Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poland - 'No Irish need apply'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

What's with the :rolleyes: eh? It's very easy to claim/suggest anything without any shred of proof....... so where's the picture of the sign?

Calm down, I thought given your location you might be able to get a picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Anyone I know who went to England in the 80's has nothing but good things to say about the place. Even with the IRA blowing the place to bits.

The thing is, they integrated well. They went for a few pints with their workmates and so forth.
    From what I've been told about the current situation is that the English are not too fond of the Poles and miss the days when the sites were "filled with Paddies".

Rb covered the integration thing better a few posts back.

This is exactly it, there's a massive difference between the Irish and Polish immigrants and it's all down to integration.

Irish have always been regarded as "good craic", "light hearted" etc and as you said, went for pints with the lads or a kick about. Same with regards to Irish in the US.

Poles are completely different and I would probably describe it as "less culturally compatible" than the Irish in places such as the UK or US, just as Irish people are probably less culturally compatible than the Poles in places such as Russia.

By that I mean senses of humour, lifestyle etc.

With that being said, this in itself doesn't excuse the lack of effort to integrate by a lot of them, both in here and the UK.

I don't disagree with you about Irish builders. One ripped me off last month.

It tends to be the smaller contractors though, rather than the likes of Laing, McInerny and Hegarty.

I gave up site work a few years ago due to small builders being complete pricks.

On the other hand, if the Poles are going onto those jobs and agreeing to work for six or seven Euro and hour, they only have themselves to blame.

Agreed.
    brim4brim wrote: »
    True, already trying it where I work. All of a sudden telling people that their jobs are on the line if we don't work overtime with no extra pay. Its having zero affect on the IT department though :p Some of the other departments seem to actually believe that tripe.

Absolutely, they're trying things of this sort in many other businesses and it is absolutely sickening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

First off w should all remember this is an article from the Irish Indo. Meaning it is highly likely it is not true at all. Id hold The Sun in higher regard than that rag these days.

Ckal wrote: »

The Polish being treated like dirt here is the biggest generalization of the past few years. I know a lot were, and that's really bad, but lots were not.

Indeed. There must be alot of McDonalds staff who have a good laugh telling Irish folks that they were a doctor back home.

this is because we keep stealing their women.....

I rarely see a fat polish girl............. no fake tan

While they have proportionately less heavyweights....no fake tan? This guy is having a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Wait wait wait....there are people coming on here saying that it's ok that these signs are put up because you should look after your own and then completely bashing the all of the Irish for (alledgedly) treating the Polish people like crap? Were they not simply 'looking after their own'?

(Not agreeing with discrimination, simply pointing out the hypocrisy.)
    Rb wrote: »
    It'd actually be quite amusing if they were putting up the signs and no Irish were emigrating there in the first place.

I really do doubt that many Irish people have Poland as top of their lists of places to move to.

Welcome back Rb. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,077 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Why are you asking me for pictures, I didn't start the thread. The link is in the first post, linking to the Irish Independent. Talk to Michael Kilcoyne, president of the Consumers Association of Ireland. Talk to the editor of the paper directly right here: independent.letters@independent.ie.

You feel obliged to comment on this supposed sign yet there is no proof of its existence.
    sillymoo wrote: »
    Calm down, I thought given your location you might be able to get a picture.

Well I'm not there at the moment but when you have a moment please tell me where in a country of 120,726 sq miles this sign is, I'll go and take a photo for you.
    janeybabe wrote: »
    I really do doubt that many Irish people have Poland as top of their lists of places to move to.

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

F**king Polaks, and all we did for them! Gave them jobs, money (to some extent men and women)

Disgraceful carryon

F**king Polaks, and all we did for them! Gave them jobs, money (to some extent men and women)

Disgraceful carryon

A quality post there sparky. Well done.

Dont know if you are being serious or taking the piss there :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Are the offending sites unable to distingush between Irish employers and irish employees? If the beef is with irish employers who mistreating polish workers, how does discriminating against irish employees who may wish to locate in Poland address that?

They were talking about it on Newstalk today and its also in the Times and the Belfast Telegraph. However i imagine it will probably amount to only 1 or 2 sites that did it for a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Who the fuck would want to go to poland anyway..... its a shithole ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Who the fuck would want to go to poland anyway..... its a shithole ;)

The wimmins.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

A thread about polish poeple and jobs?!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2fGl9587X8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Don't worry. I can't be bothered. You've shown yourself time and again to be extremely bigoted and anti-immigrant so there really is no point.

Looks to me like a roundabout way of hurling the R word at Sam.

What he means is that in your time you have taken offence to everything from a thread asking why so many Poles were getting away with not registering their cars in Ireland (something that seems to have been clamped down on, v few foreign regs on the road anymore), to getting sarky because someone described Polish food as bland. And it was either yourself or that Ned guy who used to post here that categorically stated that a Pole in Ireland has never killed and eaten a swan. tbh stating as fact that not one mentally ill Pole ever attacked, killed and ate a swan is rather bizarre. I dont doubt one of our lads has never done it, to state this would be ridicilous.

Tha Gopher wrote: »

What R word would that be then Goph?
    What he means is that in your time you have taken offence to everything ....

Far from it, just when there was a lack of reality and common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Dudess wrote: »
    Yeah, what IS the rolleyes about?

If this is true though, it's appalling. But I wonder whether it is, or whether it's just one sign...

Could you elaborate?

FFS. Ashamed to be Irish because some other Irish people are greedy? Yeah, you should really feel responsible for their behaviour... simply because you share their nationality. LOL

"We" do? I don't recall ever treating a Polish person like crap. And no, they're not right to discriminate against all Irish who apply simply because they share their nationality with unscrupulous employers. Jebus, this nonsense of "some people of a certain nationality are assholes, therefore all people of that nationality should be punished" is a bit frightening really.

Well they're leaving now - as you point out next...

Why not? They came to a country that was doing really well financially because they wanted a slice of the pie - and also, they were actually needed to work. Then the economic situation went down the toilet so they're packing up. Perfectly logical. Why exactly should they stick around? What could they actually do? And maybe they aren't sticking around because... oh yeah because they don't have jobs anymore.

LOL
    It's like this: you get assholes, you get nice people - whatever their race/nationality/ethnicity... ;)

Probably because you're not Irish (at least Irish born/raised)?
    How is it a load of rubbish anyway just because you alone didn't witness anti Irishness? Are those "No blacks, no dogs, no Irish" signs a myth?

Why shouldn't the Polish workers insist their worker entitlements are met? I find it a bit disconcerting that it's considered more desirable for people to "put up and shut up".

What's wrong with them doing that though? And what should they give back? I think it was pretty clear they were, in general, only coming here to take advantage of all the wealth (and why not? Plenty of us Irish would do the very same - I know I would) but there are some who have chosen to make a life here.
    no blacks no dogs no irish may have been put up by some ignorent b.....d but i never heard of it untill i saw i put up on the boards-in the pub i worked in west london the manager was irish i was english two of the barmen irish and one barman russian-the area manager told me at the the time i was the only english barman in west london nearly every one else was irish this was in 1967 to 1971 to be honest i think there was more irish in london than dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Dudess wrote: »
    What's wrong with them doing that though? And what should they give back? I think it was pretty clear they were, in general, only coming here to take advantage of all the wealth (and why not?
    No, you're missing it. On an individual level, great for them, cheers, well done etc.

On a macroeconomic level, they can and are causing significant damage to the country in terms of the Keynesian injection-leakage model. Basically they pay taxes (adds nothing to the economy), rent (adds nothing to the economy), food, and not much else. They then take as much as they can manage and shuffle it our of our economy.

Its a question of scale. If Ireland had a population of 38.5 million, and Poland had a population of 4 million, there would be no problem. But do you understand what I'm saying, you have a population of 38.5 million trying to pull money out of a population of 4 million? This is purely impersonal, logical economics.
    You feel obliged to comment on this supposed sign yet there is no proof of its existence.
    Feel free to take your concerns to the national media outlet that is the Irish Independent.
    Yes, and no response yet to my reporting of the post. I won't rise to it though, last time I took matters into my own hands I got in a "discussion" with Karoma about it. Once is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I can't believe people are actually defending this.

So big upper or upper middle class contractors and business owners screw Polish workers who basically let themselves be taken for a ride and then when working class Irish people look for jobs in Poland they put up signs saying 'no Irish need apply'.

Oh yeah i can see how that perfectly balances each other out. It wasn't the average brick layer or laborer who was paying the Polish. It's racism and nothing more. Pure and simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Far from it, just when there was a lack of reality and common sense.

Oh come on now, we all know that in your house it's a case of "It defends the Poles on Boards.ie or else it gets the hose again...DEFEND THE ****ING POLES!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

On a macroeconomic level, they can and are causing significant damage to the country in terms of the Keynesian injection-leakage model. Basically they pay taxes (adds nothing to the economy), rent (adds nothing to the economy), food, and not much else. They then take as much as they can manage and shuffle it our of our economy.

Does anyone have any idea what percentage of their wages was actually being sent home on average? It seems somewhat paradoxical to say that they were being put in to the lowest paid jobs and are then able to send bucket loads of cash home. Their living costs would be the same as any Irish person in a similar situation - ie not very much disposable income.
    Its a question of scale. If Ireland had a population of 38.5 million, and Poland had a population of 4 million, there would be no problem. But do you understand what I'm saying, you have a population of 38.5 million trying to pull money out of a population of 4 million? This is purely impersonal, logical economics.

Do you think Ireland is the only country the Polish have emigrated to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,263 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think that the relevant unscrupulous Irish employers probably didn't look after their Irish workforce either, but couldn't get away with paying them less than they were entitled to.

Many Irish employers in the UK construction industry treated their Irish employees like dogs, taking advantage of their trust and naivety.

I can see a pattern developing here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭Ckal

Basically they pay taxes (adds nothing to the economy), rent (adds nothing to the economy), food, and not much else. They then take as much as they can manage and shuffle it our of our economy.

How are taxes and rent not contributing to the economy, but buying food is? :confused: For some reason, them paying taxes and rent is something to complain about? People would be giving out if they didn't pay taxes or rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Membership of the EU and all its iterations has been one of the best things that has ever happened to this country. Big roads paid for by Europe
    Germany also had "Big roads" built in the 30ies in the lead up to Hitlers war machine :rolleyes:
    Computer companies and banks opening here to trade with Europe without cross border tariffs.
    This will all disappear just as fast as it came in leaving thousands with false hope and it will only get worse when the EU removes our tax free incentives if the constitution gets passed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 FloorBoard

Polish are racist???

Unlike the Brtis, at least they have nothing against dogs.

Cianos wrote: »
    Does anyone have any idea what percentage of their wages was actually being sent home on average? It seems somewhat paradoxical to say that they were being put in to the lowest paid jobs and are then able to send bucket loads of cash home. Their living costs would be the same as any Irish person in a similar situation - ie not very much disposable income.
    Again, its a question of scale. A hundred euros a week might not be much, but multiply that by a few hundred thousand and you get a very different picture. During the boom it might have been barely sustainable, but due to poor government decisions at the time, we are now haemorrhaging cash at an astonishing rate. Yes, I know government decisions are not their fault, but it doesn't change the reality of the situation.
    Cianos wrote: »
    Do you think Ireland is the only country the Polish have emigrated to?
    No but then again I didn't claim tens of millions of them had all descended simultaneously. 1% of their population is a very significant chunk of our workforce (not total population).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,263 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

How are taxes and rent not contributing to the economy, but buying food is? :confused: For some reason, them paying taxes and rent is something to complain about? People would be giving out if they didn't pay taxes or rent.

I can see that rent might not add money to the economy, where the landlord uses the rent to pay his mortgage interest, but I await enlightenment on the other points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Yeah wow, we were such a$$holes - gave about 100,000 of them jobs for years and paid well above the odds they would have earned at home.

Not to mention the % of Polish people who got in trouble with the law over here is well above the % of population of any other immigrant community or Irish community. Yet they were tolerated and accepted accross the board.

Now we're not welcome in their conutry. Nice.

In terms of the economy, taxes are seen as leakage, to the extent that money spent on taxes represents productive wealth destroyed elsewhere.

As for rent, The Scottish philosopher-economist Adam Smith wrote in his Wealth of Nations, which was published in 1776: "A dwellinghouse, as such, contributes nothing to the revenue of its inhabitant; and though it is, no doubt, extremely useful to him, it is as his clothes and household furniture are useful to him, which, however, makes a part of his expense, and not of his revenue.

If it is to be let to a tenant for rent, as the house itself can produce nothing, the tenant must always pay the rent out of some other revenue which he derives either from labour, or stock, or land. Though a house, therefore, may yield a revenue to its proprietor, and thereby serve in the function of a capital to him, it cannot yield any to the public, nor serve in the function of a capital to it, and the revenue of the whole body of the people can never be in the smallest degree increased by it."

As far as I know, i didnt see them buying much of anything including food. My mate that works in Shannon Airport said they had poles working with them and the sandwiches left over from the airport shops were all taken by the poles and hid in their lockers so they could eat them for a week :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 byronic

Paying rent adds nothing to the economy?? Look at how many Polish and other nationalties are paying rent on property that would otherwise be empty- Ireland is already overstocked with houses, and there are lots of empty properties now, can anyone imagine how many more would be empty and the effect on our already ailing property market if all the immigrants went home and left these places empty?
    as for the Polish contributing nothing to our economy: I have Polish colleagues who live pretty frugally here (but then most of us are having to do that now!), but they spend roughly 90% of their income here, they are lucky if they send more than 10% home to Poland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭DubDani

Anyone ever considered another "legitimate" reason for such signs?

For example that they would not want to the Irish to build the same shoddy buildings in Poland that the Irish were building for the last 15 years in Ireland.

The Irish builders (or developers) should be ashamed of the standard of buildings that have been put up in the last 15 years. In most other countries hardly any of the new Apartment complexes/estates would have passed any building regulations.

So in that context I can absolutely understand the "No Irish Need to Apply signs.