Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has the TV license inspector ever paid you a visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Can we get a poll regarding how many people have and do not have a licence?
    i got a visit i was caught out, its due again next month tbh i wont be paying this time end of story.

im living in rented property when i buy my own house i MIGHT get one.

if they come knocking again im going to tell them i dont have one, i dont even watch the ****n thing i play the xbox on it the odd time, they can smell my helmet if they think there getting 160euro off me in 09

MIN2511 wrote: »
    No ****ing way.... No one has called yet

I learnt that it's per tv, we have two in the gaff that means 320 per year-NO WAY!

No.
    krudler wrote: »
    Hope, got a few letters to "the resident" over the years in my apartment, never got one then, even though they said they had "witnessed tv recieving equipment on the premises" which is pretty impressive given I lived on a 4th floor city centre block apartment and we had tv through the internal cable, not through satellites

I'll never get one as I dont watch RTE, and Im not paying to keep Gerry Ryans stocked up with lard and meat pies and Tubridy to have his face surgically smugged up ever few months

1/2
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    Perhaps not.

At the last rented address I lived at, we were getting letters to a couple of different non-national names who may have lived there previous.
    Eventually a guy called to the door and he caught me offguard, I think I had just woken up. He asked me name without telling me who he was and strangely I blurted it out without thinking.

A couple of weeks later and my name was in the mix of reminder/warning letters.

I waited a couple of months, called them up and said 'I'm just after moving in, we're getting threatening letters addressed to three different people, Ms Asian name, Mr Eastern European name and 'My name' - I don't know who any of these people are, if you send me one in my (insert fake) name, I'll gladly pay it.

All the letters stopped barring the new fake name I had given them.
    Did a whip around with the other people living there and a few weeks later went to the Post Office and got a licence from that day on for the year.

Didn't bother renewing, moved out shortly after renewal date by chance and haven't heard anything since.

P.S: When I mentioned it to my dad, he pointed out that the name I had given them was that of a local councillor.

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Sky/NTL etc cannot pass their customers details onto RTE. Against the law due to privacy.

Only database they have is previous licensees

Moved into a new place 6 months ago, previous occupant was getting the occasional letter. Now I got one with my name on it.
    Had a licence once before as per my post after a slip up a few years ago at an address in another part of Dublin.

So how did they get my name this time?
    Obviously there is other mail arriving at this address for me, are they allowed to just send it to that? That said, if they were they could have started doing so 6 months ago.
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    He can stick it up the wazoo.

Also, why does this J Brady guy not put his first name. Bit rude to be sending personalised letters to people non stop and not include your full name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,890 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

We've been living in our house now for 15 years and never paid for a license and never got a visit (living in Blackrock, Co. Dublin)

We live in an estate and have a big gate outside. About a month ago the bell rang and I looked at the intercom and all I could see was a guy holding up a "Official License Inspector" (or something like that) badge, and I didn't answer the bell then.

Letter in the postbox about a query on no license, bought one later that day.

I guess I can't complain paying now after 15 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I wonder if Charles Haughey had a TV license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

CorkMan wrote: »

Of course he did...he was, afterall, an upstanding member of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

steo87 wrote: »
    Of course he did...he was, afterall, an upstanding member of society.

You sure hit the bird with the stone there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭deepsouthtalla

He was around the other week, i let him waffle on for a while about how we have to get a licence and he give me two weeks blah blah then i said hold on a sec them showed him the life TV Licence my gf gets because she is on DA u should have seen the look on his face ha ha ha Fcuking ejit!! they must be on commission!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

CorkMan wrote: »

Probably did.

I wouldn't be surprised if TDs get one for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

I had one call to my apartment last year. Very nice guy, was pleasant and wasn't ignorant. Asked me if I had a TV and I said yes, then he just said I could pay for the license in the local post office in the next so many days, so I did. TV sitting in the corner for the past 6 months, unused. I changed address but didn't rectify the licence and I am not going to either. I plan on getting rid of it soon, we do not watch TV or use the TV for anything (I used to play Xbox, but I sold my Xbox). The letter they put in my post box was very forceful. They assume that you and everybody else has a TV.

Dear Occupier,

Our TV licence Inspector was unable to gain attention at this address today.

According to our records this address is not covered by a current television licence. Under Wireless Telegraphy legislation you are obliged to hold a current TV licence if there is a receiving apparatus (e.g. television set, ariel or both) in or on the premises. Please ensure a license is taken out within 5 working days to prevent further action being taken.

If you do have a current TV licence, please supply the information requested hereunder and return this prepaid postcard to the address overleaf, so that we can update our records. Likewise, please notify us if you do not have receiving apparatus.

On the postcard there is nowhere to say you don't have a TV. They make this very inconvenient for people.

I got this notice under the apt door today (no idea how he got into the apt building to get as far as my door). Is this a final notice, or is the 5 working days thing bluster? Really cant afford this right now after a sucky January financially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

skywalker wrote: »
    I got this notice under the apt door today (no idea how he got into the apt building to get as far as my door). Is this a final notice, or is the 5 working days thing bluster? Really cant afford this right now after a sucky January financially.

If your name isn't on it, then let it slide. I've been doing this for years. If they catch me fair enough, but if the warning is to the "occupier" then it's immediately binned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

c_man wrote: »
    If your name isn't on it, then let it slide. I've been doing this for years. If they catch me fair enough, but if the warning is to the "occupier" then it's immediately binned.

Can a summons be sent to the address?!

Just wondering as i'm in the same boat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Oh yes, The TV licence inspector , it goes something like this.

*Guards
    *Failed guards
    *Security guards
    *Debt collectors
    *Gang members
    *Dirt bags
    *TV Licence inspector

All have chips on there shoulders, last call I had was a few years back, he asked me name, when I gave it he turned around and started fumbling in his pocket then in TJ Hooker style fasion spins around waving his badge in my face and says.

"TV LICENCE INSPECTOR!!!"

Oh no I thought, not the TV licence inspector, in utter shock I pleaded for mine and my familys lifes...but he was so cruel...so cruel...eventually I persuaded him not to turn us in and I would pay whatever he wanted. I then fled the country fearing my safety.

Should clampers and bouncers be in that list somewhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Pacifico wrote: »
    Can a summons be sent to the address?!

Just wondering as i'm in the same boat!

There's never been a follow up to the warnings issued to the occupier, save for more warnings in a few months.

c_man wrote: »

This was to the occupier alright, just seemed more threatening that the previous couple Id recieved & coupled with them getting to the apt door it put the willies up me, cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

This was to the occupier alright, just seemed more threatening that the previous couple Id recieved & coupled with them getting to the apt door it put the willies up me, cheers.

file it away in the green bin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

You need a name on a summons to summon someone :)

To get your name, they retrieve it via recorded\registered mail via An Post, off the Electoral Register and asking you face to face at the door :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

gurramok wrote: »
    You need a name on a summons to summon someone :)

To get your name, they retrieve it via recorded\registered mail via An Post, off the Electoral Register and asking you face to face at the door :)

I agree with gurramok here, since they were able to get into your building, they probably had a snoop through your mailbox if it was unlocked to get your name too.

If they darken your door again go through them for a shortcut, if anyone deserves to be on the dole its those ****ers!

• Site Banned Posts: 78 ✭✭The Reamer

mumhaabu wrote: »
    ...............an Uncle was caught sometime in the 1970's using a Black and White Licence (cheaper at the time) on a Colour Tv.

Oh Jaysus, the cute oul hooor, ha? That's right chicanery.

In my case, I don't ever remember us having a TV liscence at home. Plenty letters about it though.
    THe way it is now the demand letters come in my fathers name but since he is deceased, technically they could not prosecute my mother so we'll leave it well enough alone. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

The Reamer wrote: »
    THe way it is now the demand letters come in my fathers name but since he is deceased, technically they could not prosecute my mother so we'll leave it well enough alone. :cool:

Yes they can. As she's the owner and resident at the address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭bitburger

Should clampers and bouncers be in that list somewhere?

didnt you see bouncer second on the list there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Should get one of these

www.hotukdeals.com/deals/deter-burglars-tv-simulator-lidl-instore-from-24th-jan-7-99-1447860

Repeatedly tell him you have no TV and have a radio blaring and that on with the Curtain closed.

When he comes back with the Gardai just say:

"oh you mean my TV Simulator ... why didn't you say so"

Should get one of these

www.hotukdeals.com/deals/deter-burglars-tv-simulator-lidl-instore-from-24th-jan-7-99-1447860

Repeatedly tell him you have no TV and have a radio blaring and that on with the Curtain closed.

When he comes back with the Gardai just say:

"oh you mean my TV Simulator ... why didn't you say so"

Make sure you have a radio licence first!

smash wrote: »
    Yes they can. As she's the owner and resident at the address.

They would have to start the whole process in the correct name first.

I agree with gurramok here, since they were able to get into your building, they probably had a snoop through your mailbox if it was unlocked to get your name too.

If they darken your door again go through them for a shortcut, if anyone deserves to be on the dole its those ****ers!

No danger of the mailbox being unlocked in this case, nor of any mail being in the mailbox for that matter. Fingers crossed so.

They would have to start the whole process in the correct name first.
    No they wouldn't. She's the primary resident and clearly knows she has no license. They're cùnts and they know how to play the game!

I currently have a valid license and they've summonsed me saying there was a break in the license fee 3 years ago and they readjusted my license date. But my license does not show this. It's valid as far as I'm concerned and I never remember a break in license fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

When I was in college one knocked around. I shared the house with 4 other guys. The lad that opened the door said he just moved in and gave a fake name. The inspector said he had a month to pay it. After that we just kept the curtains closed and wouldn't open the door to anyone ever for the rest of the year, also letters would come threatening court but they were also ignored.

And that's the story how we beat those pesky tv licence inspectors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Was watching some videos in YouTube about this last week.

http://youtu.be/fwL8uWUHhp0

In all the videos they keep referring to 'implied rights if access' and telling the TV inspectors it has been removed. Would this apply over here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,536 ✭✭✭✭briany

Oranage2 wrote: »
    When I was in college one knocked around. I shared the house with 4 other guys. The lad that opened the door said he just moved in and gave a fake name. The inspector said he had a month to pay it. After that we just kept the curtains closed and wouldn't open the door to anyone ever for the rest of the year, also letters would come threatening court but they were also ignored.

And that's the story how we beat those pesky tv licence inspectors.

Should have just got Vivian to eat the evidence like that one other time in that episode.

No they wouldn't. She's the primary resident and clearly knows she has no license. They're cùnts and they know how to play the game!

I currently have a valid license and they've summonsed me saying there was a break in the license fee 3 years ago and they readjusted my license date. But my license does not show this. It's valid as far as I'm concerned and I never remember a break in license fees.

If the summons isn't in your name it doesn't apply to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭stunmer

What stops you just refusing to give your name?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

My friend is a cnut.The other day the inspector knocks,he answers the door,pretends to be me,gives all my details and says i haven't paid it in years.One hour later he texts me "you're welcome".

Nice lad.

stunmer wrote: »

Nothing but if you do give a believable name they will go away for a month.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    My friend is a cnut.The other day the inspector knocks,he answers the door,pretends to be me,gives all my details and says i haven't paid it in years.One hour later he texts me "you're welcome".

Nice lad.

Haha. Is the house in your name? If its a student house you could say you never lived there and never got the summons. A friend gave your name for a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

stunmer wrote: »

Absolutely nothing. Only an idiot would give their real name to a TV licence inspector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Antho1966

These people cannot detain you unless in the presence of police, so all you have to say is that you are a visitor to building in question. You do not have to give them your name

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Haha. Is the house in your name? If its a student house you could say you never lived there and never got the summons. A friend gave your name for a laugh.

The lease is in my name alright,not student accommodation either.Just not paying it,sure fcuk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

I have a tv but no Saorview built in if a tv license inspector was to call i'd bring him in and show him thats its a very large monitor for my laptop xbox dvd player wii etc. and tell him to jog on. ;)

If the summons isn't in your name it doesn't apply to you.
    I don't think you get it. If a summons arrives addressed to your father, after months of letters addressed to your father stating that you have no license. Then your mother can and will be done for not having a license including a fee to get it backdated because she has lived there since he died as she took over responsibility for it. Or will you just pretend that you never ever open anything addressed to him?

Big mistake to leave anyone into your residence.
    If your laptop is wireless enabled, you are liable for tv licence fee, also if tou have an appliance radio mobile etc that can receive radio stations, you are also liable
    regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Antho1966 wrote: »
    If your laptop is wireless enabled, you are liable for tv licence fee, also if tou have an appliance radio mobile etc that can receive radio stations, you are also liable
    regards

Not liable for a license yet, but its coming down the line.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

Antho1966 wrote: »
    regards

This is all wildly inaccurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Shoutcast Ireland

a few years ago we had let ours lapse and two of them called out to our house one night to remind us that it was out of date and if they called back they would fine us.

I don't think you get it. If a summons arrives addressed to your father, after months of letters addressed to your father stating that you have no license. Then your mother can and will be done for not having a license including a fee to get it backdated because she has lived there since he died as she took over responsibility for it. Or will you just pretend that you never ever open anything addressed to him?

Once they realise they have the wrong name they go back to the start. Try to find out the mother's name, give her one month to pay, then eventually take her to court.

No they don't, they can amend a name on the day of the court appearance ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Just stop answering your door to strangers.

If you are expecting company than anyone knocking on your door will be looking for something.

No they don't, they can amend a name on the day of the court appearance ffs.

A summons is amended when you go to court and your name is spelt wrong.

If you are sat at home never having received a summons or any letters, someone else's summons cannot not be "amended" to your name and the case continue in your absence.

A summons is amended when you go to court and your name is spelt wrong.

If you are sat at home never having received a summons or any letters, someone else's summons cannot not be "amended" to your name and the case continue in your absence.
    But you did get the letters and a summons, which you have to sign for as its registered. So you clearly know you don't have the license!

You are spot on. Anyone not receiving an answer at your door can always leave a note etc to identify themselves

But you did get the letters and a summons, which you have to sign for as its registered. So you clearly know you don't have the license!

Well if you've signed to receive a summons that's totally different!

So you ignore any registered post addressed to your father?

You do not have to sign for post not addressed to yourself.
    Am I wrong in this?