Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

here goes everything................

• 05-01-2009 5:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

right, have been watching this a log time so now's the time for me to start one, put up and shut up.

30 years old male , 5' 7", 161 pounds.

My first target here is to weigh myself, get my body fat percentage, and find some way of regularly getting both so that I can chart my progress and i'll put up a photo in the next day or so.

my goals - not sure of my exact BF yet but as suggested by Rob below i wanna get it down (when i have my current figure i will set my target)
    i want to to a sub 60 min 10k.
    i want to imporve my overall strenght without gaining huge size (and do a full set of pull ups)

i'm a regular gym goer but maybe i'm gone stale. i am cardio fit but still have body fat to lose and can tone up alot more. i've done a marathon 2 years ago so i'm going to start running again along with a new weights program. i will log my sessions and my food diary here and would appreciate any help ye could give me.

here goes everything :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

Yoda10 wrote: »
    my goals - tone up/lose some body fat and get a bit faster.

Fair play for cracking on and deciding you're going to do something about things mate, the only thing I'd say to you is your goals are very... "fluffy". How do you quantify "toning up"? Getting faster relative to what? Faster in terms of long distances or sprints?

I think you'd be better off saying; "right, first set of goals... sub 12%BF, a 30m 5k and a 13s 100m". That way you have numbers you can measure and work towards rather than vague outlines of what you want to do... now I have no idea what a good amateur 100m time is, 13s could be wayyy too long, it's not my area of interest, but the jist is just to stick to the ould 3rd year business studies school of goal setting: SMART.

Specific - sub 12% BF
    Measurable - get a calipers
    Achievable - definitely
    Realistic - definitely
    Timely - you can set the timeline when you figure out your current BF

Best of luck whatever you decide to do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Yoda10

Fair play for cracking on and deciding you're going to do something about things mate, the only thing I'd say to you is your goals are very... "fluffy". How do you quantify "toning up"? Getting faster relative to what? Faster in terms of long distances or sprints?

I think you'd be better off saying; "right, first set of goals... sub 12%BF, a 30m 5k and a 13s 100m". That way you have numbers you can measure and work towards rather than vague outlines of what you want to do... now I have no idea what a good amateur 100m time is, 13s could be wayyy too long, it's not my area of interest, but the jist is just to stick to the ould 3rd year business studies school of goal setting: SMART.

Specific - sub 12% BF
    Measurable - get a calipers
    Achievable - definitely
    Realistic - definitely
    Timely - you can set the timeline when you figure out your current BF

Best of luck whatever you decide to do!

hi Rob, thanks for the response and your right my goals are fluffy, i will edit them above. thanks for the input.

day 1 diet (rest day from training)

08.30 a bannana/strawberry smoothie with low fat yoghurt
    10.30 a bowl of porridge and an orange
    13.00 a bowl of butternut squash soup and a whole meal pitta with turkey and swiss cheese
    15.30 a pear and some mixed nuts
    17.30 2 slices of turkey breast on there own (a snack as i was hungry)
    19.30 chicken fajitas (pepper, onion, salsa in a wrap) and wholemeal rice.
    22.30 a yoghurt

drank about 1.5 - 2 ltrs of water also throughout the day.

this was my first day logging my food so feel free to critique.

new program starts tonight.

Day 2
    Diet
    08.30 Actimel
    09.15 A bowl of porridge
    10.30 2 boiled eggs and 1 brown toast
    13.15 Pasta and tuna salad with chicken wrap (pepper & onion)
    16.30 Wholemeal Pitta with Salami and salsa
    20.00 A pear on the way home from Gym
    21.00 An omlette with Tomatoe, Bacon and onion.
    2 litres of water through out the day.

Workout
    5 mins on the Bike for warmup and 10 mins stretching
    Front Squat (20kg) 3 * 12
    Hang Power Clean (20kg) 3 * 12
    Single Leg Good Morning (10kg) 3 * 12 on each leg
    Close Grip Bench Press (40kg) 3 * 10
    2 Point Bent Over Row (6kg) 3 * 12
    Push Press (20kg) 3 * 10
    Weighted Crunch (5kg kettle ball) 3 * 12
    Seated Russian Twist (5kg kettle ball) 3 * 12
    3 mile run on treadmill in 25mins and 5 seconds
    5 min warm down and 10 mins stretching.

Weight 12stone?!?!?!?!!?!?!?!?!? i done this after my workout so i'm assuming it's slightly heavy due to water i was drinking (i've never been over 11st 7lbs)
    fell free to critique as i want to improve.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭gnolan

Weight 12stone?!?!?!?!!?!?!?!?!? i done this after my workout so i'm assuming it's slightly heavy due to water i was drinking (i've never been over 11st 7lbs)
    fell free to critique as i want to improve.

I'd only weigh yourself once a week for a start, first thing in the morning, after you've been to the jacks!!

Day 3
    Diet

08.30 Glass of Banna/Strawberry/OJ smoothie with Flax seed
    09.15 Bowl Of Porridge
    10.30 2 Slices of Brown Bread and Some OJ
    13.00 2 brown bread sandwiches with Turkey and swiss cheese
    15.30 Yoghurt & a Banana
    19.00 Yoghurt
    21.00 A few oven chips and a veggie burger grilled.

2 litres of water during the day

Workout
    7 a side footie for an Hour 19.30 - 20.30

Legs are stiff this morning i think it's from my first workout on Tuesday (Front Squats were difficult)

Fair play mate, only the first week but apparently it only takes 2 - 4 weeks to solidify a habit so you're well on your way already.

Just looking at your diet there for yesterday it doesn't seem to have all that much protein in it? The flax and the turkey at lunch, and a tiny bit in the banana, is all I can see. I know it wasn't a training day but if you're looking to get stronger / pack on a bit of muscle you'll probably need to make sure you're getting a bit more into you.

Fair play mate, only the first week but apparently it only takes 2 - 4 weeks to solidify a habit so you're well on your way already.

Just looking at your diet there for yesterday it doesn't seem to have all that much protein in it? The flax and the turkey at lunch, and a tiny bit in the banana, is all I can see. I know it wasn't a training day but if you're looking to get stronger / pack on a bit of muscle you'll probably need to make sure you're getting a bit more into you.

thanks for the response Rob, ya i'm really getting into it alright and am enjoying this log. on the protien do you have a suggestion on what i should eat for some? is it eggs, chicken, fish, etc.....?

I'm not the best man for it; g'em, Hanley and co. would be better at giving nutrional advice than I am. Jak started a great thread here that's stickied in the main forum and there's some excellent stuff in there from g'em and t-ha. You could also check out the Nutrition forum as well.

Essentially though, you're right. Lean meat, eggs, chicken, turkey are all great sources of protein. If you find it hard to each that much meat or whatever then you could also investigate taking a protein supplement but have a read through the various threads first and see what you think.

I'm not the best man for it; g'em, Hanley and co. would be better at giving nutrional advice than I am. Jak started a great thread here that's stickied in the main forum and there's some excellent stuff in there from g'em and t-ha. You could also check out the Nutrition forum as well.

Essentially though, you're right. Lean meat, eggs, chicken, turkey are all great sources of protein. If you find it hard to each that much meat or whatever then you could also investigate taking a protein supplement but have a read through the various threads first and see what you think.

thanks a million rob, much appreciated.
    i'll have read through those threads.

Day 4
    Diet
    08.00 Bowl Of Cornflakes, was really hungry when i woke
    09.15 Bowl of Porridge
    10.30 An Apple and an Orange
    12.45 Brown Sandiwch with chicken and egg
    15.30 Some Cheese
    17.30 A Yoghurt and Bannana
    22.15 2 brown sandiwches with turkey and cheese

Workout
    90 mins of Soccer Training
    5 mim warm up
    20 mins of HIIT
    5 mins warm down
    60 mins of game of 7 v 7 (very high tempo)

legs were stiff today from the workout on Monday
    i'm thinking did i do too much workout on my legs but after a nice stretch and warmup i was fine.

gym tonight :D

Day 5
    Diet

8.30 a bowl of porridge
    10.30 2 Boiled eggs and Beans 13.00 A wrap with turkey and salad 17.00 A youghurt and banana
    20.00 A steak stir fry
    Workout
    Warm Up
    5 mins on bike and stretch
    Hang Jump Shrug 3 x 10 * 8kg Forward lunge 3 x 12 * 10kg Dumbell Incline Press 3 x 10 * 12.5kg Lat Pull down 3 x 12 * 8kg Bent Over Row 3 x 12 * 15kg V Sit Ups Weighted 3 x 12 * 4kg Side Crunches 3 x 12
    Day 6
    Diet
    10.30 A brown bread sandwich with bacon 12.00[B/] a banana and yoghurt 14.00[B/] and ornage and some jaffa cakes 17.00[B/] a brown bread sandwich with turkey and cheese 21.00[B/] a chicken curry and boiled rice 22.00[B/] 2 glasses of red wine and some pistachios
    Workout
    a competive match for 90 mins, wrecked after this.

Day 7
    Diet
    11.00 a banana and yoghurt 13.00 a bowl of corn flakes 15.30 a brown bread sandiwch with turkey and cheese 19.30 chicken fajitas

Day 8
    Diet
    08.30 a bowl of porridge with some flax seeds
    10.30 a banana, an apple and some orange juice
    13.00 some salmon, carrots, cabbage and rice
    15.30 a yoghurt
    17.30 2 slice of brown bread toast
    21.00 a stir fry, of wholegrain rice, peppers, onion and prawn with some teriaki sauce.

over 2 litres of water during day.

workout tonight :)

here's the first pic taken on 05/01/09. there is only going to be improvements from here on in. I'll take a pic once a month and post to see if i've any improvement. (fingers crossed) ;)

Day 9
    Diet

08.30 A bowl of porridge
    10.30 2 boiled eggs and some beans
    13.30 a wholemeal brown bread sandwich with turkey and cheese, and some carrot and parsnip soup (which i made)
    16.00 a whole meal brown bread sandwich with turkey
    18.00 a bannana
    20.30 some cod, scrambled egg and beans

Workout
    12.30 - 13.15 a game of squash (new to this game but was good for a sweat)

18.05 - 19.30 GYM
    Clean Pull 5 * 5 (20kg)
    Squat 4 * 10 (30kg)
    Incline bench 4 * 10 (30kg)
    1 Arm standing cable Row 4 * 10 (10kg)
    Side to side pull 4 * 8 (assisted lifting 70% body weight :()
    Push Press 4 * 10
    V Sit Up 4 * 12 (with 4kg kettle ball)

feeling great today, am sleeping well and not as tired in the mornings anymore! i also have this clean feeling not sure if thats a right description but thats how it feels to me. this log is a great idea :D

Day 10
    Diet

08.30 A bowl of porrdige
    10.30 An Apple, A Banana and Orange Juice
    13.30 A Chicken Pesto, Peppers, Oinion, Cheese Wrap and a Protien Punch Smoothie
    17.30 A Slice of Boiled Ham
    19.30 A Banana
    21.00 Home Made Bolognese sauce (tin of tomatoe, stock, onion, pepper, mushroom) with some lean mince and Pasta shells

Workout

Clean Pull Shrug 5 x 5 (30kg)
    1 Arm Dumbell Press 4 x 10 (8kg)
    Lat Pull Down 4 x 10 (10kg)
    1 Leg Good Morning 4 x 10 (35kg)
    Crossover Lunge 4 x 10 (6kg)
    Pull to Neck 4 x 10 (10kg)
    Seated Russian Twist 4 x 15 (6kg kettle ball)

was a good workout, fell a little stiff in 1 shoulder today but feel good in general, sleeping great at the moment and not tired getting up. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 queen of hearts

Good going your doing great.

If your looking for more protein as a snack or in your meals don't forget about nuts. Some plain pecans, almonds or hazelnuts are great for an extra protein kick, not too much though if your watching fat intake. About 10 = 100 calories give or take.

Good going your doing great.

If your looking for more protein as a snack or in your meals don't forget about nuts. Some plain pecans, almonds or hazelnuts are great for an extra protein kick, not too much though if your watching fat intake. About 10 = 100 calories give or take.

thanks for that advice queen of hearts, i certainly could do with some more protien. cheers.

Day 11
    Diet

09.00 a bowl of porridge
    10.30 2 brown toast and some beans
    13.00 a bowl of bolognese sauce and some pasta, 2 rice cakes
    16.00 a youghurt and a handful of pistachios
    19.00 a bannana
    22.00 an omlette with tomatoe and bacon

Workout

19.15 - 21.00

30 mins of HIIT running (soccer training)
    60 mins of 7 a side, good fast game.

hamstring a bit tight afterwards so am a bit cautious at the moment but feeling great.

Day 12
    Diet

08.30 a bowl of porridge
    10.30 2 boiled eggs and beans
    13.00 chicken stir fry and boiled rice
    15.30 a activia yoghurt
    19.30 a homemade chicken curry (courgette, onion, a pepper, tin of tomatoes and curry powder) with boiled rice.
    22.00 a bag of popcorn

hamstring a bit tight so done some stretching!

Day 13
    Diet

10.30 a bowl of cornflakes
    14.00 a bannana
    15.30 a chicken pesto wrap with peppers and onion
    20.00 2 slices of pizza and a glass of red wine

Workout
    11.00 - 11.45
    a 5 set game of squash

12.00 - 14.00

Clean Pull - push 4 x 10 (30 kgs)
    Incline bench press 4 x 10 (30 kgs)
    2 point alt dumbell row 4 x 10 (5 kgs)
    push press 4 x 10
    Chin Ups 5 x 5 (80% bodyweight)
    Lat Pull down 4 x 10 (10kgs)
    V Sit Ups 4 x 15 (6kg kettle ball)
    Seated Russian Twist 4 x 15 (6kg kettle ball)

Day 14
    Diet
    09.00 a banana nad an orange
    10.30 2 boiled eggs and brown bread
    13.30 a bowl of homemade soup and a turkey, lettuce, peppers, onion wrap.
    16.00 an activia yoghurt and an orange
    18.30 2 rice cakes
    20.00 homemeade meatballs (lean mince) with hime made bolognese sauce (tin of tomatoes, onion, peppers, mushrooms) with pasta.

feel tired this morning for some reason?!?!? but still feeling good. :D

Day 15
    Diet
    9.00 A strawberry, banana, oj smoothie with some flax seeds 10.30 a bowl of pordige 12.30 A banana 14.00 pasta and meatballs (left overs from last night) 16.00 a yoghurt 19.00 rice, prawns, peppers and onions.
    Workout
    45 min game of squash (never knew it was good for a sweat)

put on a suit pants today for first time in a while and it's hanging off me a bit, my body actually feels a bit tighter (i know that may sound strange) but i think getting my diet much better is working a bit :D

Day 16
    Diet

09.00 a bowl of porridge
    10.30 a boiled eggs and brown toast
    13.00 2 brown sandwiches with turkey, cheese, mustard
    17.00 a yoghurt and a bannana
    21.00 a tin of tuna, noodles and veg

Workout

5 mins stretching and warmup

Hang Clean Shrug 4 x 10 (1 x 20kg) (3 x 35kg)
    Clean Grip Deads 5 x 5 (1 x 30kg) (4 x 50kg)
    1 leg good mornings 4 x 10 (30kg)
    incline dumb bell bench 10 x 30kg, 8 x 40kg, 6 x 45 kg, 8 x 35kg
    Horozontal Pull 8, 7, 6, 5 (bodyweight)
    Jack Knife Push 4 x 10
    Side to side Pull wide grip 4 x 6 (75% bodyweight)

HIIT, 25 mins, 5 mins warm, 30 seconds sprint, 30 jog x 15, 5 mins warm down.

the hiit running was hard man, feeling great today though :D

Day 17
    Diet

09.00 2 boiled eggs and brown toast
    13.00 a brown roll with sausage and onion
    15.30 activia yoghurt
    19.00 a bannana
    21.00 a chicken curry and brown rice

Workout
    90 mins of soccer training
    30 mins of HIIT running
    60 mins of 7 a side high intensity

Day 18
    Diet

09.00 a bowl of porridge
    10.30 a boiled egg and brown toast
    13.00 chicken curry and wholmeal rice
    15.30 a yoghurt
    20.00 noodles and a tin of tuna

Workout
    Back Squat 5 x 5 (1 x 20kg, 4 x 20kg)
    Drop Lunge 4 x 10 (20kg)
    Seated Row 4 x 10 (10kg)
    Dumb Bell incline 10 x 17.5kg, 8 x 22.5kg, 6 x 25kg, 10 x 15kg (the kg is per dumbell)
    Dumb Bell alt press 4 x 10 (6kg)
    Lat Pull Down 10 x 10kg, 8 x 12kg, 6 x 14kg, 10 x 10kg
    V Sit up 4 x 15 (6kg kettle ball)

45 mins of squash after this workout!

Day 19 & 20
    days 19 and 20 were interupting my usual routine lately as it was an annual dinner with work. i consumed some alcohol sat night, but tried to keep it to red wine, didn't have as much to drink as i usually would have but still had a small bit.
    day 19 Diet
    10.00 a bowl of cornflakes and low fat milk
    13.00 a brown sandwich, turkey and cheese
    16.00 a milk shake
    21.00 potatoes, veg and beef
    day 20 diet
    12.00 scrambled egg and bacon (grilled)
    16.00 oven chip and chicken breast (grilled)
    19.00 2 oranges and banana

Day 21
    Diet

11.00 scrambled eggs and toast
    15.00 a protein shake smoothie
    16.00 pop corn and water at cinema
    19.00 2 x chicken enchiladas, with pepper and onion
    22.00 2 small oranges

Workout
    Clean Pull 4 x 10 (30kg)
    Over Head Squat 5 x 5 (1 x 20kg, 4 x 22.5kg)
    Single leg good morning 4 x 10 (20kg)
    Dips 10, 8, 6, 6
    1 arm cable row 4 x 10 (10kg)
    Push Press 4 x 10 bodyweight
    leg raises 4 x 15
    V sit up 4 x 15 (6kg kettle ball)

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭jimbo32123

Day 21
    Diet
    11.00 scrambled eggs and toast
    15.00 a protein shake smoothie
    16.00 pop corn and water at cinema
    19.00 2 x chicken enchiladas, with pepper and onion
    22.00 2 small oranges

Workout
    Clean Pull 4 x 10 (30kg)
    Over Head Squat 5 x 5 (1 x 20kg, 4 x 22.5kg)
    Single leg good morning 4 x 10 (20kg)
    Dips 10, 8, 6, 6
    1 arm cable row 4 x 10 (10kg)
    Push Press 4 x 10 bodyweight
    leg raises 4 x 15
    V sit up 4 x 15 (6kg kettle ball)

how do you find the protein shakes?? do you only take them after training?? or before aswell.. keep up the good work

Day 22
    Diet

09.00 a straberry/bannana/oj smoothie with flax seeds
    10.30 a bowl of porridge
    13.30 some pork, cauliflower, brocolli and potatoe
    16.30 a bananna
    19.30 chicken, peppers and oven chips.

Workout
    a 45 min game of squash (great for a sweat)