Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

Integra type r - how to tell if it is not a replica?

Options
  • 31-12-2008 2:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,630 ✭✭✭

I was looking to maybe buy an integra type-r and was just wondering, how can you tell the difference between the replica's and originals by looking (im looking at getting a DC2)?
    Excuse the ignorance, but Im new to Hondas, last car was an mr2.

Also is there anything to look out for on type-r's that go wrong with them?

Are they a reliable car?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭p-nut

Firstly the colour, type r's are a different shade of white called championship white. next up does it have disc brakes all round. then check the wheels, i think only type r's had 5 stud wheels whereas sir's and dc1's only have 4 stud. check the engine code, if its a type r the engine should have b18c5 printed on it. also the black dashboard, type r steering wheel, red recaros, red carpet and rear seats all indicate if its a type r or not.

very little to go wrong specifically on a type r, make sure it engages vtec properly and doesnt burn oil when doing so. wipe the back bumper above the exhaust before driving, take it out for a spin and let it warm up fully, then drive it hard up into vtec and look in your rear view to see does it send black smoke out. then wipe over the back bumper again to see if theres any oil recently spat out.