Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Q&A with BIGMICKG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭BIGMICKG

good read, no questions other than what have been asked already.

Just a story from our brief play together - I rem playing a hand with you one night in the SE and we were sitting sitting side by side, both of us had been playing really really tight, I was playing tight waiting for the blinds to go up and antes to come in and I assumed you were doing the same also so you could start nipping.

Anway, limp from LP, you raised the button, and I shoved the SB. You went into the tank for a few mins and finally folded after mumbling 'jaysus - you must have a hand, ive not played one for 30 mins and i know u recognise this so you can only be reshoving with the goods' - lol, i had a bag of spanners obviously. :) There wasnt another player in the tournament who if they had played that tight for that long that I would have reshoved against - take this as an indication of how highly I rate and respect your game.

Your a great guy and you carry your success in poker very very well, its always a pleasure to play with you and meet you. Like you, I also hope you get a big score in one of your 3 key events this year.

cheers noel really appreciate that.
    ye i remember the hand ur on about altough i didnt think i was the button. though i was mp. i remeber thinking at the time my 1st thought was u were making a play on me then i thought would he really cos ive been so tight, u must have given me a very small range. and there were still players to act. but u obv did so welldone sir. ill put that in the notebook and seek revenge next time we play ;)

bops wrote: »
    howdy mick!

great playa, super achievement, i've spent a week trying to think of worthwhile questions:

1) have you learned yet that when you raise from EP on the bubble of a live tourney and the best player in the world ships that you should fold KK??

2) when you (continously) suck out against me on stars, do you think to yourself: a) LOL im a sick luckbox,
    b) wow ul, that guy totally owned me, i wish i was that good, or
    c) both a and b

3) what's your dog's name??

cya at the tables :)

1. lol sorry bout that 1 bops felt bad calling

2. defnitly b ;)

3.my dogs name is snoop i have him since hes 6 weeks old hell be 8 next month ive used him as my avatar on stars since ive started playing there and have no plans of changing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭aya14

Dunno if you already spotted this but your famous on 2+2.

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/36/stt-strategy/114-kk-vs-bigmick-380254/index3.html

Just one question how did u deal with those days when you didn't want to play but knew you had to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭brady23

hey mick im just wondering how much would u suggest depositing on stars wit da idea of doing it full time i lik sit n go's also so wat buy in did u start off in?????

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭fatguy

Are you MickG160 on iPoker? If so, see you at the APT sat tonight. I'm AndyFB.

aya14 wrote: »
    Dunno if you already spotted this but your famous on 2+2.

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/36/stt-strategy/114-kk-vs-bigmick-380254/index3.html

Just one question how did u deal with those days when you didn't want to play but knew you had to?

lol at the famous on 2+2. i dont read it tbh

same way as every hungover person getting out of bed on a monday morning having to go to work that day feels. obv u dont want 2 but u have 2. poker is actually much worse imo because u dont actually have 2 u can just laze around all day and make no money if u want. important to set urself goals etc. to keep urself motivated. going for elite was great for me in this way

• Registered Users Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Nice read Mick.
    1. The rakeback you would have gotten on some sites from raking 200k could have been as high as 100k. How do you think stars FPP & reaching supernova elite competes with this?
    2. Are you going to save all your fpps and get a car from stars?
    3. When you were moving up levels in STT's what sort of BR mgt did you keep 20bi, 50bi? Also when you started playing 12-16 tables what sort of BR mgt would you recommend?

Nice read Mick.
    1. The rakeback you would have gotten on some sites from raking 200k could have been as high as 100k. How do you think stars FPP & reaching supernova elite competes with this?
    2. Are you going to save all your fpps and get a car from stars?
    3. When you were moving up levels in STT's what sort of BR mgt did you keep 20bi, 50bi? Also when you started playing 12-16 tables what sort of BR mgt would you recommend?

answered all these already man but elite worked out as getting $120k of the $200k back (including the $40k worth of tourney packages)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,269 ✭✭✭DubTony

Just saw this. Congrats on last year Mick and continued success in 09. I have no questions that haven't already been answered except, who's pic is in your Hendon Mob profile and did you have it in that 2+2 HH ? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭rx8

Well done Mick on finally getting to "Elite",and for doing the Q'n'A.
    A very enjoyable read it was too...

No doubt we'll see you at the tables soon.

Best of luck for 2009.

Just one question.......What's the best place for a pint near Old Trafford on Sunday? :D:D

See you soon,

Martin and Colette.

rx8 wrote: »
    A very enjoyable read it was too...

No doubt we'll see you at the tables soon.

Best of luck for 2009.

Just one question.......What's the best place for a pint near Old Trafford on Sunday? :D:D

See you soon,

Martin and Colette.

cheers martin, the trafford inn or bishops blaze are ur best bet, both are 2 mins from old trafford and great craic! :) have a good1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

When you getting the porsche mick?

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

rx8 wrote: »

See you soon,

Martin and Colette.

The Trafford bar is lively but usually rammers, you could try Here for cheap beer and very kid friendly.
    Enjoy the game:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Dirk_Diggler

Sorry to drag this up but found it to be a very interesting read. How exactly are fpps and rakeback the same? Excuse my ignorance.

well there not exactly the same obv but are very similar. fpps is a fairly complicated system tbh so its hard to work out what exact % rb ur getting. u earn 5 points for each $1 paid in rake. (without any multiplier) the best rate they can be cashed in at is $4k for 250k fpps which works out as each point bein worth 1.6 cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

Hey Mick,

Great time in Galway with you. Just a few questions.

1) Why did you start on Stars? Obv supernova has tremendous benefits but surely the Irish based ipoker skins would of been better for someone like you working up the levels?

2) Does it genuinely upset you that you aren't considered one of irelands "best" players because these so called players look down on rb grinders? If so do you try extra hard to prove yourself at the live mtts?

3) what was your buyin rule? eg. 10 buy in rule before moving up levels?

4) what is the biggest mistake you see people making in sngs?

5) how important is the bubble and how do you play it?

Thanks and well done.

Rory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

BIGMICKG wrote: »
    i totally understand what ur saying here. but tbh im not really bothered what people think of me as a poker player. to me playing online is about making as much money as i possibly can and not about trying to impress people into thinking im an excellent poker player. in a way i agree with u, it is more impressive to destroy high stakes cash games. any1 who does this is prob twice the poker player ill ever be. u say what i do isnt very inspiring maybe it isnt. but like i said its about making as much money as i can. dont care how i do it. i did grind a $50 bankroll into 6 figures within a couple of years without any big wins i think alot of up and coming players may find this inspiring. ok so $100-$200k a year isnt a sick amount of money but taxfree for someone with basiaclly no education i think its ok

If everyone on here answered questions like that, the world would be a better place!:D

congrats on your success, really good read,
    glad to see you were a roofer because when i think up some questions as to what im doing wrong in SnG's the old skills may come in handy when fixing my leaks:o;) (ooh no he didnt:o)

few to get you started:p
    1. Ive the concetration of an idiot, any tips on getting the head down and stuck in to sng's?
    2. Really good at maths as a nipper and planned to base my game on this, any tips on calculating the odds, playing the odds etc with regard to SnG's
    If the pot is paying you do you call/shove even if early, or do you wait for a better spot(case dependant?)

3. someone said you play different to the standard way of playing SnG's
    standard being tight early and open up, are you fairly aggressive from the off?

4.Single table Sn'g's V's 2-3 table Sn'Gs on stars
    did you start on the single tables or the 2-3 table ones?

err Good work fella!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

1. After 10 weeks in the well, do you not regret pulling out your ribs earlier so you could start working on some kind of crude ladder?
    2. Why hasn't anyone reported you missing?

howya rory. ye great craic in galway from what i can remember. i think u were 1 of a few shown the exit back in the eglinton that night lol, so didnt see u there

1. i didnt start on stars i started for real money on pacific poker in feb 06. made 20k by the end of the year there. (wuhoo) :) and moved to stars in jan 07 for the traffic mainly as i was playing $50 and $100 non turbos at that stage

2. i wouldnt say it upsets me but it would be nice to be recognised as a great player obv. i feel i have a very strong live mtt game and hope to prove this over the coming year. i can understand why people wouldnt have a lot of respect for me. like i make so much of rakeback bonuses etc. they just see me as a fairly average breakeven player. i could have an excellent sharkscope if i wanted by playing different games lower volume etc. but i think what im doing at the mo is maximising my winrate. like i said b4 making money is much more important to me than what other players think of my game

3.i started at $5 sngs woulda started lower but the $2 sngs had a 50c reg (same as $5 ones) handy little formula i used to use was move up levels when i had 30 buy ins for the next level and drop back down if i went below 20. very easy to follow but effective imo

4.playing too loose in the early stages. i know people have different playing styles but playing loose in the early stages of a sng just doesnt work. theres not 1 big sng player i know who plays loose early on

5.bubble is very important obv. i try to be very aggresive on the bubble as people just dont like calling off on the bubble unless theyve a monster. i think over the past year or so peoples bubble play has improved a lot because theres so much focus on it, training sites, icm calcs etc.

Only played 4 tables last night but got stung on the bubble in 2 of them :(

One table was this: Blinds were 150/300, I was UTG with about 2500. I had AKo so it was an easy shove. Next guy with about 3500-4000 calls with K9o. River was a 9. Have no idea why he called really.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Check your pm's mick.

Not sure why I got some thanks there? :D

hey mick i'm reinvesting on pokerstars this coming monday or tuesday as an Sng specialist not quite multitabling as many as you but gonna try play 6 to 8 per time ive done quite well in the past but have gone on tilt and tried moving up the stakes too quick im starting playing 27 dollar turbos how much would you suggest investing to play this level comfortably???????

Thanks man

about $1k should do to be comfortable.
    30+ buy in downswings are inevitable multi tabling turbo sngs

thanks man i appreciate the advice i have about 2000e to invest but ive been playin mainly cash lately so i think the turbo sngs will take a bit of time to adjust to just discipline and such so i think i will try invest about 1800- 2100 dollars so i can take a shot at 38 dollar sngs as soon as possible and move up my vip level the highest i have reached in the past was gold star really hoping to reach platinnum by xmas and then start on the road to supernova

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 bpricey

BIGMICKG wrote: »
    i totally understand what ur saying here. but tbh im not really bothered what people think of me as a poker player. to me playing online is about making as much money as i possibly can and not about trying to impress people into thinking im an excellent poker player. in a way i agree with u, it is more impressive to destroy high stakes cash games. any1 who does this is prob twice the poker player ill ever be. u say what i do isnt very inspiring maybe it isnt. but like i said its about making as much money as i can. dont care how i do it. i did grind a $50 bankroll into 6 figures within a couple of years without any big wins i think alot of up and coming players may find this inspiring. ok so $100-$200k a year isnt a sick amount of money but taxfree for someone with basiaclly no education i think its ok

i'm inspired!! i wish i could grind up with that sicess,
    congrats mick on you r achievements

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭IrishKestrel

Mick,

An inspiring read - fair play to you!

I'm relatively new to Boards, so I missed this first time round. I have to say, you are an exceptional ambassador for PS and their VIP Programme and make very compelling arguments for PS over heavy duty Rakeback focused sites.

Quick Q on Bankroll. As a fulltime player, how do you manage monthly living expenses? Do you draw down a fixed amount each month, or do you draw down everything over a specific sum at the end of the month?

Enjoyed reading your Q&A, and your regular blog updates. All the best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 jimmyj123456

Hey Mick,

I play lots of SnGs with you (Rockytherock), and was wondering how often you play MTTs mixed in with your schedule? Also, how deep do you have to be in an MTT to switch out of standard BIGMICKG style and start reacting to table dynamics, or do you think it's possible to do this while 15 tabling?

Could have been asked already, 8 pages though..

Mick,

An inspiring read - fair play to you!

I'm relatively new to Boards, so I missed this first time round. I have to say, you are an exceptional ambassador for PS and their VIP Programme and make very compelling arguments for PS over heavy duty Rakeback focused sites.

Quick Q on Bankroll. As a fulltime player, how do you manage monthly living expenses? Do you draw down a fixed amount each month, or do you draw down everything over a specific sum at the end of the month?

Enjoyed reading your Q&A, and your regular blog updates. All the best!

I usually witdraw x amount each week. Feels like a steady income

Hey Mick,

I play lots of SnGs with you (Rockytherock), and was wondering how often you play MTTs mixed in with your schedule? Also, how deep do you have to be in an MTT to switch out of standard BIGMICKG style and start reacting to table dynamics, or do you think it's possible to do this while 15 tabling?

Could have been asked already, 8 pages though..

Hey man. Ye i was wonderin who u were. I remember playing a fair bit with you. mostly $60 18 mans i think.
    Ive only started back dabbling with mtts recently. I try to play them at the very start of my session as my av. session is only 2-4 hours. obv I dont mind playing on longer if im deep in an mtt. I usually stop reging for sngs if I am deep in an mtt so i can focus on table dynamics etc. as u said.
    See u at the tables man