Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's on your CAO??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cautioner

I have Medicine as my first five but after that I still can't decide... something to lead up to a postgrad in medicine? Or something else altogether? Psychology, Genetics, English... Gragh.

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭english4490

1. GY250 Corporate Law2. GY251 Civil Law3. GY101 Arts4. GY103 Arts (Public and Social Policy)5. CK301 Law6. CK305 Law (Clinical)7. CK306 Law (International)8. LM029 Law Plus9. TR212 Economics/Sociology10. LM036 Economics and Sociology

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭-ME-

Final list, hopefully.

1. Trinity- European Studies
    2. Trinity- Psychology and French
    3. Trinity- Social Work
    4. Trinity- Psychology
    5. UCC- Psychology
    6. UCC- Arts
    7. NUIG- Psychology
    8. NUIG- Arts
    9. NUIG- Arts with Global Women's Studies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cautioner

A tentative second draft:

1. TR051 Medicine (Restricted)
    2. DN002 Medicine (Undergraduate Entry) (Restricted)
    3. GY501 Medicine (five year/six year course) (Restricted)
    4. CK701 Medicine - (Undergraduate Entry) (Restricted)
    5. RC001 Medicine - (Undergraduate Entry) (Restricted)
    6. TR006 Psychology
    7. TR056 Human Health and Disease
    8. TR071 Science
    9. TR073 Human Genetics
    10. LM102 Psychology

(As much as I dislike Limerick it seems silly not to go there if I decide I do want Psych)

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Lucet

DanDan6592 wrote: »
    1. TR087 Business Studies and Russian

Well I'm bored so I thought I'd bump my thread:D:D

So, we're meeting in September, hopefully :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

kateos2 wrote: »
    1. DN004 Radiography (UCD)
    2. DN116 Children's and General Nursing (Integrated) (UCD)
    3. TR911 Children's and General Nursing (Integrated) (TCD)
    4. DC218 Children's and General Nursing (Integrated) (DCU)
    5. TR055 Radiation Therapy (TCD)
    6. DN110 General Nursing (UCD)
    7. DN007 Social Science (UCD)
    8. DT572 Early Childhood Education (DIT)
    9. TA025 Social Care Practice (IT Tallaght)
    10. DT416 Culinary Entrepreneurship (DIT)

that's what it was...
    it's now

1. DN004 Radiography
    2. TR084 Social Studies (Social Work)
    3. DN007 Social Science
    4. DT571 Social Care
    5. TR911 Children's and General Nursing (Integrated)
    6. DN116 Children's and General Nursing (Integrated)
    7. TA025 Social Care Practice
    8. DT559 Photography (Restricted)

i'll probably change it around a bit between now and july though

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭Fince

Anyone from cork planning on going to dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Gloom

Fince wrote: »

I'll hopefully be a waterford person going to Dublin if I can afford expenses. (accomodation etc)

20euro for a return bus ticket a week. Might dig into my funds a bit. :(

ON-TOPIC:
    No idea yet. Will most likely change it after the LC.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

Gloom wrote: »
    I'll hopefully be a waterford person going to Dublin if I can afford expenses. (accomodation etc)

I spend €45 a week on bus tickets as it is, so when I (hopefully) go to Dublin next year, I'll be saving LOTS on bus tickets :P

I'd rather not talk about MY CAO. We're having issues.
    The first five are medicine... and I KNOW I want Trinity to be number one, but after that my order's a tad confused.

And because I'm thinking me and medicine won't even happen so much, I'm uber-confused about what'll come next.
    Pharmacy? Human Health and Disease Sciences? Bread making in Arklow?
    Oh God.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Gloom

bythewoods wrote: »
    I spend €45 a week on bus tickets as it is, so when I (hopefully) go to Dublin next year, I'll be saving LOTS on bus tickets :P

I'd rather not talk about MY CAO. We're having issues.
    The first five are medicine... and I KNOW I want Trinity to be number one, but after that my order's a tad confused.

And because I'm thinking me and medicine won't even happen so much, I'm uber-confused about what'll come next.
    Pharmacy? Human Health and Disease Sciences? Bread making in Arklow?
    Oh God.

Ouch!

Everyone keeps asking me what's on my CAO, it's annoying the hell out of me. Plus, what's the point of putting down Dublin courses if I can't afford to go there.. *sighs*

I would love to do Human Health and Disease but you need two science subjects. ._.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Hollah!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

1. TR 666 The Late Late Show

• Registered Users Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

I would love to do Human Health and Disease but you need two science subjects. ._.
    Same here! Feckers! I wish they would take Geography as one!!

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

Ouch!

Everyone keeps asking me what's on my CAO, it's annoying the hell out of me. Plus, what's the point of putting down Dublin courses if I can't afford to go there.. *sighs*

Have you looked into getting a grant? or deferring a year to work and save money? or getting a loan? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Des23

I'm from cork, go to school in balincollig, and I'll hopefully be attending UCD in september.

But there are very few things that you can't do in Cork / Limerick, so I would think very few people would have Dublin as their first choice. Out of a year of ~200 there is only 1 other person that I can think of who has Dublin as their no. 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Sophsxxx

All my choices are for UL..dunno why!! Journalism and Media is my first choice and then english and history and then a few sociology courses that will all...hopefully...get me into journalism!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭Fince

Des23 wrote: »
    I'm from cork, go to school in balincollig, and I'll hopefully be attending UCD in september.

But there are very few things that you can't do in Cork / Limerick, so I would think very few people would have Dublin as their first choice. Out of a year of ~200 there is only 1 other person that I can think of who has Dublin as their no. 1

i'm more likely to go to DCU. i go to school in bandon, i'd be the second person ever to go to college outside munster from the school (the first was my cousin 2 yrs ago, and i'm hoping to do the course he's doing)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

Thanks! I dunno, its wrecking my head and i've probably just made it all the more complicated :o

Good luck yourself, choosing between Russian, Polish, Japanese, Spanish and Italian eh?! :rolleyes: I'd go for Japanese....:D

Ye really want to do a language from scratch and I want it be a different one to that's why Russian, Polish and Japanese are 1st 3. Think it would be cool sayin u can speak 1 of the 3.

Most likely to get Japanese goin on points with Russian least likely but want to go to TCD so banking on getting Polish.

Lucet wrote: »
    So, we're meeting in September, hopefully :D

Ye hopefully. You any knowledge of Rusiian or any similar language? (I don't!)

ON-TOPIC:
    No idea yet. Will most likely change it after the LC.

IT CLOSES 1st JULY. Don't think u can change it after that. So good luck Anyway !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D:D:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

It closes on July 1st, AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Ye hopefully. You any knowledge of Rusiian or any similar language? (I don't!)

IT CLOSES 1st JUNe. Don't think u can change it after that. If u can it will cost you. Just wanted to let u know.

1st of July....

EDIT: woops, sarcastic fairy, u got in before me!!

1st of July....

EDIT: woops, sarcastic fairy, u got in before me!!

Man I feel stupid now:D

Haha you should, you just posted in loadsa threads that its june :rolleyes:
    Dubliners.....:P

2 actually... wouldn't call that loads but suppose they don't have teachers to t.... This slag isn't going anywhere...

You win Culchie girl:mad::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

Oh my god, you can't just like go around slagging of Dubliners like that. No wonder everyone here warns us about culchies. It wasn't even county related in the first place!

:P;)

Also, debating whether or not to put Law and Politics in Trinity on my CAO. I don't like Politics, but it's so much easier to get to Trinity than anywhere else from where I live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭ontour

MH403 Finance and Accounting applying as a mature student so heres hoping :D

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Nihilist21

1) Computer Science at Trinity.
    2) Computer applications at DCU.

Thinking I may put down Philosophy (trinity) in slot 2, don't know just yet.

2 actually... wouldn't call that loads but suppose they don't have teachers to t.... This slag isn't going anywhere...

You win Culchie girl:mad::pac:

Heeheehee :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭dragonfly!

gonna put business in NCI second instead of Business Management in DIT....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

Nihilist21 wrote: »

Thinking I may put down Philosophy (trinity) in slot 2, don't know just yet.

That course sounds like great craic- there's about 7 hours a week :P

(My friend does a variation of it- PPES- but just Philosophy on its own sounds incredible. Think of all the time you'd have to go drinking!)