Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Registered Users Posts: 78,372 ✭✭✭✭Victor

jones 19 wrote: »
    reading all these scab stories has cost me 4 cents on electricity.......
    But saved you thousands!

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭SteppingStone

Mean people really bug me. I once had a friend who was total stinge! When it came to Dvd nights and take aways. He would not order any take out with us just because he didn't want to pay! He was clearly hungry as he would be nearly drooling over us while eating and then ask if we had left overs he would have them. I used to eat it all on purpose and tell my friends to do so too. It's not like he was dieting or couldn't afford it as we worked together. Earned the same pay (it was also a good pay) Pay days were the days we would all get together. He also used to go around bars/ clubs on nights out drinking others drinks instead of buying his own. Would walk as far as he could to avoid bus or taxi fare. Came shopping with us all the time but never purchased a thing in all the times we were shopping. If we had lunch, he would order the cheapest thing on the menu most times being a coffee. Never bought his own cigarettes but would ask others. Wore the same shredded jeans nearly everyday to avoid buying a new pair. Never bought family or friends gifts for B-days, cris kindle etc. Came travelling with not enough funds (purposely)Ask others for loans while abroad but never returned the cash. You'd expect these kind of things from a person on a seriously low budget or even a homeless person not a single guy living at home with mammy with no incoming bills or responsibilities.

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭CavanGal

Thanks for all the tips, guys. Keep 'em coming!

Mean people really bug me. I once had a friend who was total stinge! When it came to Dvd nights and take aways. He would not order any take out with us just because he didn't want to pay! He was clearly hungry as he would be nearly drooling over us while eating and then ask if we had left overs he would have them. I used to eat it all on purpose and tell my friends to do so too. It's not like he was dieting or couldn't afford it as we worked together. Earned the same pay (it was also a good pay) Pay days were the days we would all get together. He also used to go around bars/ clubs on nights out drinking others drinks instead of buying his own. Would walk as far as he could to avoid bus or taxi fare. Came shopping with us all the time but never purchased a thing in all the times we were shopping. If we had lunch, he would order the cheapest thing on the menu most times being a coffee. Never bought his own cigarettes but would ask others. Wore the same shredded jeans nearly everyday to avoid buying a new pair. Never bought family or friends gifts for B-days, cris kindle etc. Came travelling with not enough funds (purposely)Ask others for loans while abroad but never returned the cash. You'd expect these kind of things from a person on a seriously low budget or even a homeless person not a single guy living at home with mammy with no incoming bills or responsibilities.

And yet you put up with it. People need to grow a pair, they come on here posting stories of friends continued stinginess but are happy to let it continue. I have absolutely no sympathy for you or your friends as it's quite clear that everyone of you is a door mat happy to let your friend take advantage when he can.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,829 ✭✭✭Alkers

And yet you put up with it. People need to grow a pair, they come on here posting stories of friends continued stinginess but are happy to let it continue. I have absolutely no sympathy for you or your friends as it's quite clear that everyone of you is a door mat happy to let your friend take advantage when he can.

You'd be amazed what can happen to someone like this if you and your mates make their feelings heard. Next time you're all slagging each other give your man a roasting and your other mates will join in, he'll soon change his ways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

CavanGal wrote: »
    Thanks for all the tips, guys. Keep 'em coming!

Being from Cavan I would have thought you'd know all these things already :pac:

I "once had a friend"who was total stinge!

Maybe you should try reading properly. Explains why he is no longer a friend!

Simona1986 wrote: »
    You'd be amazed what can happen to someone like this if you and your mates make their feelings heard. Next time you're all slagging each other give your man a roasting and your other mates will join in, he'll soon change his ways
    We always took the piss out of him. It didn't change him at all. I'd say he still has his communion money :-D

I "once had a friend"who was total stinge!

Maybe you should try reading properly. Explains why he is no longer a friend!

You obviously put it with it for long enough if you have so many stories about him. If I had a friend like that he may get away with it once or twice but once I saw that they were a stingy git then that was it. I certainly would not continue to hang out with him

He would not order any take out with us just because he didn't want to pay! He was clearly hungry as he would be nearly drooling over us while eating and then ask if we had left overs he would have them. "I used to eat it all on purpose and tell my friends to do so too".

Never bought his own cigarettes but would ask "others".

Came travelling with not enough funds (purposely)Asked "others" for loans while abroad but never returned the cash.

I worked with him it so it was hard not to hang out with him. Yes he got away with it once or twice with me and that was the end of it for me. He knew not to ask me afterwards. I told him he was mean and made it very clear I wasn't giving him nothing more.

He would not order any take out with us just because he didn't want to pay! He was clearly hungry as he would be nearly drooling over us while eating and then ask if we had left overs he would have them. "I used to eat it all on purpose and tell my friends to do so too".

Never bought his own cigarettes but would ask "others".

Came travelling with not enough funds (purposely)Asked "others" for loans while abroad but never returned the cash.

I worked with him it so it was hard not to hang out with him. Yes he got away with it once or twice with me and that was the end of it for me. He knew not to ask me afterwards. I told him he was mean and made it very clear I wasn't giving him nothing more.

I worked with stingy people and if a group of us were heading out for drinks or getting a take away we wouldnt invite the stingy work mate. The was one lad I worked with years ago who was stingy as hell, after one night out with him we never asked him again. When a group of us went away he asked could he come along with us and we just told him straight, NO! One simple word was all it took and on our week away we didn't have anyone trying to get out of buying their round, borrowing money with no intention of paying it back or any of that other crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭Steven81

Was at a wedding last week and was groomsman, the other groomsman doesnt drink and was giving out at the cost of the soft drink being about 60c dearer than normal. Not only did he tell me but he also told the bride and groom. Before the wedding we were all invited for a big fry at the grooms house, escorted by limo to the reception and then got a big feed at the wedding but these werent mentioned.

I worked with stingy people and if a group of us were heading out for drinks or getting a take away we wouldnt invite the stingy work mate. The was one lad I worked with years ago who was stingy as hell, after one night out with him we never asked him again. When a group of us went away he asked could he come along with us and we just told him straight, NO! One simple word was all it took and on our week away we didn't have anyone trying to get out of buying their round, borrowing money with no intention of paying it back or any of that other crap.

Well our company was hardly going to refuse there own employee because he's mean. Outside of work yes we could say and do what we wanted but there's no law for mean people. Although there should be!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Paparazzo wrote: »
    When my mate was in college he was sharing student accommodation with 3 others in one of those official college flats geared for students sharing. They all had their own lockable press in the kitchen. One of the lads was the scabbiest fúckers ever. Lets call him Jonjo :D. My mate brought a microwave with him to the place cos there was just a cooker there - Jonjo brought a toaster. Grand, nothing wrong with that. And it was a shíte toaster, a tesco value type thing, obviously the broken one from his parents house that they gave to him cos the timer didn't work and you had to plug it out for your toast to pop. But Jonjo used to lock it away in his press when he finished using it in case one of the other lads used his precious broken toaster. He had no problem using my mates microwave.

Oh god I just had a flashback reading that. Three of my friends lived with two other girls when they were in college for a year. They didn't know them before they moved in. The girls generally behaved quite strangely towards them and very much kept to themselves. I used to call around in the evenings now and again and many evenings there was noise from the room above the sitting room like someone was moving furniture around the place. I asked my friends what was going on the whole time and they said they didn't know as it was the room of one of the other girls who kept it locked 24/7. This went on for a couple of months and the girls were getting a bit more curious..she didn't have a boyfriend in case anyone was wondering.

Anyway one morning she left for college in a hurry and left the bedroom door open, and one of my friends spotted it and went it, just to see what could possibly be in the room that she was dragging around every night. There was nothing in there except the usual - bed, locker, desk, wardrobe, so she had a quick look in the wardrobe, where she found a large Dell box and in it was a large desktop computer: monitor (the old ones, not flat screen this was about 10 years ago) keyboard, mouse, speakers, tower, and printer, the works. The girl was setting up her computer every night to use it for college work and then packing it away (the box being heaved into the wardrobe must have been the racket) in case any of my friends found out she had a computer and asked her to use it. Such an amazing waste of time every night.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭batistuta9

that's dedication to the cause :pac:

probably scared other people would break it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

well considering that your mate took it upon himself to break into her room and start rooting around in her private things, I think that she may have had a point

They didn't break into the room, they're not the type to go rummaging in other people's stuff, these girls were genuinely very strange in their behaviour, I met them numerous times, and the furniture removals type racket coming from the room every night was a bit bizarre. The door was left open, as in ajar, so they just had a look out of curiosity. Actually they had wondered if the landlord had given this girl some new furniture and told her to keep quiet about it as they could come up with no other explanation. If you were sitting watching TV each night and were being disturbed by the noise without any explanation provided you would be wondering too. This caper started up from the time they moved into the house. It takes a bit of effort not to mention that you have a computer in the house for close to 6 months, especially back then when most students didn't have computers.

Open or not they went into her room with out permission. If they were so curious why did they not ask her?
    They very obviously are the type to go rummaging around in peoples stuff

Open or not they went into her room with out permission. If they were so curious why did they not ask her?
    They very obviously are the type to go rummaging around in peoples stuff

They did ask her.

So she probably said "None of your business" and then they decide that she has no right to privacy.
    I would be hiding my stuff too, if I were living with them.
    Not having a go at you but a person's room is theirs to do with, as they please, within the law. They have no right going in there

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭eurokev

Went to a strip bar in amsterdam. Its like somewhere you either sit at the bar and the girls dance on the counter in front and you give them a tip. Theres about 7 or 8 stools at the bar and its an unwritten rule you tip the girls who do their thing, you can get a lapdance the for 20 on your own if you after her set. Other guys then wait around standing for their go on the stools. Anyway everyone tips the girls 5 or 10 putting it in their thongs having a bit of craic by doing with your mouth etc, Anyway me and my friend were at the bar and we were in the middle, so everyone before us gives 5 or 10, girl comes to my friend, pulls out his wallet. theres a tenner kinda sticking out. What does he do, Opens it out and pulls out a €2 coin. Girl just lughed at and made him look a prick

• Registered Users Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭Dartz

My parents aren't stingy.

Nah, not like most people in this thread. They're just spectacularly bear-like when it comes to money that isn't an essential expense. They buy food, teas, fuel.... they don't scrimp on stuff like that. It really only comes out when they ask me why I don't have a hobby.

I have a wad of cash saved up, so I declare that I'm going to fix a motorcycle that's been sitting in the shed for a decade.

And that's when it rears it's ugly head.

"Ah why would you want to waste your money on that?"

I declare that I'd like to join something that has a monthly fee.

"Ah why would you waste your money on that. It's all the way in town, you'd never go?"

I buy models

"What a waste of money they are.... Don't waste your money on them toys."

They sit there in quiet dissaproval sucking any motivation right out of the body. Nothing I want to do is anything but a waste of money.... NOTHING. It just sits there in the bank quietly accumulating while oppressively quiet dissaproval sets in.

It's not stinginess as such, just quiet, gentle fiscal depression. a quiet, shaming disapproval that's far harder to fight against than a flat 'No'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

So she probably said "None of your business" and then they decide that she has no right to privacy.
    I would be hiding my stuff too, if I were living with them.
    Not having a go at you but a person's room is theirs to do with, as they please, within the law. They have no right going in there

That's all very well but that's not reality.
    Come on you'd start to think there was a body up there. His post reminds me of the film The Burbs! You don't hate Tom Hanks do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Dartz wrote: »
    My parents aren't stingy.

Nah, not like most people in this thread. They're just spectacularly bear-like when it comes to money that isn't an essential expense. They buy food, teas, fuel.... they don't scrimp on stuff like that. It really only comes out when they ask me why I don't have a hobby.

I have a wad of cash saved up, so I declare that I'm going to fix a motorcycle that's been sitting in the shed for a decade.

And that's when it rears it's ugly head.

"Ah why would you want to waste your money on that?"

I declare that I'd like to join something that has a monthly fee.

"Ah why would you waste your money on that. It's all the way in town, you'd never go?"

I buy models

"What a waste of money they are.... Don't waste your money on them toys."

They sit there in quiet dissaproval sucking any motivation right out of the body. Nothing I want to do is anything but a waste of money.... NOTHING. It just sits there in the bank quietly accumulating while oppressively quiet dissaproval sets in.

It's not stinginess as such, just quiet, gentle fiscal depression. a quiet, shaming disapproval that's far harder to fight against than a flat 'No'.

Move out, problem solved..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

My folks are similar. You're best off moving out or learn to ignore them and do what you want. Overall better off moving out I'd say. Assuming from your post you're grown.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

falan wrote: »
    Move out, problem solved..
    And pay someone else's mortgage? Ah sure that'd be a waste of money.

I hate to say it, but that was they're exact line of reasoning. It's also near impossible since I'm stuck trying to get a job.

I can't really complain. They're both practically recessionproof. It completely drifted over their heads.

That's probably the worst of it. It's not wrong.... just grinding.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭crapmanjoe

I hate to say it, but that was they're exact line of reasoning. It's also near impossible since I'm stuck trying to get a job.

I can't really complain. They're both practically recessionproof. It completely drifted over their heads.

That's probably the worst of it. It's not wrong.... just grinding.

Yeah my mother isnt actually stingy but she has an insane fear of wasting money. When i lived at home she used to follow me around the house turning off lights, turning of the Emerson etc.

Thankfully (even though im sure there is a happy comprimise some where) i didnt carry that on and just spend money on what i want!

Mam swears its a product of growing up in the 60/70/80's but still.

crapmanjoe wrote: »

Mam swears its a product of growing up in the 60/70/80's but still.

Of course, who's weathering the recession the best too?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I know EXACTLY what you mean !

After a heavy meal in a restaurant, I like to have a cup of coffee fairly shortly after wards. Helps aid the digestion. God help you if you are out for a meal with my mother and you do that. She prefers to "let my dinner go down" before she has a nice cuppa at home 30 mins later. She has no problem eating a 40 euro steak, but if someone dares to order a coffee "when there is perfectly good tea and coffee at home" they will get a lecture about wasting money, followed by heavy signs and steely martyred silence, broken by the odd remark that " I didn't rear you to just throw money away".

It makes it impossible to enjoy the flippin' coffee, so I just don't bother ordering it anymore. I've tried to explain to her why I like to have my coffee so soon after I eat & not wait until I get home, but she just refuses to get it. Sigh...