Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiking drinks

• 29-12-2008 11:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Here's a good topic (imo :)) and not been raised in ages
    Over in the legal forum some OP was claiming their drink was spiked which led them to do something stupid. Wasn't their fault of course.........

Does this go on? I've heard of three girls I know being claimed they were spiked and I've no reason to doubt them. And I remember the Student Union back in college putting stickers on unattended glasses to show what could be done.

But is there any verified cases in Ireland confirmed by medical professionals?
    Dunno, seems a lot of people who did regrettable things when drunk use the spiking claim.

"I poisoned myself with alchohol and did something stupid"
    versus
    "I was spiked and so I'm not repsonsble for the stupid actions last night"
    It comes up now and again in Personal Issues forum but I ain't seen it here

What say the hard-drinking posters of After Hours, is it rampant in Ireland or maybe almost a myth?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

As anti-drugs as I may come across here, I still believe most people just drink too much.*

*As sad as it is, I still have to point out that I'm talking about illegal drugs.
    Yes, we are all aware that caffiene is a drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Oh Mike you slydog, i see what you're doing here. You want people to tell you how it was done to them. Very clever. Dont worry, i wont give the game away ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I have gone off my rocker on Vodka twice and thought it was down to either taking drugs I could not remember or being spiked.

Being a bloke I discounted the spiked aspect and figured that nobody would be stupid enough to give me free drugs so therefore I must have drank a hell of a lot of alcy-hol.

I have heard of girls "claiming" to have been spiked but considering they were kicked ugly you hardly need to spike them, just say hello and your in. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

I'd imagine some people use it as an excuse for doing something that they regret when they've had too much to drink and others are genuinely drugged and raped. I don't know the actual ratio. I don't think anyone does. It's anybody's guess. Hardly even necessitates a thread.

my sis in law had her drink spiked, she was only on her second drink and collapsed in a night club and had to be rushed to hospital. It happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

My friend claims he had some spiked gin at a music festival when he got hospitalised along with the other jagermeister and vodka.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

I think two things happen

(1) They drink too much
    (2)They knowingly take drugs, end up in hospital, family around etc. ''oh I was spiked''

The two spiking drugs' (ghb and ecstasy) taste is so ridiculously prominent that you would taste it right away anyway so I simply dont buy it

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Happened my girlfriend about 2 months ago,dropped her off for a night out with her friends, went into a pub at 10pm, had half a glass, went to the bathroom, finsihed it, rang me a half hour later in a panic as she didnt know what was wrong with her, drove her home while she was half unconscious and she doesnt remember the drive or even ringing me, theres no possible way you could get that drunk in less than an hour, and her friends said she did think her vodka tasted funny, her friends stayed out and were being hassled all night by the guys sitting at a table behind them in the pub where they were first so it was obvious one of them had intentions of spiking their drinks and getting them home, she said she'd recognise them if they ever saw them again so god help them if I'm there at the time

I think two things happen

(1) They drink too much
    (2)They knowingly take drugs, end up in hospital, family around etc. ''oh I was spiked''

The two spiking drugs' (ghb and ecstasy) taste is so ridiculously prominent that you would taste it right away anyway so I simply dont buy it

well in this case it was the doctor who told us her drink had been spiked so figure that one out!
    I take drugs, so does my husband, my sis in law know this, she think we're knackers for doing so, she knows she could tell us if she took anything, but she didn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I was spiked a good few years ago out in Ice. I know being there i was probably asking for it. But i had been at the Wolfetones gig and went to Ice afterwards. I hadn't drank too much up to the point i realized something was up. It just made me drozy to a point i'd nearly fall unconscious and i ended up nearly choking on my on sick.

I'd say it still goes on all right but nearly not as much as it's down to too much drinking by people who can't handle it and use the aul "i was spiked" defense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

well in this case it was the doctor who told us her drink had been spiked so figure that one out!
    I take drugs, so does my husband, my sis in law know this, she think we're knackers for doing so, she knows she could tell us if she took anything, but she didn't.

I just did, she took something and got embarassed about it and said she was spiked.

Honestly its impossible not to taste ecstasy or ghb

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

why would someone give a stranger free drugs??people who do drugs are obviously going to keep them for themselves and their mates. apart from the odd date rape cases which im aware does happen, the majority imo are people needing an excuse to cover up the state they got themselves in.perhaps they cant believe theyve got themselves in that state of their own doing so they actually do believe they were spiked?

ive never had any mates claim they were spiked and if they did id tell them to shut up and cop on.you drank a load of vodka on top of a rake of pints, then did some shots and it hit ya like a tonne of bricks.end of story.ive done plenty of stupid things when drunk, woke up in places when i had no idea how i got there, and had nights where i dont remember a thing and a) i drank way too much or b) i actually did do drugs.simple as!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

As anti-drugs as I may come across here, I still believe most people just drink too much.
    Caffeine is a drug. It can make you jittery and lower your attention span. Sometimes this means I end up only reading half of someone's post.

to Rugby fanatic, since you think there are only two types of drugs by which you can be spiked:

Prescription drugs are frequently used including benzodiazepines, barbiturates, muscle relaxants and hypnotics-such as Serapax, Valium and Rohypnol. Rohypnol now has a reputation as being one of the most common prescription drugs used in drink spiking cases.

Illicit drugs such as Ecstacy, LSD, Fantasy, (also known as Liquid Ecstacy or GHB), Ketamine and other party drugs are known to be used. People appear high or revved up when they have been affected by a party drug. GHB is particularly nasty because it can cause serious breathing problems. People cannot sleep it off. They need to get medical assistance immediately.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

The only thing their drinks are "spiked" with is alcohol.......And it is "spiked" by themselves.

(Excepting all the stories above about people having one drink and collapsing. They are prob genuine.)

• Registered Users Posts: 961 ✭✭✭patrickSTARR

I just did, she took something and got embarassed about it and said she was spiked.

Honestly its impossible not to taste ecstasy or ghb

maybe she could of been spiked with something else???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

That night I slept with the entire rugby team and then slept with the entire opposing rugby team I was spiked.

Definitely.

Yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

It happened me in 1st year of college. I collapsed after my second drink and threw up everywhere. The bouncers apparently threw me out on the street. I cant remember very much. I had left my drink down as the bouncers didnt allow them to be taken onto the dancefloor. I learned my lesson, and was very ill all the following day. Seeing as it was my usual drink and I was feeling great, to keel over the way I did after 1 drink is quite suspicious. Thankfully my friends were looking out for me, and took me straight home after the bouncers left me outside.

Has anyone ever seen anyone try spike a drink???

im 24, and ive never seen anyone spike or attept to spike a drink, im sure it does happen but im sure there are even more people using the spiked excuse than the number of ppl genuinely spiked

nope - never saw anyone doing it. I have no doubt that there are a hell of a lot of people out there who just can't handle their drink and then blame someone else for their stupidity. Apart from the one case earlier, I have never heard of anyone else claiming their drink was spiked, thankfully.

id say lot of idots just blame it on being spiked wen in fact the have just got pissed on an empty stomach. or those who try drugs and are too ashamed to admit it and blame it on someone else!

and then there are those who it did actually happen to....

dot dot dot................rrrrr im living in suspense...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭Elem

As anti-drugs as I may come across here, I still believe most people just drink too much.*

I agree, I've been working in bars/nightclubs for the past 10 years and in only one case have I considered the person was telling the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 jinglebells

yea i do think people blame stupid mistakes on bein spiked when they hav just drank to much but i also know sum1 who got spiked and collapsed out side a ladies toilet in a nite-club :( but luckily she was ok-after couple days in bed :eek:

its just like ape, too many false claims make ya think everyone is faking, sad really

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Nightwish wrote: »
    It happened me in 1st year of college. I collapsed after my second drink and threw up everywhere. The bouncers apparently threw me out on the street. I cant remember very much. I had left my drink down as the bouncers didnt allow them to be taken onto the dancefloor. I learned my lesson, and was very ill all the following day. Seeing as it was my usual drink and I was feeling great, to keel over the way I did after 1 drink is quite suspicious. Thankfully my friends were looking out for me, and took me straight home after the bouncers left me outside.
    The guy who spiked you has the first name "Paul".

My sources told me this.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭pfishfood

There are a lot of people that do blame too much drink and doing stupid things on being spiked. But spiking in ireland does happen and mainly for malicious reasons. not just sex. A close friend of mine was spiked a few years back by another "friend" for no other reason than a laugh. A swift trip to A&E later and it was'nt a laughing matter.

like i love having a laugh wen drinking, i love dropping my pants on a danceflor (awh ankles) and i love waking up hugging traffic cone the next day(id rather m gf but hey) but how can u be a friend and spike ur mate, thats serious stupid, what i they died?

on a lighter note, a friend of mine thought it would be a great idea to spike his friends drink with Viagra, so of course, the lads decided it would be much more fun to do it to him instead, poor bugger had a stiffy til the following morning and couldn't get a girl for love nor money!

it was really awful, I would never condone that sort of thing :D