Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiking drinks

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

As someone who has experimented with quite a few drugs, it still surprises me sometimes the potency of alcohol. On a number of occasions, alcohol has made me go batsh*t crazier than anything I've taken.

That's not to say it doesn't happen but people need to stop thinking that just because alcohol is legal, it's perfectly fun to abuse and not think you'll find yourself in trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 961 ✭✭✭patrickSTARR

thats gas! so doing that to my mate! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

mikemac wrote: »
    What say the hard-drinking posters of After Hours, is it rampant in Ireland or maybe almost a myth?

My drink was definately spiked St. Stephens night coz after about 15 of them I got an uncontrollable urge to dance the night away with blatant disregard for how stupid I looked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I think two things happen

(1) They drink too much
    (2)They knowingly take drugs, end up in hospital, family around etc. ''oh I was spiked''

The two spiking drugs' (ghb and ecstasy) taste is so ridiculously prominent that you would taste it right away anyway so I simply dont buy it

So, do you reckon if a woman claims she's spiked and sexually assaulted she's probably lying?

What makes you think that spiking does not happen?

You know there are many more drugs that can be used other than the ones you listed, right? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

MizzLolly wrote: »
    So, do you reckon if a woman claims she's spiked and sexually assaulted she's probably lying?

You know there are many more drugs that can be used other than the ones you listed, right? :)

I just don't buy into this spiking I think its more a case of women can be plied with alcohol without their knowledge i.e a guy ordering a triple vodka and claiming its a single etc. see in a lot of cases women drink cocktails or mixtures so it could easily happen that after 1 or 2 drinks their ****faced if someone is putting copius amounts of alcohol into it be it a randomer or the barman

An expert was asked here what was the most common date rape drug, his reply? alcohol

Theres only ever been one confirmed case of a rhypnol spiking here I believe

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I just don't buy into this spiking I think its more a case of women can be plied with alcohol without their knowledge i.e a guy ordering a triple vodka and claiming its a single etc. see in a lot of cases women drink cocktails or mixtures so it could easily happen that after 1 or 2 drinks their ****faced if someone is putting copius amounts of alcohol into it be it a randomer or the barman

An expert was asked here what was the most common date rape drug, his reply? alcohol

Yes , but in your previous post , you stated that

The two spiking drugs' (ghb and ecstasy) taste is so ridiculously prominent that you would taste it right away anyway so I simply dont buy it.

http://alcoholism.about.com/od/date/a/rohypnol.htm

It is colourless , odorless and tasteless.
    How can you make such an assumption , without being sure of your facts?

One confirmed case , does not mean many more didn't go unreported.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

MizzLolly wrote: »

There have either been 2 reported cases of date rape which showed that people had been spiked or else there were none. I can't remember.

Either way, most cases of people reporting being spiked with drugs have just drank too much.

I see young people knocking back shots all the time and they really don't get that these shots will fúck them up.
    They seem to think of them as being as weak as beer, but just don't get how much alcohol they are putting in their bodies.

They go on to make complete idiots of themselves and refuse to face the fact that they drank more than they could handle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I feel sorry for the person that does get their drink spiked because so many people won't believe them.

It does happen that people get spiked with alcohol. Back when I drank spirits, I was on a night out and got into a rounds system. 2 rounds in and I was on the floor completely ****faced. I thought I was drinking single measures of vodka... In reality I'd had 2 triple vodkas as they thought it would be hillarious. Thankfully they admitted it and brought me home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

on a lighter note, a friend of mine thought it would be a great idea to spike his friends drink with Viagra, so of course, the lads decided it would be much more fun to do it to him instead, poor bugger had a stiffy til the following morning and couldn't get a girl for love nor money!
    His drink was spiked with a large blue pill which is poorly soluble and he doesn't notice?
    Bullsh1t

I feel sorry for the person that does get their drink spiked because so many people won't believe them.

It does happen that people get spiked with alcohol. Back when I drank spirits, I was on a night out and got into a rounds system. 2 rounds in and I was on the floor completely ****faced. I thought I was drinking single measures of vodka... In reality I'd had 2 triple vodkas as they thought it would be hillarious. Thankfully they admitted it and brought me home.
    That can be nasty too.

I've been guilty of buying doubles for people when they only asked for singles, but only because I was drunk and wanted them to be as drunk as me. It's twisted logic in both ways.

I've never done that for people who were not used to drinking though.

The main thing is though, there are lots of women wo report being raped when they were just drunk and they just mess up the system for women who actually have been raped and didn't just regret having sex with me some ugly dude when they wake up with a hangover.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭pfishfood

like i love having a laugh wen drinking, i love dropping my pants on a danceflor (awh ankles) and i love waking up hugging traffic cone the next day(id rather m gf but hey) but how can u be a friend and spike ur mate, thats serious stupid, what i they died?

Sigh read the post again. I meant "a friend" being sarcastic. As in someone who was considered at one point to be a friend but not any more. Good god man:mad:

Mikel wrote: »
    His drink was spiked with a large blue pill which is poorly soluble and he doesn't notice?
    Bullsh1t

yup, tis true, believe me or don't, I really couldn't give a sh*t!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Absolutely, a person can be spiked with alcohol. Your first post suggested that spikings happen because some women drink too much. If something is being put into their drink that will alter their ability to take care of themselves, do you really think it's fair to say;
    (1) They drink too much
    (2)They knowingly take drugs, end up in hospital, family around etc. ''oh I was spiked

There's a huge difference between a woman drinking herself senseless and a woman being tricked into consuming something she is not aware of in order to make her vulnerable.

Of course some people find themselves in horrible situations because they didn't know where to draw the line. That's a different issue altogether though I do agree with you in this regard.

To knowingly spike a person, be it with alcohol, LSD, rohypnol or whatever, is wrong. You're taking away their ability to respond to any situation they find themselves in and putting them in a vulnerable position in which they can not effectively communicate with you.

To suggest that these victims have simply taken a drug and freaked out in hospital is mind-boggling. I'm sure it has happened but why should that influence how a society reacts to a genuine allegation of date rape for example? I just found the original post by you to be a lil bit insensitive. Spiking does happen and if your ability to protect yourself has been intentionally broken down by another person without you knowing, I think it's terribly unfair to be accused of simply drinking to much or using it as a cover up for taking illegal drugs.

That kind of attitude, in my opinion, puts all responsibility on the victim even though his/her ability to respond has been altered.

I wonder has it anything to do with the sickening numbers of unreported rapes in the country.

Hardly surprising when these victims feel they must contend with accusations of simply ''drinking too much'' or having their ordeal somehow thrown back on them because they find themselves around people who..
    just don't buy into this spiking

No offence to you RugbyFanatic, I just took issue with your opinion on this matter. :)

I am just wondering if anyone can find me one case of confirmed spiking in Ireland? I am not saying it doesnt exist I am just wondering. I have heard of one just never seen the article thats all.

I think it is nowhere even close to being common and whilst it can happen I am sure in 99% of cases its alcohol not lsd/ecstasy/ghb/rhypnol etc.

There have been no sexual offences reported to the gardai in which the use of Rohypnol, a so-called 'date rape drug', has been detected, the Department of Health has said.

Rohypnol is a tranquilliser, which is 10 times more potent than Valium. A 2mg tablet will induce a sedative effect within 20-30 minutes and can last for up to eight hours. Its ability to bring about muscle relaxation and amnesia has reportedly resulted in the drug being implicated in a number of 'date rapes' in several countries.

While there have been reports of such incidences here, the Department has insisted that it 'has not been made aware that there has been an increase in the use of Rohypnol in date rape cases over the last two years'.

"The Garda authorities have informed the Minister for Justice that there have been no sexual offences reported to the gardai in which the use of Rohypnol has been detected", the Department said.

Rohypnol is only available in this country by prescription from a doctor. Unauthorised possession of it is an offence. In response to allegations that it can be used as a date rape drug, the manufacturers of the drug have added a coloured dye to its formulation, making it easier to detect if it is secretly administered to a person's drink.

"The Minister for Justice has been assured by the Garda authorities that they constantly monitor and analyse the incidence of drug misuse from the perspective of patterns and trends and they remain vigilant with regard to the use of this particular drug", the Department added.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

There have been no sexual offences reported to the gardai in which the use of Rohypnol, a so-called 'date rape drug', has been detected, the Department of Health has said.

Rohypnol is a tranquilliser, which is 10 times more potent than Valium. A 2mg tablet will induce a sedative effect within 20-30 minutes and can last for up to eight hours. Its ability to bring about muscle relaxation and amnesia has reportedly resulted in the drug being implicated in a number of 'date rapes' in several countries.

While there have been reports of such incidences here, the Department has insisted that it 'has not been made aware that there has been an increase in the use of Rohypnol in date rape cases over the last two years'.

"The Garda authorities have informed the Minister for Justice that there have been no sexual offences reported to the gardai in which the use of Rohypnol has been detected", the Department said.

Rohypnol is only available in this country by prescription from a doctor. Unauthorised possession of it is an offence. In response to allegations that it can be used as a date rape drug, the manufacturers of the drug have added a coloured dye to its formulation, making it easier to detect if it is secretly administered to a person's drink.

"The Minister for Justice has been assured by the Garda authorities that they constantly monitor and analyse the incidence of drug misuse from the perspective of patterns and trends and they remain vigilant with regard to the use of this particular drug", the Department added.

Em. Hang on. Were you the same person on page 1 that was asserting that E and GHB were the date rape drugs of choice and now you're an expert on rohypnol all of a sudden? It makes for much more interesting forums if you say what you know and not what you copy and paste from Wikipedia. :p

Indeed.

Rohypnol used to be easy to get.
    I know several people who used to take it.
    It used to come in two parts. One did something and the other did something else.

Anyway, if you seperated the two parts, then one would get you high.

Used to be called purple hearts.

Early 90's.

No I was merely using ecstasy and GHB because they are the ones you usually hear when people say they have been spiked.

Someone brought up rhypnol and I produced that article which isnt from wikipedia

• Registered Users Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

all i can say on this is that ive a friend who gets regularly off her face on drinks and god knows what else, then claims she was spiked when she does something regrettable.

that said, it does happen. i was away earlier this year and after two drinks (a glass of wine and a cosmopolitan in a later bar) i was suddenly in the bathroom feling very .. only way i can describe it is 'weird'.. throwing up then becoming really sleepy and not able to keep my eyes open. woke up the next day in my bed after my bf had got me home safe, with a really odd numb feeling in my legs. now i dont know what happened to this day but i can guarantee you it wasnt alcohol or something voluntary.
    so it happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

im not sure after a good few pints wud i be able to taste some of the drugs mentioned above in my drink..
    alot of estacy tastes like hairspray fair enuff, but crushed into powder then mixed about in a drink? Im not convinced

• Registered Users Posts: 22,289 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Could someone spike the txtspkrs in this thread? Please.

Not your ornery onager

The case of spiked drink I referred to earlier was not in Ireland, it was in Spain, and the doctors confirmed it and called the police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

A friend of mine said that her drink was spiked, she was in my house with only close friends. We all worked together, I rang an ambulance and her parents... Her parents weren't surprised as she had claimed this before, on a few ocasions, and the toxoligy report was clear. She simply drank too much, made a fool of herself and blamed it on everyone around her ;)

Rugbyfanatic, I have two cases of it. Another mate of mine got spiked on two seperate occasions. He was completely out of it. He went to the hospital both occasions, toxology report was positive for some drugs, I cannot remember which but traces of heroin was found in his system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Are there actually any verified cases of E being used in a date rape case? I just can't imagine how a drug that keeps you lucid could be used for such ends. As mentioned earlier, it's just alcohol being used in the vast majority of cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,918 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Heroin is used ecstasy sometimes, it's really quite horrific to take an e laced with it, there is a possibility that the guy above had taken e but had never taken a turn to it and therefore assumed his drink was spiked - backed up by the toxology reports. I agree though that I can't understand how E could be used as a date rape drug - however, not all peoples drink being spiked is about date rape I assume, then I also think that noone gives away free drugs "for the laugh" I know I wouldn't! so it's a tough one to call.

LOL do you know how many ridiculous amounts of heroin is needed for it to be effective orally?? You could not fit it in a pill and lacing it would be pointless.

Heroin in e is a complete myth. Pills cost a few cent to make, putting heroin in will firstly have no effect and will secondly push up production costs to a stupid degree it doesnt happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

In 1990 a group of us were drinking in a pub. Martin went to the toilet and picked one of the salts out of the urinals with tissue paper. It was a circular thing a little smaller than the newly issued pound coins. He popped it in Pat's new pint of Guinness when the latter wasn't looking.

Pat took a sip and gagged. He spat out a mouthful of Guinness along with the urinal salt.
    He was very angry. Martin admitted the prank but refused to buy Pat another pint as he hadn't the money.

I bought Pat a pint to calm him down. He refused to talk to Martin for the remainder of the evening and referred to him as 'scum' when other people joined our group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 nusername

mikemac wrote: »
    Here's a good topic (imo :)) and not been raised in ages
    Over in the legal forum some OP was claiming their drink was spiked which led them to do something stupid. Wasn't their fault of course.........
    I remember reading that thread & I thought it odd that someone who claimed she was spiked would have Benzo in her username, I reckon in this case the OP is into benzos & wasn't spiked at all.

nusername wrote: »
    I remember reading that thread & I thought it odd that someone who claimed she was spiked would have Benzo in her username, I reckon in this case the OP is into benzos & wasn't spiked at all.

any chance of you reading the whole thread? maybe reading the OP's last post explaining her username?