Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Soccer Forum vs. Poker Forum

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

Are there beers after this?

where we heading after game any suggestions

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

villains77 wrote: »
    Are there beers after this?

where we heading after game any suggestions

no idea where but beers have been mooted.

Not gonna drink until then though see if I can't throw a stone off get a little sharper

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Possibly anywhere within crawling distance from the pitch..:pac:

grand so looking forward to it allready. will this be a regular thing or jsut a one off. as blackbelt was try get the gaa forum to play the soccer forum and it fell through. i think it a great idea to play games get to know the other forum users
    what do the rest think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

The woolshed does picthers, cocktails and semi edible food and also has the nfl playoffs on at 8 that night.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

as blackbelt was try get the gaa forum to play the soccer forum and it fell through. i think it a great idea to play games get to know the other forum users
    what do the rest think.

It would be great to one day have a boards tournament,run it of in a day or so.

Dub13 wrote: »

I was thinking about a blitz - 5/6 a side thing because nearly every forum could through together a team - maybe make it a charity event in boards name?

mayordenis wrote: »
    I was thinking about a blitz - 5/6 a side thing because nearly every forum could through together a team - maybe make it a charity event in boards name?

thats a great idea id be well up for that

Yea they can be good,I run one once a year around April/May.

thats a great idea id be well up for that

Twould be class actually might start seeing if something can be thrown together in the summer especially I reckon if it's in a decent location in dublin you can have a decent turn out of people just going to meet people from the different boards, and throwing a few quid into the charity pot to have a laugh for a a day.

great count me in

Twould be class actually might start seeing if something can be thrown together in the summer especially I reckon if it's in a decent location in dublin you can have a decent turn out of people just going to meet people from the different boards, and throwing a few quid into the charity pot to have a laugh for a a day.

Here is a link to a thread on the one I did last year,you may get a few ideas from it we had a Boards team take part.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055248472

What I'd be looking at right now is quite simplistic but essentially

16 teams

4 groups of 4

team a b c d - play eachother once - 12 minute a half so each match is 24 minutes meaning including all the ****ing around would hopefully be an even 30 per game

a v b
    c v d
    a v c
    b v d
    a v d
    b v c

3 hours if we have 4 pitches

top 2 from each go trough

leaving 8 teams

if there are 4 pitches each round will take 30 mins again

Quarters 30
    semi 30
    final 1hr

5 hours

if we got 4 pitches at 35 an hour that would be 140 per hour = 700 for 5 hours

should be able to get something off of that

team could have squad of 10 if it is 6 a side each squad donated 100 that's 1600 not yet counting a penny made trough any donations.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I'd definitly sign up for this. Last time i played a proper game was last October for the thumped.com tournament (go on Sporting Hangovers!!) and it was great fun. Had a few problems getting a large amount of people, though i'd say there'd be plently of people on boards that would be up for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Hi guys, who wants to meet me in the city center on Sunday?
    I dont fancy travelling out (and most likely getting lost) on me own!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I'd definitely be up for the next 5-aside. No interest in this due to lack of fitness atm and the fact I haven't played 11 a side since I was about 13. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Trippie wrote: »
    The woolshed does picthers, cocktails and semi edible food and also has the nfl playoffs on at 8 that night.

Big point for me!

Definitely up for thagt!

Yea they can be good,I run one once a year around April/May.

Cont me in!

count me in anyway. what charities do you have in mind. for it. i will have a chat with blackbelt and see if he be up for it. it be a great idea and great way of meeting other forum users

Came through training without feeling a twinge so fully fit for Sunday :D

was in the gym last night no stiffness either. raring to go.have a spare ball if need be or size 7.5 astro boots if anyone needs a pair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Frisbee wrote: »
    Came through training without feeling a twinge so fully fit for Sunday :D

I'm heading up to see the aul fella tomorrow get his referee kit off him, and of course his cards :)

then i've to go and collect the kit of course

count me in anyway. what charities do you have in mind. for it. i will have a chat with blackbelt and see if he be up for it. it be a great idea and great way of meeting other forum users

bring the ball anyway.

Des wrote: »
    then i've to go and collect the kit of course

Much appreciated man

was in the gym last night no stiffness either. raring to go.have a spare ball if need be or size 7.5 astro boots if anyone needs a pair?

Bring the ball. We're better off having a few

grand so ball is packed. raring to go now. Am i the only villa fan on the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

grand so ball is packed. raring to go now. Am i the only villa fan on the team

There's a villa fan on the other team (well the bench of the other team).

cool

anyone have any idea about that lads on the poker team,
    I'm dying to turn up and everyone including myself to be a heap of ****, and for all this to be like a 14-15 terrible defence game :P

cool is that the poker team

No its the Golf team.
    It's a three way match. Didn't I tell you?

No its the Golf team.

all news to me

No its the Golf team.

You could use having an extra 11 on the pitch. Might give ye a chance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Poker team have already played two matches in the last two months so that will probably stand to us. We wont be terrible but there's no Ashley Young's amongst us.

so 3 matchs at 30 a game ?

iam lost now whos team am i on

You could use having an extra 11 on the pitch. Might give ye a chance...

And the inter thread smack talk begins

The losing one.

the soccer forum are playing the poker forum.

the golf forum are playing the winners

Your on the soccer team.
    I hope you don't get confused this easily on the pitch...

The losing one.

ye we see you on the pitch lol

Your on the soccer team.
    I hope you don't get confused this easily on the pitch...

didnt know there be 3 matchs no dont worry i wont be confused will you lol

/MASSIVE FACEPALM

ye we see you on the pitch lol

If you make it that far:D

Villains77 "Are these my boots?"

Frisbee "(Ah for f...) Yes Villain, they are, tie them up there like a good lad"

Villain77 "The rabbit goes round the corner and down the hole...."

Frisbee "Sweet Jesus..."

is there many meeting in town before the games

Frisbee "(Ah for f...) Yes Villain, they are, tie them up there like a good lad"

Frisbee "Sweet Jesus..."

stop slagging the soccer players, or you'll be seeing the fresh side of a red card pronto

Frisbee "Sweet Jesus..."
    jesus

fresh aside of my studs down the leg aswell des lol

Des wrote: »
    stop slagging the soccer players, or you'll be seeing the fresh side of a red card pronto

Sorry ref.... I'll try and make sure this doesn't happen;)

referee.gif

But then you'd have a red card too....

Ref!!!! Surely a booking at the very least!!!!

I swear to **** 1 high useless ball and I'm walking off the pitch, ball on ground :pac: