Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shocked (Breathalyzers)

• 02-01-2009 11:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭

I bought one of those Alcologic breathalyzers before Christmas. I was shocked at the amount of alcohol that I could consume and still be well under the limit. I always thought (because of the media) that I would be over the limit after two pints but I have learned that I can actually drink a lot more and still be under the limit.

I was out the other night and I had six pints, I started at 9.00PM and finished about 1.30AM, I tested myself About 2.30 when I got home and the reading was 0.035 which is under the limit. I'm not a small fella, about 16st but I was still shocked. I didn't feel like I would have been able to drive safely.

I have tested myself numerous times over the holidays and it definitely appears that I can drink alot of alcohol and still drive without the fear of getting caught.

Do these things encourage drink driving?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

But you have to ask yourself, How accurate is this breathalyser, i'd hazard a guess and say not very.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I bought one of those Alcologic breathalyzers before Christmas. I was shocked at the amount of alcohol that I could consume and still be well under the limit. I always thought (because of the media) that I would be over the limit after two pints but I have learned that I can actually drink a lot more and still be under the limit.

I was out the other night and I had six pints, I started at 9.00PM and finished about 1.30AM, I tested myself About 2.30 when I got home and the reading was 0.035 which is under the limit. I'm not a small fella, about 16st but I was still shocked. I didn't feel like I would have been able to drive safely.

I have tested myself numerous times over the holidays and it definitely appears that I can drink alot of alcohol and still drive without the fear of getting caught.

9.00 - 2.30 is 5 and a half hours so up to 3 pints will be gone from your system anyway by then. So as a reasonably heavy (or maybe your tall aswell, but i assume that would help with tolerance too) guy your only really dealign with 3 pints. A 12 stone guy and 3 pints might well be a different story.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Would your "tolerance level" have any effect on how under/over the limit you are? How soon after drinking can it give an accurate reading? As a non drinker it's not something I have to worry about, if I did have a sup I wouldn't have a clue what's legal and what's not..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

These are suppose to be fairly accurate but I take your point. I got one because I don't live in Dublin but I socialise there, so there's a lot of hanging around the next day waiting to go home after the previous nights session.

cormie wrote: »
    How soon after drinking can it give an accurate reading? As a non drinker it's not something I have to worry about, if I did have a sup I wouldn't have a clue what's legal and what's not..

20 minutes after your last drink.

cormie wrote: »
    if I did have a sup I wouldn't have a clue what's legal and what's not..

That would be why the "zero alcohol" approach is best practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

I just wouldn't risk it.

Even after a bottle of beer I'd be hesitant to drive and would only do so if necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,461 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

The limits you read about in the media should be valid for everyone, so they are very safe limits

In practice, the blood alcohol level depends on many factors such as your weight and your sex and some people just metabolise alcohol quicker than others

I've seen indications that those Alcologic breathalyzers are fairly accurate, anyone got any links?

DISCLAIMER: the only way you know for sure you are not over the limit is by not drinking!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Stekelly wrote: »
    9.00 - 2.30 is 5 and a half hours so up to 3 pints will be gone from your system anyway by then.
    3 pints is 6 units, that wouldn't be out of your system in 5.5 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I want one :D Where do you get one of these that is accurate and reasonably priced?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭romperstomper

only after you:

relabel every single product in the market place that has ANY alcohol in it (medicine, mouthwash etc as well)

keep jumping to extremes though, seems like you have a talent for it.

wouldn't trust any device outside of the officially used one TBH.
    furthermore if there is more 'scope' for drinking and driving within the current regulations, but we don't do it as we're too scared/conscious of the affect it would have on our driving, then I can only assume that people recognise that its not right

only after you:

relabel every single product in the market place that has ANY alcohol in it (medicine, mouthwash etc as well)

keep jumping to extremes though, seems like you have a talent for it.

wouldn't trust any device outside of the officially used one TBH.
    furthermore if there is more 'scope' for drinking and driving within the current regulations, but we don't do it as we're too scared/conscious of the affect it would have on our driving, then I can only assume that people recognise that its not right

I meant drinking no alcohol is the best practice not having the limit set to absolute zero.

I just wouldn't risk it.

Even after a bottle of beer I'd be hesitant to drive and would only do so if necessary.

I agree, my job depends on it.

Just to add, one of my points is that I felt that I wouldn't be capable of driving even though the unit told me I was under the limit, so will that encourage others who wouldn't have chanced it before to now drive because they know they're under the limit.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Seems like you answered your own question.
    Im of the opinion that I dont drink at all if Im the driver, not for fear of getting caught DUI, but rather I find any alcohol gets in the way of speeding.. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭romperstomper

anyone who reads something on an internet forum and is then encouraged into drink driving would need to be clinically insane and therefore banned from driving by definition

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭orlyice

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

I've always used a fairly safe rule of thumb - don't drink if you're going to drive that night, not a drop.. Has proven quite safe so far. :-) Also a very good excuse if you're just not in the mood - now that it's no longer PC to drink & drive, people won't push you if they know you're driving. It's great...
    I'd quite like to test myself after a few drinks to see how close to / over the limit I am all the same, personally after two pints (stout) or one bottle (500ml) I'd rather not be behind the wheel. I'd imagine it'd be relatively safe, but I still wouldn't like even slightly impaired judgment.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,461 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

orlyice wrote: »

Don't bother reading that, anyone. They've tested a bunch of cheap breathalysers (as in £3.99 cheap) bought on ebay. Surprise, surprise, they don't work...

• Registered Users Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

orlyice wrote: »

It doesn't really. Those look like yokes you'd get in a Christmas cracker. The one linked to in the OP seems to be a bit more accurate.

eoin wrote: »
    It doesn't really. Those look like yokes you'd get in a Christmas cracker. The one linked to in the OP seems to be a bit more accurate.

Ye these have a cleaning facility for the sensor and it heats the sensor before testing, i.e its not one of those cheapo ebay testers.

I should have posted the link earlier http://www.alcologic.ie/
    The Alcologic breathalyzer brand is fully owned and distributed by MTC healthcare Ltd – Irelands leading drug and alcohol testing company. We supply state of the art drug and alcohol testing technologies, DNA testing and Laboratory services to organisations throughout Ireland including Occupational Health companies, Safety Critical Workplaces, GP’s, Rehabilitation clinics, Solicitors, Pharmacies and even the Health Service Executive (HSE).

Our commitment in providing cutting edge, accurate and reliable toxicology products and services to industry has not been lost in our development of Alcologic. Now established as the leading brand of breathalyzer in Ireland you can be assured that Alcologic comes from good pedigree.

Accuracy data :

Accuracy: + or – 0.01% BAC. this means that a result of 0.05% BAC may actually be 0.04% or 0.06%
    Independently tested by a UKAS accredited device testing facility as well as tested for accuracy against the official hand held Gardai breathalyser. Tests show that Alcologics results did not differ by more than 0.001% when tested against the official Irish Gardai breathalyser
    Approved by the U.S. department of Transportation
    Alcologic is CE marked

hmm 89euro isn't bad for something that is as accurate as the gardai's equipment. It's especially safe for the morning after drinking cos it's always hard to know if alcohol is out of your system.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

I'd definitely get one of these if I thought they were accurate, I've seen them on sale in a few places.

I very rarely touch a drop if I'm driving, max I'd have would be 2 Heino shandys or similar, it's more for the morning after a session I'd get it.

It would be an interesting test to take it on a night out and record the reading every half hour to see how the alcohol affects you - although, from watching some of the cop shows, you're meant to wait 30 minutes after the last drink before testing so maybe it wouldn't be practical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

i can put 4 pints away in 3 hours and still be under the limit, wouldn't drive still.... my mentality wouldn't be the same, even after 1 pint id walk...

wouldn't risk it for a biscuit

• Registered Users Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Keith186

I heard a story from somebody about one of his mates who had 3 pints (started about 17.30) then had his dinner at home, went back to the pub and had another 6 pints. He was walking home and met a Garda he knew who was doing a checkpoint and got talking to him, this was at 01.30.

Long story short he breathalysed him and he was under the limit on the official Garda breathalyser. The whole lot of them were shocked after 9 pints that he was under the limit.

I have to say it's not worth the risk drink driving because of the ban, most people would be screwed.

It's easy enough to drive after a skinful once you don't have any dutch courage, just take it handy but it really isn't worth the risk.

Keith186 wrote: »
    I heard a story from somebody about one of his mates who had 3 pints (started about 17.30) then had his dinner at home, went back to the pub and had another 6 pints. He was walking home and met a Garda he knew who was doing a checkpoint and got talking to him, this was at 01.30.

Long story short he breathalysed him and he was under the limit on the official Garda breathalyser. The whole lot of them were shocked after 9 pints that he was under the limit.

I have to say it's not worth the risk drink driving because of the ban, most people would be screwed.

It's easy enough to drive after a skinful once you don't have any dutch courage, just take it handy but it really isn't worth the risk.

Well that just really shows that all breathalyzers are a load of shoite. Bring back the walk in a straight line test :D

jaffa20 wrote: »

I'm tempted!

I am not a small guy, but sometimes I feel a bit merry with just a couple of pints after a long day in the office. I would most likely be legally under the limit, but I know my reaction time would be greatly impaired. I just don't bother having anything to drink when I am driving, but it's the day after that would be my worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

What is the zero alcohol approach? How much is zero alcohol?

if I have 1 pint tonight and drive in the morning, is that zero?
    If I have a couple of pints today and drive tomorrow evening, is that zero?

Or do you just mean don't drink full stop, ever ?

Random wrote: »
    What is the zero alcohol approach? How much is zero alcohol?

if I have 1 pint tonight and drive in the morning, is that zero?
    If I have a couple of pints today and drive tomorrow evening, is that zero?

Or do you just mean don't drink full stop, ever ?

I imagine he means that if you are going out that night, don't have anything to drink if you are driving home. Unless you are just being pedantic?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Interesting thread...

I might actually get one of these for the morning after.

Like others have said, even if I wasn't over the limit after so many drinks, not a chance in hell I'd still drive.