one of the biggest trolls around here, you thank blatant trolling posts and you make sh!te remarks like the above.
    "Stop trying to derail this thread.??" It's what you're trying to do
    "It's for the discussion of facts. And we have facts regarding what Gerrard did" No we don't have the facts!

hey dont send him our way, were full :cool: