Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Businesses that have closed and opened in Carlow

• Registered Users Posts: 7,895 ✭✭✭patrickc

ShayK1 wrote: »
    Has anybody any info on the Theatre that's supposed to open in Spring this year?
    I just saw the sign when I walked passed the court house this evening. I think its part of St Pats college but I don't know.

st pats just donated the land thats all.it'll be later than spring its a wee bit behind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭aynon

they will also have the use of the facility when not in use by anyone else free o' charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭nagero

Regarding Ace Electronics, what the hell was that store? I looked inside one day and it was one of the least stocked shops I have ever seen.

Last time I looked in to that shop all they were selling were replica firearms. Just what we need easily available after the shootings recently. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

nagero wrote: »
    Last time I looked in to that shop all they were selling were replica firearms. Just what we need easily available after the shootings recently. :rolleyes:

They're airsoft guns.
    PRetty popular sport really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

SV wrote: »
    They're airsoft guns.
    PRetty popular sport really.

They are still replica firearms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

testicle wrote: »
    They are still replica firearms.

Yes I know that, my point was meant that it's not like they're just sold here or have only been selling recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭country_gurl

new shop opening in the fairgreen where sasha is, seems to have nice mens stuff in the window. jean international or something along those lines.

are there sparkle jeans?

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭country_gurl

with pink polka dots. right down ur street aynon. they'd suit u

oh gawd! im there!

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭HugoIrl

New 'phone doctor' shop opened at the lights on kennedy ave/st

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭nagero

There's a Paddy Power getting it's last coats of paint and shop-front opposite Reddy's on Tullow street.

oh god, not another fecking bookies! how many more will carlow take?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

great, another one!!

but how many are actually in carlow? and does any one here use them?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

I'm going to take a generous guess of 5 ? and no, I don't use them.

im going to count this later today, cos its getting flipping annoying. only use the maybe once a year, like putting a fiver on the grand national.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

The reason they all set up is because you are all the unemployed joes now spending their last few shillings trying to become overnight millionaires. Sad state of affairs in my opinion. Detest the establishments myself as well as casino's.But sure as long as there are people who are willing to waste their lives betting on their horse to come in and rid them of depression there will be bookie offices. Is there no regulating authority that decides how many is enough in a town?

nope. all that they care is that they are creating a small amount of employment(like 5 or below), and have another business they can tax.

Which is the times that we are in you can kind of see where they are coming from but there are also a lot of ethical issues that come along with this. These establishments in the more severe of cases can cause gambling addictions and tremendous heartache to families. There should be some regulation on these. Any business seems to be accepted nowadays in town, you see so many bookie offices and casino's now that are only after springing up. Anyway i don't want to detract from the subject at hand and derail the thread so i'll just say.

Yeay to the new employment, BOOOOOO to gambling!

BTW i would like praise a certain thing that doesn't usually get praise.

the chiropractor down besides Leos, couldnt really walk with the pain in my back i picked up in work, one session with Michael Mahony M. Chiro and its down to a dull ache, back with him again today!

thanks mick!

aynon

stick-dan wrote: »
    Which is the times that we are in you can kind of see where they are coming from but there are also a lot of ethical issues that come along with this. These establishments in the more severe of cases can cause gambling addictions and tremendous heartache to families. There should be some regulation on these. Any business seems to be accepted nowadays in town, you see so many bookie offices and casino's now that are only after springing up. Anyway i don't want to detract from the subject at hand and derail the thread so i'll just say.

here here!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,944 ✭✭✭✭Villain

stick-dan wrote: »

Good point, but how many pubs do we have in Carlow?

Villain wrote: »
    Good point, but how many pubs do we have in Carlow?

Too many to be honest. And at the point you are making with that comment i would totally agree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Atlantis Casino

Hi

paul from Atlantis casino here.
    Dan, can you please take a look at posts 99-104.

We are the only casino in Carlow and a casino is a lot different to a bookies office in regards to employment.

A bookies will have in the region of 6 staff, we currently employin the region of 30, The money these staff earn is circulated in the town via rent, restaurants, shops etc etc

The casino is more on the carlow social scene than sheer gambling.

We have strict policies in place to ensure the wellbeing of our patrons ( like our self exclusion policy )

also there is strict monitoring by management to make sure no individual getting in above there heads, for example we do not have a credit card facilities.

If anyone has any private questions please pm me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Im surprised at another Paddy Powers opening. I would have thought that most bookies would be closing / consolidating their store count these days.

Regarding casinos, there certainly is a lot of them around the county. I have heard of some of them being make shift casinos where Im sure people do get themselves into trouble.

Having a respectable casino is no bad thing, it adds variety to Carlow, and the number of people it can attract means there is certainly a need for it in Carlow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

Spot on Paul.

Whatever about bookies, but I think you'll find that the Casino was established on the back of the poker boom a few years ago, it didn't just swoop in to exploit the unemployed masses. Playing poker is a completely different kettle of fish to backing horses, football etc. Its an enjoyable game, even when you do lose you don't mind so much because you had good craic and then when you win sure its brilliant altogether.
    The casino is an attraction and like Paul said before it can/does attract crowds for tournaments which can only be good for the locality. Tarring them with the same brush as a bookies opening up in the midst of a recession is more than harsh tbh.

Sorry for going OT but "BOOO to gambling" my ar$e, people are more than capable of looking after themselves

gambling can become alot like alcohol, for the most part, people can look after themselves, but there is a few people out there that can get in over their heads, and no offense to the club/casino owners, they want to make their money, and alot of the time allow it to continue.
    the same with pubs, people getting served alcohol many pints after the last one should of been served. but thats not to say there are one or two pubs that do stop when they should like casinos. but personally i have no time for gambling, esppecially the "quick buck" brigade. dont mind having one game of poker with my mates once a month, but ppl who are gambling every night are getting in over their heads and not knowing it.

Hi

paul from Atlantis casino here.
    Dan, can you please take a look at posts 99-104.
    i, personally see nothing wrong with those posts, dan would of told us at the time if there was anything wrong. we are entitled to our opinions.
    We are the only casino in Carlow and a casino is a lot different to a bookies office in regards to employment.

what about the casino on tullow street, the one beside the road house? think there is 2 or 3 more cant think of anymore off teh top of my head.
    The casino is more on the carlow social scene than sheer gambling.
    no doubt, but there is a group of people who include these together(gamblers anonymous.)
    We have strict policies in place to ensure the wellbeing of our patrons ( like our self exclusion policy )

also there is strict monitoring by management to make sure no individual getting in above there heads, for example we do not have a credit card facilities.

If anyone has any private questions please pm me.

in reality,can i see this in action at some point?

Hi paul, i have reread the posts aas you requested and i don't seem to see anything wrong with them, if you would like pat to take a look at them aswell by all means do, but it isn't an attack on your specific casino, just casino's in general. But by all means as i said myself, ask pat to have a look.

Also with regard to my post, i do apologise if it seems like i am attacking you and at the end of the day i know you are only trying to earn a living but I have experience with friends getting over their heads in such establishments and they didn't have the benefit of staff telling them when to stop. Can i ask you if a man raids his family savings and brings in cash leaving his family broken, how can you regulate if he is over his head.

*( pat this is no doubt gonna head off topic so act appropriately and treat me as a poster in this one.)