Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

difference between trance, thecno, hard house..

• 01-01-2009 8:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭

difference between trance, thecno, hard house and any others im forgetting, can somebody please put up a youtube link of examples of the dance styles above? or what djs are famous for what style?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,931 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Could be here all night... taking an extremely simplistic and commercial view on this:

Trance = 130-140bpm, European in origin, famous DJs would include Armin van Buuren, Paul van Dyk, Tiesto

Hard house = 160-180bpm, US in origin but probably biggest in the UK, famous DJs would include Tony de Vit (who's dead), Lisa Lashes, Tidy Boys

Techno = 120-140bpm, also US in origin, name is used as a catch-all for almost anything these days (in the US, some people refer to any electronic dance as 'techno', for instance). Carl Cox, Darren Emerson, CJ Bolland would be big names here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNqT3yLZ9aw = Paul van Dyk - For An Angel, an early and definitive trance track

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9cpL3_fGoA = Tony de Vit - Burning Up, hard house

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_a3vA3SEAE = A random Carl Cox track, as I really know very little about what is and isn't big in techno...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

MYOB wrote: »
    Hard house = 160-180bpm, US in origin but probably biggest in the UK, famous DJs would include Tony de Vit (who's dead), Lisa Lashes, Tidy Boys
    Hard house can be anywhere between 130ish and 160, and is most definitely not of American origin. I like the hard end of the genre (Grady G, Narc etc) and I have yet to see a tune that's over 160.
    The Tidy Boys and Lisa Lashes are also terrible examples, they're more hard trance than hard house.
    Ben Stevens, Andy Farley, Justin Bourne, Karim, Paul Glazby and our own Karl Davis are more fitting examples of hard house/hard nrg djs

I know that you said you were taking a simplistic commercialised view on it, but I wish people would look beyond the ****e that Lashes et al play, and discover the true side of HH.

Andy Farley's fantastic trade memories mixes are a good starting point for anybody interested in the history of HH;
    http://www.dontstayin.com/chat/k-2579165

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭PhiliousPhogg

Yuppies listen to trance.

Knackkers listen to hard house.

Punks listen to techno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Punks listen to techno.

and hairdressers listen to funky house :rolleyes::rolleyes: my jaysus what the fcuk is it with people today generalising someone because of whatever genre they listen to..get a life ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

Punks listen to techno.

im a punk & a knacker :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

jonny68 wrote: »
    and hairdressers listen to funky house :rolleyes::rolleyes: my jaysus what the fcuk is it with people today generalising someone because of whatever genre they listen to..get a life ffs.

In fairness he might have been and in all probability was, taking the piss Jonny.

Everybody on this board needs to lighten up a fair bit..... :pac:

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Giles wrote: »

Everybody on this board needs to lighten up a fair bit..... :pac:

What are ya saying... Do ya mean me????

What are ya looking at? Bleedin batter ya. :pac:

I am also a punk knacker... a punk-ass knacker. Oh but given that I also like IDM, I am in fact an intelligent punk-ass knacker, from Coolock I might add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

MYOB wrote: »
    Could be here all night... taking an extremely simplistic and commercial view on this:

Trance = 130-140bpm, European in origin, famous DJs would include Armin van Buuren, Paul van Dyk, Tiesto

Techno = 120-140bpm, also US in origin, name is used as a catch-all for almost anything these days (in the US, some people refer to any electronic dance as 'techno', for instance). Carl Cox, Darren Emerson, CJ Bolland would be big names here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNqT3yLZ9aw = Paul van Dyk - For An Angel, an early and definitive trance track

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9cpL3_fGoA = Tony de Vit - Burning Up, hard house

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_a3vA3SEAE = A random Carl Cox track, as I really know very little about what is and isn't big in techno...
    Carl Cox would be progressive house, along with Digweed, James Holden etc.

For techno, just youtube the likes of Richie Hawtin, Jeff Mills, Dubfire, Carl Craig etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭pallepille

haha funny stuff people, hard house i believe actually originated from the underground gay scene in england until it grew confidence in itself and came out and has morphed into what is now readily available these days. Honeypot/Mohawk/Tidy/Viscous Circle would be classed as hard house labels if my memory serves me correctly....................................................Techno is a minefield really what sort do ya want, it ranges from the deep floaty lovelyness of carl craig stylee detroitness to the organised insanity of the likes of marco remus style nosebleed inducing brilliance.........................Trance - yea trance, did u know TIESTO is now an actual genre of music.......that is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Very hard question and hard to explain,especially if its to someone who isnt into dance music,you know just by hearing it,but its not made any easier by all the sub genres of Trance,house and techno,Hard House would be a sub genre of house and there are a million forms of Trance and Techno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

pallepille wrote: »
    haha funny stuff people, hard house i believe actually originated from the underground gay scene in england until it grew confidence in itself and came out and has morphed into what is now readily available these days. Honeypot/Mohawk/Tidy/Viscous Circle would be classed as hard house labels if my memory serves me correctly....................................................Techno is a minefield really what sort do ya want, it ranges from the deep floaty lovelyness of carl craig stylee detroitness to the organised insanity of the likes of marco remus style nosebleed inducing brilliance.........................Trance - yea trance, did u know TIESTO is now an actual genre of music.......that is all
    Hardhouse did emerge from the manchester gay scene, Tony De Vit was the original hardhouse DJ.

A Genre called Tiesto? Your not for real are ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭pallepille

Hardhouse did emerge from the manchester gay scene, Tony De Vit was the original hardhouse DJ.

A Genre called Tiesto? Your not for real are ya?

haha well not really but its like this (personally im not trance's biggest fan but not being a musical snob i just find it funny) There are a whole generation of people (well nearly) who do not know what trance is at all...............It sorta goes like - What type of music do you listen to/are you into - - - - Tiesto - - - - thats it, no other response, good luck...... ive actually heard it being said. Sorry for goin a bit off the mark but basically my point was that these days some parts trance is called TIESTO

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭A_Fitz

jono,b wrote: »
    difference between trance, thecno, hard house and any others im forgetting, can somebody please put up a youtube link of examples of the dance styles above? or what djs are famous for what style?

thanks

Hard House is for tracksuit-ed knackers, trance is for pilled-up ejits and hippies, house is for gays, and techno is for elitist cocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

A_Fitz wrote: »
    Hard House is for tracksuit-ed knackers, trance is for pilled-up ejits and hippies, house is for gays, and techno is for elitist cocks

spot on.
    I am a proud techno fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

A_Fitz wrote: »

I'd rather be a pilled up eejit than a pretentious cock any day of the week kiddo...

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭A_Fitz

DarkJager wrote: »
    I'd rather be a pilled up eejit than a pretentious cock any day of the week kiddo...

LOL 'Kiddo', you shouldn't take everything so seriously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Trance and Hard House wasn't always bad you know.

Classic Trance
    Blue Alphabet - Cybertrance

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qoCL6QSAxxQ

Classic Hard House
    Tony De Vit- Are You All Ready

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYJhCK3ShBo