Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

product key posted - potentially illegal

• 02-01-2009 4:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭

posting this here for the site admin's to review as i feel that the moderators of bargain alerts might not be taking the issue seriously (one of the mods has posted the key and another feels it is very likely to be legit)

the key supposedly provides 145000 users with a 10 year license for a piece of software.
    personally i think its highly unlikely that any company would give free access to its software for the next 10 years to 145000 potential paying customers.

the poster has been unable to verify the legality of the key so the thread has been locked.
    however the potentially illegal key has been left in place.

no poster has been able to verify that the developer have issued this key etc.

personally, i think the key should be taken down until the source can be verified. (this would be par for the course on any of the tech related forums due to the risks to a site for distribution of pirate software)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055451982
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Zonealarm has done it before.
    So i wouldn't be suprised.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Looks dodgy to me. If it was a one year licence key then maybe I'd believe it, but ten years? Sounds very suspect.

If you stick that key into google btw, Ruu's thread is on the second page. If it does turn out to be dodgy, that might be a bad thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

canceling the revenue stream from 145000 users for 10 years seems a bit extreme,
    particularly when they already offer a cut down free version. i wonder how many subscribers that paid this year would ever pay again?

my main concern would be that keys like this would come with a eula outlining where the free software is legal to use. this cant even be traced back to avg, nevermind eula details of which entitles may use the free version.

if it does turn out to be a leaked corporate key or illegally generated key then avg may go after some of the bigger sites that distributed it.

if it turns out to be fine then everyone is happy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭colly10

Some products like this are permanently free as long as their for personal use, they make their money from commercial use and build their reputation through personal use.
    Funny that it can't be traced back to AVG though, can anyone find out where it originally came from

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I think it should be verified by an authentic source tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

While this has appeared in a lot of special-offer sites, it may not be a coincidence that there's a keygen program out amongst the warez-monkeys that produces keys with massive seats that last ten years.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Regardless of it been legit or not it was posted in good faith which seems to be lost on a few people.

its not lost on me, i'm not asking for the lads to be banned or anything.
    just that now that the error has been highlighted, the key should be removed.

unless of course someone proves that this isn't just a generated key thats been posted.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

subway wrote: »
    just that now that the error has been highlighted, the key should be removed.

unless of course someone proves that this isn't just a generated key thats been posted.

Your trying to turn something posted in good faith in to something were a mod needs to be dealt with.

Ruu did not make up those codes. He's already said he got it on another bargain alert website. That’s his source.

He's closed the thread pending verification of that source. What more do you want?

Sounds to me like your just on a fight the mod power trip

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

kearnsr wrote: »
    Your trying to turn something posted in good faith in to something were a mod needs to be dealt with.

Ruu did not make up those codes. He's already said he got it on another bargain alert website. That’s his source.

He's closed the thread pending verification of that source. What more do you want?

The code is still available on boards.ie. It looks very dodgy to say the least. Ruu's motives are neither here nor there and I can't speak for subway but I have no problem with Ruu, but I think the code itself should be removed until the legitimacy can be established.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

javaboy wrote: »
    The code is still available on boards.ie. It looks very dodgy to say the least. Ruu's motives are neither here nor there and I can't speak for subway but I have no problem with Ruu, but I think the code itself should be removed until the legitimacy can be established.
    I agree. But it's also important to note that it was posted in good faith, with no ulterior motives. If it can be verified, it's certainly a good bargain alert. If not, then bummer.

i don't see how you got a fight the power thing out of it.
    i have nothing against ruu or basquille, any of the bargain alert mods, or any other mod of this site to be perfectly honest. right now the site is potentially in serious breach of copyright and i would prefer that it be dealt with by an admin now than boards receive a cease and desist letter in a few weeks / months.

what more do i want?
    i feel i've made that fairly clear by asking the admin to review the thread and remove the code if they agree with my opinion
    i reported the thread to the bargain alert mods earlier today, after it was locked, hence basquilles on thread reply, but since the code wasnt removed i decided to highlight it here, which i believe is the correct procedure.

again, this isnt a fight the mod power trip, so if your here to try to rile me up and start posting lolcats then i would ask that you leave this thread be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I think AVG have ****ed up, how can they make money if they allow an apparently infinite number of free copies to be circulated.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

All he wants is the key to be removed until it's been found to be valid. A reasonable request and something we should do just to be on the safe side.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,235 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The only concern I have with the thread is the notion that AVG is somehow better security software than Avira or Avast; as well as numerous subscription packages.

I'd beleive the key is genuine only to say that they are trying to bandage their reputation "Free Software! I heart AVG" give me a break.

http://www.inanis.net/blog/index.php/2008/11/01/avg-8-vista-sp1-poor-network-performance/

http://securityandthe.net/2008/11/10/avg-virus-scanner-removes-critical-windows-file/

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/genuinefeedback/thread/06c56407-ac65-4ead-820e-2cf0224bdb33/

subway wrote: »
    i don't see how you got a fight the power thing out of it.
    i have nothing against ruu or basquille, any of the bargain alert mods, or any other mod of this site to be perfectly honest. right now the site is potentially in serious breach of copyright and i would prefer that it be dealt with by an admin now than boards receive a cease and desist letter in a few weeks / months.

what more do i want?
    i feel i've made that fairly clear by asking the admin to review the thread and remove the code if they agree with my opinion
    i reported the thread to the bargain alert mods earlier today, after it was locked, hence basquilles on thread reply, but since the code wasnt removed i decided to highlight it here, which i believe is the correct procedure.

again, this isnt a fight the mod power trip, so if your here to try to rile me up and start posting lolcats then i would ask that you leave this thread be.

Your looking for action to be taken against Ruu for something that was posted in good faith.

.......................................................................................................

I've no problem with the the thread been deleted if the link is infact dodgy. You've question the link and the mods acted on it. Now you've started a feedback thread about. To me that adds up to one thing

Why would I post lolcats?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Overheal wrote: »
    The only concern I have with the thread is the notion that AVG is somehow better security software than Avira or Avast; as well as numerous subscription packages.

I'd beleive the key is genuine only to say that they are trying to bandage their reputation "Free Software! I heart AVG" give me a break.

http://www.inanis.net/blog/index.php...k-performance/

http://securityandthe.net/2008/11/10...-windows-file/

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/e...-2cf0224bdb33/

Your links are borked and that first site is painful to look at.

i really dont want to get into an argument with you about this, but where did i ask for action to be taken against ruu?

second, feedback is supposed to be for this reason, or so i believe, if its not then maybe you be a bit more helpful and advise what i should have done instead?

finally, from what ive seen of this forum you can pretty much expect to told to stop "fightin the powah" followed shortly by lolcats. i hoped the thread wouldnt descend into that, but since i've already been told to stop fighting the power i want to pre-empt the lolcats by asking you not to post any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

subway, best thing to do is not respond to kearnsr. He can't fight with himself ;)

google links for this key http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=AVG+8+professional+key&start=0&sa=N

mike65 wrote: »
    subway, best thing to do is not respond to kearnsr. He can't fight with himself ;)
    Unless of course he's schizophrenic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭colly10

Regardless of it been legit or not it was posted in good faith which seems to be lost on a few people.

No ones blaming the Ruu here, just trying to sus out if this is legitimate or not

The mod doesn't need to be dealt with, just a possibility that the key should be removed

Id say thats fairly likely, the only thing that makes me doubt it is that googling it bring back noting but torrents, keygens etc... You'd think that either AVG would have claimed it at this stage or some high profile site would have attributed it to them
    i've already been told to stop fighting the power

Ye and ye didn't even have to :D

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Unless of course he's schizophrenic.

No, that's me / him.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,919 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

I think you can transfer the license to a new computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Your looking for action to be taken against Ruu for something that was posted in good faith.

You fail at making mountains out of molehills. If you'd waited until perhaps the thread got longer and people couldn't see all of the posts you are claiming look for action to be taken against Ruu at a glance and see that they are doing no such thing in less than a second, then maybe you would have succeeded. Try harder next time.

I tried to register my license and got this:
    You have entered an incorrect License/Sales number, please try again. If you have received your License Number in electronic format, we recommend that you use the "copy and paste" function to insert the number in the space provided.

It looks like it may not be legit after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,235 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

or that posting it on boards, and torrenting it across 2 thirds of the interweb has finally seen enough people register the product.

Overheal wrote: »
    or that posting it on boards, and torrenting it across 2 thirds of the interweb has finally seen enough people register the product.
    If that was the case I imagine it would say that the license has expired or been used up. Not incorrect. I could be wrong though.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,423 ✭✭✭✭Victor

mike65 wrote: »
    I think AVG have ****ed up, how can they make money if they allow an apparently infinite number of free copies to be circulated.
    Don't give support and updates for that version. :) Updates being important in that business.

Of course (a) its important to businesses that the number of zombie computers out there are reduced - this makes it easier to combat malicious software (b) not everyone wants to makes loadsa money.