Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Group Training Sessions - Where & When

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Time: Tuesday 8th February 6.15pm
    Meet: Car park beside Athletics track
    Pace: each to their own
    Distance: 6 x 800m with approx 90 seconds rest. Warm up and cool down (5-6 miles total).

Confirmed:
    menoscemo
    Aimman

We are doing this one again tomorrow. Anyone else interested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

menoscemo wrote: »
    Time: Tuesday 8th February 6.15pm
    Meet: Car park beside Athletics track
    Pace: each to their own
    Distance: 6 x 800m with approx 90 seconds rest. Warm up and cool down (5-6 miles total).

Confirmed:
    menoscemo
    Aimman

We are doing this one again tomorrow. Anyone else interested?

Gonna give it a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Yeah, you can't map the whole thing out, and you'd get bored if it was the same route every time. But even the first few miles would be handy for people who arrive late, especially if those miles loop back past the car park.

(I've an ulterior motive of course - I'll probably be doing the group runs again in the summer, but I'll be running up there, maybe starting earlier, and it will probably be handier for me to meet people on the run rather than at a fixed time and place)

Gonna give it a shot.

Is that wise? First session back after an injury?

Second, gonna do a short run on the dreadmill at the gym tonight. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

RayCun wrote: »
    Yeah, you can't map the whole thing out, and you'd get bored if it was the same route every time. But even the first few miles would be handy for people who arrive late, especially if those miles loop back past the car park.

(I've an ulterior motive of course - I'll probably be doing the group runs again in the summer, but I'll be running up there, maybe starting earlier, and it will probably be handier for me to meet people on the run rather than at a fixed time and place)

I suspected as much.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭opus

mrslow wrote: »
    We waited for 5, sorry. There were 4 of us in the end, 3 in high vis jackets!

Might well have run past you in that case as I was only looking out for a big group. Thanks for waiting on :)

Might be a while before my w/end run is in the Phoenix Park again.

opus wrote: »
    Might well have run past you in that case as I was only looking out for a big group. Thanks for waiting on :)

Might be a while before my w/end run is in the Phoenix Park again.

Will catch you again.

opus wrote: »
    Oops I underestimated how long it would take me to get there from Ballybrack so arrived around 15 mins late :o

On a more positive note it was a great day for a run & really enjoyed going randomly around the park, not sure if I actually passed ye or not don't think I saw any big groups on my travels.

We headed off at about 11:10 went down the Kyber at first and looped back up the Glen Rd and back down Chesterfield Av. there were 6 of us initially, 5 fellas and 1 girl.
    We waited for 5, sorry. There were 4 of us in the end, 3 in high vis jackets!

Opus was out on saturday not sunday.
    keep with it Mr Slow :pac:

I'm not responding to you people anymore, there's always an issue:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭opus

We headed off at about 11:10 went down the Kyber at first and looped back up the Glen Rd and back down Chesterfield Av. there were 6 of us initially, 5 fellas and 1 girl.

Cheers for waiting a bit, apologies for delaying ye.

I had to look at the map of the park to figure out where those roads were and think I managed to go the exact opposite way, along Chesterfield Avenue to the edge of the park & then along the North Road as far as the zoo before turning back.

Time: Saturday 12th February, 10am
    Meet: Papal Cross car park
    Pace: 9-9:30 min/mile
    Distance: loooooooooong :pac:

Confirmed:
    RK
    menoscemo

Anyone else interested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Anyone else interested?

If anyone is up for some slow miles early on Sunday I'd be up for it... (Well I'll do my best to get out of bed anyway!)

Confirmed:
    RK
    menoscemo

Anyone else interested?

Pretty sure Claralara said she was up for 17 aswell

xebec wrote: »
    If anyone is up for some slow miles early on Sunday I'd be up for it... (Well I'll do my best to get out of bed anyway!)

I'll probably be up for a few slow miles @ 10am, then watch the end of the Cupids Dash 10k, then do a few more after (Mr Slow said he'd join in too after the race). I can meet you either at 10 ish near the zoo or from about 10:30 at the bottom of the Kyber (I think the race finishes up there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Confirmed:
    RK
    menoscemo

Maybe:
    Aimman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Cant make the 12th. You still up for the 19th. Howth to greystones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Pretty sure Claralara said she was up for 17 aswell

She did. Freak!

Distance: loooooooooong pacman.gif

Confirmed:
    RK
    menoscemo
    claralara

Maybe:
    Aimman

claralara wrote: »
    She did. Freak!

Wimp - go for 18, you've done 16 - man up already!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'll be doing a (hopefully) long run on Sunday in t'park. I'll say I'll be at the group run, not turn up then run by you all 40 minutes later! :pac: Will probably be with a friend or two though...

Mr Slow will get to achieve his lifelong goal of getting to run with me one day!

It's what I live for!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

It's what I live for!

I don't blame you. I'm pretty amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

I'll probably be up for a few slow miles @ 10am, then watch the end of the Cupids Dash 10k, then do a few more after (Mr Slow said he'd join in too after the race). I can meet you either at 10 ish near the zoo or from about 10:30 at the bottom of the Kyber (I think the race finishes up there).

10am at the entrance to the zoo sounds good, I'll drop you a text or message you on here on Sat to confirm - supposed to be having Valentine's food/drinks on Sat night...

I don't blame you. I'm pretty amazing.

I wouldn't know, you never show up! If I hadn't met you I might think you were an overweight couch potato named Derek!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

She did. Freak!

Confirmed:
    RK
    menoscemo
    claralara
    jcsmum (deffo not 18miles for me, probably 12ish)

Maybe:
    Aimman

RK, I can give you a lift over if you like.... but I'd probably be leaving earlier than you guys.

jcsmum wrote: »
    RK, I can give you a lift over if you like.... but I'd probably be leaving earlier than you guys.

No worries. I'll drop her back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Ok lads, I'm now out for Saturday :( Have a physio appointment at 10.30. Going to get new runners tonight and just do a few easy miles over the weekend. Planning a big 17mile comeback next weekend though if anyone's around. Enjoy. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Ok lads, I'm now out for Saturday :( Have a physio appointment at 10.30. Going to get new runners tonight and just do a few easy miles over the weekend. Planning a big 17mile comeback next weekend though if anyone's around. Enjoy. :)

Look after yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Confirmed:
    RK
    menoscemo
    claralara
    liamo123... mind if I join ye..

Maybe: